post Feb 6 2014, 05:02 PM

2,085 posts

i would go for PhD for personal satisfaction. smile.gif
franco87
post Feb 16 2014, 12:31 PM

101 posts

I just completed my master and planning to get PHD. For me, its for academic purpose and furthering your knowledge. If some people said why trying hard to get master or phd? Go doing business la, knowledge is everywhere etc. I simply couldn't brain this as the academic process in higher education is more differ and really open up your mind. U learn something new, theory based and execute more on critical thinking. its a great experience actually and u will see the world in a new perspective.
SUSErgoProxi
post Feb 16 2014, 12:56 PM

Aren't I just good enough to eat?
2,702 posts

Permanent head Damage ? No, thanks.
prefer Dr. in my name.
why?
personal satisfaction

Blofeld
post Feb 16 2014, 01:34 PM

4,700 posts

Basically, a PhD qualification is important for those who wish to pursue an academic career.

It's similar to those who take up ACCA in order to become an accountant or those who take up CLP to become a lawyer.
TheDuckster
post Feb 21 2014, 03:07 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 16 2014, 01:34 PM)
Basically, a PhD qualification is important for those who wish to pursue an academic career.

It's similar to those who take up ACCA in order to become an accountant or those who take up CLP to become a lawyer.
a bit of hijacking here. Would Masters help for a scientisit/technician in sciences field?

And btw, I would take a PhD not for finance (since PhD people find it really hard to find a relevant job anyway), but for the extra knowledge...
and of coz, for Dr. title and respect. People all find me for answers to lfie, i charge them tongue.gif
Blofeld
post Feb 21 2014, 06:52 PM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 21 2014, 03:07 PM)
a bit of hijacking here. Would Masters help for a scientisit/technician in sciences field?

And btw, I would take a PhD not for finance (since PhD people find it really hard to find a relevant job anyway), but for the extra knowledge...
and of coz, for Dr. title and respect. People all find me for answers to lfie, i charge them tongue.gif
I'm pretty sure Master's and PhD qualifications are important for those in the pure science field. Just like in Engineering, even those with a PhD in Engineering are welcomed and are highly paid by the manufacturing firms.

This is unlike in the business field where the PhD qualifications are deemed unimportant unless you are in academic.

Which field are you in?
TheDuckster
post Feb 23 2014, 02:10 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 21 2014, 06:52 PM)
I'm pretty sure Master's and PhD qualifications are important for those in the pure science field. Just like in Engineering, even those with a PhD in Engineering are welcomed and are highly paid by the manufacturing firms.

This is unlike in the business field where the PhD qualifications are deemed unimportant unless you are in academic.

Which field are you in?
Undecided since different uni's have different niches in which they are good in.
Currently considering Biotech, Biosystems Engineering, Biohealth Sciences, and Biomed Sciences. But threw in Biomolecule for UPU application.
wzadst
post Mar 9 2014, 02:38 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Beastboy @ May 18 2010, 09:51 AM)
If anyone here has a PhD, can you share with us what made you decide to get a PhD?

Was it because

- better salary
- prestige
- job promotion
- genuine academic interest
- you didn't know what to do with life & you had a sponsor
- your father told you to

I did ask a couple of PhD's in real life. One said prestige, the other said better salary... which she now regrets becoz a lecturer's salary really sucks.

Does anyone really go for a PhD because they were truly interested in the knowledge?
can u provide me some info on hw much salary for her at that time, to be considered as low, and hw much is her salary right now(if she is still in that field). thxs.
crixivan
post Apr 6 2014, 07:15 PM

19 posts

Why? Hmm..I also dunno. ahaha. Mybe because I need to? I'm also can't believe myself that I need to further phd. ahahah. But, I do hope, once I completed phd, I will able to serve country and nurture students that will navigate our country
crixivan
post Apr 6 2014, 07:16 PM

19 posts

double post

This post has been edited by crixivan: Apr 6 2014, 07:17 PM
sxxx
post Jul 3 2014, 02:13 AM

Prestige, perhaps higher pay... But must have interest on the research topic or else it will be suffering.
SUScute_miao
post Jul 24 2014, 01:25 PM

Look at MY STARS!!!!!!!!!
1,438 posts

for the sake of my family
Blofeld
post Jul 30 2014, 12:07 PM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Jul 27 2014, 02:56 AM)
I think people who pursue to further their education up until the highest title are insane!

However, they have a crave for knowledge that I just couldn't fathom. Knowledge are their orgasms.
I hardly encounter anyone personally that decided to pursue PhD for the sake of knowledge. hmm.gif

Knowledge can be easily gained by reading books and articles.

Could this be a common misunderstanding what PhD is for?

The ones I know personally do it for the sake of academic career.

Just like how those who wish to be accountant decided to take up ACCA.

Likewise, those who wish to climb up the academic ladder decided to take up PhD.
bb100
post Jul 30 2014, 12:31 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 21 2014, 06:52 PM)

Which field are you in?
Sorry to quote your February post. blush.gif But I would like to clarify one thing.

A PhD degree in Engineering is near to useless here in Malaysia, unless you wanna go into academia. It is worth nothing in the industry. You will only get paid a few hundred more and do the same kuli work with fresh grad engineers. This is because R&D in Malaysia is dead! Most, if not all R&Ds here is being done by the parent factory overseas.

I was in a MNC as a trainee engineer. All their new products and new technologies come directly from Germany. I was a fresh grad engineer (also in an MNC) in charge of new products. All their research on new technologies are being done in the US. Their factories here are just manufacturing plants that reproduce the products developed over there.

This post has been edited by bb100: Jul 30 2014, 12:33 PM
zheng88
post Jul 30 2014, 12:35 PM

Nutritionist / Nutrition Counselor
485 posts

QUOTE(Beastboy @ May 18 2010, 09:51 AM)
If anyone here has a PhD, can you share with us what made you decide to get a PhD?

Was it because

- better salary
- prestige
- job promotion
- genuine academic interest
- you didn't know what to do with life & you had a sponsor
- your father told you to

I did ask a couple of PhD's in real life. One said prestige, the other said better salary... which she now regrets becoz a lecturer's salary really sucks.

Does anyone really go for a PhD because they were truly interested in the knowledge?
I got my PhD but

1) the salary is lousy and it is not worth it
2) everyone has it now even if you are brain dead you can get one
3) since everyone has phd, job promotion is not based on phd
4) perhaps if you are interested it is just for that
5) if you have a sugar daddy and mummy ask them to buy you a house rather than a phd, more worth it that way
6) if your father told you to then it is up to you whether it is worth it or not

I agree lecturer salary really sucks and students want to beat you up especially the Khazak ones.
bb100
post Jul 30 2014, 12:36 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 30 2014, 12:07 PM)
I hardly encounter anyone personally that decided to pursue PhD for the sake of knowledge.  hmm.gif

Knowledge can be easily gained by reading books and articles.

Could this be a common misunderstanding what PhD is for?

The ones I know personally do it for the sake of academic career.

Just like how those who wish to be accountant decided to take up ACCA.

Likewise, those who wish to climb up the academic ladder decided to take up PhD.
Not everyone does it for the sake of an academic career. I see my PhD degree as a passport to get outta Bolehland.
Blofeld
post Jul 30 2014, 12:37 PM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 30 2014, 12:31 PM)
Sorry to quote your February post. blush.gif But I would like to clarify one thing.

A PhD degree in Engineering is near to useless here in Malaysia, unless you wanna go into academia. It is worth nothing in the industry. You will only get paid a few hundred more and do the same kuli work with fresh grad engineers. This is because R&D in Malaysia is dead! Most, if not all R&Ds here is being done by the parent factory overseas.

I was in a MNC as a trainee engineer. All their new products and new technologies come directly from Germany. I was a fresh grad engineer (also in an MNC) in charge of new products. All their research on new technologies are being done in the US. Their factories here are just manufacturing plants that reproduce the products developed over there.
I see.

I know one PhD engineering graduate who went back to the industry and he's paid very well overseas. He's has never been in academia before. He's not in Malaysia for sure.

What do you think about the situation in Singapore?

bb100
post Jul 30 2014, 12:38 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(zheng88 @ Jul 30 2014, 12:35 PM)
I got my PhD but

1) the salary is lousy and it is not worth it
2) everyone has it now even if you are brain dead you can get one
3) since everyone has phd, job promotion is not based on phd
4) perhaps if you are interested it is just for that
5) if you have a sugar daddy and mummy ask them to buy you a house rather than a phd, more worth it that way
6) if your father told you to then it is up to you whether it is worth it or not

I agree lecturer salary really sucks and students want to beat you up especially the Khazak ones.
Where did you obtain your PhD? If it is from a reputable university, why don't you try and leave Malaysia to get a better job prospect?
bb100
post Jul 30 2014, 12:46 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 30 2014, 12:37 PM)
I see.

I know one PhD engineering graduate who went back to the industry and he's paid very well overseas. He's has never been in academia before. He's not in Malaysia for sure.

What do you think about the situation in Singapore?
Yea, I think you told me before. Your friend is a smart chap! thumbup.gif

As much as I know for engineering PhD degrees, oversea countries value them highly, and Singapore is one of them. Singapore has quite a number of research institutes which offer quite attractive packages for PhD holders. One of my seniors from Penang is working with a research facility in Singapore with a monthly salary of >S$6k. Just got married and rumah kat Singapore pun sudah beli.
SUSSammich!
post Sep 2 2014, 09:20 AM

620 posts

phd useless here. dun waste your time. No point become a broke phd guy when even the spm guy who start working early is even richer than u and worst they could be your boss lol

20 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:28 AM