All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

SnoWFisH
post Jan 4 2012, 09:40 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jan 4 2012, 03:15 AM)
have the prices affected by the flood returned to normal edi?
nah....expect prices to only return normal earliest by august/sept this year...
SnoWFisH
post Jan 6 2012, 09:46 AM

2,250 posts

2TB hard disk just decreased around rm30-rm40, but the price is still above RM500...
SnoWFisH
post Jan 6 2012, 11:01 AM

2,250 posts

Did chkdsk prompt any problem with ur disk?
SnoWFisH
post Jan 6 2012, 11:31 AM

2,250 posts

Then time to RMA it liao....
SnoWFisH
post Jan 9 2012, 12:20 AM

2,250 posts

Just went to PC Fair penang today...500GB external hard disk is at RM229
SnoWFisH
post Jan 9 2012, 10:07 AM

2,250 posts

price now definitely improving but at a very slowly pace....

That price was a for Samsung external HDD.
SnoWFisH
post Jan 10 2012, 09:41 AM

2,250 posts

If i'm not mistaken...the latest batch of buffalo uses samsung hdd inside.

Actually, hdd spoil or not depends on ur luck too. even if a 100 hdd spoil out of a 100 000 units, its considered very good reliability from the manufacturer.

like mine for example, my seagates all kaput within 1-2 years. but my 8 year old WD 120GB caviar still alive and kicking. Not only that, both of my fireballs are still running without any problems.
SnoWFisH
post Jan 10 2012, 11:40 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 10 2012, 11:38 AM)
You sure boh? or just TKSS? hmm.gif
Been using Buffalo external HDDs since 2006, so far no issue.
On the contary...If not mistaken WD just reaffirmed their stance on staying put in Thailand....

Despite the floods, not advantageous for them to move out as all the manufacturing HDD parts are in thailand.
SnoWFisH
post Jan 10 2012, 02:20 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 10 2012, 12:31 PM)
hmm... if their manufacturing parts are in thailand, doesnt that make them underwater? hmm.gif
Precisely the reason why other hdd companies are affected even though they dont have any plants in thailand.
SnoWFisH
post Jan 11 2012, 09:48 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 10 2012, 09:14 PM)
you mean WD also act as partial parts supplier to other HDD companies such as Seaget, Samsung, Hitachi, Toshiba and etc??? shocking.gif  shocking.gif
No ler.....hahah...Companies like TDK, Niger all manufacture major HDD components and they are in Thailand and they are all underwater laugh.gif . Maybe except Niger, they literally used sampan to ship out all their critical machines to higher ground and still able to continue production. In terms of crisis preparation i think nobody can beat the Japanese thumbup.gif rclxms.gif . Still, other parts shortage causes huge lead times to other companies. And since most HDD manufacturers are American companies, they are focusing in providing hdd to US vendors and markets first.

Because WD focused so much of their manufacturing in Thailand, yes they are much pretty underwater.

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Jan 11 2012, 09:49 AM
SnoWFisH
post Jan 12 2012, 09:46 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jan 12 2012, 12:04 AM)
Seagate did not take the hit much, because they got China, but still follow the price hike because want to protect WD, haha
Not really protect WD lah, is take advantage of the situation. They even slash warranty to 1 year doh.gif

If they want to protect WD they wouldn't be suing WD right now at this time, just because a staff quit Seagate and joined WD. Quite un-sportmanship eh?

The price hike is not really controlled by the manfacturers, they are manipulated by the merchants

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Jan 12 2012, 09:46 AM
SnoWFisH
post Jan 17 2012, 11:57 PM

2,250 posts

That's why good PSU are very expensive. IF you see high end PSU like Thermaltake ones, theirs have 2 x 12 V+ rails, and each rail channels up to 75A each. Not to mention our supply TNB is quite erratic. I seen my housemate's PSU exploded in smokes, even though the PC and mains are OFF.
SnoWFisH
post Jan 19 2012, 09:46 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(yuyuyu @ Jan 18 2012, 04:55 PM)
Gain some new things today.. that is the 12V rails

One of my reason my hdd's fail might due to i have 5hdd in my desktop... hmmmm......
Just to be safe, dont power it from the same rail that power your graphics card....
SnoWFisH
post Jan 19 2012, 03:54 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Jan 19 2012, 03:53 PM)
Considering to buy a 3TB external HDD. I saw the price for WD and SG are the same, which is RM610. Is this price much higher compared to before flood? In that case, I might wait for the price to ramp down.
Yes its a lot higher...Only SSD are not affected.
SnoWFisH
post Jan 19 2012, 04:01 PM

2,250 posts

I din't really observe 3TB but should be RM300++, since 2TB is only around RM250.
SnoWFisH
post Jan 19 2012, 04:13 PM

2,250 posts

Whooops...sorry I was quoting Internal HDD Prices....not external...

0.1195sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:30 AM