5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Importing supplements problem

novabankinghall
post Feb 23 2013, 10:06 PM

179 posts

I made few orders end of December 2012, until now i have not receive the parcel. I used the free delivery.... i guess its as good as gone... sigh...
However anyway i can at least know whats the reason? I dont receive any letter from kastam or MOH... it has been 2 months.

Most of the stuff i ordered were supplements however some are just essential oil or even tea... none arrived.
FirdausCoway
post Mar 3 2013, 03:20 PM

37 posts

how much did u import?
chomsky
post Mar 10 2013, 02:58 AM

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 22 2013, 12:58 PM)
Customs are more strict these days - they have 'quota' to meet wink.gif

My last 5 parcels with DHL (although not supplements), above RM500 all kena tax. Previously only 1-2 times out of 10 times.
Ive been considering to order on iHerb, but worry about custom duty as my intention total order can't be made through normal delivery.
was wondering how much did u get taxed for orders above RM500?

Again, are protein powders considered as supplements?
jutamind
post Mar 10 2013, 02:24 PM

2,429 posts

I've made 6 orders from iherb and so far with no issues with custom. Each order is about usd 60-90.delivery time is normally 3-6 Weeks using the cheapest delivery fees. My orders are mainly vitamins.

I think the key is not to order too many of same product at the same time and make suite the order amount is not too much.

If you're making your first order in iherb, you can use my referral code JUT477 to entitle for discounts

QUOTE(chomsky @ Mar 10 2013, 02:58 AM)
Ive been considering to order on iHerb, but worry about custom duty as my intention total order can't be made through normal delivery.
was wondering how much did u get taxed for orders above RM500?

Again, are protein powders considered as supplements?
chomsky
post Mar 10 2013, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(jutamind @ Mar 10 2013, 02:24 PM)
I've made 6 orders from iherb and so far with no issues with custom. Each order is about usd 60-90.delivery time is normally 3-6 Weeks using the cheapest delivery fees. My orders are mainly vitamins.

I think the key is not to order too many of same product at the same time and make suite the order amount is not too much.

If you're making your first order in iherb, you can use my referral code JUT477 to entitle for discounts
Noted. I know that with the cheapest delivery there wont be any problems with custom. Since my orders are above 2lbs i wont be able to use the cheapest delivery either. Hence, was wondering what are the rates the custom would charge (if any) on iHerb orders (not supplements or vitamins).
gon3wooha
post Mar 15 2013, 05:09 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 22 2013, 12:13 PM)
There was once they had a promo for the supplement that I was taking. 4 bottles at a lower price, so I bought 4 one shot.

Didn't have any issues with the customs though. But it's still best to not buy too many of the same product.
max amount i dare to buy for similar product is 2 only..
i bet u were using the signature-unneeded postage way.. if not sure tahan one if not confiscated..

My last 5 parcels with DHL (although not supplements), above RM500 all kena tax. Previously only 1-2 times out of 10 times.
o..ok.. noted.. rm500 would be taxed.. my max taxless purchase was around rm300.. sweat.gif
u were taxed 10 percent?
munkeyflo
post Mar 15 2013, 05:34 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(gon3wooha @ Mar 15 2013, 05:09 PM)
max amount i dare to buy for similar product is 2 only..
i bet u were using the signature-unneeded postage way.. if not sure tahan one if not confiscated..
Yea, the cheapest postage method. Have purchased from iHerb few times already using that postage method, so far no problems but sometimes need to wait very long for it to be delivered. Have bought all sorts of stuffs, from supplements to shampoo to dog food.

From what I read, if you use registered one, sure kena tahan and kena taxed.
Manlet
post Mar 16 2013, 11:43 AM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

received my item from bb.com today without any problem, package reach within 1 week. i took a glance at the kastam statement and it says anything under RM500 would be tax free...
jchong
post Mar 17 2013, 08:07 AM

5,989 posts

Customs started getting stricter from about Sep 2012. As you said they have a quota to meet and are also being audited for performance.
jchong
post Mar 17 2013, 08:12 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(novabankinghall @ Feb 23 2013, 10:06 PM)
I made few orders end of December 2012, until now i have not receive the parcel. I used the free delivery.... i guess its as good as gone... sigh...
However anyway i can at least know whats the reason? I dont receive any letter from kastam or MOH... it has been 2 months.

Most of the stuff i ordered were supplements however some are just essential oil or even tea... none arrived.
Hmm... that is a bit long. Anyway, by today still not arrived yet?

Using the cheap shipping method with no tracking is a bit risky - the risk being on the Malaysian side. I don't know what goes on in Malaysia, whether it is kastam or Pos Malaysia, etc which is giving the problem with late delivery or in many cases, non-delivery. Oh well, if wanna save cost then have to face some risk.
chilskater
post Jun 13 2013, 11:47 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Mar 17 2013, 09:12 AM)
Hmm... that is a bit long. Anyway, by today still not arrived yet?

Using the cheap shipping method with no tracking is a bit risky - the risk being on the Malaysian side. I don't know what goes on in Malaysia, whether it is kastam or Pos Malaysia, etc which is giving the problem with late delivery or in many cases, non-delivery. Oh well, if wanna save cost then have to face some risk.
Use the cheapest method will saved you from Kastam..10-20days to arrive n must check with Pusat Mel within that time..if DHL,must go through clearance..I ordered many time using cheapest method(below rm300),no problem..order two times using DHL one go through mo prob n 2nd one they put warning letter inside my parcel...so how to apply license to import herb/supplement?btw I ordered Now Hawthorn Berry,good for hypertension..
4Rings
post Jun 14 2013, 10:06 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Jun 13 2013, 11:47 PM)
Use the cheapest method will saved you from Kastam..10-20days to arrive n must check with Pusat Mel within that time..if DHL,must go through clearance..I ordered many time using cheapest method(below rm300),no problem..order two times using DHL one go through mo prob n 2nd one they put warning letter inside my parcel...so how to apply license to import herb/supplement?btw I ordered Now Hawthorn Berry,good for hypertension..
You can't apply a license to import herbal products. You need to register the product or products with the Pharmaceutical Department. The process may take up to 2 years and it would cost a few thousand bucks per product. Once approved, you will be given MAL # and you can import them legally.
jack~daniel
post Jun 15 2013, 08:48 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(whypurplishblue @ Jul 8 2010, 11:53 AM)

Has anyone imported supplements for personal use before? I ordered some from iherb.com and seems its stuck in kastams for 1 week already. Wondering if anyone has experience in this and whether its normal that kastam take so long to clear it.
How u know its stuck in customs?,
chinvf
post Jul 8 2013, 12:35 PM

Hi, I would like to share my experience of importing supplements through courier service, the vendor is Puritan Pride and I m using DHL (not express)
. They are total of 5 orders make since mar 2013 and for each order the total amt is less than RM 500 and the total bottles per order is from 15 to 33 (max is 9 bottles per 1 product). Fortunately my orders is never been confiscated by MOH or Kastam.
Normally I received my parcel after 14 to 21 days from confirmed shipment date.

Anyway I never order supplement from IHerb

SereneAshley
post Jul 23 2013, 11:00 AM

95 posts

Its been 22 days and my iherb parcel has not arrived yet. Does anyone know who to call regarding this? Is it with poslaju or the customs dept?
jutamind
post Jul 23 2013, 08:36 PM

2,429 posts

My 2nd iherb last order was via normal delivery and it took 2 months for me to get the shipment. I last ordered via dhl and I got it in 4 days with no oasis

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jul 23 2013, 11:00 AM)
Its been 22 days and my iherb parcel has not arrived yet. Does anyone know who to call regarding this? Is it with poslaju or the customs dept?
SereneAshley
post Jul 23 2013, 09:29 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jul 23 2013, 08:36 PM)
My 2nd iherb last order was via normal delivery and it took 2 months for me to get the shipment. I last ordered via dhl and I got it in 4 days with no oasis
Two months? That is just insane, did u call dhl to find out?
jutamind
post Jul 23 2013, 09:30 PM

2,429 posts

the 2 months delivery was for iherb order for normal delivery method. the order that was shipped by dhl arrived in 4 days.

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jul 23 2013, 09:29 PM)
Two months? That is just insane, did u call dhl to find out?
SereneAshley
post Jul 23 2013, 09:45 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jul 23 2013, 09:30 PM)
the 2 months delivery was for iherb order for normal delivery method. the order that was shipped by dhl arrived in 4 days.
Do you know who handles the normal delivery here in malayia? My parcel must have ended up somewhere..
jutamind
post Jul 23 2013, 09:49 PM

2,429 posts

it must be stucked in kastam. my parcels are always stucked in kastam for ages even though it's cleared by them...no idea it took them so long to release the items

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jul 23 2013, 09:45 PM)
Do you know who handles the normal delivery here in malayia? My parcel must have ended up somewhere..

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0214sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:17 AM