Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

lyyera96
post Jun 18 2023, 10:48 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 17 2023, 11:53 PM)
Going to SG in Late July. Will close my Maybank SG account.

I am thinking of opening either OCBC or UOB account as a backup local SG account in case DBS system went down.

Any comments on OCBC vs UOB? (Leaning towards OCBC as there's a branch on NTU's campus. tongue.gif But all 3 local banks have ATM on campus so not much of a problem)

DBS keeps spamming my cousin's SG address mailbox will T-bill notification letter every 2 weeks. I feel sorry for him. sweat.gif

OCBC and UOB don't send physical notification letters, an advantage, opportunity cost is 1k SGD tied-up inside OCBC/UOB account. Just don't know whether to choose OCBC or UOB?

Past users can share experience? Or sifu Ramjade ikanbilis?
Why you want close Maybank SG account?
Medufsaid
post Jun 18 2023, 12:12 PM

3,495 posts

Maybank SG account might require minimum account balance. I closed my traditional DBS acct (minimum S$500 balance) and opened a CIMB sg one bcos of that (DBS eMySavings requires S$0 balance but i decide to use CIMB to link to CIMB MY)
ikanbilis
post Jun 18 2023, 12:54 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,543 posts

I am thinking of opening either OCBC or UOB account as a backup local SG account in case DBS system went down.

Any comments on OCBC vs UOB? (Leaning towards OCBC as there's a branch on NTU's campus. tongue.gif But all 3 local banks have ATM on campus so not much of a problem)

DBS keeps spamming my cousin's SG address mailbox will T-bill notification letter every 2 weeks. I feel sorry for him. sweat.gif

OCBC and UOB don't send physical notification letters, an advantage, opportunity cost is 1k SGD tied-up inside OCBC/UOB account. Just don't know whether to choose OCBC or UOB?

Choose OCBC over UOB. UOB internal control systems weak and there had been cases of scam/fraud and bank is not helpful.

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2023/02/28...s-bank-account/

Ramjade
post Jun 18 2023, 03:09 PM

24,382 posts

Neither. Cause both also got fall below fees. Go for trust bank (digital bank) which I have no fees.
I am not sifu as I do t have uob or OCBC. Even if I can open I won't want to open so many.

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Jun 18 2023, 10:48 AM)
Maybe cause never use?

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 18 2023, 12:12 PM)
Maybank SG account might require minimum account balance. I closed my traditional DBS acct (minimum S$500 balance) and opened a CIMB sg one bcos of that (DBS eMySavings requires S$0 balance but i decide to use CIMB to link to CIMB MY)
DBS my account is better than cimb as it's a multicurrency acocunt and no fall below fees. I keep only SGD0.10 inside.
SUSTOS
post Jun 18 2023, 09:19 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Jun 18 2023, 10:48 AM)
Because of this: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107415347

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 18 2023, 12:12 PM)
Yea as Ramjade suggested.

You should have opened a DBS My Account (using their digibank mobile app) a few months after opening whichever other DBS account you opened earlier (usually 6 months because that's the maximum period in which the early account closure fee will be effective). https://www.dbs.com.sg/iwov-resources/pdf/d...-deposits-guide

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 18 2023, 12:54 PM)
Choose OCBC over UOB. UOB internal control systems weak and there had been cases of scam/fraud and bank is not helpful.

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2023/02/28...s-bank-account/
thumbsup.gif I forgot to mention I'm an OCBC shareholder lol

Which OCBC account do you recommend? https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/deposits

I prefer the minimum 500 SGD monthly deposit (to avoid 2 SGD fall-below fee) monthly saving account.

The FRANK account which targets uni students like me have a 1k SGD minimum monthly balance after I turn 26 (in 2 years time...)

The popular 360 account have a monthly minimum of 3k SGD...

Do I miss out anything or do you have different views?

SUSTOS
post Jun 19 2023, 03:46 PM

8,667 posts

SG banks are flushed with so much cash that banks are forced to lend them to MAS.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20230619/%e7%8b%...b8%ad%e8%a1%8c/
lyyera96
post Jun 19 2023, 08:27 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 19 2023, 03:46 PM)
SG banks are flushed with so much cash that banks are forced to lend them to MAS.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20230619/%e7%8b%...b8%ad%e8%a1%8c/
Today I also saw this news
ccschua
post Jun 21 2023, 10:43 AM

1,630 posts

Maybank sg FD is the best currently.

I close my mabank sg acc before COVID.

I do not have singapass nor am I a PR/work permit.

can I open Maybank sg acc at any of the Malaysia branches, is it still work ?
SUSTOS
post Jun 21 2023, 10:55 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 21 2023, 10:43 AM)

The effective rate is 3.55-3.6% p.a. only. It's a bundled FD promo, like the ones you see often in Malaysia...

https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/en/promotions/...me-deposit.page

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-148013415

This post has been edited by TOS: Jun 21 2023, 10:56 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 21 2023, 11:01 AM

24,382 posts

Just put into Moomoo mmf and earn more or less the same with Maybank FD minus the locking up period and min amount.
Medufsaid
post Jun 21 2023, 11:15 AM

3,495 posts

yup. u can search Ziet's youtube videos where he discussed CIMB sg vs MBB sg.

one major downside is MBB sg requires you to have minimum S$500 in your account else you kena charged monthly fee, so to me that's a deal breaker

ccschua
post Jun 21 2023, 11:23 AM

1,630 posts

what is Moomoo mmf ?

I have just spoken to MBB RM and its possible to Open Spore Isavvy acc in msia

This post has been edited by ccschua: Jun 21 2023, 11:39 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 21 2023, 11:46 AM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 21 2023, 11:23 AM)
what is  Moomoo mmf ?

I have just spoken to MBB RM and its possible to Open Spore Isavvy acc in msia
Moomoo is an online brokerage. Mmf is money market fund.
https://growbeansprout.com/cash-management-...singapore-guide
ccschua
post Jun 21 2023, 12:29 PM

1,630 posts

other than fix instrument like FD or EPF, i will not consider as this is the retirement funds.

I know a lot of funds can outperform the CPF/EPF. but just cant guarantee the rate.

https://thesmartinvestor.com.sg/4-singapore...of-4-9-or-more/
SUSTOS
post Jun 21 2023, 12:38 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 21 2023, 12:29 PM)
other than fix instrument like FD or EPF, i will not consider as this is the retirement funds.

I know a lot of funds can outperform the CPF/EPF. but just cant guarantee the rate.

Maybank SG and CIMB SG FDs for you then.

If you are ok with money market mutual funds (purely loans/deposits and MAS Bills), then you may consider Fullerton SGD Cash Fund.
Ramjade
post Jun 21 2023, 12:46 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 21 2023, 12:29 PM)

Fullerton SGD cash fund invest in FDs basically.
SUSTOS
post Jun 23 2023, 03:16 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(GretZeit @ Jun 16 2023, 10:54 PM)
I am not sure if it changes if you get a work permit but i doubt it since the Fin is like a IC number don't see the need to change it.... but i have been stuck with it for 20 plus years.
I can confirm you are right. I just got my IPA letter from ICA today. My student pass has been approved and the FIN number is exactly the same as that of the work holiday pass I applied last year. So the FIN is a unique identity number tied to each individual regardless of which pass you apply.
ccschua
post Jun 26 2023, 01:42 PM

1,630 posts

I follow the steps outlined in the CIMB account opening, when I tried to link the singapore CIMB to my main CIMB Clicks, I receive a tag to approve in my hp cimb app. after approval, the cimbclick rejected with the message
"Sorry, we've encountered an unexpected error.
Please try again. If this continues, please contact our Call Centre to report this issue. [CLK01371]"

UPDATE 27 JUNE. I perform another trial. this time key in IC number without the dash, voila, it works. omg, why is cimb clicks so dumb. no prior check.

Question : If I transfer sgd from cimb sg to sg local banks online, any transactions charges ?

This post has been edited by ccschua: Jun 27 2023, 01:01 PM
SUSTOS
post Jun 28 2023, 04:05 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 26 2023, 01:42 PM)
Question : If I transfer sgd from cimb sg to sg local banks online, any transactions charges ?
No charges if you use FAST, which is instantaneous. 200k SGD limit per transaction.

For remittance >200k SGD, you can use MEPS (MAS Electronic Payment system). Should be real-time settlement as well. Charges apply: https://www.cimb.com.sg/en/personal/help-su...remittance.html

This post has been edited by TOS: Jun 28 2023, 04:06 PM
SUSTOS
post Jun 29 2023, 10:10 PM

8,667 posts

A slightly old news:

MAS proposes raising coverage of deposit insurance scheme to S$100,000

CNA reports: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/d...oposals-3589751

Straits Times reports: https://www.straitstimes.com/business/mas-p...0000-from-75000

HWZ thread: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...75-000.6918136/

315 Pages « < 232 233 234 235 236 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:53 AM