15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

seantang
post Aug 19 2010, 10:27 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Aug 19 2010, 09:33 PM)
My GF is a sashimi fanatic and she finds it to be very fresh.
Take her to Kuriya for the fugu.

Or the white fish with truffle sauce at Aoki/Shabu Shabu Gen at Shaw Center. Not sashimi, but the wagyu shabu shabu is amazing as well.

But do it near pay day lah.

seantang
post Aug 19 2010, 11:14 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:03 PM)
Haha, how big a hole in my wallet will this make?
Kuriya maybe $100-200 per person for a decent meal if you don't drink sake.

The white fish with truffle sauce was shocking. $90 per individual plate... the amount of fish is equivalent to about only 2 slices of regular sashimi plus a couple tablespoons of truffle sauce. Wagyu was $50->much more per 100gm, depending on cut, marbling etc.

Usually I'll go only when company pays. Luckily for me quite often.

Own pocket kenot tahan. But if you want to impress your lady friend... have to lor thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 19 2010, 11:19 PM
seantang
post Aug 20 2010, 10:15 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Aug 20 2010, 08:50 AM)
U mean treat lady frens with fugu to impress them?? hmmm..
The lady friend in question is a professed sashimi fanatic, after all... and fugu is the ultimate sashimi.

QUOTE(MPIK)
BTW, how does fugu taste like?
IMHO, tastes like fish tongue.gif I wouldn't spend money on it if I had the choice.

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 20 2010, 10:16 AM
seantang
post Aug 22 2010, 01:14 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Aug 22 2010, 09:35 AM)
The purpose of internship is too learn 100%, not to work. Hence he dun "works for FOC"
IMHO, internships serve no purpose except fill time so that a university can issue 4-year degrees instead of 3-year ones, and confer honours without requiring the same academic justification that a 3-year degree would warrant.

From a student's point of view, if he had to spend 4 years after STPM/Matriculation/A-Levels/Year12 etc., the best possible choice is spending 3 years in uni + 1 year full time post-graduation work.

seantang
post Aug 22 2010, 04:49 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 22 2010, 04:23 PM)
there's really a shortage of stocks for iPad at apple premium reseller. it's better to order thru apple store online. I did that and got mine in under 2 weeks. delivery also free but I think you will need a Singapore issued credit card and Singapore address.
Delivered by parcel mail/courier?

Figured out how to get movies on an external hdd/thumb drive/memory card etc into the iPad so that you can watch your own collection? This is the sticking point for me about the iPad although I love the browser.

seantang
post Aug 22 2010, 05:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 22 2010, 05:25 PM)
yup. delivered by DHL up to your doorstep, free.
The only way to play from thumb drive is to get a storage with wifi, other than that you have to jailbreak and use the camera connecting kit to hook up an external USB storage drive
Hmmm... no improvement then since the launch. I heard about the camera connecting kit.

My movie files are mostly avi, about 1-1.5GB per movie. Sometimes, I copy the vob files from the DVDs I buy in Malaysia if I can't finish watching them before I have to return. Over wifi, that would take an eternity to download. It's really dumb... spoils a good product, but that's what Apple does best. Spoil a good product with their pettiness.
seantang
post Aug 22 2010, 05:56 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Aug 22 2010, 05:45 PM)
iPad? hmmm.... I still prefer a proper laptop than an iPad.
I'm a sofa bum. Clamshell laptops & keyboards are simply too unwieldy on a sofa especially when you're not in a proper seating position, and when you're fully reclined (as in bed,.. or sofa). I have actually been considering a tablet netbook, like the Asus eePC T91MT but the touch screen response, intuitiveness and the underlying insufficiencies of Windows 7 for touch GUI is miles apart compared to the iPad.

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 22 2010, 06:00 PM
seantang
post Aug 22 2010, 07:09 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Aug 22 2010, 06:33 PM)
But the LCD not so great to look at outdoors under the sun.
I have never purposely stood in the sun. Always try to be in the shade tongue.gif Anyway, I can't imagine why anyone would be sitting under the sun, trying to surf the web on his iPad/tablet/netbook/laptop.

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 22 2010, 07:09 PM
seantang
post Aug 22 2010, 08:01 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Aug 22 2010, 07:58 PM)
Something just caught my eyes while I was on my routine evening jog. Some Community Development event was held in a temple. Astonishingly, I saw Malays and Indians dined in a Chinese Temple!

Now that's Unity, Multiracial, and Harmony.

Tolerance? Ditch that! We certainly got a lot to learn.
It's simply form or function. Muslims in Malaysia, especially the religious leaders and politicians, overwhelmingly prefer form over function.

seantang
post Aug 23 2010, 04:20 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(oooooo @ Aug 23 2010, 02:31 PM)
It was almost 30% less than wat i requested n 10% less than my current salary in RM(only the figure, not after the converted rate)
-10% is about right in terms of the salary figure for doing the same job in Singapore (paid in S$), vs in Malaysia (paid in RM).

Asking for 20% more than your current RM salary... is a bit too optimistic, unless the Singapore job involves a significant promotion vs your Malaysian job.
seantang
post Aug 23 2010, 09:10 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Aug 23 2010, 06:58 PM)
For junior positions:-
Accounts Assistant (AP/AR/GL clerk), Audit Assistant, Data Entry positions etc
S$1,500 to S$1,700 shld be fine

Executive level:-
S$2,200 to S$2,600

Senior Executive positions
S$2,800 to S$3,300

Managerial
S$3,700 to S$4,500

What's your opinion on the above?
Doesn't apply to most global MNCs or banks.

Very, VERY broadly, the pay scale in Fortune MNCs in Sg:

Jnr Execs (60-70% of population): 2500-6000
Snr Execs/Jnr Mgrs (15-20%): 7000-12000
Mgrs (5-10%): 14000-20000
Directors (3-5%): 22000-40000
VPs (the most senior guys we have in Sg, 1%): above 50000

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 23 2010, 09:12 PM
seantang
post Aug 24 2010, 09:49 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Aug 24 2010, 08:10 AM)
just wonder if you can persue MBA without any working experience? hmm.gif
Like Obama said, yes you can. All MBA admissions are on a case by case basis. It's a combination of academic history, work experience, money and timing... whatever the business school wants to get at that moment.

Added on August 24, 2010, 9:53 am
QUOTE(cheeyt @ Aug 24 2010, 09:25 AM)
Need some advice here...
Have been applying for Spore job for 2 months already but still no news...
I have 2 yrs experience in tax and one year in accounting.
Can anyone share their experience or advise for me to get job in Spore?
Who have you been applying to?
What position did you apply for?
Where were you employed previously, and in what position?

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 24 2010, 09:53 AM
seantang
post Aug 24 2010, 01:46 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(sebrina @ Aug 24 2010, 01:25 PM)
I put in my application for expected salary of S$3800 and they called me in less than a week time. Does that mean they are willing to pay me that much?
No... that means they want to see what makes you think you are worth S$3800. They'll let you know whether they agree with you.

Anyway, the positive thing is that you've gotten yourself an interview.

seantang
post Aug 24 2010, 03:41 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(cheeyt @ Aug 24 2010, 03:32 PM)
I have been applying to accounting jobs that I can find in jobstreet and jobsdb.
I am currently applying for accountant.
I am in pwc taxation and now as an Accountant in Motorola.
JobsDB is ok. Jobstreet is almost a waste of time. Try http://www.efinancialcareers.sg/. It has more banking related work but still a good resource.

Do you have a Linkedin profile? Quite a lot of Sg recruiters lurk there.
seantang
post Aug 24 2010, 05:07 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(cheeyt @ Aug 24 2010, 04:10 PM)
may I know what is Linkedin profile?

http://www.linkedin.com/
QUOTE(cheeyt)
my friend advise me to apply in Big 4 first, as there is a lot of companies that are not willing to hire Msian. Therefore chances are higher in Big 4.

Big4 turnover is very high, so the firms are forced to constantly hire. They can't be too choosy about residence status.
seantang
post Aug 25 2010, 12:02 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MOSSAD @ Aug 24 2010, 11:37 PM)
any respectable school will not allow that
Generally true, but like I mentioned, there are exceptions.

If you have a strong degree (like a 1st class honours or a distinction degree) plus an exceptional GMAT score (like 720-730 onwards) - you have no trouble getting most MBA programs to consider you, even without a shred of working experience.

MBA programs like getting a variety of strengths in their students, for the interaction and discussion that they spark.

There are also part time or distance learning MBAs which don't mind taking in candidates who just started working. Because by the time they finish the program 3-5 years later, they would already be managers.

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 25 2010, 12:03 AM
seantang
post Aug 25 2010, 10:20 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ Aug 25 2010, 09:22 AM)
PR application is a bit like lottery now.
My colleague from India got hers exactly 45 days after applying.
Her housemate from Pakistan waited 8 months and didn't get it.
It's probably due to the difference in the type of skillset, the results of the background check and their judgement how easily these folks will assimilate into Singapore society.

seantang
post Aug 25 2010, 01:58 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(cheeyt @ Aug 25 2010, 01:41 PM)
do u think chances will be higher if I try big 4?

Does that matter? Since you're already getting zero replies, this can't make you worse off than you already are.

seantang
post Aug 25 2010, 08:58 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(woshikurt @ Aug 25 2010, 08:20 PM)
hi all,

does anyone able to recommend which prepaid package i should use?
there are so many options there....
confusing....
note: i seldom make call/SMS...
expecting to be cheapest while provide longest call time validity...
thanks all!
Do some homework lah. Not difficult because there are only 3 service providers here.

Go to each of their websites, pull out the details of their prepaid programs and put everything into a spreadsheet to compare.

That's what I did to decide which iPhone plan to get for my Nokia.

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 25 2010, 08:59 PM
seantang
post Aug 25 2010, 11:01 PM

6,624 posts

Don't you have to pay for incoming calls for Prepaid?

What I really find truly stupid about Singapore mobile services is having to pay S$5 for caller id and S$5 for international roaming. It's ridiculous.

15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0682sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:39 PM