Critical_Fallacy
post Sep 2 2014, 10:24 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Sep 2 2014, 09:20 AM)
PhD useless here. Don't waste your time. No point becoming a broke PhD guy when even a SPM guy who starts working early is even richer than you and worst they could be your boss lol
Sempai, don't say you are useless. You've helped many young people in the Biotech forum.

Please reclaim your self-esteem. Anyhow, thank you for sharing your experience. notworthy.gif
SUSSammich!
post Sep 2 2014, 10:34 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Sep 2 2014, 10:24 AM)
Sempai, don't say you are useless. You've helped many young people in the Biotech forum.

Please reclaim your self-esteem. Anyhow, thank you for sharing your experience. notworthy.gif
really you very difficult to get job with phd and even then it might not be the field u specialize your phd in.

For example, I went japan and also haf 2 schoolmate also went there. I only masters while they phd.

They thought come back will get to become lecturer since their scholarship is kinda link to the university thought not directly but got connection la. WHen back the university cant offer them lecturer position cos they already reserve for a special program by the university and can only offer research post until there is vacancy.

One of them went to private sector and work similar but not directly related while another continue as research lo. After some time no chance be lecturer also so apply to japan uni and work there.

So in Malaysia cant find job need to back japan. Imagine how he will separate with his family due to no choice?
Critical_Fallacy
post Sep 3 2014, 01:47 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Sep 2 2014, 10:34 AM)
really you very difficult to get job with phd and even then it might not be the field u specialize your phd in.
Hi Sempai,

Is it worth pursuing a Master’s Degree? unsure.gif

• Master of Science (MSc)

• Master of Engineering (MEng)

• Master of Business Administration (MBA)
SUSSammich!
post Sep 3 2014, 08:43 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Sep 3 2014, 01:47 AM)
Hi Sempai,

Is it worth pursuing a Master’s Degree? unsure.gif

• Master of Science (MSc)

• Master of Engineering (MEng)

• Master of Business Administration (MBA)
MBA unless your company recognize if not its a waste of time.

For MSc and MEng depends on what field you are in if not it is waste. Engineering could be more worth compare to the normal chemistry or biology courses.

Best I could advice to do is go and check in jobstreet now as if you are looking for a job. Then you will get a feel of the job market if it is worth having the masters and all.

Another thing is if you decide to do masters/phd in local, check the university record. Some superviors are known to hold their students do their masters/phd for many yrs from 3 to 4 or 5. That's the reason when I did mine I never intend to go local. I get scholarship overseas and get it done as fast a spossible as overseas they cant hold u back so long.

Then there is research mode and academic class mode. Research they usually hold u long for the supervisor won benefit. Academic class usually they can do much and u grad in 1 year.

Best is do masters when the company offer than do your own like my bro in law he join intel and intel send him for masters course. So he gain working experience, seniority, a job and his masters all at the same time.
reinloch
post Sep 12 2014, 01:51 PM

265 posts

If you are looking to earn lots of money, getting a professional qualification is miles better.

Life in academia pays like dirt in this country (when compared to the amount of time you invest to reach there), but in return, you get lots of free time to pursue leisurely interest. And you do not need to retire until you want to.
Critical_Fallacy
post Sep 13 2014, 06:43 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(reinloch @ Sep 12 2014, 01:51 PM)
If you are looking to earn lots of money, getting a professional qualification is miles better.
Do you know that Einstein’s Theory of Relativity makes you smaller? sweat.gif

If you want make more money than most professions, start your own business and innovate the ABCD Way! icon_rolleyes.gif

A :: Apple
B :: Baidu
C :: Coca-cola
D :: Digi (ranked #100 in Forbes' World's Most Innovative Companies)
reinloch
post Sep 19 2014, 10:07 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Sep 13 2014, 06:43 AM)
Do you know that Einstein’s Theory of Relativity makes you smaller? sweat.gif

If you want make more money than most professions, start your own business and innovate the ABCD Way! icon_rolleyes.gif

A :: Apple
B :: Baidu
C :: Coca-cola
D :: Digi (ranked #100 in Forbes' World's Most Innovative Companies)
I'm just saying most phds end up in the academia. Academics in this country are underpaid.
TheDuckster
post Sep 22 2014, 04:55 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Sep 3 2014, 08:43 AM)
MBA unless your company recognize if not its a waste of time.

For MSc and MEng depends on what field you are in if not it is waste. Engineering could be more worth compare to the normal chemistry or biology courses.

Best I could advice to do is go and check in jobstreet now as if you are looking for a job. Then you will get a feel of the job market if it is worth having the masters and all.

Another thing is if you decide to do masters/phd in local, check the university record. Some superviors are known to hold their students do their masters/phd for many yrs from 3 to 4 or 5. That's the reason when I did mine I never intend to go local. I get scholarship overseas and get it done as fast a spossible as overseas they cant hold u back so long.

Then there is research mode and academic class mode. Research they usually hold u long for the supervisor won benefit. Academic class usually they can do much and u grad in 1 year.

Best is do masters when the company offer than do your own like my bro in law he join intel and intel send him for masters course. So he gain working experience, seniority, a job and his masters all at the same time.
So u would say that M. Sc. in any biology subject would be a waste of time? I was thinking if any company will let me do that.

QUOTE(reinloch @ Sep 12 2014, 01:51 PM)

Life in academia pays like dirt in this country (when compared to the amount of time you invest to reach there),  but in return, you get lots of free time to pursue leisurely interest. And you do not need to retire until you want to.
What I heard from my boss is that he got RM80 as first then RM100-120 per hour lecture in UPM. hmm.gif is this high enough? I'm worried coz this is what I'm pursuing beside a tuition business.

This post has been edited by TheDuckster: Sep 22 2014, 04:56 AM
SUSSammich!
post Sep 22 2014, 12:30 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Sep 22 2014, 04:55 AM)
So u would say that M. Sc. in any biology subject would be a waste of time? I was thinking if any company will let me do that.
What I heard from my boss is that he got RM80 as first then RM100-120 per hour lecture in UPM. hmm.gif is this high enough? I'm worried coz this is what I'm pursuing beside a tuition business.
Ya waste time if u plan to work private and get a lot money. If your plan is contribute to the world and make good research then yo for it. Your boss is PhD and working private or lecturer?
TheDuckster
post Sep 23 2014, 01:52 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Sep 22 2014, 12:30 PM)
Ya waste time if u plan to work private and get a lot money. If your plan is contribute to the world and make good research then yo for it. Your boss is PhD and working private or lecturer?
he worked as a lecturer before he opens a tuition centre. kinda worrying. i may as well pursue Master of Health Adminstration huh? hmm.gif best of both worlds.
aleluya
post Sep 23 2014, 04:37 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

Just got my MBA as well. The thought of going into DBA is strong, but the class fees are high and a lot of DBA graduates aren't getting any better pays also so decided to drop the thought of taking DBA.

But getting a Dr. in front of your name sounds cool. lol
cheahcw2003
post Sep 25 2014, 08:58 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Sep 23 2014, 04:37 PM)
Just got my MBA as well. The thought of going into DBA is strong, but the class fees are high and a lot of DBA graduates aren't getting any better pays also so decided to drop the thought of taking DBA.

But getting a Dr. in front of your name sounds cool. lol
Depending on the course structure, i would say majority of the DBA course structure is the repeat of MBA, if you have already got MBA, u may want to avoid DBA.

Just do PhD or Phd Industry.
cheahcw2003
post Sep 25 2014, 09:03 PM

5,379 posts

phd useless here. dun waste your time. No point become a broke phd guy when even the spm guy who start working early is even richer than u and worst they could be your boss lol
Each individuals pursue PhD for various reasons, not all chasing for money.
I know one 60 years old guy just completed his PhD study
aleluya
post Sep 26 2014, 04:08 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 25 2014, 08:58 PM)
Depending on the course structure, i would say majority of the DBA course structure is the repeat of MBA, if you have already got MBA, u may want to avoid DBA.

Just do PhD or Phd Industry.
Thanks for the info. For PHD, is it same as DBA where you need to submit your proposal first then see if they want to accept you?
cheahcw2003
post Sep 26 2014, 04:29 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Sep 26 2014, 04:08 PM)
Thanks for the info. For PHD, is it same as DBA where you need to submit your proposal first then see if they want to accept you?
I did apply for a DBA program later I got an offer for PHD.
Both require research proposal
pgboy_serdang
post Sep 28 2014, 04:30 PM

19 posts

phd useless here. dun waste your time. No point become a broke phd guy when even the spm guy who start working early is even richer than u and worst they could be your boss lol
haha.. i agree with the financial part, but not completely useless la, at least u get a title in front of your surname.
SUS2890
post Oct 14 2014, 11:59 AM

146 posts

Wow, i'm 1.5 years into my PhD and I'm already regretting it. =(
Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 14 2014, 01:56 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Oct 14 2014, 11:59 AM)
Setbacks in the lab (as well as in life) are inevitable, and no different from the working life of most people. In fact, enlightened adults learn how to deal with them that will turn a setback into an opportunity for growth. If you think of setbacks as not being failures, mistakes, or wrong turns, but rather a chance to learn and grow, you will be much better equipped to put yourself back on the right track in a positive way. icon_rolleyes.gif

Motivating people is Blofeld’s doctoral forte. nod.gif
Blofeld
post Oct 14 2014, 02:21 PM

4,698 posts

Why are you regretting it?

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 14 2014, 01:56 PM)
Setbacks in the lab (as well as in life) are inevitable, and no different from the working life of most people. In fact, enlightened adults learn how to deal with them that will turn a setback into an opportunity for growth. If you think of setbacks as not being failures, mistakes, or wrong turns, but rather a chance to learn and grow, you will be much better equipped to put yourself back on the right track in a positive way. icon_rolleyes.gif

Motivating people is Blofeld’s doctoral forte. nod.gif
laugh.gif It's not my forte yet
pgboy_serdang
post Oct 23 2014, 01:50 PM

19 posts

erm... maybe make a U-turn is not a bad choice, since you havent gone that far...

20 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 >Top

0.0344sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:49 AM