Reasons to get a PhD?

bb100
post Jul 30 2014, 12:31 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 21 2014, 06:52 PM)
I'm pretty sure Master's and PhD qualifications are important for those in the pure science field. Just like in Engineering, even those with a PhD in Engineering are welcomed and are highly paid by the manufacturing firms.

This is unlike in the business field where the PhD qualifications are deemed unimportant unless you are in academic.

Which field are you in?
Sorry to quote your February post. blush.gif But I would like to clarify one thing.

A PhD degree in Engineering is near to useless here in Malaysia, unless you wanna go into academia. It is worth nothing in the industry. You will only get paid a few hundred more and do the same kuli work with fresh grad engineers. This is because R&D in Malaysia is dead! Most, if not all R&Ds here is being done by the parent factory overseas.

I was in a MNC as a trainee engineer. All their new products and new technologies come directly from Germany. I was a fresh grad engineer (also in an MNC) in charge of new products. All their research on new technologies are being done in the US. Their factories here are just manufacturing plants that reproduce the products developed over there.

This post has been edited by bb100: Jul 30 2014, 12:33 PM
bb100
post Jul 30 2014, 12:36 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 30 2014, 12:07 PM)
I hardly encounter anyone personally that decided to pursue PhD for the sake of knowledge.  hmm.gif

Knowledge can be easily gained by reading books and articles.

Could this be a common misunderstanding what PhD is for?

The ones I know personally do it for the sake of academic career.

Just like how those who wish to be accountant decided to take up ACCA.

Likewise, those who wish to climb up the academic ladder decided to take up PhD.
Not everyone does it for the sake of an academic career. I see my PhD degree as a passport to get outta Bolehland.
bb100
post Jul 30 2014, 12:38 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(zheng88 @ Jul 30 2014, 12:35 PM)
I got my PhD but

1) the salary is lousy and it is not worth it
2) everyone has it now even if you are brain dead you can get one
3) since everyone has phd, job promotion is not based on phd
4) perhaps if you are interested it is just for that
5) if you have a sugar daddy and mummy ask them to buy you a house rather than a phd, more worth it that way
6) if your father told you to then it is up to you whether it is worth it or not

I agree lecturer salary really sucks and students want to beat you up especially the Khazak ones.
Where did you obtain your PhD? If it is from a reputable university, why don't you try and leave Malaysia to get a better job prospect?
bb100
post Jul 30 2014, 12:46 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 30 2014, 12:37 PM)
I see.

I know one PhD engineering graduate who went back to the industry and he's paid very well overseas. He's has never been in academia before. He's not in Malaysia for sure.

What do you think about the situation in Singapore?
Yea, I think you told me before. Your friend is a smart chap! thumbup.gif

As much as I know for engineering PhD degrees, oversea countries value them highly, and Singapore is one of them. Singapore has quite a number of research institutes which offer quite attractive packages for PhD holders. One of my seniors from Penang is working with a research facility in Singapore with a monthly salary of >S$6k. Just got married and rumah kat Singapore pun sudah beli.

0.0247sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:48 AM