8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V10, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

TSkenji_britney
post Jul 2 2010, 03:22 PM, updated 16y ago

1,734 posts

Click here to be redirected to the V1 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V2 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V3 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V4 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V5 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V6 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V7 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V8 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V9 thread.
D40
user posted image user posted image

Review of D40
Dpreview of Nikon D40
Ken Rockwell's Review

D40x

D40x specifications

D60

Review of D60
Dpreview of D60
Ken Rockwell's review

D3000

Review of D3000
Dpreview of D3000

D5000

Nikon D5000 vs D60: Key Differences

Review of D5000
Dpreview of D5000

USER LIST

D40 User List:

D40x User List:

D60 User List:

D3000 User List:

D5000 User List:

This post has been edited by kenji_britney: Aug 4 2010, 10:52 AM
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 2 2010, 03:22 PM

1,734 posts

Information Zone

Autofocus Problem on Entry Level Body.

Many have ask about the problem of AF(AutoFocus) on entry level body, the problem here is whether the camera body has build-in AF motor or not. And unfortunately, for Nikon's entry level body, they don't come with build-in AF motor, hence in order to autofocus, the camera have to rely on the lens. While the lens must have its build-in AF motor, since the absent of the body AF motor. So, in Nikon's line-up, we have the "AF-S" and "AF-I" lens which has build-in SWM motor for the lens. Therefore, user of the entry level body, will have to look for lenses which has build-in AF motor in order for the autofocus function, else, the user will have to end up doing manual focusing.

While for the "AF" or "AF-D" lens from Nikon, it still can be mount on the camera, but since there is no AF motor in both the camera body as well as the lens, then the user have to work on for manual focus ONLY. On the other hand, the medium to high end of Nikon camera body will come with build-in AF motor, hence it allow the user to achieve autofocus through the camera's motor rotating the lens' element.
Below is for illustration,

Body without build-in AF motor.

Body with build-in AF motor.

Off camera flash setup

Body Area

Nikon DSLR current line-up comparison chart.

Lens Area

Nikon mount lens review

Various lens and camera accessory review.

PhotoMalaysia user product review.

The Motley Pixel: DSLR Lens Review

Technical Terms

Cleaning prices as of 09-07-2010 at nikon service center

Nikon body sensor cleaning = RM20.00 for warranty, RM60.00 for non-warranty.
Nikkor lens cleaning = RM130.00 minimum for fungus cleaning.

43 DIY lighting and setup mods tips and tricks

http://www.diyphotography.net/43-photograp...nd-diy-projects

8 On-Camera Flash Tips: How To Get Better Lighting From Your On-Camera Flash

http://digital-photography-school.com/8-on...on-camera-flash

This post has been edited by kenji_britney: Jul 27 2010, 12:39 PM
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 2 2010, 03:23 PM

1,734 posts

Upcoming Event and Outing Section

This post has been edited by kenji_britney: Jul 2 2010, 03:34 PM
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 2 2010, 03:23 PM

1,734 posts

Past Events and Outing Section

Shooting Session for Maxh3h3 & His Lovely Wife

This post has been edited by kenji_britney: Jul 2 2010, 03:34 PM
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 2 2010, 04:05 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(Vampyr3 @ Jul 2 2010, 04:02 PM)
ding dong.....post in first page first
anybody want their names in the user list, please reply here then i can update first post.
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 2 2010, 04:30 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Jul 2 2010, 04:27 PM)
aiseh.. to me, i dont mind paying anytg that cheap. laugh.gif

get something like my backpack la, the astra or winer, RM100 only hehe.. if you really want fake stuff, try Petaling Street laugh.gif
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 2 2010, 04:45 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Jul 2 2010, 04:43 PM)
sad.gif your bag look cute
my bag look cute? shocking.gif haha why drool.gif
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 2 2010, 07:38 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Jul 2 2010, 06:44 PM)
Swt I forgot to bring tripod for my malacca 3d2n trip

Added on July 2, 2010, 7:18 pmSwt and also I forgot to bring my 55-200mm lens
get a backpack like mine then can fit in everything, next time won't forget wan biggrin.gif
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 3 2010, 10:28 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jul 3 2010, 10:23 PM)
RM380 for 50mm seems like a good deal for me...
But Manual Focus turns me off...

So... What do you guys say, save up for 55-200 or 35mm f/1.8G ?
depends on what you wanna use your camera for, you need to decide what you wanna use it to shoot before deciding lens. we can't make the decision for you, or else we'll just simply say go for 70-200 f/2.8 VR laugh.gif

Added on July 3, 2010, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 3 2010, 10:28 PM)

First time I'm not using my 70-200 for events xD.
wah this 1 nice 1 leh biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kenji_britney: Jul 3 2010, 10:28 PM
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 4 2010, 12:46 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(ongdandy @ Jul 4 2010, 12:39 AM)
nikon better.
not all nikon better, i think the question jyhy ask is about 50mm f/1.4g, sigmalux is very widely known to be an excellent lens compared to even nikon's, but i dunno why tongue.gif so the pros can explain please? lol..

and btw, don't simply say nikon better ler if you don't know, ok?
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 4 2010, 12:54 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(ongdandy @ Jul 4 2010, 12:49 AM)
lol previous threat you all say nikon better, good, best.. doh.gif
most of the time nikon's is better. but there are still good third party lenses like tokina 11-18 f/2.8 also.
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 4 2010, 12:57 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jul 4 2010, 12:55 AM)
We are all talking about 50mm f1.4 la.. >.<

@kenji
is it tokina 11-16?
QUOTE(ifaaan @ Jul 4 2010, 12:56 AM)
oh yeah, how much did you get that lens for eh? i only knw 11-16  sweat.gif
ehh.. sorry sorry typo lol.. sleepy la haha
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 4 2010, 01:10 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(ifaaan @ Jul 4 2010, 01:04 AM)
eh what? that day when you told me abt the bag (the one you sumbat  thumbup.gif), i asked and you still corrected me, saying it's 11 - 18 not 11-16  sweat.gif
that time aso sleepy huh  doh.gif  hahaha
that time i told you is correct ler, i'm using tamron 11-18, i don't have tokina sad.gif
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 4 2010, 01:15 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(ifaaan @ Jul 4 2010, 01:13 AM)
oohhhhhhhhh.  doh.gif hahaha. my bad. so.. why didja choose the tamron over the tokina?
it was much cheaper, tight budget mar tongue.gif got it 2nd hand
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 5 2010, 11:13 AM

1,734 posts

1 for teaser biggrin.gif

Camera Model - Nikon D90
Lens - Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Focal Length - 50mm
Aperture - f2.8
Shutter Speed - 1/320s
ISO - 200
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 5 2010, 05:17 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(ongdandy @ Jul 5 2010, 05:13 PM)
hello.. iso 3200.. that lens heavy you know...somemore that place not very bright..i' m using vivid mode. i didn't change anything in that vivid mode.
i didn't photoshop it.

lol vivid mode is not WB. WB is tungsten, daylight, shade, flash, etc etc..

and you SHOULD photoshop a photo to make it look nicer, e.g. remove noise, change the WB, exposure, etc.
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 5 2010, 07:09 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jul 5 2010, 05:33 PM)
using photoshop + RAW, u can revive a dead image!!

Added on July 5, 2010, 5:36 pmSpam another breakfast pic in Bali

wahh... i'm hungryyyyyyy!!!!!! cry.gif
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 6 2010, 10:43 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(afizzat @ Jul 6 2010, 10:41 AM)
wow a lot ar d price different..but, 50mm f.18D can be used on D5000 rite? but won't autofocus izit..but, still can manually focus..izit hard to actually manual focus, if not, then ok what to pair 50mm f1.8D with D5000 .. biggrin.gif
manual focus is not easy, say you wanna take moving models, you'll never be able to manual focus on time sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kenji_britney: Jul 6 2010, 10:43 AM
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 6 2010, 10:51 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(afizzat @ Jul 6 2010, 10:44 AM)
right now i'm more into d5000..the only thing i'm attracted to d90 is the commander mode..coz i kind of interested in doing flash off camera..is it worth if i chose d90 over d5000 only b'coz of this..

Added on July 6, 2010, 10:46 am

really? i'm not planning to shot any models yet..but i like taking pics of people..especially frens, family when vacation or any events like graduation day..
so, i will be a problem for me to manual focus?
you can try to manual focus, but even on stationary objects, you can't get a sharp focus all the time. and it'll take longer for you to find the focus point compared to your camera doing it for you tongue.gif so, if you wanna let friends and family wait while you find a focus point, it's ok to go for d5k laugh.gif
TSkenji_britney
post Jul 6 2010, 02:41 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jul 6 2010, 02:28 PM)
^ can we stop that??
well, he's right though, ongdandy's still young and he needs to learn about things in life like this, how to talk to other ppl and treat other ppl the way he'd want other ppl to treat him. it's also about manners, if you can't get your manners right, you won't go anywhere in the future.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0384sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:20 PM