15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

seantang
post Aug 26 2010, 01:59 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Aug 26 2010, 01:15 PM)
And to be honest, OCBC is the fastest bank that salary comes in... Be it GIRO or others... Let's say the pay day is on Sunday, but Friday afternoon, I checked my account summary, salary alrdy in  laugh.gif

Actually, there's no fastest bank. Like someone mentioned, if your bank account is in the same bank as your company's account - then you get your salary on the same day that the bank processes the payment instruction.

If you and your company have accounts with different banks, the it has to go through the common interbank settlement process, which take 2 working days IIRC.

And I think you are seeing the float amount in your bank account. The float amount appears in your statement usually the same day that the payment request is processed, but the actual funds are not available until a day or two later after settlement.

Lastly, most MNCs will pay salaries a working day or two earlier if the payroll date falls on a bank holiday.

I personally use DBS/POSB for the sheer number of branches and atms. Their online banking is pretty good, one of the few where you pay bills and GIRO from credit card instead of savings. I also have Maybank iSavvy and Std Chartered e$aver for the high interest rates.
seantang
post Aug 26 2010, 09:25 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Aug 26 2010, 09:13 PM)
Well, i can differentiate float amount or the actual money that alrdy in.. The amount that i talking about is the physical amount that in the bank which able to withdraw the money of...
Ok, fair enough.

QUOTE(yinyum)
Hmm, maybe I haven't compare with colleagues that using Citibank thus I don't know mine or Citibank faster, but mine is definitely faster than DBS/POSB and few other banks. tongue.gif
A factor of the paying bank used by your company, rather than the receiving one. For my company, POSB accounts holders receive their salary a day faster.

seantang
post Aug 26 2010, 10:55 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(siren @ Aug 26 2010, 10:40 PM)
Hi guys, I am thinking of buying SG shares since I am some savings..
Any guys here working in Singapore can provide some insights for me?
Is Singapore Philips Securities good or OCBC securities better?
Dunno. I just signed up with the one which had a roadshow near my office and I could do all the paperwork in one shot.

Not sure what you mean by better... most people won't have multiple brokerage accounts and can't make a comparison.

seantang
post Aug 27 2010, 12:46 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(oooooo @ Aug 27 2010, 12:18 PM)
What can I do if they really refuse to cancel my ep??? make complaint to MOM? or seek assistance from member of parliament ??
Why don't you call up MOM and ask them what your options are?

I think it's unethical for the company to apply for your EP before you agreed to their offer, but that's exactly what the online application allows them to do.

When you talk to MOM, ask them whether you (as the alleged EP holder) can cancel the outstanding EP in-principle approval based on a police report or statutory declaration that your particulars and personal information were fraudulently misused by the company without your consent. In my mind, this is akin to someone misusing your photocopied IC to apply for a loan.
seantang
post Aug 29 2010, 06:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MOSSAD @ Aug 29 2010, 10:33 AM)
your ancestors didnt like tongsan then they migrated... now that malaysia is treating your kind badly... i believe it is only rational to just leave.... this shows how resilient you guys are
You are right, of course. Life does tend to take the path of least resistance.

But there is another option... change the status quo. Those of us who are overseas do what we can. I go home to vote in the election and blogged to carry my views to those in Malaysia. The blog attracted several police reports during the last election, so my stategy must be making some difference.

I have not given up hope of returning to Malaysia. Things are changing because of 2 reasons. Firstly, decent people are fair-minded. Some day the larger Malay community will realise that ''maruah'' means self respect, not pride. You cannot attain self respect without being inscrutably fair.

Secondly, the country is running out of money. The handouts will have to stop when there's none left to hand out. Then they will have to start 'creating' wealth instead of being obsessed with 'taking' it.
seantang
post Aug 29 2010, 08:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Aug 29 2010, 08:08 PM)
U mean u've received Police reports? They addressed it to u personally?
U still can come back M'sia without being arrested?
I blog anonymously. I'm not running for office what.
seantang
post Aug 30 2010, 12:48 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Aug 30 2010, 12:22 AM)
Do you work with Hxxtxxxn? If yes then you do not blog anonymously. No offense.
No, I don't. Don't have a clue what Hxxtxxxn might stand for.

seantang
post Aug 31 2010, 10:30 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 31 2010, 10:06 AM)
Well i dont really agree with that....so far i've been staying with 2 different landlords....both of them aren't that calculative...
I agree. My previous landlord was a young Singaporean couple. They were pretty reasonable and accommodating. Current landlord is a middle aged Malaysian couple. Also not bad. But then again I rent the whole place, so I see them only like twice a year.

But when I was studying in KL, I stayed with 3 different families. All 3 had their own issues. The first one was too profit oriented. Always trying to fit more tenants in and make us share with more people. The second one was a very nice family, and the little kids were very cute and fun. But the place was too far from school. That last place was right behind the school, but had to live with an old lady and her 40 year old spinster daughter. Needless to say, they imposed A LOT of rules.
seantang
post Sep 2 2010, 08:55 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Sep 2 2010, 07:24 PM)
So cheap? I tot official prices are 728 for ipad with wifi only 16gb?

I always thought Apple has strictly controlled prices. What more if it's an Apple store.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 2 2010, 08:56 PM
seantang
post Sep 5 2010, 10:02 AM

6,624 posts

Anyone know when the Samsung Galaxy Tab will be coming to Singapore? And how much.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 5 2010, 10:02 AM
seantang
post Sep 5 2010, 10:15 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Sep 5 2010, 10:07 AM)
since its illegal now to have HDB and property investment in malaysia now , how do u guys go about it ?

I think HDB can only ask HDB buyers to make a declaration. There's really no way for them to check what your assets are overseas.

seantang
post Sep 5 2010, 10:23 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 5 2010, 10:17 AM)
but ppl are setting trap for themselves if they lied.

A trap that can never be sprung as long they keep their mouth shut, in my opinion.

seantang
post Sep 5 2010, 11:34 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Sep 5 2010, 10:45 AM)
Read yesterday's straits times : 6 months jail will be sentenced to those caught. This is really nasty. don't think its easy for them to check our assets in malaysia but the 6 months jail will certainly be a big turndown.

Oh well... if your career is going well, you won't be qualified to buy HDBs anyway by the time/age you're ready to settle down.

seantang
post Sep 5 2010, 04:43 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 5 2010, 04:33 PM)
true, but HDB flat is hell of a way to make a handsome profit, almost guarantee smile.gif

Margins on private property are considerably higher and not subject to all the conditions and legislative vagaries like HDB units. Buying HDB comes with a significant forced-holding risk, especially to straight speculators and transient PRs like us.

Perfect examples of those who just got stuffed by that risk are those who bought HDBs recently at record prices and COVs. They are kicking themselves silly now.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 5 2010, 04:44 PM
seantang
post Sep 5 2010, 05:26 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Sep 5 2010, 05:06 PM)
Anyway u mention about studio apartment are u talking bout the new project in Jalan Kebun Teh near the CIQ ?

Studio apartments in JB? What's the value proposition? Studios typically only work economically when an acute lack of space (eg. CBD) happens to coincide with built up prices ($/sq ft) that have hit an affordability ceiling AND is able to tap a market of affluent AND transient individuals who value location/facilities more than room.
seantang
post Sep 6 2010, 01:12 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(scapegoat @ Sep 5 2010, 10:41 PM)
This morning went to M1 Paragon to port over my Singtel line to M1, I queue for 1 hour, then they told me, no passport cannot proceed, then i travelled back to Bishan, take my passport, went to M1 Paragon again, they told me, your Spass expiring in 2 months, need employer letter stating that they going to renew your Spass, I got angry so i shouted at them, told them i travelled here 2 times these morning, then they said : okok u bring us the lettter tomorrow, we proceed first. After that, they told me, for Spass, the Iphone4 price is not $210 as per stated in brochure, is $363, seriously *%#)%#@. I was extremely pissed off I took everything and left. Seriously M1 is so....f**ked up.

The golden rule when dealing with any service or counter staff concerning your eligibility for something... is always to ask "and then?" multiple times.

seantang
post Sep 6 2010, 02:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(maloa @ Sep 6 2010, 01:43 PM)
if i am not mistaken, the employment pass id is a valid form of identification which has all the relevant details..
i go to secured data centres for official work, so far none has requested me for my passport.all i need is my id

when i am a student in nz,opening bank accounts or etc, which all i need is my student id. there is no need of carrying 2 form of identification everywhere i go.

Just call to check what's the required ID before you actually go and queue up.

But when I was on EP, I always bring my passport to do anything formal. Regardless of whether I think they are doing a good job or not, I don't want to be an idiot and do multiple trips because I wanted to test the system and leave my passport at home.

In the case of mobile SIM cards, apparently the service providers can refuse to provide services to you if they are not satisfied of your identity for any reason. Blame it on the terrorists who used mobile phones to do their thing.

Even today when my blue IC is usually enough for any registrations, I usually carry a bill or invoice or something in my wallet as proof of billing address. I'm one of those people who got away with using my office address as my IC address because I was still living in a hotel when I got my PR. So when they see the address on my IC with only 5 words, "xx Orchard Road, Singapore, postcode"... they always do a double take and ask for proof of billing.
seantang
post Sep 6 2010, 04:59 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(magiclover @ Sep 6 2010, 03:45 PM)
I signed up for 2 Iphone4 contracts last month under my name under with EP with Starhub.
No they didn't ask for passports, just gave them my EP and they did all necessary verifications. Got the phones and line activated like almost instantly??

Like I mentioned, the point is to verify your identity.

If the chaps at Starhub are satisfied with just your EP, then it's their prerogative.

seantang
post Sep 7 2010, 10:20 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(scapegoat @ Sep 7 2010, 09:50 AM)
Anyway i already wrote in a long complain letter to M1, now waiting for their reply icon_rolleyes.gif

Wow... you're acclimatising to being Singaporean very quickly indeed.

seantang
post Sep 7 2010, 08:32 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(wu_shi_han @ Sep 7 2010, 05:49 PM)
I also dun feel like going back to KL this weekend, sure packed and jammed... Thinking to go JB also... anywhere to hang out in JB?

I'm flying back tomorrow afternoon. Limited seats on the planes. No matter the occasion, the jam will only be as bad as the number of available seats rclxms.gif

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:21 AM