4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Is it worthy to take JPA?

TSkids1412
post Jun 12 2010, 08:26 PM, updated 16y ago

26 posts

I checked and found out that I am offered by JPA to study in Nottingham, foundation in engineering. I'm currently studying A-Levels, which then will end at next year's June. My plan is to finish A-Levels then apply to either NUS or NTU. So, my first choice of uni would be first NUS, then second NTU, and third Nottingham.

So, is it worth taking the scholarship? Will the education in NUS and NTU be FAR more better than Nottingham? And can I go on to masters after finishing the degree?

This post has been edited by kids1412: Jun 13 2010, 12:02 PM
lexiqa
post Jun 12 2010, 09:26 PM

525 posts

Nottingham is a very good uni. u shld go. esply if it's full scholarship. don't waste this opportunity. blink.gif

i took the liberty to upload printscreens of the UK Times' Good University Guide 2011 for ur reference.
(the printscreen for the whole list of unis is not clear so i copy pasted it here. it's not visually pleasing nor easy to refer to like this so if anyone wants it, just email me) in any case, can just refer to the listing

***note that this list is for ALL UK UNIVERSITIES ON THE WHOLE.
to be more definite about ur choices, compare unis in the degree subject u r interested to pursue using the SUBJECT listing.

THE TIMES
Good University Guide

University or subject
Universities | Subjects

The Times Good University Guide has been helping students choose degree courses since 1993. It is recognised as the most authoritative assessment of its type and is used by university applicants, parents and even governments across the world.

The 113 universities in the main table are compared on eight well-established measures of importance to the undergraduate experience. They include the views of recent undergraduates, leading academics’ verdicts on the quality of research and the success rates of graduates in the employment market.

In the latest edition, Oxford continues to lead Cambridge at the top of the table. But below the top four, there are changes throughout the ranking. Lancaster, for example, is in the top ten for the first time after a big rise up the table, while Lincoln leaps 24 places into 62nd position.

Click on columnns to rank institutions by different criteria, or on university names to see a full profile and statistics

Rank  Name  Student satisfaction  Research quality  Entry standards  Student-staff ratio  Services spend  Completion  Good honours  Graduate prospects  Score
1  Oxford  85%  4.2/9  532  10.8  £3,168  98.5%  91.8%  82.8%  1,000
2  Cambridge  85%  4.3/9  547  11.6  £2,635  98.6%  87.3%  82.3%  965
3  Imperial College  76%  3.1/9  504  10.4  £4,090  95.1%  72.7%  88.9%  851
4  St Andrews  84%  2.8/9  455  13.4  £1,856  94.9%  85.6%  74.4%  798
5  LSE  72%  3.7/9  494  13.2  £2,232  95.2%  76.5%  81.9%  789
6  Durham  81%  3.0/9  468  15.4  £2,084  97.8%  79.0%  77.8%  788
7  UCL  78%  3.2/9  458  8.9  £2,124  94.8%  81.0%  80.8%  784
8  Warwick  79%  2.8/9  464  13.0  £1,927  95.4%  79.9%  77.9%  766
9  York  81%  2.9/9  423  13.7  £1,920  94.9%  75.3%  71.5%  748
10  Lancaster  80%  2.8/9  393  13.4  £1,746  94.1%  68.3%  77.6%  737
11  Edinburgh  74%  3.2/9  439  13.3  £2,572  92.0%  80.2%  76.2%  733
12  Exeter  84%  2.8/9  408  18.4  £1,732  95.8%  79.6%  66.8%  723
13  Bath  80%  2.3/9  451  15.7  £1,610  94.8%  74.2%  80.9%  714
14  Bristol  74%  3.0/9  448  13.6  £2,015  95.1%  78.6%  78.3%  706
15  Leicester  85%  2.2/9  372  14.4  £1,618  92.6%  71.6%  74.2%  691
16  Loughborough  85%  2.5/9  370  18.0  £1,288  93.8%  69.9%  71.3%  687
16  King's  76%  2.3/9  421  11.1  £2,060  94.1%  75.6%  80.5%  687
18  Sheffield  80%  2.7/9  411  13.8  £1,488  92.1%  72.8%  72.3%  686
19  Southampton  79%  2.3/9  407  13.4  £1,854  92.6%  74.4%  76.3%  682
20  Nottingham  78%  2.4/9  412  13.6  £1,574  94.5%  75.0%  75.7%  679
21  Sussex  78%  2.6/9  371  15.2  £1,428  90.8%  80.0%  72.6%  674
22  Birmingham  79%  2.4/9  404  15.1  £1,893  93.3%  72.2%  69.9%  661
23  East Anglia  83%  2.1/9  366  15.3  £1,617  90.3%  71.2%  69.1%  658
23  Glasgow  81%  2.4/9  399  14.0  £1,888  84.3%  70.3%  72.1%  658
25  Newcastle  79%  2.2/9  399  15.0  £1,624  92.9%  72.0%  72.4%  651
26  Leeds  78%  2.3/9  397  14.1  £1,484  92.6%  74.2%  70.5%  648
27  SOAS  73%  2.2/9  387  11.2  £2,016  87.9%  73.1%  73.1%  643
28  Liverpool  77%  2.1/9  403  12.5  £1,994  89.6%  71.1%  70.6%  641
29  Aston  80%  1.4/9  364  17.8  £1,718  91.6%  70.1%  75.2%  630
30  Manchester  73%  2.8/9  416  13.5  £1,777  92.3%  70.3%  71.1%  629
31  Royal Holloway  76%  2.8/9  366  14.8  £1,495  93.1%  70.9%  62.7%  623
32  Surrey  78%  2.1/9  372  18.0  £1,515  83.5%  68.1%  79.6%  606
33  Aberdeen  82%  2.1/9  357  14.9  £1,344  80.0%  67.6%  76.8%  605
34  Cardiff  77%  2.1/9  392  14.9  £1,348  93.4%  69.0%  72.8%  604
35  Reading  79%  2.4/9  350  16.7  £1,152  91.8%  69.8%  66.0%  595
36  Queen Mary  77%  2.3/9  354  12.9  £1,531  89.6%  64.6%  76.0%  592
36  Strathclyde  77%  1.8/9  388  17.7  £1,558  84.6%  71.7%  75.5%  592
38  The Queen's  77%  2.0/9  368  15.2  £1,745  85.3%  68.5%  74.7%  588
39  Kent  80%  1.7/9  319  14.8  £1,245  86.8%  63.9%  68.6%  580
40  Aberystwyth  83%  2.1/9  292  16.0  £1,320  85.8%  60.1%  61.5%  568
41  Essex  77%  2.2/9  311  13.8  £1,672  86.5%  58.3%  60.2%  565
42  Keele  79%  1.3/9  302  13.0  £1,141  88.5%  65.6%  68.3%  555
43  Heriot-Watt  74%  1.9/9  338  16.8  £1,726  82.6%  68.6%  74.7%  551
44  Dundee  80%  1.6/9  344  14.0  £1,333  79.5%  68.4%  68.6%  549
45  Stirling  78%  1.5/9  314  17.0  £1,205  82.9%  65.5%  67.6%  513
46  Robert Gordon  78%  0.6/9  314  18.7  £1,305  83.6%  56.9%  83.4%  509
47  City  72%  1.5/9  340  18.6  £1,381  82.8%  68.2%  79.4%  506
48  Hull  81%  1.2/9  290  19.5  £1,216  82.4%  58.0%  70.0%  504
49  Swansea  79%  1.7/9  299  14.9  £1,227  88.1%  56.0%  58.4%  501
50  Brunel  73%  1.9/9  315  19.7  £1,531  86.2%  66.8%  66.1%  493
51  Oxford Brookes  78%  0.6/9  309  17.7  £1,206  85.6%  66.8%  67.0%  489
52  Goldsmiths  73%  2.5/9  318  16.8  £911  82.5%  66.0%  56.7%  479
53  Chichester  82%  0.2/9  270  15.3  £1,105  87.0%  50.2%  59.9%  478
54  Bangor  78%  1.7/9  284  17.1  £1,082  86.4%  56.9%  57.8%  469
55  Nottingham Trent  76%  0.5/9  274  18.2  £1,361  85.5%  55.1%  71.0%  467
56  Ulster  77%  1.2/9  269  15.9  £1,480  77.8%  61.2%  58.9%  452
57  Bradford  76%  1.1/9  275  15.8  £1,170  79.8%  62.2%  71.1%  451
57  De Montfort  79%  0.6/9  247  16.3  £1,078  82.0%  51.5%  69.4%  451
59  Bournemouth  75%  0.5/9  297  23.8  £1,282  85.3%  61.5%  70.8%  447
59  Northumbria  78%  0.3/9  299  21.3  £1,160  85.8%  56.2%  70.5%  447
61  Plymouth  75%  0.8/9  279  15.3  £1,222  83.8%  61.8%  57.7%  435
62  Lincoln  78%  0.6/9  273  20.3  £1,073  83.5%  56.2%  60.6%  434
63  Hertfordshire  75%  0.4/9  241  15.6  £1,644  81.3%  59.5%  62.9%  429
64  Gloucestershire  75%  0.3/9  255  18.1  £1,397  81.8%  60.9%  60.3%  424
65  Glasgow Cal  77%  0.4/9  328  20.7  £1,158  79.7%  66.0%  62.6%  423
66  Edin Napier  76%  0.4/9  264  19.2  £1,162  75.6%  63.9%  72.0%  421
67  Cardiff, UWIC  76%  0.4/9  260  20.0  £1,432  82.5%  54.5%  61.1%  418
67  Queen Margaret  n/a  0.5/9  299  19.7  £1,105  79.6%  63.4%  66.3%  418
69  West of England  77%  0.6/9  273  19.5  £1,184  81.1%  62.9%  60.0%  416
69  Central Lancs  77%  0.4/9  263  17.0  £1,606  73.9%  49.7%  61.0%  416
71  Brighton  75%  1.0/9  281  19.7  £931  83.5%  58.9%  61.6%  415
72  Sheffield Hallam  73%  0.4/9  274  18.3  £1,050  85.2%  63.0%  63.0%  413
73  Huddersfield  75%  0.2/9  272  15.9  £1,409  77.7%  57.3%  61.1%  410
74  Portsmouth  80%  0.6/9  273  20.2  £1,242  82.9%  51.3%  54.6%  405
74  Winchester  77%  0.5/9  270  17.4  £936  85.4%  57.5%  51.6%  405
76  Edge Hill  78%  0.1/9  259  18.0  £1,425  79.0%  47.6%  63.9%  402
77  Staffordshire  76%  0.1/9  241  19.1  £1,274  79.8%  50.8%  67.4%  399
78  Cumbria  73%  0.1/9  274  15.2  £1,148  82.6%  50.6%  67.2%  398
79  Sunderland  79%  0.6/9  232  15.6  £932  76.1%  48.6%  58.6%  396
80  Bath Spa  78%  0.4/9  283  24.2  £653  90.3%  65.9%  55.1%  394
81  York St John  76%  0.2/9  280  19.9  £1,259  85.6%  56.2%  57.1%  391
81  Birmingham City  73%  0.3/9  254  18.0  £1,554  77.4%  56.2%  69.1%  391
83  Chester  75%  0.2/9  268  17.5  £854  79.0%  56.7%  65.6%  390
84  Coventry  74%  0.3/9  274  17.9  £1,155  76.4%  64.9%  64.2%  388
85  Trinity St David  77%  1.1/9  262  17.8  £1,029  73.0%  53.6%  57.2%  377
86  Uni of the Arts  63%  2.0/9  280  19.6  £1,008  85.7%  60.5%  56.2%  375
87  Roehampton  72%  0.9/9  245  18.3  £1,292  82.1%  52.2%  57.7%  363
88  Salford  74%  1.0/9  266  18.5  £1,133  74.6%  52.3%  59.8%  358
89  Northampton  77%  0.2/9  240  20.9  £1,123  80.6%  57.6%  54.9%  356
90  Teesside  79%  0.2/9  258  19.5  £1,043  71.2%  53.5%  60.0%  355
90  Worcester  76%  0.1/9  260  20.7  £930  79.9%  52.1%  62.4%  355
92  Kingston  74%  0.4/9  235  20.0  £1,134  81.5%  60.7%  57.7%  353
93  Glyndwr  75%  0.2/9  232  21.0  £1,561  77.2%  52.8%  62.6%  348
94  Glamorgan  74%  0.5/9  271  18.1  £1,244  69.8%  56.0%  56.1%  344
95  Manchester Met  72%  0.5/9  268  19.8  £1,127  78.8%  57.2%  57.5%  341
96  Newport  75%  0.3/9  249  22.6  £987  79.3%  52.5%  58.7%  331
97  Canterbury CC  74%  0.2/9  247  20.3  £919  80.5%  49.2%  64.7%  329
98  Liverpool JM  74%  0.4/9  246  19.7  £1,150  77.2%  53.6%  54.2%  328
99  Leeds Met  68%  0.2/9  263  21.2  £941  81.3%  53.4%  67.2%  323
100  Westminster  69%  0.5/9  267  16.3  £1,032  79.3%  52.7%  53.2%  322
101  Bedfordshire  75%  0.2/9  200  19.3  £728  82.7%  44.5%  60.2%  321
102  Abertay Dundee  n/a  0.4/9  256  20.8  £1,361  70.1%  54.0%  56.6%  314
103  Greenwich  78%  0.4/9  241  25.1  £1,023  75.7%  47.4%  59.7%  309
104  Middlesex  70%  0.6/9  184  22.8  £2,128  75.8%  50.3%  56.5%  307
104  Derby  74%  0.1/9  237  19.6  £1,367  74.2%  46.2%  56.8%  307
106  Thames Valley  72%  0.2/9  201  20.6  £1,421  67.2%  49.2%  59.6%  278
107  Anglia Ruskin  67%  0.2/9  254  19.6  £1,049  75.8%  55.4%  58.5%  272
108  Bolton  73%  0.3/9  209  18.0  £734  62.6%  48.5%  56.5%  264
109  Creative Arts  67%  0.6/9  264  24.3  £1,672  83.8%  50.0%  45.3%  251
110  Soton Solent  70%  0.1/9  241  22.1  £1,085  75.0%  42.3%  49.2%  244
111  East London  69%  0.5/9  187  22.3  £1,117  79.4%  46.4%  52.9%  234
112  Bucks New  69%  0.1/9  207  20.5  £1,283  77.9%  43.8%  45.7%  232
113  London South Bank  72%  0.3/9  192  23.4  £976  66.4%  45.8%  58.5%  195
Contact us | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | FAQ | Syndication | Advertising
© Times Newspapers Ltd 2010 Registered in England No. 894646 Registered office: 1 Virginia Street, London, E98 1XY
nottingham uni is at no20 on the whole in a list of 113 universities. hence, they r considered a very reputable and respected university.

attached are printscreens of universities' rankings according to subject.

GENERAL ENGINEERING=nottingham uni at no3

MECHANICAL ENG= nottingham uni at no8

E&E ENG=nottingham at no16

CIVIL ENG= nottingham at no11

JUST GO ALD! IT'S SCHOLARSHIP! don't need to think too much liao.

if u r afraid of being bonded, just make sure u do very well in ur studies, i'm sure u can get some MNCs interested to pay off the bond to get u working for them.

worse comes to worst, at least u have a job waiting for u when u finish u degree. right? cool2.gif

p/s: pls use "is it worth going...?" instead of "is it worthy...?" as it is not the right way to use the word "worthy".
Searingmage
post Jun 12 2010, 09:48 PM

1,809 posts

Go for it man... Full Scholarship, that's what any students want.. Unless you're from a rich family and don't mind paying extra + want to study at sg, you should go. Nott is a good university, and yes, you can take masters at any uni after you grad.
xpole
post Jun 12 2010, 10:02 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(kids1412 @ Jun 12 2010, 08:26 PM)
I checked and found out that I am offered by JPA to study in Nottingham, foundation in engineering. I'm currently studying A-Levels, which then will end at next year's June. My plan is to finish A-Levels then apply to either NUS or NTU. So, my first choice of uni would be first NUS, then second NTU, and third Nottingham.

So, is it worthy to take the scholarship? Will the education in NUS and NTU be FAR more better than Nottingham? And can I go on to masters after finishing the degree?
rezeki depan mata ragu-ragu... ambil sahaja la... Nottingham babe... tongue.gif If I were u... I quit taking A-level and take the scholarship blush.gif
lexiqa
post Jun 12 2010, 10:05 PM

525 posts

totally don't recommend going to SG to study. the exposure there and in uk is totally different.

SG and our country's cultures are almost the same. hence, the exposure to new cultures, ideas, perspectives and mindsets are higher in uk. lecturers there are so much different and u will learn a lot of new things when u need to be living independently away from home.

u won't regret going to uk to study. srsly.
Tirokswifts
post Jun 12 2010, 10:21 PM

22 posts

I think he mean NOTTINGHAM, malaysia campus.

Is it still GOOD compared to UK?
lexiqa
post Jun 12 2010, 10:41 PM

525 posts

we don't know for sure he's referring to nottingham uk or msia campus.

assuming that what the ministry say is true on how branch campuses are supposed to give the same kind of treatment as per their students in uk receive, it shld be the same.

of coz the learning experience will be different as u will still be inside the country vs in uk.. ahems

ccm123
post Jun 12 2010, 11:19 PM

579 posts

I am pretty sure it's Nottingham Malaysia campus. JPA overseas preparatory program do not decide the unis after the candidates finished their pre-uni, instead they will give a list to their candidates and ask them to apply there on their own.

Well, in terms of Malaysia, I would say Nottingham's engineering hold quite a good name for it, but to compare it with prestigious unis like NUS and NTU would make Nottingham's standard sound much lower.

Bare in mind, it's not easy to obtain admission from NUS and NTU, but I would say studying there is far more promising rather than getting ur engineering degree in Malaysia. Who knows after your A levels, you could apply to overseas unis and then get a full scholarship to study there?
lexiqa
post Jun 12 2010, 11:42 PM

525 posts

that's too bad.

but isn't he offered the JPA scholarship based on his SPM results for foundation in engineering (a pre-u course) to start in sept?? i know a lot of ppl do get offered by JPA to go overseas.

does nottingham msia offer the same course?
i doubt NUS is that much better compared to nottingham, msia or not.
ccm123
post Jun 13 2010, 12:01 AM

579 posts

For JPA scholarship, there's local and overseas. For local ones, there's a shorter route, that is through a foundation in something, and for oversea ones they will either be taking A level, if they're heading to UK, SAM to Australia, ADP to America and etc.

For after pre-uni courses, JPA only offers a program called "Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League & Setara" which is only for candidates to certain prestigious unis only, whereby the candidate have to obtain the admission offer themselves.

NUS is ranked 30 in the world a reason, and try finding Malaysia's Nottingham campus, and no it's definitely not on par with UK's nottingham.
mumeichan
post Jun 13 2010, 12:29 AM

4,152 posts

I think you guys didn't read his question properly. He is offered a scholarship to for a "foundation in engineering" program at Nottingham.
lexiqa
post Jun 13 2010, 01:34 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(ccm123 @ Jun 13 2010, 12:01 AM)
For JPA scholarship, there's local and overseas. For local ones, there's a shorter route, that is through a foundation in something, and for oversea ones they will either be taking A level, if they're heading to UK, SAM to Australia, ADP to America and etc.

For after pre-uni courses, JPA only offers a program called "Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League & Setara" which is only for candidates to certain prestigious unis only, whereby the candidate have to obtain the admission offer themselves.

NUS is ranked 30 in the world a reason, and try finding Malaysia's Nottingham campus, and no it's definitely not on par with UK's nottingham.
yes i know there're local and overseas offers. that's why i said "ppl do get offered by JPA to go overseas." it means, it can happen.

i doubt they evaluate universities based on the status of each different branch. of course, as we know, the quality of lecturers can't be equal to the main campus. so, cant be helped tongue.gif

JPA must have changed their policies regarding pre-u courses. my schoolmates and other friends did get JPA scholarship to go straight to overseas unis after SPM. MARA did that too.hmm.gif

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 13 2010, 12:29 AM)
I think you guys didn't read his question properly. He is offered a scholarship to for a "foundation in engineering" program at Nottingham.
yeah we know. but he didn't say uk or msia what. now we discussing it lar.

Hikari0307
post Jun 13 2010, 01:50 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

Well in my opinion there's not really much difference in the value if we're talking about an Undergraduate Degree since NUS,NTU and Nottingham are all excellent universities though NUS and NTU are better though the attraction of full scholarship holds more value to me if I were in your shoes and it's not like Nottingham is your average Uni either ^^ Unless of course your rich enough that the scholarship is not really that important for you ^^
TSkids1412
post Jun 13 2010, 12:01 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jun 12 2010, 10:41 PM)
we don't know for sure he's referring to nottingham uk or msia campus.

assuming that what the ministry say is true on how branch campuses are supposed to give the same kind of treatment as per their students in uk receive, it shld be the same.

of coz the learning experience will be different as u will still be inside the country vs in uk.. ahems
Yup it's Nottingham Malaysia campus...

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jun 12 2010, 11:42 PM)
that's too bad.

but isn't he offered the JPA scholarship based on his SPM results for foundation in engineering (a pre-u course) to start in sept?? i know a lot of ppl do get offered by JPA to go overseas.

does nottingham msia offer the same course?
i doubt NUS is that much better compared to nottingham, msia or not.
It's July intake... So, does JPA offer scholarship up to completed degree, or up to foundation only? The website said "PROGRAM PERSEDIAAN KEJURUTERAAN ( 18 BULAN)"
samuel89
post Jun 13 2010, 12:31 PM

25 posts

provided u are confident to get into NUS/NUT(NUS will be >> NUT/Nott in terms of pretige at least) From what i heard singapore govt spend alot to get world class lecturers to singapore. I know a few good lecturers who got headhunted as well.

So u should do that as long as finance isn't a problem. Since it's Nottingham Malaysia, your campus environment wouldnt be much diff than to go to Singapore except for less kiasuness lol. If you are talking about Nottingham UK than it will be great since it's good to study overseas to gain more exposures.

Hope that helps you abit.
Fellow Engineer
DarkNite
post Jun 13 2010, 12:31 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

If the foundation led up to going oversea then yes worth it to take.
Not sure, but I think your's should included going overseas!

lexiqa
post Jun 13 2010, 12:37 PM

525 posts

call JPA up to confirm. if it's foundation +possibility of going to uk after u do well in foundation, just go for it. don't let go of a good opportunity!

GL! biggrin.gif
dhui
post Jun 13 2010, 01:32 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jun 13 2010, 12:37 PM)
call JPA up to confirm. if it's foundation +possibility of going to uk after u do well in foundation, just go for it. don't let go of a good opportunity!

GL! biggrin.gif
If it is scholarship to UK Nottingham, then I would take it if I am you. If it is not, I will go for NUS.

But probably it is local scholarship, oversea requires interview.

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 13 2010, 01:32 PM
lexiqa
post Jun 14 2010, 01:17 AM

525 posts

but once u r a JPA scholar, the chances of u getting sent overseas are higher when u apply to get scholarship for degree mar
zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 09:16 AM

15,856 posts

actually i won be looking at which uni is better but the goverment bond.

for engineering it will be 6 years bond, or is it 4 years?

honestly i do not know where can you work after you graduate.

because the contract says that you have to work in GOVERNMENT companies. GLC also cannot. correct me if i am wrong.

so please ask yourself, do you even know any government owned engineering firm?

i have heard stories of JPA engineering graduates getting a job as a clerk once they graduate.

but of course, you get free and very good education, so no loans to worry about, albeit a very low paying job.

your choice.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:33 AM