All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

limhongwoon
post Jun 26 2010, 12:27 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jun 26 2010, 01:10 PM)
i found f3 much cooler than others... always 31..33'C
The temperature is under fan cooling or not ?
limhongwoon
post Jun 26 2010, 01:02 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jun 26 2010, 01:35 PM)
open air.. i dun use casing..

previous seagate always 48..50'C
If open air , Samsung F3 1TB is really much cooler than WD Black Caviar 1TB
limhongwoon
post Jul 4 2010, 02:53 PM

2,892 posts

What is the cheapest price for Samsung F3 1TB ??
limhongwoon
post Jul 4 2010, 06:14 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jul 4 2010, 07:02 PM)
It's at Viewnet, RM 194 only.
Samsung is pushing their HDD prices as low as possible with Quality and Performance.
This causes the other brands got no choice but to lower their prices too.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Viewnet now got stocks or not ?
limhongwoon
post Jul 4 2010, 06:34 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jul 4 2010, 07:27 PM)
Not sure. Why don't you pay a visit?
I know that the Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD is selling about RM 200(should be lesser) as standard in LYP currently.
If Viewnet doesn't have it, then, try C-Zone, Cycom, Prestige IT and so on?
I cannot go there , too far already .
limhongwoon
post Jul 4 2010, 10:18 PM

2,892 posts

Why din have people tell me that they going to get the Samsung F3 1TB ??? cry.gif
limhongwoon
post Jul 5 2010, 03:03 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 5 2010, 08:12 AM)
My opinion is to get a HDD docking station and buy the internal HDD, This way you can capitalize on the low prices of these bare bones HDD and able to buy a few more additional HDDs.

Added on July 5, 2010, 7:15 amAi yo, you still haven't buy yet!?!? blink.gif
Bro, at the garage sales section have Penang people selling about extra RM10 only la. icon_rolleyes.gif
Consider transport cost to KL and back lo.
Who got sell it extra RM 10 ? So is RM 205 ?
limhongwoon
post Aug 6 2010, 08:09 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jul 31 2010, 12:07 AM)
It should be a myth for normal hard disk. For SSD, if without TRIM, it will reduce wear level each format

How to check the SSD whether is trim or not ?
limhongwoon
post Aug 27 2010, 10:13 PM

2,892 posts

Can I direct take the Seagate Hdd to the UPS SCS (M) Sdn Bhd at Subang Jaya there for RMA ?
limhongwoon
post Feb 11 2011, 12:33 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Feb 10 2011, 01:55 AM)
I also saw thread of disassembling buffalo portable harddisk with Samsung hdd inside but it's 3.5 inch drive.

Quick link http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/500gb-buff...able-2-5/212445
Somethings Buffalo use WD HDD
limhongwoon
post Mar 26 2011, 06:32 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(king_lover23 @ Mar 24 2011, 08:28 PM)
anyone can help me?
If Maxtor , u can bring it to Seagate there for repair but u need to fill up the RMA forms first in Seagate website .

Or u can look for lingloong to RMA the HDD
limhongwoon
post Apr 3 2011, 10:50 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(king_lover23 @ Mar 31 2011, 11:57 AM)
bring it to seagate? u mean seagate HQ? at where?
Why did u from ? I think the better fill the RMA form first , they will ask u where did u want to send the HDD for RMA ?
limhongwoon
post Aug 22 2011, 07:05 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Aug 22 2011, 07:20 PM)
Hi. Good evening. smile.gif

may i ask a few questions here?  laugh.gif

1. may i know what is SATA?

i bought myself a laptop (acer aspire 4740G) last year in JAN, which i'm currently using. that time, i looked at the spec details, i5, 2Gb ram(which is enough for me as a non-gamer), 500Gb, etc. however, when i compare the spec of this laptop to the others, i noticed that mine didnt have the word 'SATA' beside the 'Harddisk'.

so, i didnt care ab't the word 'SATA'. i have been curious ab't SATA. could u guys explain 'SATA' to me?  laugh.gif

2. I am looking for a portable external harddisk which doesnt need power source, i.e. just connect it to computer to use it.

however, i have zero knowledge ab't external harddisk. i do not know which brand is good. in fact, i need the best and the most reliable one. around 300-500Gb will do.

my brother possesses one Maxtor (1TB) harddisk now. yet, it seemed to have malfunctioned. when connected to PC, it shows 'It has to be formatted before usage', something like that. i heard one of my cousins said, it can be repaired by putting it into a vacuum space in order to take out everything(all the content) from it. it has to be done by a technician. i went to a few shops before, they said they do not know how to repair, dont dare to take risk.

so, i dont know which brand is good. maybe maxtor not good?  rclxub.gif

3. anyone knows how to repair my bro's Maxtor 1TB external harddisk?

TQ very much!!!!! biggrin.gif
1) Nowadays most PC and Laptop is using Sata . http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_ATA , so your Laptop will using Sata Hard Disc Last time all using IDE http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallel_ATA#IDE_and_ATA-1

2) 2.5" External Hard Disc doesn't need any extra power source to power it on . Just plug it on USB Port and can use it already . I think most of the External Hard Disc is same , just need to take care about it and don't drop it on floor or table

3) Just take it to Hard Disc Recovery Center but it will cost you few thousands to recover the data back or you might try to use some Hard Disc Recover Software to recover all data . Just google it and you will find the software
limhongwoon
post Aug 22 2011, 07:48 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Aug 22 2011, 08:29 PM)
Thanks for your reply. smile.gif

1. but, why do we need SATA? my acer aspire 4740G is using SATA?  hmm.gif what does SATA do?

2. sorry, dont understand '2.5" External Hard Disc', i'm a noob.  wub.gif what brand is this? can recommend any good external portable harddisk (300-500GB)? nod.gif  OH, ya, most importantly, the speed must be fast as well. smile.gif

2.1. how do i know which needs power source and which doesnt need power source?

3. the external hard is always on the floor.  biggrin.gif

4. may i know why my bro's Maxtor (1TB) harddisk became like that?  sad.gif

5. ya. they said people will charge u a few ringgits per MB.

Thank you very much.  notworthy.gif

Added on August 22, 2011, 7:31 pm
i'm quite curious what is the problem of your harddisk?

mind to share?  smile.gif

TQ
1) Now Sata become normal so all using Sata . Sata is much faster and IDE

2) 2.5" is more smaller hard disc compare with normal Desktop Internal Hard Disc which is 3.5"

2.1) You can ask the seller of the shop for 2.5" External Hard Disc and ask them just need USB then can function

3) I mean don't fall it from table to floor , or higher place to floor

4) Maybe the physical or mechanical problem of the Hard Disc

5) It really cost a lots than the price of your PC
limhongwoon
post Sep 2 2011, 03:16 PM

2,892 posts

What is the best and reliable 1TB Hard Disc now in the market ? Western Digital Enterprise ? I don't want the Samsung F3 1TB Hard Disc anymore
limhongwoon
post Sep 3 2011, 02:16 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 3 2011, 09:55 AM)
What's wrong with the Samsung F3?

I'm also looking for a HDD to back up my files... kept reading in this read about HDD failing scares the shit out of me  doh.gif

Any recommendations? Anything like the Samsung equivalent but means for storage only, performance not really important but the HDD has to last and important is big space (1TB~2TB).
I got one Samsung F3 1TB Hard Disc that just reach one year but the Hard Disc bring a lot of problem :

limhongwoon
post Sep 3 2011, 10:05 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Sep 3 2011, 07:58 PM)
actually most of us r looking for hdd which is mainly reliable for daily usage and kept important data.
wat software u using ar?
QUOTE(newuserex @ Sep 3 2011, 08:29 PM)
What program did you use?I would like to use it too.
I am using Hard Disc Sentinel
limhongwoon
post Sep 4 2011, 11:53 AM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 3 2011, 02:41 PM)
buy multiple HDD and store ur data. u could try buy like 3-4 unit 500GB cheap HDD and mirror ur data. Dont put it inside computer and run all the time. only use as external HDD. 

I highly doubt a HDD can fail within 5years if u only use it as an OFFLINE backup drive.

I still have my quantum bigfoot 4GB 3600rpm 5.25inch here, no bad sector, thats after 15 years already.

and other drive

Quantum Fireball 15GB 7200rpm, 11years.
WD 40GB 9years
Samsung 80GB 8years
WD 200GB 7 years. All no badsectors

so? How long u want ur HDD to last? 20-30years? sweat.gif
If the Hard Disc can last for 2-5 years already enough for me

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 4 2011, 09:40 AM)
limhongwoon, I am also using a Samsung F3 1TB as my main drive at the moment. Don't remember when I bought it, but I think also 1 year or more already. More up time than yours, but still working fine.

This is my another drive, old 80GB maxtor. Used when I'm downloading files etc. Seems like its gonna fail soon sad.gif

Actually I bought two unit of Samsung F3 1TB , another unit still can work very well .

limhongwoon
post Sep 24 2011, 06:34 PM

2,892 posts

Hi , what is the cheapest price of Samsung F3 1TB Hard Disc ? I only can find the lowest is RM 168
limhongwoon
post Sep 26 2011, 09:44 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(ITnerd @ Sep 26 2011, 07:21 PM)
Need help on my external hard disk...
it has 3.0 usb cable...
sometimes it can connect but sometimes cannot
if cannot then need unplug and plug until it can....

i have tried on my friend's n43sl jay chou edition laptop 3.0 port
cant connect at all
I think it come with two USB Plug Cable and you need to use the two USB Plug . If you use one it may not spin . What is the model of the External Hard Disc

0.0450sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:52 AM