Acer RevoView, RV100 = RM349

fenture
post Oct 1 2010, 12:21 AM

60 posts

bought it last week. here are my 2 cents.

- it auto indexes all music or movie files. so, you cannot hide movies/music you dun wanna displayed.
- it automatically plays the movie when you browse the movie list, kind of slows down the scrolling
- when u plug in the thumbdrive, it only sees media files. i tried to copy .srt file over, but it doesnt see it.
- quality is OK
- it hangs n rebooted a few times while i was playing w/ it.
- i thought it runs samba on it, no, u cannot treat it as a file server. i thought it runs linux, that's the reason why i bought it. wondering how to get a copy of the firmware to look at it.

overall, i am a bit regret buying this. sigh... too new, not many reviews from others. nonetheless, i am enjoying watching movies on it.

fenture
post Oct 3 2010, 11:02 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Oct 2 2010, 09:46 PM)
where can i buy acer revoview in KL?
does it come together with usb wifi?

can i copy and paste files from my pc directly to this revoview, like a hdd on a network?
you can connect it to ur pc as an external hdd. but, you cannot copy over the network.

no usb wifi dongle. wanna buy over my unit? laugh.gif
fenture
post Oct 7 2010, 03:54 AM

60 posts

several things I dislike:
- remote control - can't display time lapse or left
- GUI
- no network copy

What are the suggestions for:
- samba/nfs server
- xbmc frontend
- linux based
fenture
post Oct 15 2010, 11:50 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(wunan @ Oct 9 2010, 04:57 PM)
how about the subtitle rendering?
does it have  thin or thick black outline?
the font smooth or blocky?
subtitle is ok, no problem.

Added on October 15, 2010, 11:54 pm
QUOTE(WK500 @ Oct 8 2010, 02:15 PM)
Have you tried it out with the new firmware? Last I checked there was a ver1.00.04 release on 6th Oct 2010 and was wondering what changes have they made.

As for the other things:

I think the RV100 IS linux based because after checking out the firmware release (mentioned above) it uses the same update methods as in the Asus O!Play and the Seagate Freeagent Theatre. Unpacking the firmware update I can see yaffs2 being used as the flash operation and vmlinux.

So maybe there's hope in future for alternative firmwares .....

I think network copy was not implemented because this model was introduced to be paired with Win7 built-in feature "Play To Device" so there's no need to copy to the playback device, just right-click on file and choose play-to rv100 ... but I could be wrong  blush.gif

Anyways, if sell how much  tongue.gif  ?
will try to upgrade the fw.

i guess this prod isn't launched in US yet. Hopefully it will be soon, so that we can get more hackers to play with it.

I am just hoping for someone to come up with something that just uses XBMC instead of writing their own. XBMC is just so great. This acer's UI sux big time. But the price is cheap, so not too much complain.

Added on October 16, 2010, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(WK500 @ Oct 8 2010, 02:15 PM)
Have you tried it out with the new firmware? Last I checked there was a ver1.00.04 release on 6th Oct 2010 and was wondering what changes have they made.

As for the other things:

I think the RV100 IS linux based because after checking out the firmware release (mentioned above) it uses the same update methods as in the Asus O!Play and the Seagate Freeagent Theatre. Unpacking the firmware update I can see yaffs2 being used as the flash operation and vmlinux.

So maybe there's hope in future for alternative firmwares .....

I think network copy was not implemented because this model was introduced to be paired with Win7 built-in feature "Play To Device" so there's no need to copy to the playback device, just right-click on file and choose play-to rv100 ... but I could be wrong  blush.gif

Anyways, if sell how much  tongue.gif  ?
where did u find the 1.00.04 fw? i tried to update, but said no new fw. still on 1.00.02 on mine.

This post has been edited by fenture: Oct 16 2010, 12:01 PM

0.0175sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:41 AM