29 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers, Pre-purchase now on STEAM for $9.99

talexeh
post Aug 13 2010, 10:30 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,102 posts

QUOTE(Thefiftytwo @ Aug 13 2010, 10:22 AM)
Hey guys, I've been anticipating this game for a long while. Would like to know a few things:

1. How to get the game? Buying from shop or buying from Steam? What are the difference?

2. Is this an online playable with other players or an offline vs Com game?

3. Is there a deck building feature? Or just randomly playing with fixed set?

1. Most of us bought from Steam since there was a pre-order bonus of Expansion 1 bundled along free.

2. Story-based is vs computer. You can play online against friends.

3. No deck building feature. You can unlock decks as you progress through the story-based games. For each decks, there are around 20 cards that you can unlock but you can't move cards between decks.
Thefiftytwo
post Aug 13 2010, 10:47 AM

38 posts

I am new to Steam. Is Steam an online game store? Just Pay and download? No difference buying it over a real game store right, other than having the free expansion?

How do I buy from Steam?

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Aug 13 2010, 10:58 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(Thefiftytwo @ Aug 13 2010, 10:47 AM)
I am new to Steam. Is Steam an online game store? Just Pay and download? No difference buying it over a real game store right, other than having the free expansion?

How do I buy from Steam?

yes you can say that steam is an online game store.
pay and the game is attached to your steam account.
you can download anytime. no restrictions. no limitations.
difference is that you do not get a physical disc.

and expansion for magic the gathering is not free.
talexeh
post Aug 13 2010, 11:08 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Thefiftytwo @ Aug 13 2010, 10:47 AM)

How do I buy from Steam?

Sorry if I somehow caused any misunderstanding in my previous post. Expansion 1 was free when we pre-ordered the game. Now that the game has been released, the offer has expired hence you'll need to fork out extra to purchase Expansion 1.

You can buy the game from this link: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49400/
Thefiftytwo
post Aug 13 2010, 11:18 AM

38 posts

Thanks for the answers. I can see there are 2 expansions and a lot of decks are on sale. I'm late...

1. Must a player buy the decks in order to play?

2. What are the expansions for?

3. How to get some actions in Multiplayer?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Aug 13 2010, 11:23 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

1. no. those are deck unlocks. you can unlock them slowly yourself by playing the game.

2. more decks. more story missions, more challenges etc.

3. play with friends or ladder.

Thefiftytwo
post Aug 13 2010, 11:24 AM

38 posts

If I am purchasing from Steam, can I still play the game without connected to the internet?

talexeh
post Aug 13 2010, 11:27 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Thefiftytwo @ Aug 13 2010, 11:18 AM)
Thanks for the answers. I can see there are 2 expansions and a lot of decks are on sale. I'm late...

1. Must a player buy the decks in order to play?

2. What are the expansions for?

3. How to get some actions in Multiplayer?
1. The only Expansion you need is Expansion 1 (http://store.steampowered.com/app/49402/). The others are just deck unlocks or foil conversion, which are pretty useless. Deck unlocks are for those lazy to play the story-based games while foil conversion is, let's just say for aesthetic purpose only.

You don't need to buy any deck to play. This is not MTGO (Magic: The Gathering Online).

2. Expansion 1 continues the story & provides you with more decks to unlock.

3. To be honest, DotP is much more focused on the single player games. DotP for casual players / beginners to Magic universe while MTGO is for hardcore players. There is an option in DotP that allows you to duel it out with other players.
talexeh
post Aug 13 2010, 11:39 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Thefiftytwo @ Aug 13 2010, 11:24 AM)
If I am purchasing from Steam, can I still play the game without connected to the internet?

IIRC, you can set it to offline mode to play without Internet connection. I can't test it now so don't quote me on that. tongue.gif
Thefiftytwo
post Aug 13 2010, 11:44 AM

38 posts

Thanks for the answers again. I will try this game out as my MTGO is not working at the moment...
talexeh
post Aug 13 2010, 11:52 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Thefiftytwo @ Aug 13 2010, 11:44 AM)
Thanks for the answers again. I will try this game out as my MTGO is not working at the moment...
Perhaps you can give the demo a try first before you make the purchase? smile.gif
http://store.steampowered.com/app/49400/
Eight_8
post Aug 14 2010, 11:19 AM

142 posts

Can tis game run in WIN 7?

And is it i nid to buy MTGD and exp1 only?
nagflar
post Aug 14 2010, 01:11 PM

1,813 posts

QUOTE(Eight_8 @ Aug 14 2010, 11:19 AM)
Can tis game run in WIN 7?

And is it i nid to buy MTGD and exp1 only?
YES CAN run on windows 7

u can try MTGD 1st before buy the expansion .
Eight_8
post Aug 14 2010, 10:27 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Aug 14 2010, 01:11 PM)
YES CAN run on windows 7

u can try MTGD 1st before buy the expansion .
thanks bro...

Already bought it and the expansion too...it means i nid to download 2 times? 1 for main and 1 for expansion but i didnt see the expansion in my steam game library

Its done ! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Eight_8: Aug 15 2010, 03:11 AM
talexeh
post Sep 2 2010, 01:06 AM

3,102 posts

Expansion 2 is out! rclxm9.gif

EDIT: And somehow there is an 333.9MB worth of update that just got triggered.

This post has been edited by talexeh: Sep 2 2010, 01:09 AM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 2 2010, 10:46 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

i think the 333mb update contains the new decks and cards etc.
just need to buy the expansion 2 to unlock it.

also, where are all the players?

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Sep 2 2010, 10:47 AM
talexeh
post Sep 2 2010, 11:05 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 2 2010, 10:46 AM)
i think the 333mb update contains the new decks and cards etc.
just need to buy the expansion 2 to unlock it.
also, where are all the players?
Everyone is too busy with other games with better replayability value. smile.gif Now that Expansion 2 is out, you can expect the group (which is quite dead biggrin.gif) & game to be revived soon.
alex82
post Sep 2 2010, 11:40 AM

^_^
371 posts

expansion 2 patch note

Functionality
- Winning a custom game loaded from a saved game awards the appropriate unlocks.
- Entering deck manager from the card unlock screen will no longer return you to a blank menu.
- Leader boards should now scroll correctly
- Teeth of the predator should now foil correctly.

Display
-Ranked Two-Headed Giant life totals display correctly after completing an unranked -Player Match.
-Unlock deck button does not appear when deck has been fully unlocked.
-Text no longer runs over borders.
-Custom duel opponents’ portraits, names, and decks match.
-Vein Drinkers card text in French is now complete.

Performance
Improved performance while dragging cards with the mouse.
The following activities should no longer cause the client to quit unexpectedly:
• Attacking
• Playing Challenges
• Customizing the keyboard
• Scrolling past 100 entries in leaderboards
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 2 2010, 11:43 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

i hope they fixed the card refused to zoom out bug.

one time, i scrolled middle mouse to zoom in, then the card resolved suddenly and my whole screen blocked liao cannot see anything.

still won the match lulz.
yimingwuzere
post Sep 2 2010, 12:01 PM

990 posts

OK, so in this game we only have fixed decks with a limited pool of extra cards to customize them right? That kinda sucks...

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Sep 2 2010, 12:41 PM

29 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:57 AM