8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V2, Everything about iPad

stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 02:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ May 30 2010, 02:46 PM)
hey guys, do you think that we should petition for an iPad dedicated apps review thread (as observed in the iPhone section)?

the number of apps for the iPad is growing by each day.

worth pondering upon?
Ahem. Here. tongue.gif

Only thing is, everybody's busy utilising their apps and not inclined to comment or review them.

stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 03:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(YoYaYo @ May 30 2010, 03:45 PM)
How about this: Mi-StylusThe Milano Mi-Stylus

Good option. The tip is slanted, that would give it an edge to write with, but still not a proper tip.
stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 05:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(applecrazy @ May 30 2010, 05:03 PM)
Leather case for less than rm30? I'm def willing to wait 2-3 weeks.

Thanks string biggrin.gif
Enjoy! rclxms.gif
stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 06:30 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ May 30 2010, 06:23 PM)
Thanks for info bro. Got mine too for cream color case. Just pay shipping cost at us7.50. Need to wait weather the case will arrive..
No problems. Now the hard part is the waiting part. 3 weeks!
stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 07:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ May 30 2010, 06:57 PM)
thanks guy!

i bought two actually (terlalu kiasu)

so let's see if it arrives in melbourne or KL first!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

The only reason why I dont see this a good option as a case are the 4 corner straps. Jiggle jiggle, the weight of the iPad may snap the straps. Other than that, it's decent.
stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 07:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ May 30 2010, 07:09 PM)
i'm getting as an extra, just in case i have a birthday party/event to attend in the future...

so if that bloke/gal has an iPad, i can menghadiahkan dia satu iPad casing yang mewah and i still don't appear like a cheapskate!

ahem, so are you inviting to your upcoming birthday; i'm home during the month of december  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
laugh.gif I probably wont be here on that day, will be back in LA for that long-deserved break.

To the rest, I've found another alternative to the Muzetto. It is designed by another company who uses the bag to carry shell casings for hunting.

http://duluthpack.com/accessories/handbags...-haversack.html

Take a look. Also on this link, forum member Mr.Biggles of Macrumors forum has his Duluth Shooter Haversack with his Orbino Padova case in the bag plus Apple BT keyboard, with lots of space left to place other items inside. Take a look:-

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php...85#post10001785

The Duluth Shooter Haversack costs USD100. Nice, minimalistic leather design with belt latches.

Added on May 30, 2010, 7:26 pm
QUOTE(prazole @ May 30 2010, 07:20 PM)
y are griffin giving them for free?
must be some glitches la...

i smell some staff will be fired soon
Take a look at the website. The price tag is not textual, it is graphical. Now, unless some disgruntled employee/staff is playing a joke on their website or wanted to get fired, they're going through some seriously elaborate hoax just to do so.

Worse come to worse, if it is mistakenly supposed to be charged as full price, the standard procedure is to email the purchaser and ask them if they want to go through with the order at that price. That'll be the time to decline the purchase.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 30 2010, 07:28 PM
stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 07:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'm afraid most if not all the time, they would only offer it at a heavily discounted price. If that happens, I'm bailing out. This case is only worthwhile getting when it is FREE.

I am not responsible for any of your loss if this order is erroneous in nature. I myself am taking the chance to see if it is FREE.
stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 08:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ May 30 2010, 07:58 PM)
The griffin case no more free already.
QUOTE(bass6 @ May 30 2010, 08:00 PM)
haha, they noticed it
Looks like that is the case. Now to see if they'll honor the PRICE.

Shot them an email regarding the order, with explicit instructions to cancel the order if they chose not to HONOR the previous price tag (FREE). As safety measure, I suggest those who had taken the plunge to do the same.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 30 2010, 08:08 PM
stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 09:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 30 2010, 08:36 PM)
Let's see how it goes : D  btw can prepare the email draft for us : P
Sure can. Stenographer fees of RM50 per email draft please. : P
stringfellow
post May 30 2010, 11:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 30 2010, 10:45 PM)
sigh...i didnt know the element is HUGE ! take ages to dload : (

The app description page always have the filesize displayed that can be checked before any purchase is made.
stringfellow
post May 31 2010, 12:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Rule of encoding usually means that if you want to save space, your video bitrate suffers, therefore taking up less space. If you want the best quality at the best possible bitrate, doing double pass will take more time, and slows down the encoding workflow.

There are no shortcuts I'm afraid. I've encoded an HD version of Monsters VS Aliens for the iPad at 720p for the Apple TV which is usable for the iPad, and that takes nearly a day.

FYI, I'm using Quicktime Pro. Custom Preset. The problem with using Handbrake or other 3rd party application is you're doing guesswork on what bitrates you wanna use for the movies. With QTP, you can use the "Export for AppleTV" and it handles it beautifully. Otherwise, I encode it into Quicktime HD, I don't like encoding to MP4 as the codec/encoder combo will determine the quality of the results, as well as the movie format you're encoding from. By using Quicktime HD, you're restricted to using Apple's own coder/encoder parameters, and that preserves the quality of the encoding. Only if you want the best. If you're okay with anything, then the "whatever format ==> MP4" workflow should be fine.
stringfellow
post May 31 2010, 12:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 31 2010, 12:29 PM)
noted on the encoding part

btw, was doing a read on playing the ABC player outside of US, string did u do that?
wonder is there any cheaper source of VPN, and whether our internet line is good enough to stream
Still thinking on that VPN part. I've been introduced to StrongVPN, but I'm not sure I want one now, since the only reason I'd be interested to stream shows on the ABC player is Lost, and Lost have just concluded. Now put on hold.

A colleague of mine (the original poisoner who poisoned me with his iPad tongue.gif) have subscribed to StrongVPN and he did comment that it is worthwhile for him, and he had been streaming from Tokyo and Adelaide during his nightstops.

Added on May 31, 2010, 12:56 pmLOL Only NOW the stocks for the 3G models have surfaced in LA, specifically the very same Apple Resellers I have bought the WiFi models for the Tumpang folks here. I can't even remember how long ago that was! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 31 2010, 12:56 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 12:15 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 1 2010, 12:02 AM)
i got a lemon!  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Added on June 1, 2010, 12:10 am10 minutes to complete downloading the firmware for restoration...
Your lemon reminds me of my own lemon in the form of the 120GB iPod Classic. 28 days of warranty remains, phew!

stringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 10:29 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Using my bro's Maxis account on his iPhone data pool, on both the normal size sim and micro-sim. The normal size goes into his iPhone, while the micro-sim goes into my iPad 3G. Works as advertised no setup required.
stringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 11:12 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'm downloading the iLounge iPad Buyer's Guide PDF from iLounge. The PDF format should look good on GoodReader. Here's the news blurb:-

iLounge’s editors generally spend two months each year working on “special editions” for our readers—our annual Books and Buyers’ Guides—and we’re always pleased to see that the download numbers are in the millions. Tonight, we’re proud to debut our latest book for your enjoyment, which as its (long) name suggests has fused both of our prior publications into a single download: the iPad Buyers’ Guide + iPod/iPhone Book 5. In keeping with tradition, we’re letting loyal readers grab it before the official press release hits the wires and floods our servers, so get your downloading in now!

We’ve been optimistic about the iPad since well before it was formally announced, and as Apple’s “two million iPads sold” announcement indicates, there’s tremendous international interest in both the device and the ecosystem that surrounds it. Spanning forty pages, the iPad Buyers’ Guide section of the Book is substantial, impartially discussing the device’s pros, cons, best accessories, and top applications. Yet it’s a little less than a third of the 150-page Book’s total content.

Another thing that we’re seriously excited about is the Book’s new iDesign Addendum section, which builds on the series of feature articles we published during 2008 and early 2009. Six new companies have been honored inside with iDesign profiles that illuminate their historic products and innovations, alongside brand new interviews with the key designers and executives responsible for moving development forward in the Apple universe. We’re especially enthusiastic about the never-before-seen details and images featured in several of the interviews, including the first shots of Duck Duck Moose’s next educational application, some neat PopCap Plants vs. Zombies concept art, and the inspirations for Incase’s famous cases.

And, of course, there’s the All Things iPod + iPhone Guide. If you’ve seen past editions of the Book, you know generally what to expect from this massive look at filling and maximizing your iPod or iPhone, but it’s been completely updated with the latest everything. So, should you want to know how much your used iPod or iPhone will fetch on eBay, what sort of hardware or software to use to convert videos into iTunes-friendly formats, or anything else, it’s right here. We’ve pulled the All Things iTunes section from the Book this time in anticipation of some big iTunes-related changes.

Hundreds of hours of energy—and equal parts heart and soul—have gone into the new Book for the past month; if you’ve ever worked two jobs at the same time, you’ll have an idea of what it’s like behind the scenes as we assemble our publications. The iPad Buyers’ Guide + Free iPod/iPhone Book 5 can be read on your PC, Mac, iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad*, and carries the same price tag as its predecessors have for nearly six years: free. Download it from the links above, and we hope that you enjoy it!

[* = We’re thrilled with how it looks on the iPad, and are partial to the two-page magazine-style layout on that format. Our advice would be to download it using GoodReader or Readdle Docs, then read it on the go. The final two pictures above are from ReaddleDocs, alternating between two- and one-page versions, with the preceding two in two-page format from GoodReader.]

stringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 11:49 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 1 2010, 11:44 AM)
meaning one normal sim, one micro-sim sharing data from the actual normal sim line? as in the iphone plan?

i call up to maxis on this, they say they cant do that for me
as in i wanna sign up for multisim, but instead of the normal sim card, i want the microsim, they say tak boleh  cry.gif
Thanks for the info on VPN, will KIV
You need to already have an iPhone plan subscribed, before the option for multisim with microsim is available for you.
stringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 12:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 1 2010, 11:53 AM)
string, yes i have an iphone plan subscribed
i explain to them wat i want/intended, but they say no
Weird. Then you could probably get the normal size sim and trim it down after you signed up for the multisim.
stringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 02:33 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 1 2010, 11:53 AM)
string, yes i have an iphone plan subscribed
i explain to them wat i want/intended, but they say no
I stand corrected on my previous statement about Maxis multisim. Here is the text statement from bro:-

Actually ur microsim previously is my broadband modem sim, not sharing with my phone sim. Users can get microsim by signing up for Enhanced Mobile Data or subscribe Maxis Broadband deviceless package. They decided not to allow multisim option.

Hope that clears the previous snafu.
stringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 06:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Take it with grains of salt, but the Apple Genius I've engaged in conversation with in LA, slips the little info that the clause "warranty only covers for the iPad at the country of purchase" will be amended to "worldwide" once the iPad has its worldwide launch. Meaning, you can send in your iPad to local service providers like VR Tech once Malaysia has its local launch.

For what its worth, I've no qualms buying my stuff overseas and all my Apple devices/accessories has yet to fail on me. Touch wood so that it does not start to change its behavior now, but that is the testament of reliability of the Apple devices that I have purchased. I've even exchanged an Time Capsule purchased in New Zealand, at VR Tech and they gave me a one-to-one exchange.
stringfellow
post Jun 3 2010, 03:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just placed another order on a Black Joule, had to hurry coz they had a few Black units available. Told them of the incoming 4 further Joule orders from Beavis68 coming, so Mr. Sasaki should be happy. tongue.gif

Beavis, your review at the accessories thread is perfect! rclxms.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:54 PM