Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

lyyera96
post Feb 21 2023, 09:37 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2023, 09:30 PM)
Maybank is one of the important foreign banks in sg banking.
That's you income tax number.
just now I try SGX website also cannot proceed because I dont have FIN number, because FIN number is come from Singapore pass
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 09:51 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 21 2023, 08:50 PM)
Are you sure? The wabsite list down you need 7 bank then Maybank also inside the list wor
QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 21 2023, 09:29 PM)
Oic, open CDP account also need FIN number ah, Singapore so kiasu lah...
For me ok lah, I dont care SG-T bill, SSB, bond, I just want buy Singapore REIT only, I have FSM SG also can buy
Yes. I know Maybank and other banks are listed in the DCS service list. Citibank, HSBC, Standard Chartered are also listed.

But again the official route requires FIN number, which is only given if you have a pass/legitimate reason to stay in SG beyond the 30-day visa-free period by the ICA.

So, without the FIN, it does not matter whether you have either of the 7 bank accounts, CDP is just not available. But if you already have FIN, then surely you will have an address in SG, which allows you to open DBS account (and Vickers, CDP etc.)

--------------

As for the "unofficial method/route"

Unless someone reported success with Ramjade's "pushy" tricks on opening DBS bank + Vickers + CDP account without pass and assuming you are not willing to fork out 10-50k for UTs/insurance products, it's safe to assume that the only route left is the official route.
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 09:56 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2023, 09:30 PM)
That's you income tax number.
Have to clarify. FIN can only be used as TIN if you reside in Singapore, and it's an SG tax number, NOT your Malaysia income tax number. Once you leave SG, you are supposed to inform CDP to delete the FIN info and declare yourself as non-SG tax resident. That's what happened to me after I leave SG last August.

I don't know whether Ramjade's TIN record in SG have been deleted.

*However, for DBS Vickers and FSM SG, you don't have to declare that, which is supposedly illegal, and your transaction costs are higher as they are subject to SG GST.

Ramjade
post Feb 21 2023, 09:57 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 21 2023, 09:37 PM)
just now I try SGX website also cannot proceed because I dont have FIN number, because FIN number is come from Singapore pass
QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 09:51 PM)
Yes. I know Maybank and other banks are listed in the DCS service list. Citibank, HSBC, Standard Chartered are also listed.

But again the official route requires FIN number, which is only given if you have a pass/legitimate reason to stay in SG beyond the 30-day visa-free period by the ICA.

So, without the FIN, it does not matter whether you have either of the 7 bank accounts, CDP is just not available. But if you already have FIN, then surely you will have an address in SG, which allows you to open DBS account (and Vickers, CDP etc.)

--------------

As for the "unofficial method/route"

Unless someone reported success with Ramjade's "pushy" tricks on opening DBS bank + Vickers + CDP account without pass and assuming you are not willing to fork out 10-50k for UTs/insurance products, it's safe to assume that the only route left is the official route.
Here's the official black and white.
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/investments...bsv-account-mca
We’ll also set up a new DBS Multi-Currency Account (MCA) for you to make the settling of trades and dividend crediting convenient.

So yeah it still stand. Just need to make the travel.
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 10:04 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2023, 09:57 PM)
Here's the official black and white.
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/investments...bsv-account-mca

So yeah it still stand. Just need to make the travel.
lol I immediately spotted a problem.

You read further below.

If you click on the "required document" link (highlighted in green box): https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/support/ban...s-required.html

The same old page everyone would have visited before coming here and ask for help.

-------------

Anyway, not discouraging anyone to try. tongue.gif If you deliberately not point out the green highlighted box part you might stand a chance with a good enough conversation tactic.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 21 2023, 10:08 PM
lyyera96
post Feb 21 2023, 10:12 PM

102 posts

https://www.hsbc.com.sg/accounts/products/savings/
if want open other singapore bank account, maybe can try HSBC SG??
I see website the requirement only need ic/passport for foreigner
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2023, 10:39 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 21 2023, 10:12 PM)
https://www.hsbc.com.sg/accounts/products/savings/
if want open other singapore bank account, maybe can try HSBC SG??
I see website the requirement only need ic/passport for foreigner
HSBC out of question. Usually they want priority banking.
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2023, 10:40 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 10:04 PM)
lol I immediately spotted a problem.

You read further below.

If you click on the "required document" link (highlighted in green box): https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/support/ban...s-required.html

The same old page everyone would have visited before coming here and ask for help.

-------------

Anyway, not discouraging anyone to try. tongue.gif If you deliberately not point out the green highlighted box part you might stand a chance with a good enough conversation tactic.
Er yes. That green box have always been there even when I opened my account.
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 10:45 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2023, 10:40 PM)
Er yes. That green box have always been there even when I opened my account.
Ok, so Ramjade "pushy tricks":

Apply DBS Vickers while asking to include DBS MCA at the same time (either My account or Multiplier), do not deliberately point out anything that might otherwise lead to counterargument from the customer service officers.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2023, 10:39 PM)
HSBC out of question. Usually they want priority banking.
lol isn't this the same as DBS

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 21 2023, 10:47 PM
lyyera96
post Feb 28 2023, 11:05 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Aug 17 2022, 09:46 PM)
a month.
which sg bank you open? I plan walk in HSBC Malaysia branch and submit the form to open HSBC SG bank account
Ramjade
post Feb 28 2023, 11:08 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 28 2023, 11:05 AM)
which sg bank you open? I plan walk in HSBC Malaysia branch and submit the form to open HSBC SG bank account
I don't think they allow unless you are priority customer. Cimb sg is still the best and best option. All done online.
lyyera96
post Feb 28 2023, 11:46 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 28 2023, 11:08 AM)
I don't think they allow unless you are priority customer. Cimb sg is still the best and best option. All done online.
have ppl just walk in my branch then submut form that all, no need premier account,

Ramjade
post Feb 28 2023, 12:17 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 28 2023, 11:46 AM)
have ppl just walk in my branch then submut form that all, no need premier account,
Update if it's successful.whats the amount to maintain, any terms and condition. Last time I check with SCB they told me need priority on both side. I told them you can keep your account. I keep my money.

Personally I still prefer going via CIMB Sg route.
ShinG3e
post Feb 28 2023, 12:33 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

Maybank the simplest. Another one is SCB.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 28 2023, 12:17 PM)
Update if it's successful.whats the amount to maintain, any terms and condition. Last time I check with SCB they told me need priority on both side. I told them you can keep your account. I keep my money.

Priority on either side only, no need both. But in all overall, the priority status is unless. Wouldn’t recommend. Might cancel it lololololol
lyyera96
post Feb 28 2023, 12:38 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 28 2023, 12:17 PM)

I have CIMB SG and Maybank SG already, so I plan open another bank is HSBC SG. I have play forex trading, so I want find the bank can withdrawal and so fast money can arrive to my bank account. Maybank SG will use 3-4 days via debit card method and CIMB SG no issue debit card so no comment, then HSBC Amanah Malaysia use 3-4 days via debit card arrive to my bank account, so I think if I use HSBC SG do withdrawal will more faster compared to Maybank SG. I guess
lyyera96
post Feb 28 2023, 12:39 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Feb 28 2023, 12:33 PM)
Maybank the simplest. Another one is SCB.
Priority on either side only, no need both. But in all overall, the priority status is unless. Wouldn’t recommend. Might cancel it lololololol
I have Maybank SG already, SCB no need premier ah?
Ramjade
post Feb 28 2023, 12:50 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 28 2023, 12:38 PM)
I have CIMB SG and Maybank SG already, so I plan open another bank is HSBC SG. I have play forex trading, so I want find the bank can withdrawal and so fast money can arrive to my bank account. Maybank SG will use 3-4 days via debit card method and CIMB SG no issue debit card so no comment, then HSBC Amanah Malaysia use 3-4 days via debit card arrive to my bank account, so I think if I use HSBC SG do withdrawal will more faster compared to Maybank SG. I guess
Just use cimb Sg. They have best rate for sgd-> RM.
sidefulnes
post Feb 28 2023, 02:04 PM

281 posts

Which branch? Didn't know HSBC have this option. Can share the form link? biggrin.gif
ShinG3e
post Feb 28 2023, 02:25 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 28 2023, 12:39 PM)
I have Maybank SG already, SCB no need premier ah?
if you got priority in msia, then can ask the RM to open one SG one for you.
lyyera96
post Feb 28 2023, 02:41 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Feb 28 2023, 02:04 PM)
Which branch? Didn't know HSBC have this option. Can share the form link? biggrin.gif
I dunno also, I see the Facebook Singapore Malaysian working group have ppl share experience about this

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&...XvA4WJDVeY__i7T

315 Pages « < 226 227 228 229 230 > » Top

0.0370sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:15 AM