11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

Lester1987
post Nov 19 2010, 07:46 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 19 2010, 12:09 AM)
Thanks bro smile.gif
I'll need to brush up my programming skills first... I'm thinking to venture into Android and iPhone programming...
most of those Android and iPhone programmer have to work in India. Not much of that demand in SG though. Mayb there are but those big company that do iPhone programming usually have their programmers in India.
Lester1987
post Nov 22 2010, 12:24 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:32 AM)
I also kena this thing recently whereby i cant bit torrent anymore while using a M1 mobile broadband connection. Its usually the same prob all mobile broadband users face which is over-saturation of 3g devices in a particular area. Just guess hdb flat may have 2 fellas using MBB. Now multiply that in 5 block area and you'll realize due to singapores densely populated housing areas that MBB services will be a major prob.
not sure about bit torrent, but last time i signed M1 for 1 week, everytime i on my P2P (using Thunder5) on the mobile broadband, my PC will come out blue screen.
but i tried with the Singtel line, no prob. so definitely is smth to do with M1 mobile broadband. i complain complain then they still wan to bill me $20++ for the 1 week i used. curse them.
Lester1987
post Nov 23 2010, 03:24 PM

2,017 posts

I am driving back from JB to KL on 4th Feb midnight and coming back to JB on the 13th Feb midnight. coz midnight can get 10% discount for toll and less traffic. anyone wanna join me? i can send u into Singapore if u need tongue.gif.
Lester1987
post Nov 23 2010, 08:43 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 23 2010, 08:26 PM)
Surfing is not really a measure of your bandwidth. It's much more a measure of the bandwidth of the website you are surfing.

My experience is that downloading (p2p, direct dl or pulling big files from Gmail or my company's VPN) is generally noticeably faster in Singapore. But then again, I'm comparing Ipoh vs SG, not KL vs SG.
even if u compare KL vs SG, the speed in KL is way lower compare to SG. my DL can run around 80kb/s in KL (streamyx 1mb line) but the same torrent can run around 500-600kb/s using Singtel 10mb line. Now in JB, i am using P1wimax. running around 120kb/s using 1.2mb line. but the freaking data cap is killing me. i used up 12GB out of my available 20GB in 3 days.
Lester1987
post Nov 24 2010, 10:01 AM

2,017 posts

Not sure if any of you here stay in JB, but just to share with you all, the causeway new bridge is open already. so now from Malaysia CIQ to Woodlands Checkpoint got no jam at all in the morning. I am referring to car la. if take motorcycle like me. u need to queue around 20 mins to cross the Singapore immigration, then no more jam. so my travel time is around 70mins a day now compare to 90 mins previously. (because i am staying quite far in JB, near Tebrau city Jusco).
Lester1987
post Nov 24 2010, 02:50 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(rling @ Nov 24 2010, 02:41 PM)
Engineering.

But my boss asked me to work while waiting for his appeal.

I am scare.
hehe good, mine telling which company u are working for?? i go MOM report u brows.gif .

I got a friend that got an offer already and will be coming to work next month as well. she got no news about her EP until now. hope it won't get rejected since she is doing sales engineer as well.
Lester1987
post Nov 24 2010, 03:54 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(rling @ Nov 24 2010, 03:33 PM)
My institution is inside the MOM list.

Added on November 24, 2010, 3:34 pmUTAR.

Not the best institution. But cukup makan, I bet.
that is really weird, what pass you are trying to apply? i only have STPM and can get S Pass without any issue. STPM from a SMK school can get S Pass but a degree from UTAR can't get??
Lester1987
post Nov 24 2010, 05:16 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 24 2010, 04:52 PM)
why 24" ? get a 32" LCD better, value for money, price can drop as low as SGD500. I'm looking for a LED below SGd$1k, dunno can get how many inch.
over here, not many ppl assemble their own pc, most would rather go for pre-assembled set. well, i'm on Mac anyway.
icic, if u are planning to change Mac, let me know ya~~ i help u buy tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Nov 24 2010, 09:04 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 24 2010, 07:56 PM)
You can kangtao how much? Price will be cheaper than Malaysia buy from retail ma?
my kangtao is confirm cheaper than Malaysia retail price, but no free gift lo since i am buying online from Apple store. so its actually a choice between $$ or free gifts.
Lester1987
post Nov 25 2010, 09:42 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Nov 25 2010, 03:12 PM)
hey, are there anyone who is travelling to singapore and comin bak to kl/pj?
will go back KL for christmas. u need us to help u buy stuff izzit?
Lester1987
post Nov 27 2010, 03:52 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 27 2010, 02:53 PM)
hi, for the 2nd link, going in n out of malaysia, how much the charges for motor ?

Added on November 27, 2010, 2:54 pm

thats including me  tongue.gif
going in is $0.50 and going out another $0.50. For Malaysia Side, if not mistaken, going in and out also RM1.60.
Lester1987
post Nov 27 2010, 11:28 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 27 2010, 10:01 PM)
after add in VEP n ERP for AYE highway , so is $6 to $7 /day  ? tongue.gif
not so sure for Tuas la. now i travel daily using woodlands. VEP $4 daily. Petrol is the most concerning part. i need to pump 1 full tank every 2 days. RM12. So my daily travel fees is around $7-$8 already. its not really that cheap. but the travel time is not really that scary as well. I leave my house at 6:30am. go ta pao breakfast at taman pelangi. normally i reach office around 7:50am. my office in in AMK.1 thing that i dun like is i need to sacrifice the 10mbps internet connection when i am staying in SG. but overall, i get to enjoy traveling with own transport. can bring my car from KL and park it in my JB house so that i can drive back KL once a month. So overall, if i were given the choice to choose to stay in SG or JB, i will still choose JB tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Nov 28 2010, 09:04 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 28 2010, 08:48 AM)
i think working as part time oso nid permit ~ anyone to clarify ? so if u really want to work in sg, better apply asap, the permit will already cause u few weeks time .... 
u can reach office at 7.50 while leaving ur house at 6.30 . damn nice figure ~ love it .

my working hour starts at 8.45, got a 15 mins buffer time , so if i stays in bukit indah n uses the TUAS, thats mean i will nid to leave my house around 7-7.30 ?

u riding motor ,right ? do u ever count ur fuel / km ? like how many km u can run using 1 liter petrol ? cause i want to count my daily usage too.
I am using woodlands. i stay in tebrau city area. so if u use Tuas, i think it will be much faster since u won't be stuck on the immigration queue. lets put it this way. from my house to woodlands check point is around 15-20mins. then i will stuck on the Singapore immigration for around 20-30mins depends on the queue (so load more movies into your iPhone, i always watch drama when i am on the queue tongue.gif), then travel another 10-15 mins from Woodlands to AMK. So if u use 2nd link, i think u can deduct the 20-30mins wait time in the immigration as i heard from my friend that there is no traffic jam in 2nd link. regarding petrol. i am traveling around 80KM per day (40KM from my house to office). 1 full tank(RM12) can go around 180KM. I am using a scooter (Modenas Elegan 200), so will consume more fuel. if u are riding EX5, RM6 fuel can go around 120-130KM (I know because my bro got a EX5 in KL). Another piece of advise, if u plan to use Woodlands, Please don't buy a big size bike like mine (regret already although its nice to ride) cause when u are in the queue, the bulky bike makes you hard to squeeze in and also might get scratch in the body. (my bike is 2 weeks old and i already have around 5-6 scratch mark because when wan to squeeze in, got the scratches from the divider.

Regarding working part time, all foreign worker needs a permit to work in Singapore. If u are talking about working for 1-2 months during ur school holidays, then forget about it. coz the employer would not waste so much time to apply work permit for you and also train you on the job.
Lester1987
post Nov 28 2010, 10:39 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 28 2010, 09:28 AM)
thx a lot for ur advice. never own a motor before tongue.gif but, i got a car back in KL, however, i not planning to use it in JB.

google map helped me to calculate the distance. from bukit indah to bukit merah is around 50km, so daily travel is approximately 100km. damnit , so far  rclxub.gif  jus as u said, i think it cause me RM6/day for petrol. (rm6 x 20 days) + (rm1.6 x 20 x 2) + ($5 x 20) + ERP = RM400+

however, my job required me to go around attending meeting ,and i able to get allowance for $0.3/km on motor. if i take public transport , company will oni reimburse back my transport fees. i think from there , it can cover a bit for me  icon_rolleyes.gif 

n how much for a brand new EX5?
brand new EX5 cost u around RM3.9k (kick start) and RM4.2k (electric starter). But if u are using the 2nd link, i will advise u to get a bigger bike as EX5 is very floaty when go at high speed and the road in 2nd link is really straight and high way all the time. you also don't have to squeeze with other bikers if u are using 2nd link. Why not consider getting a Singapore bike? you can save on the $4 VEP if u are riding a Singapore bike. regarding driving into Singapore. the VEP is $20 a day. so its a big no no for me. but u will get 10 VEP free days a year. So i will bring my car to JB and will drive in if that particular day is raining heavily, of course its mainly because my company got free parking, if ur company got no free parking, then you don't have to think about it coz even parking at HDB car park, its $1 per hour.
Lester1987
post Nov 28 2010, 11:36 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 28 2010, 10:47 AM)
the big Sg bike , how much $ r u referring to ? i can ride a Sg bike with my Malaysian passport n permit ?

regarding the parking , i saw many bike park illegally below my office , all the way along the shop lots , so i think it is ok for me too  tongue.gif

raining  hmm.gif  u remind me of this problem , damnit .... newbie in bike
to ride a SG bike in SG, u need to have a SG driving license. but riding a Malaysian bike you don't need that. illegal parking fine is $75, so good luck and hopefully u din get one. you can get a Honda CBF150. not that big and not that small either. In Malaysia, its selling around RM9k. not sure about the price in SG.
Lester1987
post Nov 28 2010, 09:50 PM

2,017 posts

anyone driving back since so many people going back on Chrismas eve. I will also be going back on Chrismas eve. mayb we can car pool?
Lester1987
post Nov 29 2010, 08:42 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 29 2010, 08:33 PM)
Going back to? I'm looking for ppl who go back to KL regularly during weekends =P.
Together with Keppel, these two companies are well known in the world of rig construction.
Well if that's the case then Malaysia still have hope =)
I will be bringing my car down to JB after christmas, after that, i will travel back once a month. so if u wanna car pool with me, let me know.
Lester1987
post Nov 29 2010, 09:42 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 29 2010, 09:02 PM)
Okay sounds like a plan. Let me know when you get your car. Where r you staying? How are you going to keep your car in JB?

Well its not certain that Malaysia will not just do what Sg does...ie pocket the money they subcontract to subcontractors who further subcontract to sub-subcontractors. In fact I think in Malaysia we are rather well known for our subcontracting skills.

Recently Scarabeo 9 came into our yards after being built in Yantai Raffles. The whole rig was completed but for some reason was not commissioned in China. Rig owners are quite smart too to exploit where cost is low. If thats the case Sembawang's modus operandi won't be able to last very long.
Coz i moved to JB already, getting tired of Singapore life liao. So i will park my car in my JB home. I will be going back this 23rd Dec by bus and drive my car down on the 2 Jan 2011.
Lester1987
post Nov 30 2010, 09:41 AM

2,017 posts

Just to share with people over here, if you are planning to get a iPad, get is in Malaysia (JB City Square). Price for iPad is a lot cheaper in Malaysia compare to Singapore. 16GB wifi is selling $728 but they are selling RM1549 in Malaysia. Its even cheaper than buying in US.
Lester1987
post Nov 30 2010, 12:10 PM

2,017 posts

[quote=L7Awesome,Nov 30 2010, 11:45 AM]
no one wanna organized a Christmas/Year End gathering in KL for those working in SG biggrin.gif ?

[/quote]

I guess we will be spending time with family or friends that we do not get to see in SG tongue.gif

Added on November 30, 2010, 11:47 am

Hi Lester, do you drive into JB daily? Or taking public transport? The new bridge in MY is opened for the going into SG. It does reduce 10 to 15 mins of traveling daily according to my friend.

[/quote]

i come in to SG daily by bike. The reason i bring my car to JB is for my weekend use and also for my monthly travel to KL. even i am on bike, the new bridge did save up about 15-20 mins of my time. coz now we don't have to jam inside the malaysia immigration building already. will only queue on the Singapore immigration side for about 20-30mins. So load more Anime into your iPhone. Normally after watching 1 episode. i can pass the Check point d biggrin.gif .

Regarding the Christmas gathering. I will be going to Genting either on Christmas eve or New year eve. So will be sitting on Highlands Hotel Starbucks to enjoy the fireworks and also the cooling weather that we can't get in SG.

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0563sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:24 PM