Photography Canon IXUS 300HS, Compact F2 with Manual Av & Tv

SUSgogo2
post Jul 5 2010, 08:52 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

nice.... I wish to get one too... so this is better than LX3? Panasonic must be scared now...
SUSgogo2
post Jul 5 2010, 02:11 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2010, 11:39 AM)
I can't said it's better..probably comparanble...Although able to shoot at F/2 which is the best right now on all compact series similar to LX3 & S90, but the actual sensor size (300hs =1/2.3) is still smaller than S90 (1/1.7) & LX3 (1/1,63). However the smaller sensor size compensated wth the latest & only Canon HS (high Sensitivuty sensor) back-illuminated (I think almost similar to Sony exmor R sensor kua  hmm.gif )

The back-illuminated sensor uses a reversed internal design which puts the circuitry behind the photoreceptors rather than in front, and the result is greater sensitivity and, according to Canon, less noise

Although wth smaller than LX3 & S90 sensor, I decided on this to LX3 & S90 bcos:

-Attracted to the HD video cam wth superb slow motion ..hehe not yet try (S90 no HD video wor)
-The size which is smaller than both S90 & LX3
-Additional modes which I dun think S90/LX3 have (I might be wrong here) such as Fisheye & Miniature (taking a human using this damn chun wan  rclxms.gif ),
- The Canon version of  back-illuminated sensor similar to Sony latest TX series..  smile.gif
yeah, I think the selling point will be the smaller size... hopefully the noise level equal to LX3 at least..

also, it can zoom more than LX3..right?

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 5 2010, 01:53 PM)
Wah the Miniature mode tipu me for a few seconds there. I was thinking WTF this lil camera got so much bokeh 1????? laugh.gif
my jaw also dropped just now seeing the bokeh... I think this is same as Olympus E-PL1 diorama mode:
SUSgogo2
post Jul 5 2010, 03:25 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 5 2010, 02:16 PM)
I was actually looking at this camera the past few days coz I was attracted to the bright red color fella. In the end I still wanted a small camera with big mama sensor inside. No point getting another small sensor cam. I wanted wide, I wanted high ISO, I wanted bokeh. Hehehe.
I heard Panasonic coming soon with m43 fixed focal lens camera..

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2010, 02:39 PM)
The 1/2.3 sensor compensated wth the latest backlit cmos mah..haha..So the quality similar to S90 liao..

Added on July 5, 2010, 2:43 pmHmnnn This one dun look good & real wor......Too bad I can't show the miniature mode of my daughter...damn nice.. I try on others soon..haha
I think he meant APS-C sensor size... kakaka...

Dun look good because its just testing pix bro...
SUSgogo2
post Jul 6 2010, 09:37 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 6 2010, 09:11 AM)
Ya lor, that's y I'm telling the fella not to expect any real bokeh even with f2 lens. These compact cams have such puny sensors, f2 lens only gives more shutter speed, bokeh is non existent.
bokeh is overated.

Although the bokeh by 300HS is fake, as long as it give a good bokeh, who cares its fake or real? LX3 and S90 cannot do it. 300HS.

300HS win...lolz

300HS > LX3 > S90
SUSgogo2
post Jul 7 2010, 10:01 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Confirmed 300HS is the best camera in the world now:

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-PowerShot-SD40...l/dp/B003L77Y5S

I purchased this over the acclaimed S90 and glad I did. Ultimately, I decided to wait on this camera in lieu of purchasing the S90 due to the video features and low light capabilities. It the past, it's the low light abilities of a camera that really separates one camera from another (while retaining detail / minimizing noise)

Naturally these are main features along with the fast lens across all optical zoom levels as well as a decent wide angle (28mm equivalent).

I already own a Canon 7D and 20D so wasn't concerned about RAW capabilities. I ultimately wanted a very compact, highly versatile camera that I could take everywhere. This camera accomplishes all of that and then some.

PROS:

-Low light shooting exceeds expectations. Slightly better than average noise for low lighting shooting.

-HD video shooting in 720P exceeded expectations as well. It is so good that I will probably use it more than my Canon 7D due to the ease of HD shooting. Allows zooming (optical and digital) and macro while shooting.

-240 fps / shooting is a lot of fun. Definitely low resolution is very noticable and subject to amount of light in terms of quality, but can still shoot fun videos in somewhat lower light conditions. I use it to capture our dogs playing and chasing after toys. A very fun option to have in a camera and icing on the cake.

-Fantastic macro. I was wondering about the macro as there was little information available. Be rest assured this macro is great.

-Build quality is great. The black matte is solid feeling in the hand and has a slight "rough" texture that makes it easy to hold and hopefully wear easier.

-When zooming out in picture-preview mode, the camera previews 130 pictures on the screen at once! Very cool.

-Small / light enough to pocket it easily ... even in a shirt pocket.

-Beautiful 3" LCD viewing screen. One of the best ones I've seen.

-Very intuitive controls. Takes a tad to get used to them (especially after using SLR cameras), but once you use them, they are a breeze to navigate and control. Amazed by the versatility of the simple layout / controls.

SUSgogo2
post Jul 7 2010, 01:18 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 7 2010, 01:00 PM)
Just a user comment lah...Kenot 100% take his words unless he hv tried S90/LX3 kua....

Here another better & pro review:
http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/can...eview/comments/
You can also see how the 1st user bad comment bcos so emo on IXUS 200 although haven't try Ixus 300  biggrin.gif
Your review I read through but he emo only... doesn't say much about SD4000 camera... his review failed liao...lol

Anyway, he talk about PEN E-PL1 too... seems like he like PEN very much...kekeke...

0.0206sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:27 PM