Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

SUSTOS
post Nov 19 2023, 12:33 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Nov 18 2023, 06:11 PM)
Tried only maybank works for now. there is no transaction fee between same bank.

Others bank listed still not working may wait next few days see whether it works or not.
Wow 600k thread views and counting.

Same bank as in between Maybank MY and Maybank SG? If so, have you checked the FX rate markup between Maybank MY and Maybank SG?
SUSTOS
post Nov 21 2023, 01:21 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Nov 21 2023, 01:17 PM)
Transfer at night with BigPay, better rates with BigPay than MoneyMatch at night
If transfer with BigPay at night, when will you receive the cash in your destination account? Is it instantly or you need to wait till the next day?
SUSTOS
post Nov 21 2023, 04:20 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Nov 21 2023, 03:34 PM)
Think you misunderstood. This is buying SGD using RM.

If you selling SGD, based on todays exchge rate, nobody will ever give you more than RM 3500
I try to do some maths here. In this case we sell MYR and buy SGD, i.e., short SGD.MYR pair.

We know for Wise the charges are around 70 basis points and we try to work out the true exchange rate of the day at the instant John reported the figure (which we call "x"):

That means (3.51104-x)/x = 0.7% -> x = 3.48663.

Now, using this calculated mid-market/wholesale exchange rate, we find that the charge for DuitNow/PayNow is:

(3.48675-3.48663)/3.48663 * 100% = 0.003% shocking.gif

Unless my maths is wrong, it seems like the payment service providers and the banks are not making any money at all from this cross-border service?
SUSTOS
post Nov 27 2023, 06:35 PM

8,667 posts

SINGAPORE – UOB, OCBC and DBS Bank customers can lock up funds in their bank accounts to block the money from any digital transaction starting this week.

The feature, which will allow money locked up to be withdrawn only in person, will be launched by UOB and OCBC on Nov 30. DBS Bank will progressively roll out its take on the security measure to its customers between Nov 27 and Dec 7.

The “money lock” feature is designed to fend against fraudsters siphoning money out of a hacked account.

https://www.straitstimes.com/tech/uob-ocbc-...withdrawal-only

Source: lzydata/HWZ
SUSTOS
post Nov 27 2023, 07:44 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 27 2023, 06:35 PM)
SINGAPORE – UOB, OCBC and DBS Bank customers can lock up funds in their bank accounts to block the money from any digital transaction starting this week.

The feature, which will allow money locked up to be withdrawn only in person, will be launched by UOB and OCBC on Nov 30. DBS Bank will progressively roll out its take on the security measure to its customers between Nov 27 and Dec 7.

The “money lock” feature is designed to fend against fraudsters siphoning money out of a hacked account.

https://www.straitstimes.com/tech/uob-ocbc-...withdrawal-only

Source: lzydata/HWZ
More details coming out. https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-s...-funds-accounts

Indeed OCBC's still the more reasonable one...
SUSTOS
post Dec 7 2023, 08:55 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Dec 7 2023, 08:11 PM)
Did u manage to successfully open the account?  I transferred the 1k but didnt get any approval for few days. I called their careline in singapore. They ask me what' the purpose for me to open the account, i said for savings and investment purpose. They ask me to submit a proof of investment account. I said i plan to save the money there first before open any investment acc.  The CS said in that case very likely to get rejected 🥲 ask me to wait few more days for approval
Noooo... You NEVER mention the word investment whenever bank CS ask you why you open a bank account. This is a RED flag.

Just say savings and you cheat them by telling them you like their product offerings, e.g., your bank FD rates are good, FX conversion rates are nice etc. (even though none of them are true).

You need to deploy psychology tactics... the pricing power here falls onto the bank's side, you don't have "pricing power" at all. So you need to please them...

This post has been edited by TOS: Dec 7 2023, 08:56 PM
SUSTOS
post Dec 7 2023, 11:50 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 7 2023, 11:42 PM)
was bonus credited for November?
Yes, bonus interest from October credited on 20th November and base interests for the November month credited on 30th November.

So far so good, IRR is around 2.5% ish p.a. , still sticking to my assertion that it's a "fake" 3.5% promo. laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Dec 16 2023, 04:17 PM

8,667 posts

Not sure this has been shared before: iChange

https://www.ichange.sg/ibv

Allows you to convert SGD to MYR at better rates than YouTrip (which implies better than CIMB SG -> MY) for electronic spending via their virtual card.

You also have the option to withdraw cash in MYR from money changers instead of spending using card, but rates might differ.

Only accepts SG phone number during my registration here in SG. Not sure if you can try registering using MY phone number.

Some infos: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...spread.6980371/

This post has been edited by TOS: Dec 16 2023, 04:18 PM
SUSTOS
post Dec 17 2023, 04:03 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 16 2023, 05:50 PM)
ignoring the possibility that malaysians can't register, can you actually remit the money to a malaysian bank account (under your name, or others)
Not sure about remitting to MY bank account. My friend (who introduce me to this app) and I both notice the app is buggy... So be careful with sending money via this App, you never know when will it end up like Rize.. laugh.gif

https://imgur.com/a/AJLrXkS

Will check and update you later.
SUSTOS
post Jan 3 2024, 07:47 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Jan 3 2024, 07:36 PM)
But my MBB iSavvy account is eating SGD$2 every month. Thinking to terminate it, but the zero fee transfer to/from MBB Malaysia is what's keeping me holding on to it.
Maybank FX rates are good? I remember it's CIMB SGD-> MYR that's worth trying.

It's important to note that zero fees does not mean the bank can't markup the FX rates and earn your money. Beware of this marketing gimmick/business tactic. smile.gif

SUSTOS
post Jan 5 2024, 09:13 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Jan 5 2024, 09:01 AM)
Thanks for sharing this info.

iSavvy cause do not require valid pass to register and don't have to travel down to SG to open the account.

for Ar-Rihla, requires a valid pass.
Unless you need an SG bank debit card, one can just use CIMB SG and OCBC SG. Maybank SG has securities issues with their debit card, let alone having to lock up 200-500 SGD of funds aside... Not a really attractive offering.
SUSTOS
post Jan 5 2024, 09:32 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 5 2024, 09:27 AM)
ocbc sg will lock up also. You get 1 year free waiver, so you need to get the referral cash back + move to another bank or another ocbc acct before time's up
Oh yea, forgot got 500 SGD lockup also for monthly saving account. sweat.gif
SUSTOS
post Jan 5 2024, 09:43 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Jan 5 2024, 09:35 AM)
a Singaporean debit card is quite useful when you're in Singapore, although you can also use OCBC Cashless withdrawal if one has already opened an account.
Haha as Ramjade once said, not many people will come to SG (apart from work/study) or stay very long anyway.

For short stays (e.g. travel/vacation), can just use your Malaysia credit/debit card for transportation (MRT/bus). Food in hawker center can pay with cash.

With OCBC/CIMB SG account can use PayNow QR. Can use Wise card or other fintech cards also.

So, yea plenty of choices.
SUSTOS
post Jan 5 2024, 09:54 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 5 2024, 09:49 AM)
No need. Use tng ewallet or bigpay. I use that last time. Never need ATM or debit card.
TnG ewallet can hold SGD? blink.gif
SUSTOS
post Jan 5 2024, 04:24 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 5 2024, 04:19 PM)
MYRSGD comparison post as of today afternoon

RM 3.494792 market mid-rate as verified by Wise

S$850 (closest approximiation of RM3k DuitNow Int transfer, since not allowed to key in MYR for DuitNow Int Transfer, only SGD amount)
S$8562 (simulate RM30k)

S$850 S$8562
DuitNow RM2979.32 RM30010.52 (for comparison only, since can only remit RM3k daily)
MoneyMatch RM2978.22 + RM5 RM29999.43 + RM5
sunway money RM2987.23 + RM8 RM30077.13 + RM8
wise RM2991.41 RM30135.65
bigpay RM2995.79 RM30135.54
So DuitNow is the cheapest option to transfer from MYR to SGD for small amounts, but limited to 3k MYR.

For large volume transfer, MoneyMatch still leads the way.
SUSTOS
post Jan 5 2024, 09:42 PM

8,667 posts

A warm reminder to those who took up CIMB SG's "fake" 3.5% floating deposit promo.

The earliest batch (those registered in August 2023) will see their promo expire at the end of this month, i.e. 31st January 2024.

Unless the promo is extended, from 1st of February 2024 onwards, you may withdraw all your money from CIMB SG as you deem necessary. The last bonus interest shall be paid on 20th February 2024.

Some useful info from HWZ: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...176026/page-190

This post has been edited by TOS: Jan 5 2024, 09:42 PM
SUSTOS
post Jan 8 2024, 10:41 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 8 2024, 09:30 PM)
finally got time to do non-office hours comparison

RM3.4955 market mid-rate as verified by Wise

S$850 S$8562
DuitNow 2982.46 30042.11
MoneyMatch 2992.40 + 5 30142.28 + 5
sunway money 2993.45 + 8 30140.09 + 8
wise 2991.81 30140.80
bigpay 2992.65 30103.89
Wow DuitNow quote is still so nice even during non-office hours. That's quite some counterparty risk to bear for the banks dealing with illiquid Ringgit FX market during these hours.

Luckily it's limited to 3k MYR per individual. tongue.gif

Otherwise the big boys can send MYR into a tailspin when BNM officials are asleep. brows.gif
SUSTOS
post Jan 29 2024, 04:13 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 29 2024, 04:06 PM)
TOS for CIMB "fake" FD promo, do u receive some interest at the start of the month? separate from the monthly 20th one
Hi bro, I received my base interest payment on the 31st of December last year (2023) whereas the bonus interest was paid on the 19th of January 2024.

Both according to schedule, nothing wrong for me.
SUSTOS
post Jan 29 2024, 04:20 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 29 2024, 04:16 PM)
i received something on
30-Nov-2023 INTEREST CREDIT
so that's weird to me
Err, that's the base interest payment for November 2023, no?

I received the base interest on the same date as yours too. Nothing wrong with that, right?

Base interest for the prevailing month is paid at the end of the month whereas the "bonus interest" is paid 20 days later in the following month.
SUSTOS
post Feb 1 2024, 08:05 AM

8,667 posts

CIMB SG Fake 3.5% promo officially ended yesterday for those started in August 2023. Those with huge savings may now pull your funds out in search for better alternatives...

Those started in September 2023 still have one more month to go.

20 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.1647sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:45 AM