Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Medufsaid
post Mar 4 2025, 06:28 PM

3,486 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Mar 4 2025, 06:19 PM)
he can tranfer money to malaysia any bank acc [...] ?
one and only option that is CIMB MY.

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Mar 4 2025, 06:28 PM
joice11
post Mar 5 2025, 04:05 PM

870 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 4 2025, 06:28 PM)
one and only option that is CIMB MY.
oh, i see, so is it he can tranfer to any one CIMB MY or only his own CIMB MY acc?
Ramjade
post Mar 5 2025, 09:34 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Mar 5 2025, 04:05 PM)
oh, i see, so is it he can tranfer to any one CIMB MY or only his own CIMB MY acc?
Of coruse can. You have bank acocunt you can transfer to anywhere in the world.
TOS2
post Mar 10 2025, 12:00 PM

353 posts

Not exactly a bank but Chocolate Finance is experiencing a bank run now.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...6939803/page-39

https://sethisfy.com/im-withdrawing-everyth...ance-heres-why/

It used to promise 3.3% ++ p.a. daily returns (guaranteed...) in SGD

This post has been edited by TOS2: Mar 10 2025, 12:06 PM
TOS2
post Mar 10 2025, 12:27 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 10 2025, 12:00 PM)
Not exactly a bank but Chocolate Finance is experiencing a bank run now.

https://sethisfy.com/im-withdrawing-everyth...ance-heres-why/

It used to promise 3.3% ++ p.a. daily returns (guaranteed...) in SGD

---------------------

I dug dipper.

The run was triggered by their action to stop allowing payment of bills via their debit cards. AXS stopped that as people game the system to rake up CC miles.

So, when a few days ago the debit card was no longer allowed to be used, those sharks immediately withdraw huge amounts over the weekends... Some of them actually use other people's SingPass to register for multiple accounts, essentially a form of leverage... if not money laundering... laugh.gif

https://www.reddit.com/r/singaporefi/commen...late_visa_card/

https://sethisfy.com/nerfed-axs-stops-accep...d-for-payments/

To make matter worse, Chocolate Finance blamed AXS for the card service cancellation when it's they themselves who asked AXS to cancel the service.

Typical kiasu kiasi SG behaviour seen very obviously... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS2: Mar 10 2025, 12:29 PM
Medufsaid
post Mar 10 2025, 12:38 PM

3,486 posts

kelvin learns investing commented about this AXS thing here https://youtu.be/wgdmewpyyO0
TruboXL
post Mar 10 2025, 03:51 PM

Keep on keeping on! šŸ‘
1,050 posts

Hodlnaut 2.0

Maybe want to split to a separate thread? I think can ask mod for help
Medufsaid
post Mar 10 2025, 06:27 PM

3,486 posts

TruboXL do u want to discuss this further (in case got relevance to our local fintech startup scene)?

to me it's just a one-off off-topic post in this SG bank thread only. don't think malaysians (non-PR type) are exposed
TOS2
post Mar 11 2025, 12:18 PM

353 posts

Don't promise people what you can't do... Lesson for digital banks and fintech.

Especially the ones offering 5% p.a. deposit promo only to keep cutting them down to 2% p.a. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS2: Mar 11 2025, 12:19 PM
john123x
post Mar 11 2025, 12:24 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 11 2025, 12:18 PM)
Don't promise people what you can't do... Lesson for digital banks and fintech.

Especially the ones offering 5% p.a. deposit promo only to keep cutting them down to 2% p.a. laugh.gif

i agree with his opinion

Its not gaming the system when its limited to first 1k only.

If its like no limit on "2 miles per dollar," for example you spend 100k a month, and get 200k miles point, thats gaming the system.

Medufsaid
post Apr 11 2025, 09:59 AM

3,486 posts

good news for those who really needs to send large amounts

• S$800

• S$20,000
    • sunway money (don't think sunway money will really allow me to send more than RM50k, so why they allow this calculation is a mystery)

• maybank

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 10 2024, 08:51 PM)
only RM200k to gain premier status in M'sia 🤯🤯
called them, HSBC now requires RM300k since Q4 2024

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Apr 24 2025, 12:56 PM
kart
post Apr 30 2025, 04:07 PM

1,597 posts

Let's say that my only intention is to keep my money in Fullerton SGD Cash Fund, and I do not intend to perform any stock trading.

Between Tiger Brokers and Moomoo Singapore, which one is more suitable for me?

I prefer to use a computer, to perform transactions to keep my money in Fullerton SGD Cash Fund, instead of using a smartphone.

Thank you for your clarification.
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2025, 11:35 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Apr 30 2025, 04:07 PM)
Let's say that my only intention is to keep my money in Fullerton SGD Cash Fund, and I do not intend to perform any stock trading.

Between Tiger Brokers and Moomoo Singapore, which one is more suitable for me?

I prefer to use a computer, to perform transactions to keep my money in Fullerton SGD Cash Fund, instead of using a smartphone.

Thank you for your clarification.
I know tiger can loin using desktop app. I just mmf on moomoo mobile. If scared just get a cheap new android phien solely for banking and keep it at home lo.

That's what I do. My banking phone is always at home.
!@#$%^
post May 3 2025, 02:54 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(PseudomonasSA @ Dec 11 2024, 02:24 PM)
Received this email.
Malaysian citizen with registered address in Malaysia.

Opened OCBC SG a few months ago via the apps.

Has anyone received anything similar?
anybody's ocbc sg account already closed? i tried to deposit sgd1, still can masuk.
annoymous1234
post May 10 2025, 10:57 PM

7,614 posts

I just open a CIMB SG account, received email with the application. However I need a password send to my mobile number to open the application attached, and I didn't receive any, anyone got experience how long need to wait for CIMB SG to send sms?
Medufsaid
post May 11 2025, 06:56 AM

3,486 posts

annoymous1234 just to be clear, you only received the email that moonsatelite received right? ("thank you for choosing CIMB your new account number can be found at the top right corner...") https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=108740297

have to wait for tuesday i think (bcos it's a manual process for them to send you sms)...

and after that, a long 2 week review process before you finally reach this
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 12 2023, 02:54 PM)

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: May 11 2025, 07:19 AM
annoymous1234
post May 11 2025, 09:00 AM

7,614 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 11 2025, 06:56 AM)
annoymous1234 just to be clear, you only received the email that moonsatelite received right? ("thank you for choosing CIMB your new account number can be found at the top right corner...") https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=108740297

have to wait for tuesday i think (bcos it's a manual process for them to send you sms)...

and after that, a long 2 week review process before you finally reach this
Different. I got this

Thank you for applying for our CIMB FastSaver Account application. The completed application form is attached to this email for your reference. Please use the password sent to the mobile number provided in your application to open the document.
Medufsaid
post May 11 2025, 11:05 AM

3,486 posts

annoymous1234 do you see this sentence anywhere in the email?
the account will be automatically closed within 30 calendar days from your application date.
if documents not in order/ or no bank approval, or any miscellaneous issue etc etc etc. the wordings seems to be slightly different each time
annoymous1234
post May 11 2025, 01:28 PM

7,614 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 11 2025, 11:05 AM)
annoymous1234 do you see this sentence anywhere in the email?if documents not in order/ or no bank approval, or any miscellaneous issue etc etc etc. the wordings seems to be slightly different each time
Nope. But it did say
We will be in touch with you if further clarification(s) or information is/are required with regards to your application.

Should you have any questions or require further information, please do so at Call Centre Bot or call our CIMB At-Your-Service at (+65) 6333 7777 (9am to 7pm daily).
TOS2
post May 26 2025, 12:38 PM

353 posts

FT Singapore

ā€˜Rich and naive’: why Singapore is engulfed in a ā€˜scamdemic’
City-state residents who are digitally native and naturally compliant with authority are especially vulnerable to fraud

https://www.ft.com/content/3299cf7e-67bd-46...a9-55fc24a66b63 (Use a paywall bypass to read it fore free)

-Scam victims in Singapore lost the most money of any country in 2023, at $4,031 each, compared with second-placed Switzerland at $3,767 and third-placed Austria at $3,484. The number of scam cases reported to Singaporean police rose 10 per cent in 2024 on the previous year to 51,501.

Increasingly, scammers are using artificial intelligence and deepfake videos. The Monetary Authority of Singapore in March warned of scammers using AI tools to impersonate regulatory officials and instruct victims to transfer money from corporate bank accounts.

The fact that Singapore’s banks have invested heavily in improving their digital capabilities can mean that money transfers through the system and into criminals’ hands too fast to be caught. As a result, some banks are now trying to introduce more ā€œfrictionā€ into the system by delaying transfers and putting in more checks and balances.

It typically takes about 30 minutes for criminals to transfer stolen funds out of the Singaporean banking system.

ā€œBy the time it comes to the banks, the victims are already under such a heavy spell that it’s very hard for us to stop them from making the transfers — especially in romance, investment and government impersonation scams,ā€ said Yuen, who is also head of legal and compliance at OCBC, one of Singapore’s biggest banks.

315 Pages « < 303 304 305 306 307 > » Top

0.0458sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:48 PM