4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Recommendations for desktop replacement notebook

TSdunkiedonuts
post May 11 2010, 06:40 PM, updated 16y ago

175 posts

Hi all. Looking for a desktop replacement notebook for home usage. Requirements include basic features (surf the net, office applications, movies etc) and adobe premiere pro, photoshop applications. Prefer screen size above 15 inches. Thanks a lot.
Legend86
post May 11 2010, 06:44 PM

Corsair Freak~~~
1,800 posts

QUOTE(dunkiedonuts @ May 11 2010, 07:40 PM)
Hi all. Looking for a desktop replacement notebook for home usage. Requirements include basic features (surf the net, office applications, movies etc) and adobe premiere pro, photoshop applications. Prefer screen size above 15 inches. Thanks a lot.
Budget? rolleyes.gif
TSdunkiedonuts
post May 11 2010, 06:54 PM

175 posts

Oops. Sorry, forgot to state my budget. Should be less than RM3k. =)
astria
post May 11 2010, 07:04 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

Dell Vostro 3700.. .nod.gif
tplcaik
post May 11 2010, 07:26 PM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 11 2010, 07:04 PM)
+1 should be the best fit for TS since he need large screen.
Cheesenium
post May 11 2010, 08:39 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Agreed.
cckthechun
post May 11 2010, 10:55 PM

386 posts

vostro 3700 ~ go for it
hikari85
post May 11 2010, 11:39 PM

GTech Solutions
1,869 posts

can consider Acer too smile.gif

AS5741G-524G50(W7HP64)
15.6" HD, 16:9, i5-520(2.4Ghz/3MB/DDR3 1066Mhz, 35W),2*2GB D3,500GB,DVD,BT,Nvidia 1GB, 6L,CM,5R, 2.6kg
RM2999
miahahaha
post May 11 2010, 11:45 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Well, as desktop replacement i would go for Dell Vostro 3700..big screen and nice spec thumbup.gif..all under RM3k nod.gif...

@hikari
Nice one there, issit comes with GT320M unsure.gif
Eugene91
post May 11 2010, 11:48 PM

6,109 posts

ya its GT320M so better go for Vostro 3700 biggrin.gif
miahahaha
post May 11 2010, 11:50 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Then Vostro 3700 would be a nicer choice brows.gif...
mzzzk8819
post May 12 2010, 12:08 AM

151 posts

agree with friends thumbup.gif
Dell Vostro 3700 is a good choice for those interested in big screens (17.4)
acer AS5741G-524G50 is acceptable choice for those who like small scree (15._) icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by mzzzk8819: May 12 2010, 12:10 AM
Mr.Docter
post May 12 2010, 12:09 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

nuff said.
alex890628
post May 12 2010, 09:04 AM

739 posts

yea, go for Vostro 3700. it will best for u.
spikyz
post May 12 2010, 03:46 PM

1,341 posts

since he mentioned need screen bigger than 15" and as desktop replacement, i think he pointing the finger indirectly to Vostro 3700. haha go for it bro!
ALeUNe
post May 12 2010, 05:18 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(dunkiedonuts @ May 11 2010, 06:40 PM)
Adobe Premier? Photoshop?

Honestly speaking, NO notebook with the price range of RM3k can replace desktop.

2 reasons,
No.1)
Turtle-speed notebook HDD.
You NEVER have the feeling like using desktop due to the SLOW notebook HDD. It's kinda jerky and slow response (this is why people try to mod their Velociraptor to fix in notebook laugh.gif).
Solution: SSD or at least 7200rpm HDD

No.2)
Processor power. Both mobile i3 & i5 processors are always SLOWER than desktop processor.
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_list.php
Therefore, you will NEVER have the smooth feeling like on desktop (don't forget mobile processor tend to throttle to save power).
So, the nearest thing you can get (that close to "desktop) is i7 mobile processor with 4 cores & 8 threads.
You can really feel i7 notebook as smooth as desktop (this is one of the reasons why I dumped my i7 desktop for i7 notebook).
Moreover, you're on Adobe Premier & Photoshop. i7 should be the right choice for you.
Solution: i7 notebook, 4 core & 8 threads. Start having the smooth feeling again.

In short, if possible, top up RM400-800 for i7 notebook + RM400-700 for SSD.
You will not be regret for this upgrade.

Good luck.

P/S The cheapest i7 notebook is about RM3400 (go check from notebook garage sale) or RM3799 (Acer 5745G). Both without SSD.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: May 12 2010, 05:30 PM
cy-yang
post May 12 2010, 06:20 PM

563 posts

I think vostro 3700 more than enough..
if what Aleune said, then i can surely no 1 will buy notebook ..
Desktop > notebook.. this is sure.. so we CANNOT compare a notebook with desktop..

Since TS want a desktop replacement.. mean that he want to own a portable instead of desktop with at least 10kg ..

Vostro have come with 7200rpm HDD, so is not a problem for loading file..
and if TS have the money, can decide to choose the i5 520 since vostro have 3 diff package..
astria
post May 12 2010, 08:15 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

u dun need a very powerful setup for works like Photoshop...

the main thing abt PS is RAM... my friend has a work rig with Pentium E2180 with 8GB RAM, and it's all smooth sailing in PS...

pardon me but the price of SSD is absurd (to me at least) with short life span... moreover with works like PS, files are counted in hundreds of MB or even GB... HDD is still the choice in this case...

and, desktop CPU would throttle as well... EIST and Cool n' Quiet have been implemented in desktop CPU for sooooooooooo long...

of so many things u talk abt, u only got the i7 part sensible... but i would still prefer i7 dual due to it's high clock speed...
jotaro12
post May 12 2010, 09:25 PM

541 posts

Just to add a few comments on ALeUNe's post:

Capacity really plays a huge part in mobile desktop when you're using mainly PS or 3D rendered stuff. When you need to rely on an external HDD but it fails, you surely won't be happy and you need to bring it along everywhere you go. Plus if your SSD fails, your data recovery cost would be more expensive than the amount of what HDD pays for these days because of it's hardware nature. Lowest cost to recover a 1TB HDD of a bad circuit board- RM1.5k, Lowest cost to recover a 80GB SSD(any condition), RM3k or above.
ALeUNe
post May 13 2010, 12:03 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

I repeat
Point 1) You need pretty fast HDD.
You can't do raid 0 in normal notebook. So, SSD is your best bet.
Note: 7200rpm notebook HDD is not as fast as 7200rpm desktop HDD.
http://www.adobe.com/products/premiere/systemreqs/

Point 2) You need a quad.
Some said i7 is overkill. Some say Q6600 is doing a decent job.
These guys are talking about desktop processor.
For notebook, the nearest performance to desktop Q6600 and also nearest to your budget is i7 720Q
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/264258-3...-adobe-premiere
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_list.php

Choice is yours.

P/S Member also recommend bigger capacity of memory. Do consider 8GB memory too. Another RM400 for the memory.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:32 PM