http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/can..._300_hs_review/
http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/digitalcamera...5248883p,00.htm
http://www.photoradar.com/reviews/product/...s-300-hs-review
DPreview site getting worst..lack of latest reviews:

Specifications
IMAGE SENSOR Type 1/2.3 type back-illuminated CMOS

Effective Pixels Approx. 10.0M

IMAGE PROCESSOR Type DIGIC 4 with iSAPS technology

LENS Focal Length 4.9 – 18.6 mm (35 mm equivalent: 28 – 105 mm)

Zoom Optical 3.8x. Digital Approx. 4x (with Digital Tele-Converter Approx. 1.4x or 2.3x and Safety Zoom ¹) ². Combined Approx. 15x

Maximum f/number f/2.0 – f/5.3

Closest Focusing Distance 3 cm (W) from front of lens in macro

Exposure Compensation +/- 2 EV in 1/3 stop increments
Enhanced i-Contrast for automatic dynamic range correction

ISO sensitivity* AUTO, 125, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200

SHUTTER Speed 1 – 1/2500 sec. (factory default)
15 – 1/2500 sec. (total range – varies by shooting mode)

LCD MONITOR Monitor 7.5 cm (3.0”) PureColor II G (TFT), 16:9 aspect ratio, Approx. 230,000 dots

Movies (HD) 1280 x 720, 30 fps, (L) 640 x 480, 30 fps, (M) 320 x 240, 30 fps, (Super Slow Motion Movie) 320 x 240, 240 fps

Movie Length (HD) Up to 4 GB or 10 min. 00 sec. ¹
(L and M) Up to 4 GB or 1 hour ²
(Super Slow Motion Movie) 30 sec.

Dimensions (WxHxD) 100.0 x 54.1 x 23.6 mm

Weight Approx. 175 g (including battery/batteries and memory card)

Got this Yesterday & still tryiong out..First few shots Y'day & Today:

Macro testing

Yellow & Green effect:

Fisheye:

Miniature mode:

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 5 2010, 10:27 PM
shmiad
post Jul 4 2010, 07:46 PM

115 posts

i watched the tvc the other day, full manual control right?

and how much is this camera?

i love the fisheye effect ;p
JoshuaLee
post Jul 4 2010, 07:51 PM

417 posts

definitely a camera for anyone who's interested in photography...its light and sleek... like the black one... but i think its surface is quite a fingerprint magnet...

its a camera even full-time photogs would carry around...as a replacement for their actual slr...

intending to get one... then i don't have to drag my gears everywhere i go.... hahhaa
TSstimix
post Jul 4 2010, 09:16 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Actually to my suprise, The black surface is matte & thus anti-fingerprint.

The red & white yes bcos of the shining surface but not the black..check the black matte:

Added on July 4, 2010, 9:18 pmBTW, the retail price is at RM1499 but for sure the actual negotiated & blank cam without pouch, SDHC & screen protector starts from RM1200 right now..lelong cheapest without SDHC card is at RM1220

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 4 2010, 09:18 PM
goldfries
post Jul 5 2010, 07:15 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

the black one is really nice to hold cos of the surface. biggrin.gif

i tested it during the IXUS 300HS event but cannot release photo cos that time not released yet (it was in May).

the fish eye mode is fun to make fun of others. try also that miniature mode, you can set the amount of area to blur out so you blur out kau kau to get a tilt-shift / macro lens kind of effect.
TSstimix
post Jul 5 2010, 07:30 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

My last picture on 1st post was taken on Noob miniature mode haha..blur up & down...but too much blur on top liao...U mean can adjust the blur?..tested on potrait miniature...damn nice...but kenot share here..haha
SUSgogo2
post Jul 5 2010, 08:52 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

nice.... I wish to get one too... so this is better than LX3? Panasonic must be scared now...
TSstimix
post Jul 5 2010, 11:39 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I can't said it's better..probably comparanble...Although able to shoot at F/2 which is the best right now on all compact series similar to LX3 & S90, but the actual sensor size (300hs =1/2.3) is still smaller than S90 (1/1.7) & LX3 (1/1,63). However the smaller sensor size compensated wth the latest & only Canon HS (high Sensitivuty sensor) back-illuminated (I think almost similar to Sony exmor R sensor kua hmm.gif )

The back-illuminated sensor uses a reversed internal design which puts the circuitry behind the photoreceptors rather than in front, and the result is greater sensitivity and, according to Canon, less noise

Although wth smaller than LX3 & S90 sensor, I decided on this to LX3 & S90 bcos:

-Attracted to the HD video cam wth superb slow motion ..hehe not yet try (S90 no HD video wor)
-The size which is smaller than both S90 & LX3
-Additional modes which I dun think S90/LX3 have (I might be wrong here) such as Fisheye & Miniature (taking a human using this damn chun wan rclxms.gif ),
- The Canon version of back-illuminated sensor similar to Sony latest TX series.. smile.gif
JoshuaLee
post Jul 5 2010, 12:30 PM

417 posts

totally agree... i will be swinging by some shops and nego gau gau for the black one~
kakaka... fun camera when not working with your own working gears... biggrin.gif

goldfries
post Jul 5 2010, 01:43 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

the fish-eye mode you can go do like those puppy with nose magnified kind of shot. tongue.gif i cannot post my "puppy" fish-eye face though. haha.

it's a fun compact go go around with. the only thing i wish for it to have is to be wider. the Ixus 210 can go wider and has more MP.
zs3889
post Jul 5 2010, 01:50 PM

1,592 posts

lol so the miniature mode is like a fake macro?
ianho
post Jul 5 2010, 01:53 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Wah the Miniature mode tipu me for a few seconds there. I was thinking WTF this lil camera got so much bokeh 1????? laugh.gif

goldfries
post Jul 5 2010, 01:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yup, it can!

to get the best out of it la, shoot at a subject that it's of further distance and from a higher angle, then blur out the top and bottom (adjustable via menu).

so let's say you're on 2nd floor of the building, you shoot downwards at say someone crossing the road, then bokeh out the top and bottoms. biggrin.gif voila straight macro / miniature / TS lens effect!
SUSgogo2
post Jul 5 2010, 02:11 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2010, 11:39 AM)
I can't said it's better..probably comparanble...Although able to shoot at F/2 which is the best right now on all compact series similar to LX3 & S90, but the actual sensor size (300hs =1/2.3) is still smaller than S90 (1/1.7) & LX3 (1/1,63). However the smaller sensor size compensated wth the latest & only Canon HS (high Sensitivuty sensor) back-illuminated (I think almost similar to Sony exmor R sensor kua  hmm.gif )

The back-illuminated sensor uses a reversed internal design which puts the circuitry behind the photoreceptors rather than in front, and the result is greater sensitivity and, according to Canon, less noise

Although wth smaller than LX3 & S90 sensor, I decided on this to LX3 & S90 bcos:

-Attracted to the HD video cam wth superb slow motion ..hehe not yet try (S90 no HD video wor)
-The size which is smaller than both S90 & LX3
-Additional modes which I dun think S90/LX3 have (I might be wrong here) such as Fisheye & Miniature (taking a human using this damn chun wan  rclxms.gif ),
- The Canon version of  back-illuminated sensor similar to Sony latest TX series..  smile.gif
yeah, I think the selling point will be the smaller size... hopefully the noise level equal to LX3 at least..

also, it can zoom more than LX3..right?

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 5 2010, 01:53 PM)
Wah the Miniature mode tipu me for a few seconds there. I was thinking WTF this lil camera got so much bokeh 1????? laugh.gif
my jaw also dropped just now seeing the bokeh... I think this is same as Olympus E-PL1 diorama mode:
ianho
post Jul 5 2010, 02:16 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

I was actually looking at this camera the past few days coz I was attracted to the bright red color fella. In the end I still wanted a small camera with big mama sensor inside. No point getting another small sensor cam. I wanted wide, I wanted high ISO, I wanted bokeh. Hehehe.
TSstimix
post Jul 5 2010, 02:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The 1/2.3 sensor compensated wth the latest backlit cmos mah..haha..So the quality similar to S90 liao..

Added on July 5, 2010, 2:43 pmHmnnn This one dun look good & real wor......Too bad I can't show the miniature mode of my daughter...damn nice.. I try on others soon..haha

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 5 2010, 02:11 PM)
my jaw also dropped just now seeing the bokeh... I think this is same as Olympus E-PL1 diorama mode:

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 5 2010, 02:43 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jul 5 2010, 03:25 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 5 2010, 02:16 PM)
I was actually looking at this camera the past few days coz I was attracted to the bright red color fella. In the end I still wanted a small camera with big mama sensor inside. No point getting another small sensor cam. I wanted wide, I wanted high ISO, I wanted bokeh. Hehehe.
I heard Panasonic coming soon with m43 fixed focal lens camera..

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2010, 02:39 PM)
The 1/2.3 sensor compensated wth the latest backlit cmos mah..haha..So the quality similar to S90 liao..

Added on July 5, 2010, 2:43 pmHmnnn This one dun look good & real wor......Too bad I can't show the miniature mode of my daughter...damn nice.. I try on others soon..haha
I think he meant APS-C sensor size... kakaka...

Dun look good because its just testing pix bro...
aeiou228
post Jul 5 2010, 06:44 PM

5,867 posts

Nice pictures. Nice feature, good form factor, good sensor. If got x10 zoom and 24 or 25mm wide angle, then sure king of all APS compact cameras already.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 5 2010, 06:51 PM
TSstimix
post Jul 5 2010, 08:13 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Pros & cons loh..nothing is perfect but atleast I can get better nite & blur-blur sotong abeit lack of super zoom dy..kenot snap drool.gif at the beach liao sad.gif Wide screen for me no good..Reso always at lower & picture not so goo wan.. smile.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 5 2010, 06:44 PM)
Nice pictures. Nice feature, good form factor, good sensor. If got x10 zoom and  24 or 25mm wide angle, then sure king of all APS compact cameras already.
Ah hao
post Jul 5 2010, 09:54 PM

1,619 posts

May i know is this camera capable of shooting shallow DOF pic ? smile.gif

since its f2.0, it shud produce nice bokeh rite ? smile.gif

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:04 AM