Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

TOS2
post Jan 8 2025, 04:31 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 8 2025, 04:21 PM)
kslim888 since you have CIMB MY, you can try to Duitnow Overseas Transfer from CIMB MY to MBB sg
CIMB MY Cross-border fund transfer can use liao?

Mine still cannot eh?

TOS2
post Mar 10 2025, 12:00 PM

351 posts

Not exactly a bank but Chocolate Finance is experiencing a bank run now.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...6939803/page-39

https://sethisfy.com/im-withdrawing-everyth...ance-heres-why/

It used to promise 3.3% ++ p.a. daily returns (guaranteed...) in SGD

This post has been edited by TOS2: Mar 10 2025, 12:06 PM
TOS2
post Mar 10 2025, 12:27 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 10 2025, 12:00 PM)
Not exactly a bank but Chocolate Finance is experiencing a bank run now.

https://sethisfy.com/im-withdrawing-everyth...ance-heres-why/

It used to promise 3.3% ++ p.a. daily returns (guaranteed...) in SGD

---------------------

I dug dipper.

The run was triggered by their action to stop allowing payment of bills via their debit cards. AXS stopped that as people game the system to rake up CC miles.

So, when a few days ago the debit card was no longer allowed to be used, those sharks immediately withdraw huge amounts over the weekends... Some of them actually use other people's SingPass to register for multiple accounts, essentially a form of leverage... if not money laundering... laugh.gif

https://www.reddit.com/r/singaporefi/commen...late_visa_card/

https://sethisfy.com/nerfed-axs-stops-accep...d-for-payments/

To make matter worse, Chocolate Finance blamed AXS for the card service cancellation when it's they themselves who asked AXS to cancel the service.

Typical kiasu kiasi SG behaviour seen very obviously... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS2: Mar 10 2025, 12:29 PM
TOS2
post Mar 11 2025, 12:18 PM

351 posts

Don't promise people what you can't do... Lesson for digital banks and fintech.

Especially the ones offering 5% p.a. deposit promo only to keep cutting them down to 2% p.a. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS2: Mar 11 2025, 12:19 PM
TOS2
post May 26 2025, 12:38 PM

351 posts

FT Singapore

‘Rich and naive’: why Singapore is engulfed in a ‘scamdemic’
City-state residents who are digitally native and naturally compliant with authority are especially vulnerable to fraud

https://www.ft.com/content/3299cf7e-67bd-46...a9-55fc24a66b63 (Use a paywall bypass to read it fore free)

-Scam victims in Singapore lost the most money of any country in 2023, at $4,031 each, compared with second-placed Switzerland at $3,767 and third-placed Austria at $3,484. The number of scam cases reported to Singaporean police rose 10 per cent in 2024 on the previous year to 51,501.

Increasingly, scammers are using artificial intelligence and deepfake videos. The Monetary Authority of Singapore in March warned of scammers using AI tools to impersonate regulatory officials and instruct victims to transfer money from corporate bank accounts.

The fact that Singapore’s banks have invested heavily in improving their digital capabilities can mean that money transfers through the system and into criminals’ hands too fast to be caught. As a result, some banks are now trying to introduce more “friction” into the system by delaying transfers and putting in more checks and balances.

It typically takes about 30 minutes for criminals to transfer stolen funds out of the Singaporean banking system.

“By the time it comes to the banks, the victims are already under such a heavy spell that it’s very hard for us to stop them from making the transfers — especially in romance, investment and government impersonation scams,” said Yuen, who is also head of legal and compliance at OCBC, one of Singapore’s biggest banks.
TOS2
post May 28 2025, 11:56 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ May 28 2025, 11:50 PM)
update. i just received email from CIMB SG asking me to transfer SGD1000 to continue my application, I also have my account number, now doing the linking,
btw, if they ask me what is the purpose of opening account, is it safe to say for investment? if they ask me what investment, how to reply? i scare  sweat.gif
No, do not ever mention the word investment when you open an account with any bank.

Tell them you like their SGD FD rates, or will go to SG often to travel, or you like their MYR to SGD FX conversion rate.

Say anything that will please the bank, even though they are complete nonsense.
TOS2
post Jul 20 2025, 10:27 PM

351 posts

laugh.gif What have you done to this thread Ramjade laugh.gif

Suddenly open SG bank account topic become single, no gf, kids suck $$$

But yea, bro Ram, cheapstake girls are hard to come by. Girls these days expect guys to pay for everything, buy endless present, gifts.

It never ends bro. If you don't make them realize the beauty of economic rice in Malaysia and Singapore, we the "4k a month in Klang Valley fresh grad" men will go bankrupt sooner rather than later with endless personal loans and credit card debts.

I broke up recently over money issues, and feel for you as well. smile.gif

As for kiasu schools, best milk powders. I graduated from a not-so-popular primary school very near my house. Aced through UPSR with 7As. entered the top secondary school in Penang. My neighbour went to top primary school a little further from my house, still entered the same secondary school as mine, with slightly poorer results.

The best milk powder and top-tier schooling system can only help that much. Having seen and dated with girls with terrible attitudes, one must conclude that parent's nurturing and education matters the most in the end.

Enough off-topic stuffs, let's continue with opening bank accounts in SG. smile.gif

This post has been edited by TOS2: Jul 20 2025, 10:28 PM

0.0242sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:34 AM