Hi, Is it possible to buy a hard disk jumper.........Got a old IDE Hard Drive I want to use......but all the jumpers...etc all lost alreadi.
All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
Nov 11 2010, 09:51 AM
1,127 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Hi, Is it possible to buy a hard disk jumper.........Got a old IDE Hard Drive I want to use......but all the jumpers...etc all lost alreadi.
Nov 22 2010, 09:48 AM
Hi I get "delayed write errors" when copying from a external USB hard drive to my INternal hard drive. I tried disable Write cache and checked the cables but still get the error.
My hard disk is IDE 40gb but formatted as FAT32. Usually happens when my hard disk space is getting small about 1-2 gb. Affraid it is error to the Hard Disk. This post has been edited by alvinfks78: Nov 22 2010, 09:50 AM |
Nov 23 2010, 09:05 AM
Nov 24 2010, 09:57 AM
About IDE-SATA-IDE Converter.
When connecting IDE Har Disk to SATA Mobo, do you need to set the IDE Hard Disk jumpers (master/slave..etc). Can just leave it empty and config via BIOS? |
Nov 29 2010, 09:08 AM
Hey, is there a performance boost for gaming.....IDE HDD vs SATA HDD ?
Nov 29 2010, 09:30 AM
Okay.......thanks.
Dec 2 2010, 09:23 AM
Hi, Can't seem to find Western D HDD 32mb Cache Blue anywhere....I tried various shops..only 16mb Cache
Like to ask which is better performance 16mb WD Blue vs 32mb WD Green. Can also recommend a better alternative |
Dec 2 2010, 01:32 PM
Thanks all ..
Dec 6 2010, 09:21 AM
Hey, was gaming bioshock this morning then the game started to stutter and lag here and there.
50 minutes later I got BSOD.......then my hard disk disappeared from POST dettection. I turn it off and secure the converter (IDE HDD -> sata) and cables abit then on........okay. Is the fault lies in the converter cause............getting loose or something or is it overheating after using too long? the HDD temp 30c - 50c. |
Dec 6 2010, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Dec 6 2010, 10:51 AM) Temperature could be a tad high, try to keep below 40C for better performance. Hey thanks for answer. didn't know this stuff can be causes....need to go back and observe Buy cheap fans, prefer 12cm (120mm) to give a better airflow, should be around ~RM15 And the loose of cable is also one problem, How long has you been using the cable? Is your hard disk vibrate really hard during operation? You could try use rubber silicon glue (or equivalent, BUT NOT super glue) to hold it in place (few drops), it should hold it but still able to detach if needed to. (cheapo way |
Dec 20 2010, 09:13 AM
Hey, got a Seagate HDD IDE.......I scan with WD Scan.......got bad sectors.
But some bad sectors cannot be fixed. Is there another program can use to fix the bad sectors. Around How long then the thing most probably will kong |
Mar 31 2011, 09:20 AM
WTA - i currently using a IDE 40Gb 7200rpm HDD as my primary drive with OS...etc.
If I can get a new SATA 500gb 7200rpm HDD, will there be significant performance difference if I make the new HDD the primary drive. Usually use the PC for gaming, surfing, and mayb convert video files. THanks |
Apr 8 2011, 10:24 AM
WTA - hows the performance for WD Caviar GREEN 640 GB SATA Hard Drives 64MB buffer size.
compared to Samsung or other brands in playing games and other stuff. This post has been edited by alvinfks78: Apr 8 2011, 10:24 AM |
Apr 8 2011, 11:00 AM
Thank you
This post has been edited by alvinfks78: Apr 8 2011, 11:01 AM |
Apr 11 2011, 09:41 AM
Just bought a new hard disk
After partitioning & formating its says healthy. |
Apr 12 2011, 09:16 AM
Thanks for reply.
Apr 15 2011, 09:24 AM
Hey, I just installed a new HDD. My Casing don't have enough place to screw in an additional drive..........
so I just place the old HDD below the CD-ROM. Problem is the HDD is too small to be screwed so I just placed in there. Is it okay? This post has been edited by alvinfks78: Apr 15 2011, 09:25 AM |
May 10 2011, 09:23 AM
Hi I may have messed up my 1 TB internal Samsung HD 1 month old.
I use a Samsung ESTools and did a diagnostic test on the HD. Long & short test. (passed okay all test) last night. This morning when I enter Windows XP i cannot see any drives for it on "My Computer". It is detected normally at POST. And i can see it @ speedfan with SMart report. Tried Disk Management - it says HD 2 "Inactive"and Dynamic. Right click can only choose reactivate or convert to Basic. I tried to Reactivate but got error says please refer to system log. Convert to basic it says will erase all data. So, I loaded up UBuntu can see some of the drives but files are missing. And, can write & read on it. Please (The data is not really important but if I can retrieve it will be good. want to get it working again This post has been edited by alvinfks78: May 10 2011, 10:04 AM |
May 11 2011, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ May 10 2011, 10:23 AM) Hi I may have messed up my 1 TB internal Samsung HD 1 month old. Help leh plz.I use a Samsung ESTools and did a diagnostic test on the HD. Long & short test. (passed okay all test) last night. This morning when I enter Windows XP i cannot see any drives for it on "My Computer". It is detected normally at POST. And i can see it @ speedfan with SMart report. Tried Disk Management - it says HD 2 "Inactive"and Dynamic. Right click can only choose reactivate or convert to Basic. I tried to Reactivate but got error says please refer to system log. Convert to basic it says will erase all data. So, I loaded up UBuntu can see some of the drives but files are missing. And, can write & read on it. Please (The data is not really important but if I can retrieve it will be good. want to get it working again I started using Testdisk to do backup. I have four drives/partition on the HDD. ONly can make active 2 at a time using Test disk. Anybody know a better solution? This post has been edited by alvinfks78: May 11 2011, 09:36 AM |
May 11 2011, 10:29 AM
Okay THanks.
My motherboard is Gigabyte GA-945GCM-S2L Bios F4 (never update b4) CPU: INtel E2180 @ 2.20 Motherboard Website: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-p...spx?pid=2669#ov |
| Change to: | 0.0223sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:36 AM |