PC Audio Edifier Speaker/Headphone Fan Club V5, The Passion of Sound

Cosef
post Apr 24 2011, 12:18 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(monkey8113 @ Apr 24 2011, 11:00 AM)
Dude~~ I wondered around for so long and still cant make up my
mind on which speakers i'm gonna get...

The selection keep changing and bettered...

I know this is a edifier fan club but i juz wanna get some opinion
Between
Edifier S530
and
Corsair Gaming Audio Series™ SP2500

Which 1 is the better choice?

Btw... I use my speaker for EVERYTHING~~~~
Different league leh sweat.gif
Corsair SP2500 has very good settings on amplifier part, never heard the sound before.

It will win out S530 coz different price level, but normally MDF wood enclosure on satellites is better than plastic one since S530 has MDF wood on all speakers and Corsar SP2500 only on woofer, but the satellites are plastic.

If you have the budget for SP2500, mind to try get S530 then use the rest to upgrade the interconnect and speaker cables?
Cosef
post Apr 25 2011, 05:31 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Apr 25 2011, 04:32 PM)
Yes, price of some models already increase due to raw material like petro, wood, labour, power and etc increase sad.gif
Thats bad sad.gif
Cosef
post Apr 27 2011, 12:10 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

great that you hear the difference, my friend can't hear any changes sweat.gif
Cosef
post Apr 27 2011, 11:33 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Apr 27 2011, 12:43 AM)
Owh i see, soo the point to do all this is to reduce vibration of the sub? imma correct?
Not reduce vibration from the sub, is not letting the vibration recoil from floor back to the sub and causing distortion, the bottle cap there is to reduce the contact between sub and floor. So the sub can vibrate much freely there....
Cosef
post Apr 27 2011, 06:51 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(monkey8113 @ Apr 27 2011, 04:54 PM)
What if i put some weight on the sub to secure it to the ground.. So the sub is not vibrating~
Will the bass sound better??
I dono anything.. Juz asking
That should work too....but i'm not sure on loud volume, i think it does not work well on loud volume and you need something much heavier to secure it. Thats why i found good speakers normally used very thick MDF wood to hold the driver.
Cosef
post Apr 27 2011, 09:12 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Try 19 to 22AWG solid core cables...or 3 to 4 strands inside of single cat5e cables.
Cosef
post Apr 27 2011, 09:21 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Apr 27 2011, 09:18 PM)
what about these?
762 Strand Oxygen Free Copper cable

sure the sound will change, but dontknow about the quality...
From my experience it is bad, it is better to find solid core cables. Stranded cat5e doesn't sound so well too...
Cosef
post Apr 30 2011, 11:49 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

putting feet to space the woofer up makes it sing much freely laugh.gif
Cosef
post Apr 30 2011, 05:10 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Apr 30 2011, 02:36 PM)
What u mean by sing much freely?
><
Like you want feng tau, no one is stopping you...
Cosef
post Apr 30 2011, 08:13 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Apr 30 2011, 07:54 PM)
lol sit at the subwoofer? i sit on mine couple of times, just scared i will break it. i guess thin MDF are not meant to withstand my body weight and subwoofer force  laugh.gif

i actually once put my subwoofer on top of my one-seat sofa. the sofa only has 4 small steel leg. diameter probably 3cm. the sofa has been pulled away so it is not in contact with any walls. i thought it should have helped reduce some vibration. nope, it still vibrates alot. people above keep complaining.. tired of it, downgrade speakers after that.

how is your M1335? enjoying it? i actually never heard it but i guess it would be similar to its predecessor, M1310. i bought one for my friend long time ago... very good for budget speakers.
isn't that resonance makes the people above complaining?
but hows the bass? hear any improvement?
Cosef
post Apr 30 2011, 09:05 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Apr 30 2011, 08:35 PM)
i have probably posted earlier, the daughter of the ppl above complained that the bass goes into her unit and the floor is vibrating. at first i couldn't believe it since it was just a 8" subwoofer. but after i went out from my room i can feel that the vibration is great, so well, decided to downgrade. to make up for the not-so-great bass in my small bedroom i opt for 4.1 or 5.1 surround speakers. Edifier R501 was purchased then.

as for the sounds, it's difficult to get a good sound in a very small bedroom. i have to use it in not-so-big living room (where i put it on the sofa) and the sound is much better. so when i just moved house, i spent some time to try the subwoofer in some rooms and some corners. relocating the subwoofer to a 'sweetspot' really enhanced the sound. the problem is not all the sweetspot is a feasible place to put the subwoofer (i.e. behind the door). it is what stopped me from making any mod to any of my PC subwoofer, due to the fact i understand it is not in a sweetspot position to begin with.

that's how it begins i start to use small hemisphere rubber feet with the thought of reducing vibration. it certainly reduce but very little amount of vibration. well, better than nothing, at least when i use in my hometown the difference is noticeable.
Great experience you had there. You're indeed a bass head laugh.gif
What i know is that 8" woofer is real powerful, just like my friend Z2300, he boom boom i shake shake sad.gif
My M3300 running max on subwoofer actually can shakes my ceilling and window grill, that is enough powerful to me.

I had my M3300 on testing then i found that best position is put in center between your two satellites speakers, having subwoofer near wall creates boomy effect because the bass reflects back after wall, research around found that a deflector helps to reduce that effect, making the bass much accurate instead of reflecting around like your room is empty can, but some people might find that the bass too transparent, like cannot hear any bass, but room shaking.

for the feet, i use the board which has empty holes can find at popular there then sandwich it up, results is quite promising.

Cosef
post Apr 30 2011, 11:24 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Apr 30 2011, 10:03 PM)
haha yeah im a basshead. but i guess im not hardcore enough, i got a friend whom i sell him a VS4121. when i sold him VS4121 i told him, why u like this bass a, its obviously too boomy, i showed him my ADA885 as well. he say nvm la i like boom2 bass.  doh.gif

actually not all 8" sub is powerful. Z2300 probably yes, i guess it's a bit more powerful than Z Cinema that i own (it uses similar enclosure size, port and driver), but for Edifier i think they are not so obsessed with bass so things like my old Edifier R501 or Edifier C3 is not anywhere that powerful. probably watt play important role too, but not so much. im more interested in how deep the subwoofer goes in various PC speakers' brand.

if you can try to listen to a klipsch GMX 2.1 or Creative T3, they only use 6.5inch sub but you wouldn't believe it. i am still yet to listen to Z2300. so i don't know exactly how good it performs. M3300 satellites is really good, they should have paired it with M3400 or E3100 subwoofer instead.
Yea, most of the time wattage of the speaker defines loudness, so if you have 100W it can shakes room. Normal listening level just around 10watts max...while sound quality cannot defines from wattage.

I had heard Creative T3 before, the sub really strong. M3300 are good for the price, just sound too piercing ear and the woofer box has tin kosong feel...I had did certain tunings and mods, it sound slightly warm and rich in details with LME49860 op-amp which i found it sound too cold last time.
Cosef
post May 1 2011, 01:39 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ May 1 2011, 12:59 AM)
yeah well M3300 is overbright. the sub is tuned too high that's why cannot shake the heart. i got similar speaker with 30W 5.25" sub and it pawns M3300 subwoofer. i believe if M3300 tuned lower it can be as good.

actually for small one-person bedroom, i think 100W subwoofer is sometimes overkill. unless the room acoustic is good, the room will probably already very boomy at 60hz and above the sub hardly do any job. for big room for example, it would have to do really good job to show the performance. i used to be very satisfied with 60W subwoofer AL ADA885. hardly crank the volume up, and never had any complain using it.

for S530 definitely pawned by Z2300 in terms of subwoofer. the thing is, Z2300 focus on THX cert and subwoofer, so all that is left is crappy 2.5" fullrange satellite. S530 have better remote control (digital + infrared remote) and better satellites, so the subwoofer is not as good.
I think that probably the M3300 woofer box is not dense enough, making all the bass sounded very high. What i can reduce this boxy sound is stuff a lot aquarium filter inside but i didn't took the pics...another way is to seal up the woofer port. I stuff the port with socks and boxy sound is very low, but the low bass is missing out, so stuffing is better.

Wanted to try out putting deflector on the wall behind the speaker, but stucked up with assignments and cannot think out my own good design for yet sad.gif
Cosef
post May 1 2011, 09:45 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(monkey8113 @ May 1 2011, 04:05 AM)
I myself uses M3300 also~ I must say the satellite are very good~
Yeah, the bass did shake my room and my cupboard but din shake my heart...
I direct the bass to the wall so it give better bass.. But still not so good..
Thats y i'm getting either Corsair SP2500 or S530..
But.. Probably SP2500 is the better choice~
But i never tested it yet.. Dunno the satellite how?
Clear? But i know the bass is very goood..
Wah another bass kaki....
M3300 can shake me a little but too much bass spoils the whole music, i turned the bass down to my personal preference of neutral sound.
After some reading about Corsair SP2500, whole product settings are really good, it should sound good. Bi-amping, bi-wiring and silk dome tweeter, but the mid-range maybe not as good as Edifier ones coz plastic enclosure doesn't sound so good, MDF is better.

QUOTE(nismo91 @ May 1 2011, 04:37 AM)
my guess is the amplifier is the culprit. i have not tried connecting other amp into it, but im pretty sure the box and driver is not that bad... im lazy to bother about my modded M3300. now i just order a 12V lithium rechargeable battery for my Creative Inspire 2400. i plan to install it in my bathroom,  laugh.gif  since there is no electrical socket. im trying to get some of my speakers to work, got too much speakers to play now... some of them only kept in closet...

Corsair SP2500 seems to be good, i read some mixed bad and good reviews about it. I would pick it over S530 anyday.
Yea the box and driver are not that bad...after lots of experiments and mods on my M3300, i already took it to the limit, i only can tune the sound but not gaining extra details and dynamic all those...
Cosef
post May 2 2011, 11:17 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

But that is single channel only, remember that C3 use 1 subwoofer, it uses bridge mode for the woofer therefore 40W max can be obtained.

This post has been edited by Cosef: May 2 2011, 11:23 PM
Cosef
post May 3 2011, 01:40 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ May 3 2011, 01:05 AM)
heh, you go download the datasheet first
thats why i say alot of ppl cannot do math =)
Aiks yea i did wrong math....
I thought it has 2 TDA7379....

So estimate it 2 channel for satellites 8W@6Ohm then rest for woofer, so it is only 20W for 8Ohm woofer...

Could be around same power spec to M3300. sweat.gif
Cosef
post May 3 2011, 03:26 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ May 3 2011, 02:56 AM)
yeah i think so. it's around M3300 in terms of power just is not as bright. look at the amp you'll realize it's very small.

That is small sweat.gif
But the circuit offers better sound quality there. I think the C3 woofer should be at 30W while the amplifier at 20W, so it is underpowered a little at max volume only, normal listening volume still fine. Doing that can be Edifier technique to avoid burn the woofer voice coil too...
Cosef
post Feb 8 2012, 02:52 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(SuBryN3 @ Feb 8 2012, 12:17 AM)
[attachmentid=2673525]

how can i find line in for this? speaker model M3300

i got this speaker second hand i think the line in cable is lost already...how to find this kind of line in???
That line in is actually connect from a volume control and pc input. Lost that thing means you got big problem, you can try ask Mr.Edifier for a new volume control or search back from the seller.

21 Pages « < 19 20 21Top

0.0516sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:29 AM