Is it worthy to take JPA?

zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 09:16 AM

15,856 posts

actually i won be looking at which uni is better but the goverment bond.

for engineering it will be 6 years bond, or is it 4 years?

honestly i do not know where can you work after you graduate.

because the contract says that you have to work in GOVERNMENT companies. GLC also cannot. correct me if i am wrong.

so please ask yourself, do you even know any government owned engineering firm?

i have heard stories of JPA engineering graduates getting a job as a clerk once they graduate.

but of course, you get free and very good education, so no loans to worry about, albeit a very low paying job.

your choice.
zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 11:04 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jun 14 2010, 10:56 AM)
Zstan is right on the dot. It is the bond that you should be thinking. For overseas, I think it is worth it despite the 6 years bond. But for local, with the 4 years bond, I am not too sure.

Look at the fees you have to pay and consider PTPTN as option. No bond and you can pay over time.

I was informed that nowadays, even engineering graduates may find difficulty in getting a job. So, getting bonded may be a good option for you to get some exoerience. Your worry may be that , they will just assign you to a desk job and let you rot there over the duration. If you dont learn anything during this bonded period, you will just be considered as any new graduate after your bonding in the employment market.

If you are lucky, they may just release you from the bond as they are not enough jobs to go around in the civil service.

Tough choice, really. You win some, you lose some.
i don't think they will release you.

either u stick to ur job as a clerk or pay back the government every single cent.

but i've heard encouraging stories as well la.

if you get into into TOP OVERSEAS uni(Imperial, MIT etc), and graduated with flying colours, some companies might just hire you and pay back everything to the goverment.

i heard one story that a guy graduated from MIT and got hired by NASA straight away. of course they paid our gov back la.

think about it. are you that good? smile.gif

zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 12:03 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jun 14 2010, 11:51 AM)
4 years as a clerk? How to explain to your next prospective employer. Worse still, if employed, working under other  engineering graduates who might be 4 years younger than him.

This is a worst case scenario. Pray hard for the Malaysian economy to improve over the next few years for more options.

I think his is a local scholarship. Not likely for overseas.
that's what i am trying to say!

imagine a fresh grad and you(with 4 years as a clerk) fighting for a place at Intel. i don't see you having much competitiveness compared with the fresh grad. in fact the fresh grad might get the job as you wasted 4 years doing nothing related to the engineering industry.

no..should pray that JPA scholars can work for GLC...then can go TNB or petronas to work for that matter... laugh.gif
zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 12:45 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Tennis_Fan @ Jun 14 2010, 12:43 PM)
Do you know whether or not it's the same when it comes to PIDN? I applied for PILN but didn't get it. After appealing, JPA offered me PIDN. If I accept, I'll be doing my A-Levels at University College Sedaya International.

I'm currently doing my A-Levels at Sunway College though. Is there any way for me to appeal to JPA to let me continue at Sunway?

Also, if I do accept the offer and study at UCSI, when I finish, will I have a say in which university I go too?

Thanks in advance! Sorry about the questions, by the way. I'm not so savvy when it comes to JPA and their ways...
ooo..

my former uni... rclxms.gif

no...u have to study ur a-levels all over again at ucsi..=)..no appeal...

after that u study at ucsi la...either medicine or pharmacy....

zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 12:59 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Tennis_Fan @ Jun 14 2010, 12:49 PM)
Oh, were you a JPA scholar too?  smile.gif

It's good to meet someone from UCSI. I've been dying to ask about the A-Levels there! Any idea whether it's Cambridge A-Levels or Ed-Excel? Also, how are the teachers there? For the A-Levels program, that is...
haha..nola..i just a normal student..got quite some friends who got the JPA scholarship though.. smile.gif

its edexcel...they changed their syllabus already..i was from the last batch using the old syllabus... laugh.gif

lecturers a...

really depends on your luck la..my bio lecturer was the head of a-levels..maths one is a very old lecturer...super experienced but his classes quite scary... sweat.gif chemistry lecturer okok lo..
zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 01:21 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Tennis_Fan @ Jun 14 2010, 01:14 PM)
I'm so used to the Cambridge A-Levels already. People say Ed-Excel is easier, but I really don't know. Any thoughts?

Oh and one more thing. I'm starting the A-Levels at UCSI in July. It says in the offer letter that it's a 12 month program. But as far as I know, July intake students finish in November; which makes the program last 1.5 years. Is there a mistake in the letter, or will I be put into an express class with other JPA scholars?
ermmm...

ed excel is easier because u have moreeeeeee time to study..

example for the january finals:

if i were a very hardworking student, i would have 2 solid months to study for my finals. (trials end in mid november)

for stpm i think only 3 weeks study break?

cambridge 2 weeks only right?

that i think is the main difference la IMO.

no. JPA scholars is on snail class. 2 years. laugh.gif u start july 2010..end in june 2012..ur degree starts july 2012..

zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 03:38 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kids1412 @ Jun 14 2010, 03:34 PM)
Is there actually a difference in terms of syllabus for Cambridge and Edexcel? If Edexcel is easier then that means the studies are also less in-depth compared to Cambridge right? By the way I'm taking Cambridge currently
almost the same la..an animal cell has a nucleus and cytoplasm no matter which syallabus u using..and 1+1 still equals 2..

its just how u answer the questions which differ both...

it was never easy to begin with..as what i have said..u just have much more time to study compared to cambridge and stpm... smile.gif

Added on June 14, 2010, 3:41 pm
QUOTE(Tennis_Fan @ Jun 14 2010, 03:38 PM)
Thanks for replying so quickly. smile.gif I don't mean to be a pain, but do you by any chance know who I should address the letter to?

I've always wanted to study overseas, but the scholarship JPA offered me is only for me to further my studies in the country. I'm afraid that by accepting it, my dreams of ever studying overseas are put to a close. But let's just say I accept the offer and study at UCSI. And I do really well in my A-Levels. Do you think it's possible for me to apply for a JPA scholarship again, using my A-Levels results, to study overseas? I know that it's fine for normal students to apply with their A-Levels results, but what about for people who've already accepted the PIDN scholarship and completed their pre-u?

God, it's so hard to explain...
sorry to say its almost close to impossible.

once u accepet the scholarship then u r tied down completely. smile.gif

and if u had read my other topic, from next year onwards, JPA scholarships to study overseas will be cut down..

sorry to be blunt, but your dreams of studying overseas are theoretically over unless your parents can fund you.
sad.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Jun 14 2010, 03:41 PM
zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 03:57 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Tennis_Fan @ Jun 14 2010, 03:42 PM)
Really?! That long! But it says 12 months on the offer letter. wink.gif Did your JPA friends take 2 years to do their A-Levels?
all of them took 2 years la...

first batch of JPA got sent to uk...they finish june..september go uk...

now all is local JPA scholars..finish june..july start...smile.gif

why so long u may ask?

because u guys will be sent to 'patriotic camps' for about 2 weeks for once or twice in a year... laugh.gif

i dunno about u though..maybe u can call and ask them again?

This post has been edited by zstan: Jun 14 2010, 03:58 PM
zstan
post Jun 14 2010, 04:21 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Jun 14 2010, 04:16 PM)
Contract wise you will not be employed as a clerk, in fact if there are no post then you will be released from the bond. But JPA as the biggest employer in Malaysia will have some vacancies for you.
yes. and that vacancy must just be an office clerk if they cannot find anything else for you.

just need to see how lucky you are.
zstan
post Jun 15 2010, 12:12 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jun 14 2010, 11:34 PM)
^ actually MUFY is accepted by quite a few other Aussie universities. Check individual websites for details.

NUS NTU not that difficult to gain entry if you're a malaysian, provided your results are competitive. It's said to be easier for a competitive student to gain entry to NUS/NTU than UM.

It should be noted that getting offers is not quite the difficult task. The difficult task is securing the financial backing to attend it.
u sure?

i applied for NUS with 3As they told me they only want 4As and nothing less.

u apply UK u still got personal statement to back u up.

but true about entering UM part. laugh.gif
zstan
post Jun 15 2010, 09:29 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 15 2010, 12:33 AM)
Sorry to hear that. However, applying using A-Levels or STPM is the no.1 way to get your Singaporean university applications rejected.
actually they filter out phase by phase.

their seats priorities are for their JC..then only open to other people..then only polytechnic...
zstan
post Jun 15 2010, 04:05 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Jun 15 2010, 03:27 PM)
I applied thorugh online application, failed in the first attempt. Then appeal, and got it  biggrin.gif

Not even sending documentations. Is it a good news or bad news?  sweat.gif
it means JPA boleh!

congrats~ rclxms.gif
zstan
post Jun 15 2010, 04:42 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 15 2010, 04:37 PM)
Is this good or bad?
if compared with london school of pharmacy/monash australia then maybe bad la..

if compare with USM or UM then maybe bad la..

if compare with other IPTS ... erm..very subjective question.... laugh.gif

0.0204sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:05 PM