Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V2, Everything about iPad
benny888
Aug 6 2010, 08:25 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(faried_u17 @ Aug 6 2010, 08:20 PM) No crash or else? Still running good even on complex formula spreadsheet rite? Hope worth paying $15 for this app  I only use it for simple spreadsheet work. Actually I find inputting in data on the ipad is slow. The response time to accept each input is not immediate. If you are into serious spreadsheet work, I guess you will be frustrated just with the input itself.
benny888
Aug 6 2010, 10:19 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 6 2010, 08:55 PM) @benny888 here is the sbsettings i'm talking about ..
Bro - thanks for your efforts taking the shots to show me. Yes I missed out the system link.
benny888
Aug 7 2010, 02:37 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(chiuweng @ Aug 7 2010, 02:12 PM) thanks for all your help  could I know where in digital mall you got it done skidd ? Why so "ma fan" you can easily cut yourself with a pair of sharp scissors. Just make sure you don't trim off any of the vertical lhs n rhs gold edges. You can safely trim off the top and bottom gold edges up to 0.5 mm without any problems. So far I have cut 5 sim cards for my friends. Sometimes I wonder why people so scared to cut is such a simple task, an old man like me can even do it
benny888
Aug 7 2010, 04:37 PM
Gadget Freak
[quote=chiuweng,Aug 7 2010, 04:25 PM] [quote=benny888,Aug 7 2010, 02:37 PM] Why so "ma fan" you can easily cut yourself with a pair of sharp scissors. Just make sure you don't trim off any of the vertical lhs n rhs gold edges. You can safely trim off the top and bottom gold edges up to 0.5 mm without any problems. So far I have cut 5 sim cards for my friends. Sometimes I wonder why people so scared to cut is such a simple task, an old man like me can even do it [/quote I need the left behind plastic bit as I still need to insert my micro sim back into my USB modem from celcom. I could cut it but making the adapter is hard, unless you have done it before as well? [/quote] Then you need a puncher to do that. Rm5 to do it is then cheaper than buying a microsim adapter which costs rm10 to rm15. Buying the puncher is not worth unless you wish to charge others for punching the simcards! This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 7 2010, 04:40 PM
benny888
Aug 9 2010, 01:44 AM
Gadget Freak
I was at LowYat yesterday ; quite few outlets ( at least 6 I could see ) selling the iPAD. I'd say their prices though at a premium above Spore retail price is reasonable unlike previous prices. For example the 3G 64GB is selling for RM 3499 to 3599 . Maybe if you bargain, you can get it lower
benny888
Aug 9 2010, 02:33 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(hapeace @ Aug 9 2010, 02:14 PM) Hi guys.. need to check with you guys. if my friend wanna courier the ipad from singapore to malaysia.. in this particular case, using Fedex... do we really need to declare the real value of the ipad? from previous post that icedlink comment on, the ipad is non-taxable by custom, so my friend can declare the item as "laptop" right? Thanks Fedex is door to door service ; need not worry you will not be tax for the ipad. FEDEX are very experienced. If tax is required, normally they will warn you. Declare it as a pda/tablet and if kena tax maximum is 10 %. What I used to do is ask my friend to open it and and rewrap the package. In this way it'll not seem to be an item bought in new for resale This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 9 2010, 02:33 PM
benny888
Aug 10 2010, 11:52 AM
Gadget Freak
DIGI Limited Edition Prepaid Internet http://www.digi.com.my/internet/promo_limited_pre.htmlThis is a good option for those who need to use the 3G networks once in a while. I 'd say is the cheapest. The card cost RM25 with RM10 available - internet charges is RM2 ( unlimited) per day. Tops up start from Rm10 ie a 5 days usage. The card is valid for 90 days and if no topup it will be terminated. So you can keep the card for 90 days without using it , just topup RM10 and you will have 5 days usage I have been testing it few days ; even though my place without 3G, the Edge services were good enough for my routine usage - general browsing, emails, RSS, tweets etc. I'd say compared with my pospaid 3G Celcom, it is comparable Disclaimer : I am not working or participating in any Digi promotions - just sharing some piece of good information
benny888
Aug 11 2010, 10:23 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(ilyas_jamal @ Aug 11 2010, 05:48 PM) hello guys. i just got my Ipad.. this morning.. fresh frm US.. so i am planning getting the Celcom Broadband (prepaid) sim to place it in the Ipad.. has anyone tried it.. just wanna give it a try first before i subscribe to the unlimited data plan.. It shouldn't be a problem. I have cut the Celcom XPax card to microsim size to test. So far I have tested all the 3 telcos - Maxis Hotlink ( prepaid broadband ) , Digi Prepaid ( Broadband and usual prepaid voice/data and Celcom Prepaid Xpax This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 11 2010, 10:24 PM
benny888
Aug 12 2010, 08:30 AM
Gadget Freak
New os 3.2.2 just released, meaning this overcome 3.2.1 and earlier versions insecurity which allows a 1 click jailbreak thro browser.
benny888
Aug 12 2010, 11:46 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 12 2010, 10:56 AM) ... 3.2.2 guess i wont be upgrading for now.. untill apple comes out with a significant update. True , no point as is only a security patch