Games Final Fantasy XIII and XIII -2 | V6, XIII and XIII -2 Discussion Thread

nwk
post Jun 14 2010, 02:47 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Jun 14 2010, 02:42 PM)
If it's the limited edition guide book then I think it's worth it cause it has hardcover and some additional info like backstory, etc.

However if its the normal one you may want to think twice. I've read through the book, and it is not as detailed as some of the gamefaqs. It also does not try to teach you how to get 5 stars for the missions but just basic tactics. Eg it keeps saying use Delta Attack / Mystic Tower combo when I tend to just pummel with Relentless Assault and quick Combat Clinics, thereby getting better timings. Smart Bomb is also good way to go.

My advice stick to the gamefaqs unless its the limited edition, or just have a good read smile.gif

Added on June 14, 2010, 2:43 pmFinally finished FF 13 in just under 60 hours. Now halfway through the Cieth missions. Vercintegorix here I come.
Thanks so much for the information icon_rolleyes.gif . I will just get hints from gamefaqs instead of buying the normal edition guide book.
SecrET_of_RainBOw
post Jun 14 2010, 02:54 PM

201 posts

can we do side mission after story line mission is finish unsure.gif
jkleejk
post Jun 14 2010, 03:11 PM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Jun 14 2010, 03:19 PM)
You can keep retrying. If you continue to struggle with getting 5 stars, suggest to get Golden Watch before reattempting.
just use deceptisol will do. getting a gold watch will v difficult at low level, mission 64 boss is pain in the ass.in fact most difficult so far.

Added on June 14, 2010, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(SecrET_of_RainBOw @ Jun 14 2010, 03:54 PM)
can we do side mission after story line mission is finish unsure.gif
yup better finish the final boss & then go back to grand pulse to do all the 64 side mission where u need to collect all the CP, millions of gils, 3tiers weapon upgrade if u plan to get platinum.

Added on June 14, 2010, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(nwk @ Jun 14 2010, 03:47 PM)
Thanks so much for the information icon_rolleyes.gif . I will just get hints from gamefaqs instead of buying the normal edition guide book.
http://www.gamefaqs.com/ps3/928790-final-f...xiii/faqs/59331
this link already give u a good facts, just google & youtube for other thing is missing, will do

This post has been edited by jkleejk: Jun 14 2010, 03:31 PM
rEDs
post Jun 14 2010, 03:33 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

mission 64 toss equip all lvl 1 weapon (except marlboro wand) and lvl 1 accesories, sprint shoes,aurora scarf,and some low level protection %(royal armlet,black belt) ...FOR VANiLLE ADD shrouding talisman to extend poison buff duration by 30%. then play turtle,3med,3sab(poison).. use renew in between if dont have time to 3med in crit....not hard at all...me 13 minute still gold.

terryfu
post Jun 14 2010, 04:12 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(rEDs @ Jun 14 2010, 03:33 PM)
mission 64 toss equip all lvl 1 weapon (except marlboro wand) and lvl 1 accesories, sprint shoes,aurora scarf,and some low level protection %(royal armlet,black belt) ...FOR VANiLLE ADD shrouding talisman to extend poison buff duration by 30%. then play turtle,3med,3sab(poison).. use renew in between if dont have time to 3med in crit....not hard at all...me 13 minute still gold.
True, read about this tactic. Issue is you have to finish some of the earlier missions first before reaching the final one. I don't like to re-do missions again so I'd go with the deceptisol or use pre-emptive strike strategy. Right now have already completed the first 30 missions with 5 stars with just this strategy. Also trying not to use Vanille's Death strategy just to get a quick clean (except for my first fight with the Zinitra as I don't want to trudge too far from Vallis Media again) smile.gif.
barney
post Jun 14 2010, 09:31 PM

329 posts

ok...i just finished mission 7 with just a 4 star (damn) because i want to buy Perfect Conductor and Superconductor as i was told it will unlock after i finished mission 7. now i have just defeated that flying monster and guess what... no Perfect Conductor and Superconductor! now how do i get those? im still at chapter 11 and haven't advance out as i am doing mission 1-7
rEDs
post Jun 14 2010, 10:00 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Jun 14 2010, 04:31 PM)
ok...i just finished mission 7 with just a 4 star (damn) because i want to buy Perfect Conductor and Superconductor as i was told it will unlock after i finished mission 7. now i have just defeated that flying monster and guess what... no Perfect Conductor and Superconductor! now how do i get those? im still at chapter 11 and haven't advance out as i am doing mission 1-7
you are wasting time.... just do 1 & 2 then move on...
else if you intend to powerlevel against 5 robot before juggernaut in the mines, (after defeat robot, march to juggernaut, pause to retry, rinse the spawned 5 robot..repeat) just get mission reward the collector catalog reward from raskshasha in vallis media..then move along to mine.. u can buy as many conductor and compactor once farming in chapter 13.
MatchMaker
post Jun 15 2010, 12:38 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Jun 14 2010, 09:31 PM)
It only grant you to access R&D Repot that sell Perfect Conductor and Superconductor.
Go farm your ingot 1st.

barney
post Jun 15 2010, 09:43 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(rEDs @ Jun 14 2010, 10:00 PM)
you are wasting time.... just do 1 & 2 then move on...
else if you intend to powerlevel against 5 robot before juggernaut in the mines, (after defeat robot, march to juggernaut, pause to retry, rinse the spawned 5 robot..repeat) just get mission reward the collector catalog reward from raskshasha in vallis media..then move along to mine.. u can buy as many conductor and compactor once farming in chapter 13.
the 5 robot u mean is by the name of Hoplite? does it give good cp? i have met the jugga once and i got pawned before i could cast anything! what hp recommendation would you think i should farm until i can take on jugga? and i still dont undertand how do you pause and retry to kill the 5 robots again. i think when you press pause u only can press select and quit back to the menu right? never seen a retry button before though

QUOTE(MatchMaker @ Jun 15 2010, 12:38 AM)
It only grant you to access R&D Repot that sell Perfect Conductor and Superconductor.
Go farm your ingot 1st.
what is ingot?
Revealing Edge
post Jun 15 2010, 09:48 AM

Trade Dispute
188 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Jun 15 2010, 09:43 AM)
what is ingot?
Spoils dropped from Admantoise, that can be sold for 150k gil.
jkleejk
post Jun 15 2010, 09:50 AM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Jun 15 2010, 10:43 AM)
the 5 robot u mean is by the name of Hoplite? does it give good cp? i have met the jugga once and i got pawned before i could cast anything! what hp recommendation would you think i should farm until i can take on jugga? and i still dont undertand how do you pause and retry to kill the 5 robots again. i think when you press pause u only can press select and quit back to the menu right? never seen a retry button before though
what is ingot?
platinum ingot rare drop & u can sell if for 150k gils
Amras of Nargothrond
post Jun 15 2010, 09:55 AM

25 posts

Just finished mission 64 with total around 7-8 tries on Sunday. Something to share here, the strategy below try 1 time success to get 5 stars after some refinement from few tries on different paradigm before:

My 3 chars all fully leveled, equipped with ultimate weapons, party members: Fang/Lightning/Hope

Equipped Fang and Lightning with Genji Glove, useful for COM/COM/RAV paradigm after staggered. Also equipped with Gold Watch if want to hit 5 stars.

Use Aegisol and Fortisol before start the batter.

Paradigm:
1. SEN/SEN/SEN - to minimize the damage of Whicked Whirl
2. SAB/SAB/SAB - prepared to debuff it especially after he cured and buffed itself.
3. SEN/SYN/SYN - Fang SYN ability a bit different with Hope and Lightning, better use her as SEN or maybe SAB.
4. RAV/RAV/RAV - to boost the chain fastest
5. COM/COM/RAV - to hit hard it when staggered
6. MED/MED/MED - To heal your party as fast as possible when necessarily

At the beginning, it has a routine of attack, if you found out it's pattern, then is very easy to kill it.

Start out with all the shrouds, and then go in with SAB/SAB/SAB, debuff it for 1 time, then quickly change to RAV/RAV/RAV to try to stagger it, if you lucky, maybe able to stagger it and kill a number of HP, because it will go into Impenetrable Aura very fast. Then cure your party to full HP, change to SAB/SAB/SAB, and prepare Fang with DEPROTECT/DESHELL (3 ATB), and SLOW (3 ATB), leave the DISPEL job to Hope and Lightning. Give another fast round of debuffed, probably if you saw Deprotect and Deshell and Slow ON, change to RAV/RAV/RAV again, once staggered go for COM/COM/RAV until it Impenetrable Aura, this might continue for around 3-4 rounds before it gone mad with more fierce and fast attack.

Then when it didn't go to Impenetrable Aura too often and attacked longer (with Wicked Whirl and Wind Shear) and debuffing you, then you might keep close to your buff and HP, use MED/MED/MED and SEN/SYN/SYN when necessarily. Don't let your buff gone to 0, at least Shell, Protect and Haste has to be ON.

Then all we have to do is race to death. tongue.gif

Added on June 15, 2010, 10:00 am
QUOTE(barney @ Jun 15 2010, 09:43 AM)
what is ingot?
I think is better hunt for the 6 bomb, more CP and easy to stagger and kill.
Don't worry about CP at the moment, you will have a lot of high CP mob to kill later.

Once you enter a battle, you can pause and click on RETRY, will not quit to the menu, unless you are not in a battle.

This post has been edited by Amras of Nargothrond: Jun 15 2010, 10:17 AM
jkleejk
post Jun 15 2010, 10:13 AM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(Amras of Nargothrond @ Jun 15 2010, 10:55 AM)
Just finished mission 64 with total 7-8 tries yesterday. Something to share here:

My 3 chars all fully leveled, equipped with ultimate weapons, party members: Fang/Lightning/Hope

Equipped Fang and Lightning with Genji Glove, useful for COM/COM/RAV paradigm after staggered. Also equipped with Gold Watch if want to hit 5 stars.

Use Aegisol and Fortisol before start the batter.

Paradigm:
1. SEN/SEN/SEN - to minimize the damage of Whicked Whirl
2. SAB/SAB/SAB - prepared to debuff it especially after he cured and buffed itself.
3. SEN/SYN/SYN - Fang SYN ability a bit different with Hope and Lightning, better use her as SEN or maybe SAB.
4. RAV/RAV/RAV - to boost the chain fastest
5. COM/COM/RAV - to hit hard it when staggered
6. MED/MED/MED - To heal your party as fast as possible when necessarily

At the beginning, it has a routine of attack, if you found out it's pattern, then is very easy to kill it.

Start out with all the shrouds, and then go in with SAB/SAB/SAB, debuff it for 1 time, then quickly change to RAV/RAV/RAV to try to stagger it, if you lucky, maybe able to stagger it and kill a number of HP, because it will go into Impenetrable Aura very fast. Then cure your party to full HP, change to SAB/SAB/SAB, and prepare Fang with DEPROTECT/DESHELL (3 ATB), and SLOW (3 ATB), leave the DISPEL job to Hope and Lightning. Give another fast round of debuffed, probably if you saw Deprotect and Deshell and Slow ON, change to RAV/RAV/RAV again, once staggered go for COM/COM/RAV until it Impenetrable Aura, this might continue for around 3-4 rounds before it gone mad with more fierce and fast attack.

Then when it didn't go to Impenetrable Aura too often and attacked longer (with Wicked Whirl and Wind Shear) and debuffing you, then you might keep close to your buff and HP, use MED/MED/MED and SEN/SYN/SYN when necessarily. Don't let your buff gone to 0, at least Shell, Protect and Haste has to be ON.

Then all we have to do is race to death. tongue.gif

Added on June 15, 2010, 10:00 am

I think is better hunt for the 6 bomb, more CP and easy to stagger and kill.
Don't worry about CP at the moment, you will have a lot of high CP mob to kill later.

Once you enter a battle, you can pause and click on RETRY, will not quit to the menu, unless you are not in a battle.
congrats,
mission 64 the trick is just casting slow (is the main success).
if it dont get the slow curse....it will diff to kill.
once i found out this, the poison is not that important.
no need sen,syn,syn..normally when Imp. Aura u have enough time to cure & buff yourself (just haste, bravery,faith enough already).
then after that quickly debuff (fang only focus on slow, as light/vanielle dont have this ability, let them do the deprotect,deshell,imperil).
then start rav,rav,rav, once stagger...all com,com,com.
for me 3x stagger i beaten the boss.

Amras of Nargothrond
post Jun 15 2010, 10:17 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(jkleejk @ Jun 15 2010, 10:13 AM)
congrats,
mission 64 the trick is just casting slow (is the main success).
if it dont get the slow curse....it will diff to kill.
once i found out this, the poison is not that important.
no need sen,syn,syn..normally when Imp. Aura u have enough time to cure & buff yourself (just haste, bravery,faith enough already).
then after that quickly debuff (fang only focus on slow, as light/vanielle dont have this ability, let them do the deprotect,deshell,imperil).
then start rav,rav,rav, once stagger...all com,com,com.
for me 3x stagger i beaten the boss.
Definitely. Slow is the important key. Well, if you help to cast DEPROTECT or DESHELL first, then lightning and Hope will have chance to cast POISON or IMPERIL as well, make it much more easy to kill.

I also surprise with this strategy, one time can get 5 stars liao. Forgot the time, but I remember I got the Point was around 15K, which mean still got some buffer left. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Amras of Nargothrond: Jun 15 2010, 10:22 AM
faidzal1982
post Jun 15 2010, 10:44 AM

272 posts

Finally!!! i reach chapter 11... seems like im a slowpoke compare to sifus here sad.gif

MatchMaker
post Jun 15 2010, 10:44 AM

87 posts

I prefer Fang & Vanille buff (-ra) for this mission.
A normal buff only has longer duration but low in term of power.
Ultimately we need that power and the longer duration is a bit useless because Vercigetorix usually debuff your buff.

I think I have another paradigm just to cast enfire and debuff, coz Fang & Vanille doesn't have that.
jkleejk
post Jun 15 2010, 11:12 AM

1,959 posts

about hunter trophy,
i have some questions hope sifus can enlighten me.
1. Do i need have all accessories include each upgrade version
(for eg: iron bangle to Wurtzite Bangle, total 10version )
2. Do i need all weapons or just each character 3tier weapon is adequate
rEDs
post Jun 15 2010, 01:42 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

QUOTE(Amras of Nargothrond @ Jun 15 2010, 04:55 AM)

owh worng word..its retry before juggernaut hit u..it will spawn back hoplite and bombs.
barney
post Jun 15 2010, 02:04 PM

329 posts

i have problems hitting those bombs before they explode! what is the best and fasted to kill them before they regain some health back? all on rav?
Amras of Nargothrond
post Jun 15 2010, 02:07 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(jkleejk @ Jun 15 2010, 11:12 AM)
about hunter trophy,
i have some questions hope sifus can enlighten me.
1. Do i need have all accessories include each upgrade version
(for eg: iron bangle to  Wurtzite Bangle, total 10version )
2. Do i need all weapons or just each character 3tier weapon is adequate
Answer both questions:

You just need to have the every non upgraded/upgraded accessory/weapon one time in your inventory, consider you got it. No need to collect all and put in your inventory.

Added on June 15, 2010, 2:08 pm
QUOTE(barney @ Jun 15 2010, 02:04 PM)
i have problems hitting those bombs before they explode! what is the best and fasted to kill them before they regain some health back? all on rav?
COM/RAV/RAV more than enough.
Blitz them with COM, normally they will get closer to each other when they attempt to attack your member.

This post has been edited by Amras of Nargothrond: Jun 15 2010, 02:08 PM

128 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:23 PM