Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Ramjade
post Dec 19 2024, 07:17 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Dec 18 2024, 11:18 PM)
i heard if someone is ocbc malaysia premier customer, i am eligible for ocbc sg premier customer also?
Not sure. But you can open priority at any Singapore banks. Tell them you want to open priority banking and all of a sudden you got no more banking restrictions. lol

Walk into the bank. Of course do you have like SGD350k sitting around?. They will even fly their people to Malaysia to meet you.

If parking RM250k in Malaysia to open priority in sg, I think only HSBC allow you to do that.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 19 2024, 07:26 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 23 2024, 06:45 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 23 2024, 02:33 PM)
the unthinkable just happened. CIMB MY->SGD cheaper than sunway money. didn't transfer money, just checking rates

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Thanks for heads-up. Need to see if persistently better than Sunway money. If yes can consider them but have to factor in slower and may have lots of documentation.
Ramjade
post Dec 23 2024, 07:27 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 23 2024, 06:59 PM)
Ramjade i only found out thanks to the banner. so until May 7th, 2025 perhaps?
Maybe it is just temporary promo or maybe it become sort of like "permanent promo" as with the care of cimb sg.
Ramjade
post Jan 11 2025, 08:49 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 10 2025, 09:07 PM)
It is RM300,000 to qualify for HSBC Premier Banking in Malaysia now. For HSBC Premier Elite, the minimum TRB is RM3 million.
I won't bother with priority banking.

The only priority banking I want is with DBS. But if no priority it's ok. Won't die.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 11 2025, 08:50 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 14 2025, 03:37 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 14 2025, 03:31 PM)
Why is DBS priority banking so good ?
MCRL..They interest rate is lower than IBKR I believed. Which is already lower than most banks.
Ramjade
post Jan 14 2025, 04:12 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 14 2025, 03:38 PM)
What is MCRL ?
Multi currency resolving loan.
Ramjade
post Jan 19 2025, 02:38 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 19 2025, 01:45 PM)
Has anyone considered CIMB fastsaver ? at least they offer 3.2% for those existing customers (new customer is 5%) .

but the terms and conditions is so complicated. I wonder if anyone tried ?

https://www.cimb.com.sg/content/dam/cimbsg/...ug-dec-2024.pdf
Just open tiger sg or moomoo sg. Moomoo sg harder open. Once open just buy Fullerton SGD cash fund. No need complicated terms and conditions or jumping though hoops.
Ramjade
post Jan 19 2025, 03:15 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 19 2025, 02:43 PM)
nowadays fullerton sgd cash fund returns are a bit lower, tat's why i switched back to stashaway simple sgd

Of course what. US interest rate drop so and SG interest is directly tied to US. So Fullerton interest also drop.

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 19 2025, 03:10 PM)
hav u tried the USD MMF giving 4.2% ? assuming that conversion rate is constent, do I get 4.2% or need to factor in conversion charges ? 

I do notice Moomoo my offering 4.2% as well, but I have not tried. I wonder if anyone who had tried can share what is the experience ?
I won't bother as I am not sure how good or bad is the exchange rate by moomoo. All these mmf is just for you to park your money. I am able to put my money to work but earning min 3%p.a and growing automatically around 15%p.a without the need for new cash injection. Short term I gain lesser than MMF. Long term, I earn more than MMF.

Of course need to factor in conversion charges. Never chase all these foreign FD rates. Only do it if you are using that country currency to invest. Don't suja2 change from ringgit to USD just because of the interest rate.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 19 2025, 03:59 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 20 2025, 07:11 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(604weekendwarrior @ Jan 19 2025, 11:13 PM)
In case anyone wanted a USD account in Singapore.
I was actually able to open a Foreign Currency - USD account with CIMB SG.  Since I already had an account with them, the cs agent when I called said I just have to just desktop (opening USD account wasn't available on the app) under services and apply for the account. 

Put in all my details, thought it would take a few weeks.  Logged in the next day and my USA account was there.  Did a test transfer from Instarem into the USD account and got the deposit late in the day.  Minimum balance is USD $1000
I would not go with Cimb or any other sg bank foreign currency account. Reason is the min fall below amount which means extra fees for the bank should the amount drop below the required threshold and the money needs to be lock up and cannot be put to use. 2nd would be the exchange rate. I have always hated Singapore banks to lockup min amount.

If really want a foreign currency account, rhb multi currency in Malaysia would be a better choice.

If course if you are willing to travel to Singapore together a DBS account, by all means go for it as there is no minimum amount with DBS. I keep only SGD0.10 inside my DBS account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 20 2025, 07:14 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 20 2025, 04:51 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jan 20 2025, 04:42 PM)
Let's say that my only intention is to keep my money in Fullerton SGD Cash Fund, and I do not intend to perform any stock trading.
For that, will Tiger Brokers and Moomoo Singapore impose any fee, such as platform fee?
Thank you for your clarification.
Supposedly no fees from either of them. They are not fsm. I have used moomoo sg only. So far no fees for parking my money with Fullerton under moomoo. Never used Tiger before.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 20 2025, 04:57 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 21 2025, 12:26 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 20 2025, 11:23 PM)
fullerton sgd cash for the past few days has not been impressive. it is around 3.1%. is this about right ?
You cannot do anything. That's the downside of putting money into MMF. Singapore follow US fed interest rate. If US interest drop, Fullerton will also drop. You want to lock in the yield buy bonds or US tbills. It's cheaper than Singapore bonds.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 20 2025, 11:55 PM)
Purpose of the post was to correct the wrong info given in your original post - 300k instead of 250k. And it was still 200k only just a few months ago
Thanks. Anyway I don't aim for priority so I never follow the AUM required.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 21 2025, 12:27 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 4 2025, 02:34 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 3 2025, 07:33 PM)
- You Simply Can't open a DBS Account now without a confirmation letter from a Singapore Company right now.
- I tried few times in 2023/24, walked in .
- DBS Account depending what types still typical $500 min. else, $2 fall below fees?
You need to get it done at their HQ. Not just any DBS branch. Also the account is usually lockup of $3000 with fall below fees if $5/Month.

Whether still can be done currently I don't know. I did mine at peak of 1MDB as a student.
Ramjade
post Feb 14 2025, 08:21 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Feb 14 2025, 02:46 AM)
is there any charges of transferring fund from Cimb SG to Dbs bank?
If you do it via FAST transfer, it's free. It's essentially our Duitnow.
You cannot move USD for free via online.
Ramjade
post Mar 5 2025, 09:34 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Mar 5 2025, 04:05 PM)
oh, i see, so is it he can tranfer to any one CIMB MY or only his own CIMB MY acc?
Of coruse can. You have bank acocunt you can transfer to anywhere in the world.
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2025, 11:35 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Apr 30 2025, 04:07 PM)
Let's say that my only intention is to keep my money in Fullerton SGD Cash Fund, and I do not intend to perform any stock trading.

Between Tiger Brokers and Moomoo Singapore, which one is more suitable for me?

I prefer to use a computer, to perform transactions to keep my money in Fullerton SGD Cash Fund, instead of using a smartphone.

Thank you for your clarification.
I know tiger can loin using desktop app. I just mmf on moomoo mobile. If scared just get a cheap new android phien solely for banking and keep it at home lo.

That's what I do. My banking phone is always at home.
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2025, 01:21 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 29 2025, 11:47 AM)
if you make your transfer to SGD via sunway money, do they ask you for reason of transfer like money match? i haven't done any transfer via sunway yet
Maybe first transfer only. Subsequently no more unlike money match.
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2025, 01:53 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Jun 18 2025, 11:02 AM)
why many like to open bank account in Singapore?
Cheaper to deposit rather than deposit USD straight into IBKR.

Also give you a bank account to hold SGD. Wise can only hold RM29k which is peanut.

Having a SG bank account really makes your money without border unlike restrictions on Malaysia

Also lastly the SGD will appreciate with time especially against the RM.
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2025, 02:07 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Jun 20 2025, 01:57 PM)
Depositing to IBKR and withdraw IBKR from our Singapore bank account will lead to the closure the bank account like in mileysia?
Nope. Been there down that and less questions or paper work to fill up with Singapore bank when you deposit SGD or withdraw SGD to your account.

There won't be closure in Malaysia as long as you can prove your money. Where it is coming from.
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2025, 02:25 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Jun 20 2025, 02:23 PM)

But the IBKR account I have is with international account. So it applies too?
IBKR let you fund your account in SGD. You can withdraw also in SGD. There is no such option for ringgit.

IBKR SG is for Singaporeans only. Everyone get IBKR US unless you are in UK, Europe, Australia, Canada
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2025, 02:59 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Jun 20 2025, 02:33 PM)
My previous deposit was in USD. Can I then withdraw my USD to SGD to my Singapore bank account?

got it

You can always withdraw SGD to a SG bank account. But if you withdraw USD to a pure SGD account the USD will be converted into SGD at bank rate which is not cheap and not ideal unless you have a multi currency account.

Since Malaysia does not really have a multi currency account, everytime you withdraw money back to Malaysia (which you should not be doing), banks take a chunk of it like 3% and auto convert it to ringgit.

That's why I open SG bank account so there is no auto conversion.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 20 2025, 02:56 PM)
I have another option here :-

I have DBS Multi-Currency Acct and Tiger Brokers acct..

I can move funds, USD & SGD in and out betw my DBS MCA and TB acct. for FREE.

I use DBS MCA to convert my funds betw USD & SGD at close to interbank rates.

I am now waiting for counter-reprisals to my statements above, especially the last statement,...
Bro not everyone have DBS and not everyone can open DBS and DBS charges for incoming wire feess something which Cimb sg does not.

The closest Malaysian can get without crossing the border is RHB multi currency account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 20 2025, 03:06 PM

60 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 >Top

0.1532sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:56 PM