Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

dwRK
post Sep 15 2020, 05:03 PM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 15 2020, 04:46 PM)
I now have an interesting question. Which of the following is cheaper?

1. Deposit HKD from Hang Seng Bank to IBKR account, then convert to SGD within IBKR.

2. Deposit HKD from Hang Seng Bank to Maybank SG bank account (using Instarem) then transfer to IBKR using FAST

So, basically I am asking for a given amount of HKD, which method, 1 or 2 gives me more SGD in the end? Is Instarem's rate + cost better than IBKR's own internal FX conversion?
SUSTOS
post Sep 15 2020, 05:05 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 15 2020, 05:03 PM)
Thank you. Do you consider transaction fee as well? It's 15.5 HKD for me per transaction. Rate should be good.
dwRK
post Sep 15 2020, 05:48 PM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 15 2020, 05:05 PM)
Thank you. Do you consider transaction fee as well? It's 15.5 HKD for me per transaction. Rate should be good.
you pay an outbound fee regardless 1 or 2 right?...with instarem you're paying additional commission...

for any meaningful amount, 1 is better
dwRK
post Sep 15 2020, 06:00 PM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 15 2020, 04:42 PM)
Good news. I can confirm that there are NO charges for Instarem transfer of money to Maybank SG. I get exactly the amount as stated in Instarem.

they doing a local deposit... that's why
Ramjade
post Sep 15 2020, 06:25 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 15 2020, 04:46 PM)
I now have an interesting question. Which of the following is cheaper?

1. Deposit HKD from Hang Seng Bank to IBKR account, then convert to SGD within IBKR.

2. Deposit HKD from Hang Seng Bank to Maybank SG bank account (using Instarem) then transfer to IBKR using FAST

So, basically I am asking for a given amount of HKD, which method, 1 or 2 gives me more SGD in the end? Is Instarem's rate + cost better than IBKR's own internal FX conversion?
You can deposit in HKD directly from instarem/mmoneymatch/TW. You can use the deposit HKD straight to buy HK stocks. You do not need to change it to SGD unless you want to buy SG stocks.

IB rate is always better than instarem/mmoneymatch/TW anytime anyday cause it's spot rate. Real time, real rates.
tadashi987
post Sep 15 2020, 07:54 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(donnysen @ Sep 15 2020, 07:29 PM)
do not need any doc to prove? because in Malaysia they ask for offer or confirmation letter before open your account
https://www.cimbbank.com.sg/en/personal/for...fastsaver.html#!

u will have better context here
SUSTOS
post Sep 15 2020, 08:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 15 2020, 06:25 PM)
You can deposit in HKD directly from instarem/mmoneymatch/TW. You can use the deposit HKD straight to buy HK stocks. You do not need to change it to SGD unless you want to buy SG stocks.

IB rate is always better than instarem/mmoneymatch/TW anytime anyday cause it's spot rate. Real time, real rates.
I don't plan to buy any HK stocks because:

(i) They are too expensive as in large capital is needed per board lot (usually 1000-5000 shares and each one costs 50 (as in Link REIT) to around 200/500 as in (Alibaba/Tencent))
(ii) Most are H-shares which I already have a stake through my FSM MY mutual fund investment

Thanks dwrk and Ramjade for your advice and answers, very helpful.

QUOTE(donnysen @ Sep 15 2020, 07:29 PM)
do not need any doc to prove? because in Malaysia they ask for offer or confirmation letter before open your account
During my Maybank SG account opening in Malaysia, I voluntarily submitted my IBKR account statement to prove that I really have investment in SG. Though not required, the officer took it anyway. So, I would suggest you to print a copy of your brokerage account statement specifying your investments in SG, that would certainly help increase your success rate of opening an SG bank account.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 15 2020, 08:30 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 15 2020, 08:42 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 15 2020, 08:27 PM)
I don't plan to buy any HK stocks because:

(i) They are too expensive as in large capital is needed per board lot (usually 1000-5000 shares and each one costs 50 (as in Link REIT) to around 200/500 as in (Alibaba/Tencent))
(ii) Most are H-shares which I already have a stake through my FSM MY mutual fund investment

Thanks dwrk and Ramjade for your advice and answers, very helpful. 
During my Maybank SG account opening in Malaysia, I voluntarily submitted my IBKR account statement to prove that I really have investment in SG. Though not required, the officer took it anyway. So, I would suggest you to print a copy of your brokerage account statement specifying your investments in SG, that would certainly help increase your success rate of opening an SG bank account.
HK got lots of good stocks.
Suggest you to keep until you have SGD4k then invest.

Stuff like Shenzhen international, yuexiu transport, CK infrastructure, hysan dev are good stuff.
HK stocks are way better than sg anytime.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 15 2020, 08:54 PM
tadashi987
post Sep 15 2020, 11:31 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 15 2020, 08:42 PM)
HK got lots of good stocks.
Suggest you to keep until you have SGD4k then invest.

Stuff like Shenzhen international, yuexiu transport, CK infrastructure, hysan dev are good stuff.
HK stocks are way better than sg anytime.
all the mentioned ones not subjected to Chinese 10% witholding tax?
Ramjade
post Sep 15 2020, 11:33 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Sep 15 2020, 11:31 PM)
all the mentioned ones not subjected to Chinese 10% witholding tax?
As far as I know, no tax.
kart
post Sep 16 2020, 10:00 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Sep 14 2020, 04:37 PM)
but for withdrawal from IBKR to SG banks, yes, it is considered as inward remittance, because i think it is because IBKR is not using local bank to process your withdrawal, your withdrawal theoretically is coming outside the "boundary", so in shorts, use CIMB SG to receive your withdrawal, not Maybank SG

that's the reason i closed my MBB SG account also  wink.gif
QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 15 2020, 11:04 AM)
The problem falls on IBKR's side. I can't understand why remittance from SGD account to another SGD bank account in Singapore needs Telegraphic Transfer when FAST, GIRO or other methods are available. Either they collude with banks to allow them to earn more fees or they are outdated. More so when they already have offices in Singapore, I can't imagine they still need old fashioned-wire method to remit money around.

Those with Singapore savings account can use FAST to transfer fund (denominated in SGD) to Citibank N.A..

It is just weird that Interactive Brokers cannot use FAST to transfer fund (denominated in SGD) from Citibank N.A., to the Singapore savings account of IBKR customers. Citibank N.A. Singapore should be Singapore branch of Citibank, so local fund transfer should be able to be performed, without Telegraphic Transfer.

This post has been edited by kart: Sep 16 2020, 10:02 AM
SUSLiamness
post Sep 16 2020, 03:42 PM

445 posts

duplicate

This post has been edited by Liamness: Sep 16 2020, 03:46 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 16 2020, 04:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Sep 16 2020, 10:00 AM)
Those with Singapore savings account can use FAST to transfer fund (denominated in SGD) to Citibank N.A..

It is just weird that Interactive Brokers cannot use FAST to transfer fund (denominated in SGD) from Citibank N.A., to the Singapore savings account of IBKR customers. Citibank N.A. Singapore should be Singapore branch of Citibank, so local fund transfer should be able to be performed, without Telegraphic Transfer.
Thanks for confirmation. I guess I need to email IBKR to look into this possibility. As dwrk mentioned before, though CIMB Fastsaver SG exists for the moment, there is a chance that with the low-rate environment persisting, CIMB may start to impose charges on inward remittance.

Currently I think they earn more from NII, as their loans in SGD are around 3%-3.5% but they pay interest of around 0.5-1%.

It makes me wonder, apart from moving money back and forth between IBKR and an SG bank account, are there any other reasons one would need to maintain an SG bank account.

What if CIMB SG starts charging say 10 SGD for each inward remittance, and IBKR hasn't made FAST available yet, so now it's a one-way communication (SG bank -> IBKR but not vice versa), will you guys still maintain an SG bank account?

Just a thought question.

!@#$%^
post Sep 16 2020, 04:32 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 16 2020, 04:27 PM)
Thanks for confirmation. I guess I need to email IBKR to look into this possibility. As dwrk mentioned before, though CIMB Fastsaver SG exists for the moment, there is a chance that with the low-rate environment persisting, CIMB may start to impose charges on inward remittance.

Currently I think they earn more from NII, as their loans in SGD are around 3%-3.5% but they pay interest of around 0.5-1%. 

It makes me wonder, apart from moving money back and forth between IBKR and an SG bank account, are there any other reasons one would need to maintain an SG bank account.

What if CIMB SG starts charging say 10 SGD for each inward remittance, and IBKR hasn't made FAST available yet, so now it's a one-way communication (SG bank -> IBKR but not vice versa), will you guys still maintain an SG bank account?

Just a thought question.
it is not just for ibkr actually
dwRK
post Sep 16 2020, 04:41 PM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Sep 16 2020, 10:00 AM)

tt is universal ah...ibkr as a big Corp probably has standardized and automated withdrawal using it... fast is maybe just sg specific... they not even charging for withdrawals unlike most brokers...
dwRK
post Sep 16 2020, 04:50 PM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 16 2020, 04:27 PM)

Just a thought question.
you over thinking too much liao ah... wink.gif

enjoy while it last... don't sweat what you cannot control laugh.gif

edit: imho keeping an offshore account gives you some flexibility in moving/managing funds...not always about saving money...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 16 2020, 05:14 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 16 2020, 05:33 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 16 2020, 04:50 PM)
you over thinking too much liao ah... wink.gif

enjoy while it last... don't sweat what you cannot control laugh.gif
Well, I think you should always plan ahead. You don't buy a stock because it goes up tomorrow then nosedives thereafter.

The banking industry is oligopolistic in nature, each follows others very closely in product and service differentiation and they follow very similar policies. If Maybank has done so, once CIMB reach the same size as Maybank (at least in Singapore), the waiver on inward remittance fee may be withdrawn anytime.

It's very clear to observers like us that CIMB SG is trying to steal Maybank SG's customers, so they offer such privileges. But this isn't for ever.

What I posted above isn't completely unthinkable, for those who study a bit or two on economics. tongue.gif

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 16 2020, 04:50 PM)
edit: imho keeping an offshore account gives you some flexibility in moving/managing funds...not always about saving money...
I agree with you that it's not always about saving money. Interest rate below 1%, can't really make a lot of money by putting them in banks.

The thing is, if inward remittance from IBKR SG to BOTH CIMB SG and Maybank SG involve charges, what is/are the rational(s) of keeping an SG bank account then? Every transfer from IBKR to your SG bank account will be charged 10 dollars or more. Moving funds can cost a lot of money then.

You don't work, study or stay in Singapore and now lose another reason to own a bank account, what other reasons to justify maintaining an offshore bank account? Not to mention all kinds of risks associated with it, especially regulations, compliance costs, change in laws, MAS audit/scrutiny etc. Your money is in another country and in someone else's hand. Unless the rule of law and regulations there please you, otherwise you won't sleep well at night.

After 1MDB, it's hard to have an offshore bank account these days in Singapore. not sure true or not.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 16 2020, 05:44 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 16 2020, 06:15 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 16 2020, 04:41 PM)
tt is universal ah...ibkr as a big Corp probably has standardized and automated withdrawal using it... fast is maybe just sg specific...  they not even charging for withdrawals unlike most brokers...
They charge if you do >= 2 withdrawal a month. If you do only one it's free.

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 16 2020, 05:33 PM)
Well, I think you should always plan ahead. You don't buy a stock because it goes up tomorrow then nosedives thereafter.

The banking industry is oligopolistic in nature, each follows others very closely in product and service differentiation and they follow very similar policies. If Maybank has done so, once CIMB reach the same size as Maybank (at least in Singapore), the waiver on inward remittance fee may be withdrawn anytime.

It's very clear to observers like us that CIMB SG is trying to steal Maybank SG's customers, so they offer such privileges. But this isn't for ever. 

What I posted above isn't completely unthinkable, for those who study a bit or two on economics. tongue.gif
I agree with you that it's not always about saving money. Interest rate below 1%, can't really make a lot of money by putting them in banks.

The thing is, if inward remittance from IBKR SG to BOTH CIMB SG and Maybank SG involve charges, what is/are the rational(s) of keeping an SG bank account then? Every transfer from IBKR to your SG bank account will be charged 10 dollars or more. Moving funds can cost a lot of money then.

You don't work, study or stay in Singapore and now lose another reason to own a bank account, what other reasons to justify maintaining an offshore bank account? Not to mention all kinds of risks associated with it, especially regulations, compliance costs, change in laws, MAS audit/scrutiny etc. Your money is in another country and in someone else's hand. Unless the rule of law and regulations there please you, otherwise you won't sleep well at night.

After 1MDB, it's hard to have an offshore bank account these days in Singapore. not sure true or not.
You need to know that maybank is one of the important banks in singapore and cimb is not. Hence cimb only have one branch while maybank have a few branches around SG.

Rational: I still have somewhere to keep my SGD. I am not going to hold RM.

Moving funds can cost a lot of money then. Yes if you keep moving funds. No if you don't move your money at all/move once in bulk.

If you don't feel safe keeping money in sg, then try HK. With China tightening grip over HK, I wouldn't want a bank account in HK. tongue.gif

Sg is not goiing to spoil their reputation is Switzerland of SEA.

Your bank account in singapore is your offshore bank account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 16 2020, 06:18 PM
dwRK
post Sep 16 2020, 07:03 PM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

tos very simple... do we need an sg, hk or other offshore account? 100% honest answer is no

imho ppl who want to open sg account because 1) easy/backup 2) bypass bnm scrutiny 3) save some fx spread and xfer fees

#3 only came about lately because more US brokers setting shop in sg, and banks having promo and people just wanna save every penny
Ramjade
post Sep 16 2020, 07:20 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 16 2020, 07:03 PM)
tos very simple... do we need an sg, hk or other offshore account? 100% honest answer is no

imho ppl who want to open sg account because 1) easy/backup 2) bypass bnm scrutiny 3) save some fx spread and xfer fees

#3 only came about lately because more US brokers setting shop in sg, and banks having promo and people just wanna save every penny
For me honestly yes. I need it. Cause how am I going to hold my money if I don't have a bank account?
I am certainly not going to hold RM in Malaysia and watch it depreciate.

315 Pages « < 147 148 149 150 151 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:50 PM