Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Ramjade
post Jul 16 2024, 03:41 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Jul 16 2024, 03:17 PM)
What's the best approach (cheapest) to move my USD funds in USA to a USD based fund in Moomoo/Tiger in Singapore ?
Rhb multicurrency account or DBS multi currency (if you have DBS)
Ramjade
post Jul 16 2024, 05:23 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Jul 16 2024, 03:49 PM)
How does RHB multi currency work in this scenario?
I am not sure the charges with receiving USD with RHB.

Funds in US in USD -> Multi currency account that can receive and store USD -> wire to moomoo or tiger. This is to ensure no double conversion.

If you use DBS, can direct bank in as both moomoo and tiger uses DBS.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 16 2024, 05:23 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 10 2024, 10:14 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(adam1190 @ Sep 10 2024, 10:06 PM)
Instarem can convert sgd to myr?
Yes and no. You need Instagram Singapore. Not worth to use Instagram. Expensive.
Ramjade
post Sep 10 2024, 10:37 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 10 2024, 10:28 PM)
lol you mean Instarem... not Instagram  laugh.gif
Phone typo.
Ramjade
post Oct 19 2024, 01:11 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(adam1190 @ Oct 18 2024, 11:47 AM)
That’s sad for the first transfer verification purpose as the exchange rate to transfer from cimb Malaysia to own cimb Singapore account is ridiculously high at 3.33+ as compared to the real exchange rate at 3.27+ ..
Think of it as fees for opening sg bank account. Still cheap. Vs parking 20k in SGD with banks in Singapore.
Ramjade
post Nov 18 2024, 09:53 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Nov 18 2024, 09:21 PM)
Dear sifu,

In order to get the best SGD-MYR exchange rate, I went to open CIMB at MY & SG.

I have opened CIMB FastSaver online.
MY side, despite claiming that it can be done competely online, they asked me to go to branch to complete the online registration.

The issue now is that I applied online to open Basic Savings  without Annual Fee but the branch staff changed the account to EcoSave-i without my consent. After finding it out, I asked why change as it comes with annual fee.

She claimed that Basic Savings Account cannot be linked to CIMB SG. Is this true? Any sifu here who has a Basic Savings Account and linked it to CIMB SG?
I have. The bank officer lied to you. My account have always been cimb free basic savings account.
You should have open cimb Malaysia first. Then only open CIMB sg. Then only link.

Don't tell the bank officer anything about CIMB sg. Just tell them you want to open cimb free basic savings account. After 6 months just close the ecosave -i account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 18 2024, 10:03 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 18 2024, 11:52 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 18 2024, 11:12 PM)
Gabriel03 i have BSA-i. walk-in to open basic acct without telling them my plans. previously i dare not open CIMB MY acct bcos of horror stories about debit card fraud

btw, since i'm here. just to state that i can no longer wholeheartedly recommend moneymatch. do compare with sunwaymoney as they have the upperhand lately when it comes to converting your ringgit
Same here. Sunway money have good rates now Vs moneymatch.
Ramjade
post Nov 19 2024, 12:25 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Nov 18 2024, 11:53 PM)
but from SGD to MYR, CIMB is still best, right?
For now yes. But I saw someone manage to get better rates with wallex. Haven't investigate as no plan to bring money back to Malaysia.

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 19 2024, 12:21 AM)
i walked into CIMB MY branch and opened acct with MyKad and RM20 for deposit. the bank teller didn't probe and ask if i'm working / ask for payslip etc
Lucky you. Cimb, public bank at my place all want letter of employment.
Ramjade
post Nov 19 2024, 12:57 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 19 2024, 12:37 AM)
not too worried abt cimb sgd->myr as it beats midvalley rates. It's the MYR->sgd where no online remitters will be on par with midvalley
Good to know that Sunway money and moneymatch can't beat midvalley. Maybe rhb can?
Ramjade
post Nov 21 2024, 07:41 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 21 2024, 02:54 AM)
Sifu, if we already have Cimb MY and we want to open a SG Cimb, we no need to show them our employment right?
They can ask for proof of money. Definitely Malaysian income tax number will be asked.
Ramjade
post Nov 21 2024, 08:37 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 21 2024, 08:19 AM)
in fact they asked me to get account statement from any existing bank and utility bill as supporting doc
Of course. They want proof of your address. Bank statements they want is verification of account. Normal la.
Ramjade
post Nov 21 2024, 09:44 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 21 2024, 08:19 AM)
in fact they asked me to get account statement from any existing bank and utility bill as supporting doc
Supposedly it's requirement by Bnm to produce employment proof to prevent money laundering. I kena with public bank also.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 21 2024, 09:45 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 25 2024, 02:24 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(KIP21 @ Nov 25 2024, 02:02 PM)
Seeing folks here on money in SG and not in MY ... is the bank interest rate good? CIMB Sg just like 1 to 2% right?
Please don't just put money in sg bank account and leave it... Use it to invest. Putting money into SG FD or bank account, better you out into EPF.
Ramjade
post Nov 25 2024, 09:55 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(KIP21 @ Nov 25 2024, 06:44 PM)
Hi Ramjade smile.gif What good to invest there? Property condo too expensive ..like SGD1mil and above easily for foreigners... and if equity, can just use MooMoo Malaysia and buy shares there right? Would like to heard your thoughts on SG investments. Thanks in advance
Sg banks only. If you like reits lots of selection. I don't hold any more Singapore reits in my portfolio. If you are ok holding stuff which give like 5-6%p.a with minimum (max 1-2%p.a increase in dividend) to negative growth yearly

SG banks are basically my official banking tool. Me and many use them to invest overseas cheaply. Reason is we use interactive broker and they don't allow RM deposit or withdrawal. But they do accept SGD. So if you are investing long term, interactive broker is cheaper than moomoo Malaysia by miles (commision, exchange rate) and not to mention more market than just the US.

If the day comes that interactive broker accept direct funding, withdrawal and conversion of ringgit, I won't send my money to Singapore.

Hope that explains it.
Ramjade
post Nov 27 2024, 11:08 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 27 2024, 01:45 AM)
we can't create online account without debit card right and how long does it take to receive the card?
Just open account and you will know. If you keep posting questions until when also you won't open account. Lol

Card will take like 1 month to arrive.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 27 2024, 11:09 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 17 2024, 08:05 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Dec 17 2024, 08:03 PM)
if i dont mind maintain certain balance, which is the best? thanks
DBS if you are willing to make the journey down.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 17 2024, 08:11 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 17 2024, 08:12 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Dec 17 2024, 08:07 PM)
for DBS, do we need to prove residency like OCBC? ocbc closed down recently for those without residency proof in sg
Of course. But they don't need sg address. But you need to be there in person.

Specifically DBS HQ at MBFC.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 17 2024, 08:13 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 17 2024, 08:15 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 17 2024, 08:14 PM)
Ramjade this is for multi-currency account with DBS, and not SGD acct right?
Doesn't matter. The multi currency account comes with SGD. You will still get SGD bank.

The question is whether they want to open for you.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 17 2024, 08:15 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 17 2024, 08:22 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Dec 17 2024, 08:18 PM)
what is the requirement? n how to make them likely to open for me
Willingness to come to SG.
Willingness to wait 4-6H
Willingness to beg
Willingness to open DBS Vickers account
SGD3k
Utilities bill
Malaysian bank statement
Pay slip
Income tax filling

Above should be more than enough. But no guarantees.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 17 2024, 08:50 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 17 2024, 08:51 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Dec 17 2024, 08:43 PM)
wow so troublesome
One time trouble. I open mine since the peak of 1mdb days.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 17 2024, 08:52 PM

60 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.6581sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:10 AM