126 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Motorola Milestone official thread V2, Flashing sbf & rooting guides @ 1st post

junkieG
post Nov 5 2010, 10:44 PM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Nov 4 2010, 03:33 PM)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=784750

Note: U will need to flash GOT 2.2.1 sbf first in order to use the latest CM6 mod
OK ...seems like um not the only one, mind sharing the update process?

I got these already

1) openrecovery androidriani
2) the CM6 ROM
3) G.O.T Installed on my milestone

then what? I can use the androidiani OR but updating through it seems failed....where to place the rom in the first place? rclxub.gif

your assistance is highly appreciated.

TQ

Nevermind. GOT IT SORTED! wo wo weeeee!!!!

This post has been edited by junkieG: Nov 5 2010, 11:02 PM
lms2005
post Nov 5 2010, 10:53 PM

1,270 posts

how to check milestone usage life? wat is d magic code?
junkieG
post Nov 5 2010, 11:36 PM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

now my phone with CM6 mod has become ULTIMATE phone....

recommended update for everyone....quite technical for noobs but fun if u brave enough...

auto switching to 2G IS BRILLIANT!

im am soooooo happy....snappy like hell!
TSscpt
post Nov 6 2010, 10:06 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

awesome rite? biggrin.gif ppl who cant wait for their Froyo dessert should get this
xxboxx
post Nov 6 2010, 11:02 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Nov 4 2010, 03:33 PM)

Note: U will need to flash GOT 2.2.1 sbf first in order to use the latest CM6 mod

QUOTE(junkieG @ Nov 5 2010, 10:44 PM)
OK ...seems like um not the only one, mind sharing the update process?

I got these already

1) openrecovery androidriani
2) the CM6 ROM
3) G.O.T Installed on my milestone
then what? I can use the androidiani OR but updating through it seems failed....where to place the rom in the first place?  rclxub.gif

your assistance is highly appreciated.

TQ

Nevermind. GOT IT SORTED! wo wo weeeee!!!!
mind doing step-by step tutorial on how to flash the CM6?

any program to backup sms, contact, apps and setting?
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 6 2010, 11:15 AM

5,366 posts

those using Froyo GOT or CM6, mind to tell the Flash performance on the browser?
junkieG
post Nov 6 2010, 05:12 PM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

Flash works not as great as normal pc...but its watchable for me since I'm running 550mhz. Else can just use the youtube app for normal experience.

Am on CM6 latest built

And for those dat wanna backup their sms, apps and such, pls Google it first.

No hang so far...battery life seems great.

Added on November 6, 2010, 5:28 pmCm6 no task manager?

This post has been edited by junkieG: Nov 6 2010, 05:28 PM
shiloong7081
post Nov 6 2010, 10:03 PM

928 posts

anyone here mind pointing us to the links where you guys followed to flash to CM6 ? I know how to google, just that to follow the exact steps that you guys followed to make it work would be much better, in my opinion.

Really appreciate the help.
lms2005
post Nov 7 2010, 02:36 AM

1,270 posts

juz got my milestone yesterday... found a big problem...

is there anyway to install apk if dun want donwload anything from market place or what ever site which need connection charges?
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 7 2010, 10:22 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Nov 7 2010, 02:36 AM)
juz got my milestone yesterday... found a big problem...

is there anyway to install apk if dun want donwload anything from market place or what ever site which need connection charges?
simple, download file manager app like "ASTRO" from Market

then, get your .apk files from various sources, place it anywhere in your SD card, then launch ASTRO, point to the location inside your SD which have the .apk, launch and install..
xxboxx
post Nov 7 2010, 11:26 AM

5,261 posts

i flashed to GOT, and then update to CM6 ard..

i'll try to make a simple step-by-step tutorial:

1. backup you data
contact can be sync with your gmail. sms and setting can try Sprite Backup
for apps it is better to fresh install after flash to CM6 than backup & restore.
(my backup with Sprite can't be restore. maybe because different OS version?)
media files such as picture, mp3 and video just copy to computer, later coy back to card.

2. Vulnerable recovery hacks
follow the steps (and files) as link below
http://modmymobile.com/forums/564-motorola...e-recovery.html
RSD Lite and USB driver can get from here: http://groupoften.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/install-via-sbf/
(in my case, the long filename and file at desktop makes the RSD Lite unable to start the flashing. renaming it to recovery.sbf and put the file at C:\ fix this error)

3. know your bootloader
hold UP on the keypad while boot your MS to load bootloader,
if 90.78, later, to enter recovery mode is hold X then press Power
if not 90.78, HOLD Camera button then press Power

3. Recovery Mode and making nandroid backup
follow the instruction on link below, start at step 2 as we already done step 1:
http://modmymobile.com/forums/563-motorola...-19-2010-a.html
as we are going to flash diff ROM then update with diff ROM, it is advisable to do wipe data (factory reset) when in this mode.
also advisable to do nandroid backup of your original ROM, so if bad luck when flash, you can still restore directly from your SD card.
in this mode also have the function to root and mem hack, which if needed can be done after finish update to CM6.

4. flashing to GOT
get the file here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=810726
(i use the RETAIL EUROPE - RTEU)

flashing instruction here:
http://groupoften.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/install-via-sbf/
(again, use short filename with no space and put at C:\ to avoid any problem)

5. update to CM6
the files and instruction as below:
CM6 have a bootloop with bluetooth problem. update with this files afterward:
http://code.google.com/p/cyanogenmod4miles...10.11.03%29.zip

if you want to use Goggle apps, you also need to update another file after you update the CM6, files as below:
http://www.tap3w0rm.com/hosted/android/gap...1025-signed.zip
same as CM6 put the files in folder /sdcard/OpenRecovery/updates

while you still in recovery mode, you might want to use the root, mem hack, and overclock function.
Memhack is enable by default in CM6 (credit to scpt)

6. Congratulation!
your Milestone is now running on Froyo. biggrin.gif

EDIT: update few of the steps.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on my side, didn't feel Froyo is snappier than my stock Starhub Eclair. but loving the install to SD card tho, now i still have >100MB in my phone memory. ADW launcher feels lagging and harder to move to next home screen when compare with Launcherpro. uninstall ADW. Wifi still have the problem as when i using Eclair, it will DC for no apparent reason even when i'm browsing or download.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Nov 8 2010, 06:41 PM
geney
post Nov 7 2010, 01:58 PM

498 posts

I installed 2.2.1 and CM 6.1 RC1 for my friend few days back. Played for few hours and I would say it's really good as compared to the stock MS firmware.

Batt life wise, I didn't have enough time to test as returning it to friend liao. Performance is sure snappy. With additional features (pull down notification bar to turn on/off things) from CM some more, it's really good.
TSscpt
post Nov 8 2010, 05:31 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

Good job on the instructions there xxboxx!

btw, memhack is enabled by default in CM6

Feels snappier for me. I test by pressing screen preview for Launcher Pro. In 2.1, it was a little choppy. In CM6, it's butter smooth biggrin.gif Of course the overall experience seems to be faster for me too

That said, there are some minor bugs here n there (a stand out one might be when going back to homescreen, sometimes it takes a while to load the widgets. phone reboots while connecting usb for sd card access), but I think the extra built-in features of the mod are worth the hassle here
lms2005
post Nov 8 2010, 05:54 PM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 7 2010, 10:22 AM)
simple, download file manager app like "ASTRO" from Market

then, get your .apk files from various sources, place it anywhere in your SD card, then launch ASTRO, point to the location inside your SD which have the .apk, launch and install..
if no internet access?

btw how to stop from always access internet through 2g/3g? credit dropping fast cry.gif
xxboxx
post Nov 8 2010, 06:34 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Nov 8 2010, 05:31 PM)
Good job on the instructions there xxboxx!

btw, memhack is enabled by default in CM6

Feels snappier for me. I test by pressing screen preview for Launcher Pro. In 2.1, it was a little choppy. In CM6, it's butter smooth biggrin.gif Of course the overall experience seems to be faster for me too

That said, there are some minor bugs here n there (a stand out one might be when going back to homescreen, sometimes it takes a while to load the widgets. phone reboots while connecting usb for sd card access), but I think the extra built-in features of the mod are worth the hassle here

the instruction is from the limited time I have with android.
If got any mistake or better suggestion, please tell me, I'll amend it. notworthy.gif

Ya, the problem with back to home screen still exist even after I change to launcherpro. If the option to force close come out, I just select it and it will restart launcherpro and the home screen can be used again.

I didn't have the reboot while connecting for sd card problem. But I. Have a problem with battery decreasing too fast, 3 hours of phone idling & it decrease 20%! I'm was using overclock @ 900mhz. Using underclock @ 550mhz is too laggy when browsing page that have many picture or youtube. Now I'm using Milestone Overclock to run @ 800mhz and I delete cm stats.apk, so far so good. After 6 hours, with some light browsing by wifi + some calls, the battery only decrease by 30%.

The pros far outweight the cons in cm6. Definitely worth the upgrade from eclair. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Nov 8 2010, 05:54 PM)
if no internet access?

btw how to stop from always access internet through 2g/3g? credit dropping fast  cry.gif

search the apps from your computer, good place to start is 4shared. Then copy the apk to your sd card. Use Astro or other file manager to access the sd card and install it.

Use Apndroid to disable 3G.
nncl
post Nov 8 2010, 08:25 PM

404 posts

wanna ask some question, if i flash the Retail Europe sbf GOT 2.2.1 , do my phone still got chinese language or not?
xxboxx
post Nov 8 2010, 08:44 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(nncl @ Nov 8 2010, 08:25 PM)
wanna ask some question, if i flash the Retail Europe sbf GOT 2.2.1 , do my phone still got chinese language or not?
Still got. In fact got all language such as Arabic & Tagalog. blink.gif

I manage to solve the home screen problem. In the CM setting, got option to keep the default home screen always on memory.

Is it just me or is the predictive text is better? 90% of the prediction is correct. rclxms.gif
nncl
post Nov 8 2010, 09:20 PM

404 posts

oo, thx for answer
haroldz123
post Nov 9 2010, 04:27 AM

1,063 posts

nice written guide...can share tis in rooting FAQs
junkieG
post Nov 9 2010, 03:17 PM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

can someone here kind enough to send me the swype.apk?

mine does not working fine on landscape mode....

126 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0316sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:52 PM