All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

alvinfks78
post May 11 2011, 11:58 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ May 11 2011, 12:27 PM)
Now I noticed that you state that you have 4 drives/partitions, and you can only make 2 active.
Exactly how many physical disk you have?
Each physical disk have how many partition(s)? (List out all)
For your information, each physical disk can only have 1 partition as active mode of which of this is a primary partition, this is used for disk booting purpose.
If you have 2 primary partitions on a single physical disk, you can only set either 1 as active mode which your OS reside and you want to boot from there.
Sorry I didn't know which info is needed .

I have 3 physical HDD

1. 40Gb WD with 2 partition. (XP boot OS is in here)
2. 40Gb Seagate with 3 partition. (Ubuntu in 1 partition. others movies/games
3. 1tb Samsung 7200 (the problem - 4 partition used for movies/music)

Samsung HDD is on dynamic drive. Disk management list it as (dynamic and inactive). Reactivate don't work so,

I used Test disk i can change the attribute to primary only 2 partition at a time.

Then only 2 partition can appear in explorer. The other will appear unformated (so I do backup)

If i try to change the other partition to another attribute It says "bad structure"

Thanks all for help. Sorry for lack of knowledge, I am still trying to read- up on solution.

alvinfks78
post May 11 2011, 01:35 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ May 11 2011, 01:26 PM)
Now that clear out some confusion. Not sure how bad it's but you can try set the 2 partitions that you already backup-ed to other attribute so you can set the other 2 to primary so you can do backups, note that I haven had this problem before nor did I tried this so this suggestion is on your own risk. whistling.gif
Thanks. I doing that now. icon_rolleyes.gif I read somewhere this is a rare problem with dynamic HDD. sad.gif . hope it doesn't happen again smile.gif
alvinfks78
post May 14 2011, 11:01 AM

1,127 posts

Had some problems with "dynamic" format for my hard drive recently. managed to repair it. smile.gif

WTA Whats advantages dynamic drive vs Basic. I use the hard drive for gaming, OS(future), surf net, store movies and data. Thanks. laugh.gif
alvinfks78
post May 16 2011, 10:36 AM

1,127 posts

THanks all for reply.

Need to ask another thing,

Using XP, I try to compress files on new samsung 1tb HDD in windows via clicking on the folder -> properties ->advance.

Tried 3 times, Com will freeze each time for a while then BSOD. Usually got say "pagefile error" . I tried to do one folder only still BSOD. files in the folder are movies.

Not sure if this is relevant: My OS is on a seperate physical hdd roughly 2gb free space. I set C: & D: as paging system managed.

alvinfks78
post May 16 2011, 11:20 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(everling @ May 16 2011, 12:08 PM)
Could be a bad sector or file corruption. Did you try "chkdsk /r" on all your partitions?
No, but nod.gif will do that when get home. Thanks.

last time i detected got bad sectors. I did a HDD check with EStools passed. So i thought okay alreadi unsure.gif

alvinfks78
post May 18 2011, 11:08 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(everling @ May 16 2011, 12:08 PM)
Could be a bad sector or file corruption. Did you try "chkdsk /r" on all your partitions?
HDD Samsung 1tb
4 partitions

Hi I did a chkdsk /r (XP) on one of the drives(about 300gb spaec) during boot on my drive left it overnight.

After bout 8/9 hours stuck @ 96% stage 4 or 5. Had to go to work so cannot wait longer.

Is it normal for test longer than 8 hrs?

I ran SMART through Ubuntu

Raw read error rate value = 1.

(OS on a different physical drive)

This post has been edited by alvinfks78: May 18 2011, 12:08 PM
alvinfks78
post May 18 2011, 12:16 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(everling @ May 18 2011, 01:10 PM)
While we may eventually see such numbers as HDD sizes goes up, you shouldn't be seeing it for the Samsung F3 1TB. If the "chkdsk /r" test does both read and write, it should complete the scan of the entire 1TB in about six hours. I think your HDD is damaged. If you agree, it would be best to backup what you can, securely delete your personal data and then RMA it. RMAed HDDs are almost never returned to you, as they'll replace it with another HDD.
Okay good suggestion thank you. smile.gif

Very pening lah rclxub.gif new hard disk HD.

This post has been edited by alvinfks78: May 18 2011, 05:20 PM
alvinfks78
post May 19 2011, 09:22 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ May 19 2011, 09:40 AM)
Every hard disk has its own issue, I dealt with Seagate (mine), Western Digital (both mine and office) and Samsung (mine and friend's experience), Hitachi (office).
Seagate 500GB Barracuda (first few release) has firmware issue (firmware from Thailand batch); severe firmware issue that caused the corruption of hard disk's BIOS and hard disk is not detectable, until I found problem on the web, my hard disk already being sent for RMA and they return me a new one, lost 300GB of data.
Western Digital, my 1TB Green right now has some "RAW Read Data" and "Current Pending Sector Count", both this attributes however still under acceptable condition but who knows it might affect your data? Though the data is not so important but this could happen to anyone, so watch your SMART!!
Samsung, yeah, their support over other hardware is still poor although it's on the market for quite sometimes, this make them revise their marketing strategy. HD103SJ has some issue with some Gigabyte mainboard that my friend's had; only detected 32MB after format... (=.+") Samsung HD204UI has firmware issue with AHCI NCQ features that might cause data corruption under certain case, flash the firmware helps but since I use IDE legacy on my SATA so currently doesn't face this issue yet.
Hitachi, reviewed to have the best durability but still dies on some my office HP PC, although data lost is minimal.
So there's no reliable brand to start with, just depends on your luck and always aware and backup from time to time if your data is critical.
Thanks all for reply notworthy.gif Just feel bummer cry.gif HD spoilt after 1 month.

My hard disk is HD103SJ 1tb on Gigabyte mobo GA945GCM-S2L

What did your gigabyte friend do with his Samsung HDD?

This hard disk crashed twice already. First time while copying. Then second time while checking for errors. Have to do restoration through Testdisk. When I try to check the drive via Speedfan or ubuntu t usually hang. Wondering if Czone sold me a bad drive.

Latest SMART got red flag

[attachmentid=2222419]

[attachmentid=2222422]

The ESTools 1 loop test says no errors. SHould I RMA for this HDD and will they accept/help with anything?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alvinfks78: May 19 2011, 09:43 AM
alvinfks78
post May 19 2011, 09:44 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(abershayne @ May 19 2011, 10:30 AM)
i had a 2.5" samsung hdd before and it spoiled fast.
i m getting a 1 TB 2.5" soon..is there any brand better than samsung but with reasonable price?
did u RMA the samsung HDD.
alvinfks78
post Jun 28 2011, 01:41 PM

1,127 posts

I bought F3 Samsung 1Tb from Czone in end of April................now in RMA alreadi. cry.gif .

somemore so fast F4 come out alreadi blush.gif
alvinfks78
post Jun 29 2011, 02:08 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 29 2011, 12:57 PM)
what issue is it? my frenz 1tb samsung f3 also died after 6mth of usage, all of sudden cannot boot-up, put into docking station also cannot be powered-up, i suspect the culprit was faulty pcb; anyhow, already get his replacement unit within 1-wk

i got few units of f4, so far so gud, but they mainly for storage purpose, so no intensive read/write activities
I asked for help alreadi few pages back in this thread. smile.gif

Slow, Bad sectors, Hard disk crash suddenly when doing checking.

so Send RMA. hopefully get back it is flex.gif like what ppl say.

alvinfks78
post Jul 5 2011, 11:00 AM

1,127 posts

Hi all, how to check results of chkdsk /r . I scheduled it at boot up and left it overnight.

(This morning was @ windows login screen.) Thank you. smile.gif
alvinfks78
post Jul 5 2011, 05:11 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 5 2011, 02:24 PM)
Check your Event Viewer. It will be logged there. Try checking every entry from the applicable time range, there shouldn't be too many entries.
okay thanks. smile.gif
alvinfks78
post Sep 30 2011, 03:36 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Sep 30 2011, 11:07 AM)
Bestest bang-for-the-ringgit is Samsung 1TB HD103SJ @RM169. Good performance and runs cool.
You do the maths ya?
bought from czone 1 unit 1 month later have to RMA doh.gif
alvinfks78
post Oct 28 2011, 09:16 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Oct 27 2011, 09:30 PM)
For those who still able to get cheap price for Samsung 1TB F3, better do so, you won't believe how much they have been raised.

RM305 for Samsung 1TB F3
ohmy.gif I bought for RM165 in May.

Better rolleyes.gif Sayang the hard disk.
alvinfks78
post Dec 23 2011, 10:42 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Dec 22 2011, 11:50 PM)
i wonder why my old IDE HDD can't be detect , i already buy the sata converter but my pc stil can't defect my old ide HDD =(
Had the same problem when i started using the sata converter. Basically i had to try many times try and error then luckily it worked.

Goggle it abit others have similiar problems also.

0.0374sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:01 PM