Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V2, Everything about iPad

benny888
post Jul 31 2010, 01:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

A markup of 100 to 200 is fair. I will not mind paying if I do not want to wait.

By the way, my flipboard account activated today. Did not realize how good it was until I felt the experience reading my tweeters feed and facebook entries. I would be willing to pay for it . A highly recommended app all iPad users should try. Grab it while it is still free.

benny888
post Jul 31 2010, 05:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ruffoundation @ Jul 31 2010, 05:17 PM)
Hello, quick question

How to fully utilies the 3g function in ipad, can i use digi or maxis sim
Or need to use external hardware
Just put the card in the sim slot. The iPAD will auto detect your card. Any simcard will do ; if digi you'd need to cut it down to micro sim size. For Maxis you can get the card at Maxis or you can cut it down to size yourself.
benny888
post Aug 1 2010, 12:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 1 2010, 11:17 AM)
yeah .. its tiring job ..
been playing games.. downloading. using it as the brightest setting...
wifi + 3G on ... and its a slow slow process... now my eyes hurts ... = (

just wanted to drain the batt for once .. as my battery was never once below 55%
since i bought it ..
Any reason why you want to drain the battery ? I'd say the battery life is excellent. I use the ipad average about 2-3 hours a day and most of the time I notice the battery level around 85-90%. My longest usage was about 6 hours ( then on bus to KL and back with an hour in Starbucks), the battery level still read 50 % .

Added on August 1, 2010, 12:09 pm
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Aug 1 2010, 10:54 AM)
hi guys,

Let's say 32GB and 64GB of the model. Eventually what is the exact GB left once out of the box?

I not sure what kind of free softwares had been installed inside ipad. Wondering how much HDD space had been consumed.
On my 64 GB, the available capacity for programs/data is 59.17 GB. You can check this when you connect it with iTunes

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 1 2010, 12:09 PM
benny888
post Aug 1 2010, 08:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Aug 1 2010, 08:29 PM)
those who use digi prepaid for ipad:

how do u reload ?
Just reload at any mobile dealer who sells topup cards. They will do it foc.
benny888
post Aug 2 2010, 08:05 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 2 2010, 01:03 PM
benny888
post Aug 2 2010, 11:50 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 2 2010, 01:03 PM
benny888
post Aug 3 2010, 10:46 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 3 2010, 07:41 AM)
@benny888 pls try to jailbreak again .. apparently Comex as fixed the problem = )
Thanks. Managed to get it done late last night. Smooth run, no issues at all - took me only less than 2 mins. Will be installing back the Cydia apps later today
benny888
post Aug 3 2010, 10:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Aug 3 2010, 08:37 AM)
just bought ipad .... how to transfer photo to ipad ?? thx for reply ....
Connect ipad to PC/Mac. Open iTunes. In iPAD you will notice there is a tab "Photos" - you can sync all photos or selected albums. Before this, you need to use iPhoto to import your photos over first

Or you can use file transfer method ; guide here

OR you can transfer it over the air/cloud using Dropbox : you need to open a Dropbox account first ( is free ). Google Dropbox to find out how

OR buy the camera connection kit - insert your SD card into this CCK and plugin CCK to iPad

If only few photos , you can email to yourself. Open Mail on iPad to retrieve photos

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 3 2010, 10:56 AM
benny888
post Aug 3 2010, 11:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ben16 @ Aug 3 2010, 11:06 AM)
Not sure if this is the right place but let me ask anyway.

I have an ipad 32GB wifi and 3G, bought in Singapore. Did not subscribe to BB service yet, as still thinking of the various options. I live in Kulai, Johore and there is no 3G service from Digi, my current provider.

The question I want to ask is this;
Do any of our service providers have a multi sim option?
Meaning can I buy 1 BB plan with 2 or 3 sim cards with same phone number. I would like to buy 1 plan with high quota and use it with Ipad, smartphone etc. If can have 2 or 3 sim cards, then can have always ON in all my devices.

Thanks for any answes.
Only Maxis has multi sim cards facilities. Costs - just enquire at your nearest Maxis center

Those who own a android phones ( OS ver 2.2) - you can setup your phone as a hotspot. My Nexus is on Celcom postpaid unlimited. On my Nexus, I set it as a Portable WiFi hotspot. On the ipad I turn on wireless and the iPad will detect my Nexus as a hotspot. So just using one simcard on my Nexus phone, I can also simultaneously used it as a portable wifi for my iPAD.

At the same time, I have a Celcom 3G prepaid card inside my iPAD ; rarely use it now
benny888
post Aug 3 2010, 11:32 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 3 2010, 11:21 AM)
only android can make the phone as "wifi hotspot"? Symbian can or not (SE SATIO)?
Long time lost touch with Symbian - no idea .
Why don't you try and let us know whether possible.
iPhones definitely cannot tether with iPAD ( purposely not allowed to as it would affect 3G ipad sales) - there could be a possible solution as some developers working on it now
benny888
post Aug 3 2010, 11:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Aug 3 2010, 11:52 AM)
beavis - wats d difference between Oplayer n Airvideo...
Oplayer thro additional support of USB and Air Video thro Wireless ? I will look up oplayer . For those who have not tried AirVideo is fantastic program just even using the free version

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 3 2010, 11:57 AM
benny888
post Aug 3 2010, 02:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 3 2010, 12:48 PM)
"iPhones definitely cannot tether with iPAD ( purposely not allowed to as it would affect 3G ipad sales) - there could be a possible solution as some developers working on it now "

have you tried  "MyWi"  ?

i remember a week ago there's an app called flashlight where u can download it from itune's for 0.99cents, and its can enable tethering on an non Jb iDevice !

well obviously after apple found out .. the app was taken down ~

Added on August 3, 2010, 1:01 pm.. updating to 3.2.1 .. taking forever to backup ~~~ = <
My Wi cost us $ 19.99 a very expensive solution and your ipad need to be JB to use it !!

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 3 2010, 02:18 PM
benny888
post Aug 3 2010, 03:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 3 2010, 02:27 PM)
http://www.engadget.com/2010/07/20/handy-l...ethering-video/

well you might be lucky to find this one = ) in cydia

for your iphone that is  tongue.gif

1 hour backup ~ less than 5%  vmad.gif
How much data you have ? I remember when I updated to 3.2.1 the backup took about 20 minutes ( I have about 44 GB data inclusive the OS ). I am using a MAC, dunno whether this make any difference ?
benny888
post Aug 4 2010, 12:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(gryp_enigma @ Aug 4 2010, 10:51 AM)
dear all,

Is just that i heard rumors saying that if we were to get the Ipad 3G version from US, when come back to Malaysia to use, it will only allow you to use 3G, but at EDGE speed only?

Is it true? Hope you guys can clear my doubt as I'm planning to get this either this month or in Sept.

Thanks all!
It will work in Malaysia without any issues
benny888
post Aug 5 2010, 11:07 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 4 2010, 08:32 PM)
just found out ..
i notice sbsettings numeric battery reading  ---- 93%
and the ipad's native batter reading is different ---- 96%

wondering which one is more accurate ?
I don't see these battery values in my SBsettings - can't find it in options too ? Did you notice after JB, the battery utlisation is greater, I guessestimate about 5 %

Added on August 5, 2010, 11:10 am
QUOTE(hiphopstar @ Aug 5 2010, 09:20 AM)
Wow. I got RM 99 per month for Unlimited Data, no deposit, just Advanced Payment of RM 100 (to be deducted for the first month) from Maxis. It's called Maxis Enhanced Data Package for iPad. Got it from Berjaya Times Square (BTS) last month. Try Pavillion Maxis Center since BTS is now closed. FYI, not all Maxis staff even know about this package.
You are right not all Maxis staff knows. Last June at my place, 3 out of the 4 counter staff don't even know Maxis has a micro-sim card !!! Amazing unbelievable but true. It reflects badly on Maxis as obviously the staffs are not being train in the new offerings. Maybe Maxis think in a small town like mine, not necessary to have their staffs be train in the newer tech ?

Added on August 5, 2010, 11:13 am
QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Aug 5 2010, 08:52 AM)
just got my Flipboard activated...so so sweeet...
Yes , it is great providing a new experience. Only major disadvantage you need be online to use it. It'd be great if one can save the earlier downloads and read it offline

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 5 2010, 11:13 AM
benny888
post Aug 5 2010, 03:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 5 2010, 01:16 PM)
@aruja_69 not really .. unless u have wifi problems

@benny888 sbsettings - more - system options - numeric battery - ON

well i have the native ipad settings - general - usage - battery percentage - ON

as well .. u can switch it the sbssettings numeric battery on and off and u can see the changes made.

there's a difference and i think the sbssettings's one is more accurate .

and yeah i do see battery life shortening .. .. or may be i'm just conscious over it .. = P
Bro - thanks ; very strange-lah. I don't have this system options - numeric battery - ON in my settings

Added on August 5, 2010, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Aug 5 2010, 12:58 PM)
New version for 3.2.1 for iPad is out...does it have improved from the previous....
These are the official benefits :

Improvements in this version:

* Improved Wi-Fi connectivity
* Fixed an issue that stops the copy/paste of single-page PDFs in Mail
* Addressed issues that causes video playback to freeze
* Improved reliability involving the video-out using the iPad Dock Connector to VGA Adapter
* Added Bing to Safari’s search options

Once upgraded you cannot downgrade. Anyway no reason to downgrade since new version has better features. Previously some wanted to downgrade as JB not available for 3.2.1 , since 2-3 days ago JB is already available for 3.2.1

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 5 2010, 03:45 PM
benny888
post Aug 6 2010, 09:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(camrycilver @ Aug 6 2010, 02:14 AM)
hmm.gif ooh, maybe i did a lot of things in 1 time (ex: listen 2 the ipod, surf other website while waiting 4 reply... laugh.gif ) dunno la, not sure la y... rclxub.gif btw, its not tat serious as it 'rarely' happen... rolleyes.gif  jus dunno y it happen only... unsure.gif
Is yours jailbreak with backgrounder running ? If so, you can use sbsettings any time to check your memory load
benny888
post Aug 6 2010, 11:59 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(zuljag @ Aug 6 2010, 10:08 AM)
guys,i got a problem with my ipad..it seems cannot charge or sync..send it to repair and the tech guy says that its hardware related and better wait till apple malaysia bring ipad so can claim warranty...its not cable or charger problem..

so the dilemma is..should i wait for apple malaysia which s i dunno when they actually bring it.....or.......if anyone know any techie that can solve my ipad problems..i up to a point dun care anymore if warranty void or not...sad.gif
1. Which tech guy attend to you ?
2. Did you try it on another computer to check syncing ? Charging - is it from the desktop charger or thro computer ?

malaysia will probably get it after Sept. Your nearest service centre is Spore.
benny888
post Aug 6 2010, 02:08 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(13579 @ Aug 6 2010, 12:38 PM)
hi all, i'd nvr use iphone or ipad ever! planning to get one ipad and wondering the file content transfering is like normal PC to a smart phone? i heard all the files need to sync with itunes? how i can't simply transfer in pdf files? images? songs? n movies? please help! thank u all very much. All i need to know is only on the file content transfering thingy (in n out of ipad).
You want a quick answer to all these ; go to my blog at http://leemn.wordpress.com

At SEARCH box just type in IPAD - I have posted most of the common iPAD queries there - about file transfer, iTUnes, wireless transfer, video, transfer video, video conversion, jailbreak, etc etc

Added on August 6, 2010, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(zuljag @ Aug 6 2010, 12:58 PM)
luck is running out..even different cable i tried but to no avail...sad.gif
Can't you return it to the shop to arrange the repair for you ?

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 6 2010, 02:29 PM
benny888
post Aug 6 2010, 07:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(faried_u17 @ Aug 6 2010, 06:46 PM)
Need some review/help here.
Is 'QuickOffice' app good enough for .xls file extension editing?
YES ; I bought it QuickOffice Connect. For spreadsheet you can select 2003 ( xls ) or 2007 ( xlsx ) format

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0214sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:47 PM