QUOTE(Panda @ May 7 2010, 02:59 PM)
mah gai lin??
Malaysia got more Cantonese ppl or Hokkien ppl?
May 7 2010, 03:01 PM
207 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Prai,Penang->Bangsar,KL |
May 7 2010, 03:03 PM
747 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Panda @ May 7 2010, 02:59 PM) You have to understand the culture of hakka people. Even though they speak cantonese outside their home. They still speak hakka within their family. Because there is a long history behind hakka ppl. They need to fit in to survive. Thats why you find hakka ppl in both fujian and guangdong. It is their way to live with "others". |
May 7 2010, 03:14 PM
273 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
nga ma ee ... ai oi kong meh kong la ... ee kacau ai zho ma kai .... diau lia mah ah ... ai chang oi tong hakka yin kong um tek ah ... hakka yin da zhi mou siong kong di mau ...
This post has been edited by macyhouse: May 7 2010, 03:15 PM |
May 7 2010, 03:27 PM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(ZakaRiaRia @ May 7 2010, 02:29 PM) because working guys .. not hainanese the most LCLY meh canto usually lcly, no mix with others ...so usually hokkien teach their colleague speak hokkien lihat the ex-MCA president, he's a hainanese and most of them got 'angin kepala' too btw, namewee is a hainanese too |
May 7 2010, 03:30 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
The name "Khek" already ring bell liao..New visitor or Guest..hakka is the only Chinese ppl without a state. Migrated fromn the North to Guandong & Fujian province. & thereafter to Malaysia & etc...
QUOTE(DarkForXe @ May 7 2010, 03:03 PM) You have to understand the culture of hakka people. Even though they speak cantonese outside their home. They still speak hakka within their family. Because there is a long history behind hakka ppl. They need to fit in to survive. Thats why you find hakka ppl in both fujian and guangdong. It is their way to live with "others". |
May 7 2010, 03:31 PM
1,362 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: k.terengganu.. alone.. with my bass...play.. alone |
malaysian got manchu chinese o not? speak xibe lang?
May 7 2010, 03:33 PM
Hainanese is actually part of Minnan or Hokkien grouping..Lotsa similarity.. They migrated fromn Souther Fujian to Hanan Island not longt agao ~ 1000yrs ago..The original ppl of Hainan actually those Austronesian -malayo Polenesian ppl..similar culture to those Alisan ppl of Taiwan & even those kadazan in Sabah. QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 7 2010, 03:27 PM) |
May 7 2010, 03:47 PM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
hainan language manyak difference with hokkien woh
May 7 2010, 03:50 PM
2,367 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Penang / Selangor |
May 7 2010, 03:51 PM
May 7 2010, 04:20 PM
11,400 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
It's because of all those cantonese tv shows in the past. but these past few years, there's suddenly a lot of shows from taiwan.
There's even FTA satellite tv that can be received in Malaysia. My friend has one. Uses the Astro dish, but pointed at a different bird. Only 6 channels, but no monthly fee. |
May 7 2010, 04:29 PM
I can see what will happen in the future is that whatever dialect will become obsolete and only the elder generation will speak dialect. You can see parents are now speaking mandarin and/or english to their kids only. Actually you can observe this easily in Singapore as they banned dialect in media long time ago. Malaysia is just about the same.
There are some other special ancestry group like 龙岩/leng-nga as people who can speak leng-nga dialect are very rare but because they are in fujian, speaking hokkien is also native to them. But lots of leng-nga ppl in malaysia do not know how to speak leng-nga dialect anymore. Another one would be 广西/guang xi |
May 7 2010, 04:33 PM
1,202 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kuching->Cyberjaya->KL->Kuching |
QUOTE(stimix @ May 7 2010, 02:47 PM) I remember i saw a statistic b4, sarawak got around 30k hakka....if sabah also around 30k, means sabah and sarawak contribute around 1/3 of hakka population in malaysia lor....Abt kuching got more hokkien ppl, kch really got many ppl speak in hokkien cuz hokkien is commonly speak language in kuching town... I always encounter b4 when buying something at shop...tauke speak hokkien wif me to promote his goods but speak hakka wif his family |
May 7 2010, 04:41 PM
2,017 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Cantonese is more commonly use in malaysia because of the media. We have MY FM that use cantonese. My dad is hakka and my mom is hokkien. too bad i can only speak cantonese and mandarin because those 2 language are not widely use in KL. Even when i go to JB/SG, i can still use cantonese here as the people here do understand cantonese.
May 7 2010, 04:45 PM
1,032 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: kuala lumpur |
May 7 2010, 04:45 PM
1,202 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kuching->Cyberjaya->KL->Kuching |
QUOTE(stimix @ May 7 2010, 02:51 PM) it's in a category of min 闽。。。got 闽北 and 闽南。。 under min nan got hokkien, teochew and hainannese.... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Min_Bei http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Min_Nan This post has been edited by cyc85: May 7 2010, 04:47 PM |
May 7 2010, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 7 2010, 04:41 PM) Cantonese is more commonly use in malaysia because of the media. We have MY FM that use cantonese. My dad is hakka and my mom is hokkien. too bad i can only speak cantonese and mandarin because those 2 language are not widely use in KL. Even when i go to JB/SG, i can still use cantonese here as the people here do understand cantonese. not really true. You feel that cantonese is more commonly used because you live in either KL, Ipoh and some other place. You have to remember KL is a small place in Malaysia and speaking of "commonly used dialect", you need to have a wider view. To be more exact, there is no single dominant chinese dialect in Malaysia. This depends on which area you are living in.In SG, it is unlikely for you to find someone who can understand cantonese except when they are actually Malaysian, Hong Kong ppl or some really elder Singaporean. If you speak cantonese in JB, most of them will give you a stare, "har?". Mandarin is now the de facto language used in JB among chinese community due the influence of Singaporean media. |
May 7 2010, 04:50 PM
1,032 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: kuala lumpur |
QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 7 2010, 03:47 PM) depends. if u penang hokkein u will not understand. johor, melacca, and the east coast hokkein ppl can understand hainan/hokkein. my granma from fujian. i speak fujian. everyone exept penang hokkein ppl can understand me. |
May 7 2010, 04:55 PM
1,410 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Everywhere |
hai wanna ask something, people that live area Selangor... they use hokkien, cantonese or mandarin??
May 7 2010, 04:55 PM
2,017 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(DarkForXe @ May 7 2010, 04:50 PM) not really true. You feel that cantonese is more commonly used because you live in either KL, Ipoh and some other place. You have to remember KL is a small place in Malaysia and speaking of "commonly used dialect", you need to have a wider view. To be more exact, there is no single dominant chinese dialect in Malaysia. This depends on which area you are living in. not really la, mayb too many malaysian in Singapore? but i normally use mandarin in Singapore, but when i see people talk in cantonese, then automatic i will switch to cantonese. feel more macho to talk in cantonese ^^. but if u go to singapore chinatown, 90% of the folks there speak cantonese.In SG, it is unlikely for you to find someone who can understand cantonese except when they are actually Malaysian, Hong Kong ppl or some really elder Singaporean. If you speak cantonese in JB, most of them will give you a stare, "har?". Mandarin is now the de facto language used in JB among chinese community due the influence of Singaporean media. |
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.1315sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:56 PM |