11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

Lester1987
post Nov 1 2010, 02:33 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Nov 1 2010, 02:10 PM)
guys, i've recently got an offer in SG. Office will be around AMK area.
I heard AMK is kind of dangerous. Any comments?
Rentals of 2 bedroom HDB's are around 2k. This that expensive?
Any other recommendations on the areas.. was thinking of Bishan also.

I was previous working on a project in Shenton Way, staying in Tanah Merah. So i'm confortable with the east side. But never been further north after Novena.

Thanks guys.
AMK is dangerous? are u serious? i am here for almost 1 year d, no prob so far. to me, everywhere in northern area is save, only those area like tampines are not safe to me (coz most of the murder case news are from the eastern side). But i think everywhere is Singapore should be safe. regarding HDB rental. i think thats normal. Bishan rental is even more expensive compare with AMK. if u want cheaper, mayb should move further north to Woodlands or Sembawang.
Lester1987
post Nov 2 2010, 09:04 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 2 2010, 08:40 AM)
I think the nationality of driving licence a foreigner can use in Singapore is not dependent on the nationality of vehicle driven.

The SPF regulates who (can drive with what licence). The verbiage says work/student/dependent pass holders can drive in Sg with their foreign driving licence for up to 12 months. The operational term is drive (the act of driving) and it is silent of what is being driven... which I think covers any motor vehicle.

The LTA regulates what (can be driven).

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/mot...de_overview.htm

Singapore citizens, permanent residents (regardless of their place of residence), student pass holders, long term social visit pass holder and residents of Singapore are NOT allowed to use or keep any foreign-registered vehicles in Singapore.

WORK PASSES

Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:
a) he is the registered owner of the vehicle ;
b) he does not have a permanent residential address in Singapore and returns to his country of origin on a daily basis ;
c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday ;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads ; and
e) the vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/exit at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints and for payment of Vehicle Entry Permit/Toll charges.

Please note that a work pass holder who is also a SPR or resident of Singapore is not allowed to drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore.
that's why i say the information in the website is very confusing. later i will call up LTA and check with them then give u guys the correct information.
Lester1987
post Nov 2 2010, 01:20 PM

2,017 posts

called LTA, they said i can drive the bike in no prob, regarding what license to hold, they say we have to check with traffic police, called traffic police, the girl dam blur blur 1. i told her the situation, she keep put me on hold and check, then she can't find out the answer. she gave me another number to call for another department. no ppl answer. haiz, can't believe Singapore gov is so in-efficient
Lester1987
post Nov 2 2010, 05:24 PM

2,017 posts

I tried calling the number given by the traffic police to call the licensing department, nobody pick up 1. she gave me 2 numbers, both numbers got no one to pick up. guess i have to try it personally after i got my bike then i will update u guys here on the procedure. will be moving to JB on the 15th.
Lester1987
post Nov 2 2010, 10:49 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 2 2010, 09:51 PM)
Irrelevant articles? One is a direct cut & paste from TP's website about what drivers licences are required by drivers to drive in Singapore. The other is a direct cut & paste from LTA's website about what vehicles are allowed on Singapore roads.

TP regulates drivers and tells you what driving licences you need to drive in Sg.

LTA regulates cars and tells you what cars you can drive, ASSUMING you have a valid driving licence that meet's TP requirements which allows you to drive in the first place.

Driver licensing and vehicle registration are separate matters.

Why don't you read both TP and LTA websites again? And quote exactly where TP mentions what kinds of cars you are allowed to drive? Or quote where LTA mentions what kind of driving licence you need?

Doesn't the fact that LTA confirmed to Lester that his Malaysian bike is ok for his residence status, but cannot tell him whether his Malaysian driving licence is ok for the same residence status - mean that driver licensing is separate from vehicle registration?

Anyway, why be so worried about Lester getting confused? Just a quick call or visit by him to TP will answer his question.
the problem is TP can't answer my question as well as they refer me to some licensing department where nobody will pick up the dam phone.
since mackiddo says he tried it personally. i will trust him biggrin.gif if i encounter any issue when i bring my bike in in the future, i'll update u guys.
Lester1987
post Nov 3 2010, 11:57 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Nov 3 2010, 11:48 AM)
hi... wanna ask about the medical check up... should i wait till i get the MOM approval letter or i can go for check up now??
you need to get the in-principle letter from MOM, then from there, your company will give u a medical chit to do the medical check up.
Lester1987
post Nov 8 2010, 09:17 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(uberlebender @ Nov 7 2010, 10:55 PM)
Hi fellow Malaysians working or aspiring to work in Singapore!

I'm not sure if I've introduced myself properly since following this thread because I wasn't working yet at that time.

Anyway, I've been working for about 4 months now at Eunos area. I also just stay nearby.

However, I go back KL fairly often and now I'm considering to get a bike to commute to and fro once monthly. Sure public transport is good but it just takes too much of my precious time. I hate it even more when there is a long holiday. Makes it much worse.

Anybody have any experience on riding a bike here? Any suggestions or advice?
The first option would be to get a SG licence and SG bike. Upside would be bikes here are cheaper even after convert. But the downside to that is that i only have B2 licence (250 cc n below) and after convert would be 2B licence (200cc n below) and I'm afraid a 200 cc bike would not be good enough for my once monthly trip back KL. Then there is the COE, yearly inspection that I need to pay in SGD. not to mention the obvious insurance,road tax,maintenance and also paying petrol in SGD. Might end up costing more than a bike in Malaysia.

The other option is just to get a malaysian bike and use malaysian licence. upside is that 250 cc in Malaysia still affordable and look much better (i.e blade 250, ninja 250). no need to convert licence as long havent got PR,no yearly inspection. insurance, rd tax, maintenance and petrol in MYR. downside, must not have place in singapore meaning go out every 24hrs. (gelang patah/bandar baru uda-eunos take 40 minutes?)

PS:
position: Proj. Eng.
industry: Geotech, Oil n Gas
salary: S$2600 monthly
exp: fresh graduate

am i underpaid compared to local singaporean or is that normal?
this is what happen to me. but ur case a bit different la. I work in AMK, used to stay in Sembawang. same like what u thinking, wanted to go back once a month to KL and tired of the 5 hour bus ride or need to book flight ticket super early to get cheap tickets but end up not able to get AL. So i just rented a flat in Tebrau City area now and will commute daily to SG. but ur case is different bcoz Eunos is a bit far compare to AMK. Buying a bike in SG is cheaper only if u go for those big big bikes. if u plan to buy a normal bike, Malaysia is much cheaper. Insurance and road tax also a lot more expensive. and not to mention the ERP, monthly HDB car park fees (unless u stay in condo). So my advise is "only get a bike if u are staying in JB and commute daily." Of course , the downside of getting a Malaysian Bike will be the daily $4 VEP that u need to pay. But if u compare everything, i think its still best to get a JB bike bcoz if u ride ur SG plate bike in KL, i think all people will look at you with a weird face. biggrin.gif
Lester1987
post Nov 8 2010, 05:26 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 8 2010, 04:55 PM)
There's perhaps a better way to read the statistics.

The only reason why most fatal accidents occur on rural roads is because most accidents happen on rural roads. And that's because there are more bikers making exponentially more bike trips on rural roads than highways. It's not because highways are naturally safer than rural roads for motorbikes.

Actually highways are much more dangerous than rural roads. Of the (fewer) bike accidents that happen on highways, a much larger proportion are fatal - compared to rural roads. That's because cars and other large vehicles are travelling much faster on highways and if a bike gets into an accident in front of or with them, chances are very high that they will run over the bike and rider because they will not be able to stop in time nor take evasive action.

Anyway, up to you. Good luck.
wah brother, dun scare me leh, i plan to ride from JB-KL 1 leh. but anyway i think its safer than taking bus since when take bike, our life is on our own hand rather than giving the bus driver to control our life.
Lester1987
post Nov 9 2010, 11:47 AM

2,017 posts

ok then, then i take bus back lo =.= coz i will be going alone, driving back is really expensive for me.
Lester1987
post Nov 9 2010, 01:54 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 9 2010, 12:05 PM)
Most of the time I am the only driver, while all other people are sleeping I have to be alert  for a few hours. Sometime I wish I was on a bus.  Don't need to drive, can catch up with sleep or just read something.

Last time I paid RM$20 for so called SVIP seat on normal weekend, then the ticket price went 2x or 3x during Chinese New Year
(sometime it is just a bus sekolah)  shocking.gif  So you better book your CNY ticket early.
Actually my aunty already bought flight tickets for me for next near's CNY, but i will be working, so that flight ticket will be wasted. moreover now i will be staying in JB instead of SIN, if CNY hope the whole NS highway is jam then i can go back with bike safely. hahaha.
Lester1987
post Nov 9 2010, 04:47 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Nov 9 2010, 03:19 PM)
Cheapest would be starhub but be prepare for their bad connections.
Inside the building and train.
don't go for starhub. i am so regret that i subscribe to them. better pay more for Singtel.
Lester1987
post Nov 10 2010, 08:58 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Nov 10 2010, 08:54 AM)
But then, where can i find a ATM machine which can dispense Ringgit? I staying in Tampines.
there is no ATM machine that can dispense RM in Singapore la. Just travel to JB to get it. easiest way.
Lester1987
post Nov 10 2010, 09:56 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 10 2010, 09:45 AM)
actually u can... but the prob is ur debit is from maybank... i think maybank's debit doesnt allow much foreign transactions or even online transactions...
My friend tried to swipe his Maybank Debit card b4 in Changi Airport and transaction reject. According to my fellow colleague, Maybank Debit Card does not allow foreign transaction. so the card is only meant to be use in Malaysia only. Not sure how true is it though.
Lester1987
post Nov 10 2010, 01:19 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(rickrick9097 @ Nov 10 2010, 01:07 PM)
Checked the rate today.. its 2.40...yoohoo...
May i know which money changer offer 2.40?? the money changer i used to change is still offering 2.39 as of yesterday. I know the rate is already more than 2.40 for more than 3 days edi, but money changer will still offer lower.
Lester1987
post Nov 12 2010, 11:39 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Nov 12 2010, 10:59 AM)

U should give it a try if you're really interested in working in SG... I'm also contract basis currently & boss revealed that will renew my contract end of Dec to 1 year contract (current is half yr)... but of coz I would like to be converted to perm if can, so many benefits! tongue.gif
huh? they are still not converting you to permanent even after 6 months? just curious, how many of them are permanent in ur dept? only the Manager?? does that means that those ASCS guys are also on contract?
Lester1987
post Nov 13 2010, 07:19 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 12 2010, 11:44 PM)
Window shopping-sure end up buying something I dun need
Casino-lost too much money once, promised I'll never go back
Booze - Can't drink
So that leaves going to the movies
Strangely, its so damn humid and crowded in SG that i rarely go out yum cha unlike KL unless got aircond......
Yin Yum if you're looking for new career opportunities, I might be able to help...I work in a recruitment firm

Added on November 12, 2010, 11:45 pm

U working for ORIX?
i got a friend who is interested to work in Singapore as well. I got so many calls from recruiters but i am not interested to change job now. But my friend who is eagerly wanted to work in Singapore got 0 calls from recruiters, even he applied for jobs but no reply. haiz~~~.
so Mercury, u got any opening for customer service position? my friend got 2-3 years call center experience. but he is only a diploma holder. pm me and i can send u his resume.
Lester1987
post Nov 15 2010, 12:54 AM

2,017 posts

I was travelling back from JB to KL yesterday night. those buses are crazy. I was driving at 130km/h and they will still zoom pass me. there was this Grassland and KKKL bus that pass by me while i was driving at 130km/h. i purposely step harder to make it to 140 when he try to pass but he still manage to get pass me. i personally ban this 2 company after what i encounter yesterday. Konsortium is on my banned list as well. their drivers are like barbarians and also drive recklessly. let his child sit on his thighs while he is driving the bus.
Lester1987
post Nov 15 2010, 05:41 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 15 2010, 09:51 AM)
can eat at Jalan Kayu, AMK centre, YCK pasar, sakura, behind ST engineering or NYP.

Added on November 15, 2010, 10:04 am

told you so but you have to drive once to really get the picture. If you are riding a bike, try to ride during day time. Night time is "happy hour".
If you were speeding above 110, what will you expect from those NSHW regular?  The other extreme are lorries, they are very slow but watch out as many are overloaded. Never drive behind or infront of them especially on slope.

Added on November 15, 2010, 10:15 am

last time, only transnational stick to their normal price during CNY. Grassland etc increase price and you have to be their regular to get your ticket.  Sri Maju was one of the reliable bus company but hardly see them on the road now. Now you have more bus company station in SG, if possible buy from SG and leave from SG else you have to try your luck at larkin during CNY. Those "sekarang Jalan" bus kilang/sekolah at the price of 2~3x normal ticket are really  sweat.gif
Actually I drove back on Saturday night. Not by bike since my mom drove my car to JB to help me shift house. The road from JB to KL is so different than KL to Ipoh. the road is so straight and flat that I feel that it's normal to drive 180 on that stretch of road. But too bad I am driving a 13 years old proton wira, so I only drive a constant 120-130. Reach KL in 3 hours. Not bad.
Lester1987
post Nov 17 2010, 10:49 AM

2,017 posts

ok, regarding the questions i asked earlier in the thread. We can drive in a foreign registered Vehicle to Singapore without needing to hold a Singapore License unless we are a PR. a PR is not allowed to drive foreign registered vehicle in Singapore. VEP charge of $4 a day is required for Bikes and $20 for Cars. Besides that, if u are using the causeway, u would need to pay $1.20 as a toll fees (for cars, bikes are free). And make sure u have a Touch and Go card with you cause u need the touch and go to pay the Malaysia's toll (RM2.80 if not mistaken) when u reach the CIQ building. for Cars, a $5 charge for a day if u pass by any ERP gantry. its a fixed rate thing so u can pass by as many ERP as u want for $5. For motorcycle, Please make sure u install the IU device if u intend to pass by any ERP gantry. Because if u pass by any gantry without the IU device, a $70 fees will be charge for every gantry u pass by. The installation fees for the IU device is $155.80. hope this helps.
Lester1987
post Nov 18 2010, 11:45 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 18 2010, 11:20 AM)
I brought in bak kwa without any problems. Just last week i saw a bus load of people bringing in dried fish "maw". 2 large bags per person no less and there werent detained.
anything u wanna bring? i help u bring la, in the morning during office hours, the custom officer didn't even border to check my bike when i come in. i got a large underseat compartment since mine is a scooter bike but they didn't even border to ask me open it, just ask me faster cross since there is a lot of people queuing. they will only check those bike that has a Givi Box.

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0555sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:20 PM