hey guys, i was jus wondering is it even possible to get lower back pain from proper squat technique?
i am 100% sure that i did not round my back.. because i try to push as much in as I can, my back, but i am not sure if I did arched my back by pushing it too much inside.
i may have lifted the weight incorrectly when i pick it up from the squat rack..
feeling a little muscle fatigue around that area and also sharp pain twice this week..
hey guys, i was jus wondering is it even possible to get lower back pain from proper squat technique?
i am 100% sure that i did not round my back.. because i try to push as much in as I can, my back, but i am not sure if I did arched my back by pushing it too much inside.
i may have lifted the weight incorrectly when i pick it up from the squat rack..
feeling a little muscle fatigue around that area and also sharp pain twice this week..
any ideas?
muscle fatigue around the spine is normal. but you're saying sharp pain. thats completely different. best is to check form again, there is more to squatting form than just "not rounding back" got video?
sry got no video.. but the sharp pain happens twice before is when i lie on the couch then i entirely relax my body jus for a split second.. not very painful its jus when u totally relax ur whole body then happens.. few days already don't have..
i got a spotter and he said my form is fine.. probably i over do the hips out part when going down.. so it looks as if the weight is resting on my neck.. lemme try and draw..
something like this
jjus imagine the opposite of rounding.. is that ok? it's not that obvious to been seen.. i jus feel like my back is a bit arched
sometimes after my squat day when i lie on my bed, i get the pain too...but it just went away when i squat...so i dun think it's a big deal as long as ur form is correct..
check mark rippetoe's starting strength book...it's a gold mine
it's there, not very painful.. but sometimes, small things can become big.. just that i just wanna be sure it's not causing problems in the long term..
because the weights are getting heavier.. so i guess.. its better to ask and be safe..
initial point for the gym was to get fit.. don wanna injure myself.. or else backfire..
hey.. i went to the gym and asked an experienced trainer to check my form.. it's okay.. nothing wrong..
the part which is wrong is i put the weight on the spinal bone instead of the shoulder blades.. i wonder if this is the cause of the problem.. pressure to the lowe back
hey.. i went to the gym and asked an experienced trainer to check my form.. it's okay.. nothing wrong..
the part which is wrong is i put the weight on the spinal bone instead of the shoulder blades.. i wonder if this is the cause of the problem.. pressure to the lowe back
ahhh. it could be. do u squeeze your back tight throughout the lift? i do that and the bar kinda slots nicely onto my upper back/traps area. no pain whatsoever, been doing it for quite long.. try it bro. spend more time to get the form right first, then only up the weights!
When I'm squatting heavy (of Course the term heavy is relative) about 70% of my attention is on my legs. A lot of people are so afraid of breaking their back that they squeeze their Backs way too tight. U just need to keep it straight and neutral not squeeze the crap out of your backs. This causes people to have a tendency of falling forward and then pulling the bar back in with their backs instead of standing with their legs. Just focus on legs and keep back straight.
+1
BTW, I have no idea what are you guys talking about squeezing the back tight: upper back? lats? lower back? bar placement? spine position? LOL? Everyone is dumping suggestions without properly referencing it. PB is probably talking about lower back and overarching, chezzz is probably referring to the upper backs and shoulders, gooni3 is probably talking about something I don't understand.
I think I might be doing this.
Is this considered overarching? I think my lower back is more arched than that.
This post has been edited by winkybear: Jun 14 2010, 11:50 PM
hm.. i can't find a proper position to place the bar..
yesterday i hit the gym again.. but this time i avoid placing the bar on my spinal bone.. i placed it on my back.. but it seems to have a tendency to falling off my back(mayb put too low or too small back muscle) i use the soft pad also btw..
anyone hav any idea what are the long term effects if put the bar on the spinal bone?