Do u guys prefer gym with aircond or fan/natural
TSVforCe
May 26 2010, 09:18 AM

Aircond gym VS Fan / Natural VentilationWith Aircond Pros:- Cool environment? - Not really sweat - clean? - Can workout longer? - Quality workout? With Aircond Cons:- Too cold/dry - lazy/sleepy? - hard to warmup? - Gym easily Smelly (Sweat)? With Fan / Natural Pros:- Some say breeze? - Easy to warmup - Easy to sweat? (consider as pros for bbuilder?) With Fan / Natural Cons:- Sometimes hot (not really cold)? - To many Sweat - not clean? - To many Sweat - shorten workout duration? issit all this really matter for bbuilder?
John91
May 26 2010, 10:43 AM
Just train la... Up to personal preference anyway. Does it really matter?
This post has been edited by John91: May 26 2010, 07:59 PM
tenno
May 26 2010, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(VforCe @ May 25 2010, 05:18 PM) I'm planning to start My workout.. Still in doubt which gym to go.. Do u guys prefer gym with aircond or natural ventilation / fan etc.?? Tq for giving ur opinion..  If this is the reason to delay starting Ur workout, then good luck to U... for me, it's got nothing to do with performance. Unless the gym is aircond to below freezing or 3-5C, which I dun think is the case. Unless U have the aircond blow directly to Ur face.. no issue at all. This is the same with those guys who dun workout becoz they dunno which shoe to wear.. It's more towards one's preference, whether Ur comfy or not.
TSVforCe
May 27 2010, 02:00 PM

TQ for the opinion & really appreciate! I have started my workout in both condition. My personal opinion is gym with aircond is more comfortable & relaxing. Not so much sweat (can sweat much also in aircond condition - depends on people). I feel i can concentrete on quality of workouts rather than quantity of reps. From my personal observation also.. i saw many hardcore bbuilder went to gym with aircond.. But, to be consider also the aircond must not too cold & the air must be not smelly..
bata
May 27 2010, 02:06 PM
i prefer no fan and aircond. sweatsss....ahahaha
Chow
TSVforCe
May 27 2010, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(bata @ May 27 2010, 02:06 PM) i prefer no fan and aircond. sweatsss....ahahaha no fan no aircond = sauna gym lor.. haha
D_Predator
May 27 2010, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(geforce88 @ May 25 2010, 06:59 PM) aircond in gym is a BIG no from me... sweat + aircond is not a good thing..... why bro?care to elaborate?any studies on this one..i've been hearing the same thing too..don't know how far it's true...
JonYeap
May 27 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(D_Predator @ May 27 2010, 04:06 PM) why bro?care to elaborate?any studies on this one..i've been hearing the same thing too..don't know how far it's true... just the same theory of hot and cold i guess. lets say u just finish working out, whole body heated up. would u straight jump into a cold bath? its not good for ur bones too i guess. old ppl saying, i guess better be safe than sorry.
pizzaboy
May 27 2010, 07:52 PM
There is a study which I read, I believe it's on pubmed, that when training in higher humidity and temperature, the human growth hormones (HGH) is at a higher level compared to training in cold temps.
An interesting point.
yeeck
May 27 2010, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 27 2010, 07:52 PM) There is a study which I read, I believe it's on pubmed, that when training in higher humidity and temperature, the human growth hormones (HGH) is at a higher level compared to training in cold temps. An interesting point. Right..in that case, most Asians in hot, tropical countries would be bigger than most Mat Sallehs. Common sense will tell you that there are many other factors!
TSVforCe
May 28 2010, 12:26 AM

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 27 2010, 11:27 PM) Right..in that case, most Asians in hot, tropical countries would be bigger than most Mat Sallehs. Common sense will tell you that there are many other factors! i'm confused now
pizzaboy
May 28 2010, 02:47 AM
QUOTE(yeeck @ May 27 2010, 11:27 PM) Right..in that case, most Asians in hot, tropical countries would be bigger than most Mat Sallehs. Common sense will tell you that there are many other factors! Bingo! Exactly! There are other factors, and this is one of them.
TSVforCe
Jun 2 2010, 05:59 PM

Some say : Just do it !
yeeck
Jun 2 2010, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 28 2010, 02:47 AM) Bingo! Exactly! There are other factors, and this is one of them. Meh, I don't think so....I burn more and eat less in hot weather. Not sure about the rest of you.
darklight79
Jun 10 2010, 01:18 PM
I'll eat your food
You all just think way too much. Lol.
harris92
Jun 10 2010, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(smithdsouza @ Jun 10 2010, 11:51 AM) I think a gym without air conditioner is a bad idea because the people in a gym do a lot of workout and if they have a feeling of coolness than they can do it comfortably other wise after one or two exercise they get exhausted and than with the hot weather they will not be able to carry it long. I beg to differ. In my opinion, like some of the others pointed out, it's all a matter of preferences. For me, I prefer to work out without any fan/air conditioning on. I work out to sweat, might as well sweat all the way. (I work out at home, so the sweat doesn't really bother other people lol)
girithaara
Aug 28 2010, 02:58 AM
anyone can recommened me any gym without aircond nearby KL sentral? or brickfields, or sentul? will be moving from penang soon, need a good Non air conditioned gym!
lilredridinghood
Aug 28 2010, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(harris92 @ Jun 10 2010, 02:03 PM) I beg to differ. In my opinion, like some of the others pointed out, it's all a matter of preferences. For me, I prefer to work out without any fan/air conditioning on. I work out to sweat, might as well sweat all the way. (I work out at home, so the sweat doesn't really bother other people lol) prefer a cooler gym, regardless whether is it air conditioned or not, so long the ventilation is good. It lengthens my stamina and my productivity, but I still sweat despite being under the air cond, then again it's personal preference.
pizzaboy
Aug 28 2010, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Aug 28 2010, 09:55 AM) prefer a cooler gym, regardless whether is it air conditioned or not, so long the ventilation is good. It lengthens my stamina and my productivity, but I still sweat despite being under the air cond, then again it's personal preference. I don't know about productivity and stamina but doesn't being in NZ during the winter freeze up everything? Training in winter, I couldn't even rest much. My heartbeat lowers extremely quick but I don't feel like I've recovered for the next set yet. The only way I could train was with a thick jacket on. (Note, the gym I went to was a warehouse gym and it's as cold inside as it is outside - the wind)