315 Pages « < 225 226 227 228 229 > » Bottom

Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

sidefulnes
post Feb 21 2023, 12:26 AM

281 posts

Hi everyone! Would like to ask those that have the Maybank iSavvy account, how do you get bank statements? It seems that I am unable to get an estatment from M2U SG and I don't recall receiving any hardcopy statements. I tried searching on the FAQ but it doesn't seem to clearly state if iSavvy is eligible to get estatement. Would like to ask you guys here first before I burn money to call Maybank SG.

I wish to apply for CDP account on SGX but I need to get a bank statement that I can't seem to find it on M2U SG. Appreciate any information shared, thanks

This post has been edited by sidefulnes: Feb 21 2023, 12:29 AM
Mr Gray
post Feb 21 2023, 08:27 AM

924 posts

QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Feb 21 2023, 12:26 AM)
Hi everyone! Would like to ask those that have the Maybank iSavvy account, how do you get bank statements? It seems that I am unable to get an estatment from M2U SG and I don't recall receiving any hardcopy statements. I tried searching on the FAQ but it doesn't seem to clearly state if iSavvy is eligible to get estatement. Would like to ask you guys here first before I burn money to call Maybank SG.

I wish to apply for CDP account on SGX but I need to get a bank statement that I can't seem to find it on M2U SG. Appreciate any information shared, thanks
How long have you had the bank account? If it's less than a month. Probably statement not generated yet.

If you had it more than a month, better call maybank SG and ask. I believe eStatement should be downloadable from the website
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 09:01 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Feb 21 2023, 12:26 AM)

If you plan to apply for a CDP account it's better to have an account with one of the 3 local banks (DBS, UOB, OCBC) and link your CDP account with them as you can only apply for SG T-bills, bonds and SSB with the 3 local banks.

Chances are that if you are eligible for a CDP account you should already fulfill the condition for opening bank account with DBS, UOB and OCBC.

-------------------------

As to your question on Maybank SG, for iSavvy account there's no eStatement services. If you click on the view eStatements button in the home page you will eventually be redirected to the eStatements settings page of which the bottom of the screen pulls up a red banner telling you the service is not available for your account.

iSavvy account's "statement" is not really a "statement" per se, but just a simple summary. You can access it by clicking the "download as" button at the bottom of your account summary page. You can use CIMB SG's statement to open a DBS bank account/CDP account (for the bank statement verification part).

sidefulnes
post Feb 21 2023, 10:03 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Feb 21 2023, 08:27 AM)
How long have you had the bank account? If it's less than a month. Probably statement not generated yet.

If you had it more than a month, better call maybank SG and ask. I believe eStatement should be downloadable from the website
I have this account for a few months but no estatement is available for this account.

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 09:01 AM)
If you plan to apply for a CDP account it's better to have an account with one of the 3 local banks (DBS, UOB, OCBC) and link your CDP account with them as you can only apply for SG T-bills, bonds and SSB with the 3 local banks.

Chances are that if you are eligible for a CDP account you should already fulfill the condition for opening bank account with DBS, UOB and OCBC.

-------------------------

As to your question on Maybank SG, for iSavvy account there's no eStatement services. If you click on the view eStatements button in the home page you will eventually be redirected to the eStatements settings page of which the bottom of the screen pulls up a red banner telling you the service is not available for your account.

iSavvy account's "statement" is not really a "statement" per se, but just a simple summary. You can access it by clicking the "download as" button at the bottom of your account summary page. You can use CIMB SG's statement to open a DBS bank account/CDP account (for the bank statement verification part).

Initially I opened the iSavvy account as Maybank is listed under MAS licensed bank. But when I finally got around to starting the CDP application, I realised that there is no statement available doh.gif
Yeah, I tried to download the simple summary but it doesn't show an official Maybank letterhead with account details. Its either I check with the Maybank MY banker that processed my application or contact Maybank SG directly.

SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 10:07 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Feb 21 2023, 10:03 AM)
Initially I opened the iSavvy account as Maybank is listed under MAS licensed bank. But when I finally got around to starting the CDP application, I realised that there is no statement available  doh.gif
Yeah, I tried to download the simple summary but it doesn't show an official Maybank letterhead with account details. Its either I check with the Maybank MY banker that processed my application or contact Maybank SG directly.
Contact Maybank SG directly. Maybank MY won't be able to help much.

And do you have DBS/UOB/OCBC bank accounts? Their statements are good enough + you also have access to SG government securities primary market.
sidefulnes
post Feb 21 2023, 10:17 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 10:07 AM)
Contact Maybank SG directly. Maybank MY won't be able to help much.

And do you have DBS/UOB/OCBC bank accounts? Their statements are good enough + you also have access to SG government securities primary market.
Unfortunately I don't have accounts with the DBS/UOB/OCBC in SG cry.gif
I'll give Maybank SG a call soon.

If can't I'll save up extra money to prepare for opening an account with DBS SG.
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 10:22 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Feb 21 2023, 10:17 AM)
Unfortunately I don't have accounts with the DBS/UOB/OCBC in SG  cry.gif
I'll give Maybank SG a call soon.

If can't I'll save up extra money to prepare for opening an account with DBS SG.
If you don't have an account with DBS/UOB/OCBC chances are you can't open a CDP account.

Do you have work pass/student pass in SG? They are needed for opening a CDP account.

https://investors.sgx.com/cdp-account-opening/#/online-form (If you proceed with the application, you need to enter the "FIN" number, of foreign identification number issued by ICA while you are in SG.)

-------------------

Which is why I say if you don't have a DBS/UOB/OCBC account (i.e., not meeting the study/work pass requirement), you are unlikely able to open CDP account. Conversely, if you already have a work/study pass, you are definitely eligible for DBS/UOB/OCBC and CDP.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 21 2023, 11:07 AM
sidefulnes
post Feb 21 2023, 11:19 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 10:22 AM)
If you don't have an account with DBS/UOB/OCBC chances are you can't open a CDP account.

Do you have work pass/student pass in SG? They are needed for opening a CDP account.

https://investors.sgx.com/cdp-account-opening/#/online-form (If you proceed with the application, you need to enter the "FIN" number, of foreign identification number issued by ICA while you are in SG.)

-------------------

Which is why I say if you don't have a DBS/UOB/OCBC account (i.e., not meeting the study/work pass requirement), you are unlikely able to open CDP account. Conversely, if you already have a work/study pass, you are definitely eligible for DBS/UOB/OCBC and CDP.
Ah I see, I thought its as long I have an account with any of the listed.

nope, no pass cry.gif

This post has been edited by sidefulnes: Feb 21 2023, 11:20 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2023, 11:34 AM

24,342 posts

Er wrong. You go to mbfc and open dbs Vickers with a dbs account. They will open a CDP account for you. Now you know why I said sg are so old fashion Vs US and Europe? You can buy us treasuries using interactive broker unlike sg.

QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Feb 21 2023, 11:19 AM)

nope, no pass cry.gif
You will need to travel to Singapore. Go mbfc and open dbs Vickers, dbs account and they will auto open a cdp account for you. No need working or study pass. Subject to approval. Just bluff them say you want to to buy sg treasuries or invest in sg market using DBS Vickers. Once opened they won't keep track if you actually buy or not
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 11:48 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2023, 11:34 AM)
Er wrong. You go to mbfc and open dbs Vickers with a dbs account. They will open a CDP account for you. Now you know why I said sg are so old fashion Vs US and Europe? You can buy us treasuries using interactive broker unlike sg.
You will need to travel to Singapore. Go mbfc and open dbs Vickers, dbs account and they will auto open a cdp account for you. No need working or study pass. Subject to approval. Just bluff them say you want to to buy sg treasuries or invest in sg market using DBS Vickers. Once opened they won't keep track if you actually buy or not
Nothing wrong consider that it is impossible to open DBS account without pass. biggrin.gif

Once you have DBS/UOB/OCBC, CDP/DBS Vickers and anything else is possible.

Of course in your example, DBS Vickers + bank account comes in one package. In that case, you can ask for more by asking them to open a CDP account for you. I suspect you don't have CDP account, why didn't you open one back then if this method works?

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 21 2023, 11:59 AM
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 11:52 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Feb 21 2023, 11:19 AM)

nope, no pass cry.gif
lol DCS is available when you open a CDP account. But the key here is to meet the requirement to open a CDP account, which again, requires study/work pass.

Unlike opening DBS account which allows those with $$$ to buy their unit trusts/bancassurance products, it's "no pass, no talk" for CDP (via ordinary route).

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 21 2023, 11:59 AM
sidefulnes
post Feb 21 2023, 12:05 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 11:48 AM)
Nothing wrong consider that it is impossible to open DBS account without pass. biggrin.gif

Of course in your example, DBS Vickers + bank account comes in one package. In that case, you can ask for more by asking them to open a CDP account for you. I suspect you don't have CDP account, why didn't you open one back then if this method works?
QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 11:52 AM)
lol DCS is available when you open a CDP account. But the key here is to meet the requirement to open a CDP account, which again, requires study/work pass.

Unlike opening DBS account which allows those with $$$ to buy their unit trusts/bancassurance products, it's "no pass, no talk" for CDP (via ordinary route).
Called Maybank SG already, since iSavvy is an online account, the only way is to visit their branch to request for adhoc statement which I recall reading is $30. Oh wells, prolly use 3rd party trading platforms or buy thru Maybank Global Trading account for now.

Won't be travelling to SG anytime soon but prolly I need to gather some funds first. Thanks everyone smile.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2023, 03:15 PM

24,342 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 11:48 AM)

Er wrong again. I opened mine without any pass and I suspect if you push dbs staff at mbfc. they will opened. Only valid for mbfc. Cause I saw somewhere on dbs page, you don't need pass to open a DBS Vickers and DBs account. That was like 2 years ago memory.

I already have CDP account. They open for me together with my dbs Vickers and DBs bank account. Use few months and find them to be so inefficient. (Unable to sub to rights just because no sg address). Never invest into sg stuff anymore.

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 11:52 AM)
Again wrong. I opened my dbs account with only sgd6k. What need money. Like I said my method is more applicable for normal Malaysian without any pass or money or need to buy anything. My way is for normal people.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 21 2023, 03:18 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 03:21 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2023, 03:15 PM)
Er wrong again. I opened mine without any pass and I suspect if you push dbs staff at mbfc. they will opened. Only valid for mbfc. Cause I saw somewhere on dbs page, you don't need pass to open a DBS Vickers and DBs account. That was like 2 years ago memory.

I already have CDP account. They open for me together with my dbs Vickers and DBs bank account. Use few  months and find them to be so inefficient. Never invest into sg stuff anymore.
Ooo. Back then interest rates are low so the CDP is pretty much useless. But now you can subscribe for SG government securities with the CDP account you opened earlier. Funny I didn't see you active in the SG T-bills/SSB thread. So I inferred wrongly you didn't open a CDP account back then.

----------------

Life has changed since then. It is difficult to open one DBS account today, as evident here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=106627194

It is reasonable if you consider you are trying to open 3 accounts in one go and the banks hardly make a profit out of you and bearing risk with an unknown foreign customer when there are 50 or so ah mah and uncles queueing behind you trying to place their hundred thousand SGD FD laugh.gif

6k SGD is still a lot of money for some. That's almost 20k MYR.

------------------

Maybe you can share you pushy tricks for others here to test.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 21 2023, 03:27 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2023, 03:33 PM

24,342 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 03:21 PM)
Ooo. Back then interest rates are low so the CDP is pretty much useless. But now you can subscribe for SG government securities with the CDP account you opened earlier. Funny I didn't see you active in the SG T-bills/SSB thread. So I inferred wrongly you didn't open a CDP account back then.

----------------

Life has changed since then. It is difficult to open one DBS account today, as evident here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=106627194

It is reasonable if you consider you are trying to open 3 accounts in one go and the banks hardly make a profit out of you and bearing risk with an unknown foreign customer when there are 50 or so ah mah and uncles queueing behind you trying to place their hundred thousand SGD FD  laugh.gif

6k SGD is still a lot of money for some. That's almost 20k MYR.

------------------

Maybe you can share you pushy tricks for others here to test.
I dont need ssb or tbills. I use mmf instead. Take the easy route. No need pening kepala.
He didn't push. I push. Cause my situation back then was like him. We we cannot open for you if you don't have DBS Vickers account. We cannot open dbs Vickers account for you if you don't have sg bank account. I was like I travel so far here, just open both account together can or not?
SUSTOS
post Feb 21 2023, 03:38 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2023, 03:33 PM)
I dont need ssb or tbills. I use mmf instead. Take the easy route. No need pening kepala.
He didn't push. I push. Cause my situation back then was like him. We we cannot open for you if you don't have DBS Vickers account. We cannot open dbs Vickers account for you if you don't have sg bank account. I was like I travel so far here, just open both account together can or not?
Depending on the MMF's underlying assets, the counterparty risks are not the same. smile.gif

Lending money to SG government is not the same as lending money to a consortium of German-backed and Saudis-backed banks. There's a slight spread, not to mention MMF's liquidity risks during crisis.

But ok that's off-topic.

So your pushy trick is to ask "I was like I travel so far here, just open both account together can or not?" laugh.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2023, 03:43 PM

24,342 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 21 2023, 03:38 PM)
So your pushy trick is to ask "I was like I travel so far here, just open both account together can or not?" laugh.gif
More or less. I even showed them all documents and proof of money. I come prepared even though no salary.
Malaysian IC original and photocipied Version.
Passport obviously
Uni letter, uni pass.
Malaysia bank account as proof of address.
Malaysia bank statement for source of money .

In the end they took my Malaysian IC if I am not wrong+ all other documents. Had to wait like 4h just for them to open account. I never waited do long at a bank. That's why I was not impressed when I left DBS. I was impressed on the fact last time you can deposit in foreign cash at the counter without charges.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 21 2023, 03:43 PM
lyyera96
post Feb 21 2023, 08:50 PM

102 posts

-------------------

Are you sure? The wabsite list down you need 7 bank then Maybank also inside the list wor
lyyera96
post Feb 21 2023, 09:29 PM

102 posts

-------------------

Oic, open CDP account also need FIN number ah, Singapore so kiasu lah...
For me ok lah, I dont care SG-T bill, SSB, bond, I just want buy Singapore REIT only, I have FSM SG also can buy

This post has been edited by lyyera96: Feb 21 2023, 09:33 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2023, 09:30 PM

24,342 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 21 2023, 08:50 PM)
Are you sure? The wabsite list down you need 7 bank then Maybank also inside the list wor
Maybank is one of the important foreign banks in sg banking.

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 21 2023, 09:29 PM)
Oic, open CDP account also need FIN number ah, Singapore so kiasu lah...
For me ok lah, I just want buy Singapore REIT only, I have FSM SG also can buy
That's you income tax number.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 21 2023, 09:30 PM

315 Pages « < 225 226 227 228 229 > » Top

0.0365sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:12 PM