Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V2, Everything about iPad

benny888
post Jul 8 2010, 10:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 8 2010, 01:47 AM)
Has anyone done the flash port yet? Tutorial on Engadget
Will attempt to do it later when they can have video enabled. It looks very promising
benny888
post Jul 9 2010, 10:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Singapore in July and Malaysia is not in the list. So based on past records, Malaysia should be in the next quarter IE likely Sept earliest.
benny888
post Jul 9 2010, 03:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Jul 9 2010, 03:04 PM)
my dodocase has landed ....

Mind the ipad dirty screen... kids what can i say ...

Pictures:

There was not enough protection from the seal envelope box they mailed with.. but luckily it arrive safely..
a bit flatten but nothing a bit bending and pressure to the lid won't straighten out.
Wow - it is beautiful but looks bulky . Definately a good protector for your iPAD.
benny888
post Jul 10 2010, 06:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(h_n_s @ Jul 10 2010, 09:24 AM)
hello~
i just wanna make a survey.
what do u think about ipad?
good?
about its price?
and also about its specs.
i do googled it before,but more meaningfull if i get comment from you all. smile.gif
It is a good product in certain ways but has several limitations . I suggest you google to find out the limitations as the iPAD is NOT a substitute for even a netbook. You can overcome some of the limitations with 3rd party software or making changes on how you wish to manage your files - this is only necessary if you wish to enhance the ipad with some notebook features. I deliberated on why I should or why I should not buy at my blog :

http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/ipad-am-i-getting-one/

The below link will summarize the common reasons why some people will not buy - you can check it up as a quick guide

http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/reas...o-buy-the-ipad/

I's say it is wise to know the limitations before buying so you dun end up disappointed. I have been using the iPad for 40 days already and I have manage to overcome most of the limitations. If you just wish the iPAD to be a substitue as a big ipod touch - it is pretty similar. I bought it just for its convenience and as a handyportable when I am out just for browsing, checking my emails and my updates on newsfeed and tweets.

So far the performance is good, my only complain on performance is the mail application is slow and takes some time 5-10 secs to load fully the emails; sometimes frustrating waiting it to load. So I jailbreak it so that I can do something else while the mails are being downloaded

Added on July 10, 2010, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(ezra_29 @ Jul 10 2010, 05:59 PM)
im curious currently im using blackberry unlimited data plan under digi.
can i do thehtering with the ipad?
if yes, thn means i can get ipad wifi? jz to save cost for getting ipad 3G
am i right?
You can thether Android phone ( on ver 2.2 ) or ver 2.1 ( those customized rom w USB/WiFi thether features buildin). Blackberry - no idea - check this up at Blackberry forums

Added on July 10, 2010, 6:25 pm
QUOTE(MrHoh @ Jul 10 2010, 04:36 PM)
You are not the only one who were told the same "sorry not available" story. After I got mine, I told 2 of my friends to sign up for the same package. One went to KLCC and another, at Pavilion. Initially, at both locations, all Maxis staff said no such package. Since I already got it and my particulars and package subscribed is in their system, the staff (KLCC) over at the counter hesitantly signed my friend up for the same package.

Went with my 2nd friend to Maxis Pavilion last nite and witnessed first hand their ignorance in their own products. Staff at Maxis Pavilion also said there's no such package. So, as I was with my friend - I gave him my IC number and Microsim number (for data, not calls) and like some idiots - they finally agreed to sign up my friend on the same package after checking their system.

According to the person who first signed me up at KLCC (a senior Maxis staff who knows what she was talking about), this package is called Enhance Data Package for Microsim (iPad users). RM99 with Unlimited Data. No 3Gb cap with subsequent usage at 128k nonsense. She even told me, when iPhone 4 is available, I am able to retain my microsim number, and use it for iPhone 4. But the Unlimited Data will not be applicable as I will be tied to whichever data package the iPhone 4 comes with. (Eg. iValue 1 etc). BUT if I continue using it just for data, the package and offer stands. As I am not a Maxis mobile customer, I was required to pay a RM100 refundable deposit. Line was activated within 30 mins.

Now, all 3 of us successfully signed up. If you wish to, PM me and I can give you my Microsim number. Ask them to search into their database and tell it to your face if I am not signed on to this Enhance Data package.  nod.gif
Sometimes I wonder why such a big corporate company such as Maxis do not even give proper training to their staffs. Allow me to relate my experience in a small town of mine in Batu Pahat. Last month early Jun, when I approach the counter staff about microsim - they ask me what is it ? When I explain further and that I wish to use it on my iPAD they were even more puzzle asking me how such a big gadget can use to make call ?? Basically no such microsim was available and they're not too sure. Moments later another counter staff came over and said she remember reading up in Maxis web there was such and she proceeded to check it up and brief me Maxis offer. She brief me the 3 Enhanced data packages but I did not sign up as she said I need to pay another RM30 each month as voice call as well even I will not be using the voice call feature. Unbelievable but is true - sometimes we consumers knows better than them

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 10 2010, 06:28 PM
benny888
post Jul 11 2010, 12:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jul 11 2010, 11:33 AM)
hmmm..i never get any charge when downloading free apps
AGREED! There shouldn't be any charge. I have downloaded too several free apps to my iPAD
benny888
post Jul 12 2010, 01:48 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Jul 11 2010, 10:37 PM)
Not to spoil your mood... can you test this out if it is true ?

This is indeed disappointing - looks like a poor fit which is not tight
benny888
post Jul 12 2010, 11:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Jul 12 2010, 07:28 AM)
My dad going to buy ipad in aussie.Anybody know about the warranty? Is it international or australia apple warranty only? Btw,if anybody want order,im doing pre order until this wednesday
Your question has been ask so many times in this forum. Anyway the answer is NO for now.
However when the iPAD is officially launch in Malaysia - Apple authorized resellers can process your application for any warranty claims but you need to pay a service fee. Last time I paid RM60 as service fee for my iPod. They cannot process any warranty claims now as the product is yet to be register in their system and there is no info yet about the iPad. Whether you will be charge for any replacement parts if required is up to their discretion

benny888
post Jul 13 2010, 01:08 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Interesting - making phone calls from iPAD : But unlikely will hit Msia

http://blogs.wsj.com/digits/2010/07/12/app...-from-the-ipad/
benny888
post Jul 13 2010, 01:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jul 13 2010, 12:43 PM)
currently only maxis is offering micro-sim data + voice. head up to maxis centre to enquire more on it. u can change your current normal sim to micro-sim at maxis centre with rm25 damage on your wallet.
Wow ! looks very classy and expensive. I am still using my cheapo imitation Apple casing. Then it cost me RM120 , bought it at LowYat. 2 weeks later found out can get same casing for only RM40+ !!!! Wanna cry pun tak boleh ! That time I compare it with the original casing which the Mac shop downstairs quoted me Rm220
benny888
post Jul 13 2010, 01:19 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 13 2010, 01:12 PM)
beavis, means they are ready for the ip4 then?

but my microsim, even though there is a new number attached to it, can only do for data, and smsing, no voice
I suppose so. In early June I asked at Maxis centre, I was told the same card which is issued for the iPAD can be use for the iPhone4. I need to pay another RM30 monthly minimum for the voice call feature on top of the data package
benny888
post Jul 13 2010, 08:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Jul 13 2010, 04:59 PM)
Want to ask some question before i join this club.
16gb enough for normal usage?
Wifi or Wifi +3g is better in terms of value for money.
Different user has different needs. Example I bought the 64GB because I always sync a lot of video podcasts ; at anytime my free space only left about 20GB. You just have to examine your own needs - nobody can answer it except yourself. Of course if you can afford get the max. Get the 3G as it is good value for money - you will appreciate it when you are in an area without WiFi or you can pair it thro MiFi ( expensive solution ) or with a compatible phone
benny888
post Jul 16 2010, 09:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lalalulu23 @ Jul 16 2010, 06:48 AM)
sorry noob here..
just want to ask is it worth to get now or wait to launch in malaysia?
because my hand itchy2 to get one..
and usually where u guys buy ipad locally?
If your hands are itchy and you don't mind paying a premium, averaging rm500 extra - juz good ahead. The longer you wait the more frustrated you could become. Actually when Come to these new gadgets, I am usually one of the early bird. It is most exciting and a great learning experience when we start to learn more and explore it together with our fellow members here and in other forums. After a few months the excitement would have die and in forums like this, you will start to see many new users asking the same questions all over again. By that time this thread alone would have gone up to page 4 or 5.

Well early users do have advantage but we pay for it with a premium. Some users think we are crazy and they'd prefer to wait for official release. They not only save some money, many issues and obstacles face would have solutions ready. 3rd party developers would have introduced improved and newer alternatives apps.

Actually it is up to you alone to decide.

I bought my ipad thro one of the member here who brought back a few units from Australia. Just scout around garage sales notebook section , i believe still have few offers. You can always ask members here if you have doubts about the sellers, i m sure most of us will advise you?

benny888
post Jul 16 2010, 07:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

My unit is jailbreak n I successfully download it and has it installed. The download over STREAMYX took 50 mins. First thing notice all my arrangement of icons displaced and all apps i put in categories displaced out on the main screen. Have to redo it. So far didn't notice any major issues

Need to JB it again as cydia gone together with all the apps I download thro cydia

In About : version reads 3.2.1 ( b7405 )

Added on July 16, 2010, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(DarthMaus @ Jul 16 2010, 02:25 PM)
grrr...  cry.gif

thanks for the reply bro...
Juz connect to your PC , go for makan . When you are back unit would have been updated. It is all auto done, no need to watch over it

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 16 2010, 08:04 PM
benny888
post Jul 17 2010, 01:00 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(loon1983 @ Jul 17 2010, 12:47 AM)
Hi bro, u sure can jb already? Heard ppl say 3.2.1 not yet jb one... hmm.gif
No, what I meant you can update it on a jailbreak ipad. After update, lose the jailbreak feature. Now have to wait for the Spirit guys to come out with new version, which apparently they are now working hard on it, hopefully within the next few days

benny888
post Jul 17 2010, 11:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(loon1983 @ Jul 17 2010, 11:02 AM)
bro,means if my iPad already jb one also can upgrade but cannot use cydianonly right?
Other application download before still remain there right? icon_question.gif
Btw, wan share here... Who using iPad 3G can go download Papago m6.4...
Running smooth n nice in iPad... Now I got another 10 inches gps in car... Haha!! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on July 17, 2010, 11:03 am
Btw, any improve u found after upgrade to 3.2.1?? notworthy.gif
You will lose all your cydia apps after update. Only jailbreak again will restore back these apps. Now just have to wait for the new spirit to be released.

Don't seem to see any obvious improvements. Supposed will improve wifi but all these while did not have any wifi problems

benny888
post Jul 18 2010, 07:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(loon1983 @ Jul 17 2010, 01:35 PM)
I see.. Then I wait the spirit come out first...n
Thank for answer bro... rclxms.gif

Added on July 17, 2010, 1:37 pm
Thank for sharing...
Yalo, I found the signal too weak...
Always I can search wifi in iPhone but no signal in iPad... Good stuff man.. rclxm9.gif

Added on July 17, 2010, 2:56 pmhaha, share photo took justnow...

make my ipad as a big gps device...

using papaga m6.4...

Added on July 17, 2010, 3:00 pmcompare to my garmin 4", papago 5"...

ipad got 10".....haha!! damm nice....

Please advise where you get this software. I check apps store - only for iPhone. Yours look like a full scale version on ipad

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 18 2010, 07:05 PM
benny888
post Jul 20 2010, 08:21 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Orpheus1120 @ Jul 20 2010, 07:54 AM)
Anyone using the normal sim card from Maxis Wireless Broadband service on their iPad 3G by trimming it down to micro sim?

I initially wanted to get Maxis' micro sim but it is capped at 3GB per month for RM88. The wireless broadband package seems more worthwhile.

Technically, would the sim card (Maxis Wireless Broadband) work on iPad 3G when trimmed down? I was told by Maxis customer officer that it won't work?

Here is the LINK

If anyone can provide the APN setting too, I will appreciate it.

It should work , no reason why it wouldn't. Just try it, you can always ask fro a replacement - you'd have to pay for it
benny888
post Jul 20 2010, 05:29 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(chonglim2004 @ Jul 20 2010, 04:59 PM)
T.T no one answer me...
If you are using the default builtin Google maps - you will be charge as the map data are continously being downloaded. If you use a 3rd party application where the maps data are already in, you only pay for the initial gps lockup
benny888
post Jul 20 2010, 07:12 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 20 2010, 07:01 PM)
Yup. Even I'm an existing Maxis iPhone customer, still want to charge me RM100 for a new account on top of paying RM58 every month for data.

Decided to go with Digi and bought myself a Micro-Sim cutter for RM80 tongue.gif
The RM 100 is refundable is refundable , right ?
benny888
post Jul 21 2010, 09:20 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(TZERNG @ Jul 21 2010, 03:54 AM)
hi i'm new user of ipad...jz wan to ask where can i put my movie (not download from itunes) to ipad?
My guide here. http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/ipad...-video-formats/

Added on July 21, 2010, 9:25 am
QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 21 2010, 09:06 AM)
still consider want buy or not, just worry don know how to use .....
Don't worry. Am sure many bros here will help out. Just ask. We learn from each other asking questions, some might sound silly , but what the heck - that's how we improve. I have been slowly compiling issues and how to overcome some of the iPad limitations in my blog. Will point out to you any solution when you need it

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 21 2010, 09:25 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:20 AM