The Watches Thread V2

TSpatryn33
post Aug 1 2010, 08:25 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 1 2010, 02:15 PM)
The analogy with the car industry is not accurate in the sense that many third parties are involved in supply parts as compared to watches & there are virtually no cars which consist of parts made in house. Hayek's argument is not correct as the basic designs for ETA,UNITAS & Valjoux have been around for several decades, far longer than the life of the patents that were originally filed .
Well, he is comparing movement to the heart of the vehicle the engine or power transmission. These parts of the vehicle are build inhouse. Honda may supply engine to Saturn but they have a choice. Mazda supplies engine and pwr tran to Ford because Ford has shares in Mazda.
anyhow the rest of the parts in a car is like the case/strap/rubber gasket of a watch, they can be supplied by 3rd parties.
I think this is what he is trying to get.

TSpatryn33
post Aug 4 2010, 12:53 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Jamess @ Aug 3 2010, 10:13 PM)
Something like that must be out of my budget. I shall go 1Utama or MidValley soon, to search for my watch.
I know RM500 is a tight budget but I'm only a student. No choice lo.
thats is out of your budget.
not everyone here has a rich dad and is able to make 5k a mth working part time.
I understand. nonetheless try brands like Orient/Seiko/Citizen. U should have no problem finding something on leather. Steel bracelet generally cost more.

Added on August 4, 2010, 1:01 am
QUOTE(beau @ Aug 3 2010, 11:57 AM)
I heard that the no date Rolex Submariners ( 14060 M) are no longer in production . I was hoping to verify this as I came across an AD who has a few "old new stock " ( One was not COSC certified ) .

Might be very collectable if this is correct as prices for obsoleted Rolex models have reached stratospheric proportions , Zenith movement Daytonas, the old Milgauss & Sea Dweller , to name a few.
alot of speculation around Rolex.
Daytona on Zenith El Primero sure fetch good price. Movado on Zenith El Primero, not really.

I am not in the shape to speculate and make good money on Rolex/watches. Those AD always jack up prices once news is out. The used Sea Dweller prices did jump alot and 1 could cost more than the replacement model! I think prices gone down a little.

not base in the region, I cannot get any deals on Rolex. Was at topper this weekend and Rolexs are sold at retail price! even those pre-own generally cost RM2-3K higher here.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 4 2010, 01:01 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 5 2010, 12:36 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(xphossis @ Aug 5 2010, 12:03 AM)
With RM5k budget wat type of dress watch would u guys recommend?
what type U looking for?
size?
leather?
gold/steel?
function? date? pwr res? moonphase? (water res not impt here as its a dress watch)

TSpatryn33
post Aug 5 2010, 09:16 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 5 2010, 09:09 AM)
With the recent price of gold, can one still purchase gold watches for around RM5K?

ps Better get something mildly water proof in case one get's thrown in the pool !!
LOL... have gold plated what. today want to find 22K gold watch also hard!

how mild would u recommend here? pool i gather at least 100m. 30-50m may not survive. mechanical just need a simple service. quartz may have to change the entire movement. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 5 2010, 09:32 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 5 2010, 09:34 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 5 2010, 09:19 AM)
Steel is preferable in the circumstances. Gold plated tends to wear off in this climate given the high humidity here.
really? my mum's gold pated watch didn't show any wear and she has been using it for ~10-15yrs.
what does high humidity got to go with chemical reaction of gold on steel plating? care to explain alittle here?
I still thought gold plating wear off because of daily wear and tear due to knocks.
http://www.thomasnet.com/articles/custom-m...g/plating-types

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 5 2010, 09:44 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 5 2010, 10:27 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(xphossis @ Aug 5 2010, 09:50 AM)
mid size
steel or leather wouold be good
about design wise i want something classic and not too 'uncle'  tongue.gif
to work
air con, why is this important?
either one
mid size? thats ~38mm.
classic and not too uncle? whats too uncle?

try
- http://www.dfreemontwatches.com/
- Stowa Antea 365 on A-10
http://www.basel2010.com/en/stowa-antea-365-a10.php
www.stowa.com
- nomos club (36mm) http://www.watchbuys.com/store/pc/Nomos-Cl...ial-19p1395.htm
- http://www.jswatch.com/collection/101-38-mm
- Frederique constant Classic / heart beat
- Louis Erard heritage collection
- Longines masters collection, L2.628.4.78.3 or L2.640.4.51.3
- Epos http://www.gntwatches.com/watchIndex.cfm?mfr=2
- MeisterSinger
http://www.watchbuys.com/store/pc/MeisterS...Dial-14p846.htm

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 5 2010, 10:39 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 5 2010, 07:55 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Aug 5 2010, 02:50 PM)
got my watch today. it was so beauty  wub.gif  thumbup.gif
no experience when adjusting the watch time, thought have broke it.  tongue.gif
congrats! do read the manual 1st!!!!
its still free right? don't go breaking a feebie! tongue.gif

Added on August 5, 2010, 7:58 pm
QUOTE(xphossis @ Aug 5 2010, 10:44 AM)
@patryn33

I love the Longines in the picture above, is it from the masters collection? How much would they cost in RM?

The Frederique constant Classic / heart beat looks sweet as well. Wats the price like?
they are within your budget. say ~10-14k.

have U seen theses?

http://guinand-watch.com/index.php?option=...=166&Itemid=402

ebel?
http://www.thewatchery.com/Ebel/Watch/9330240/11635134#
http://www.watchseller.com/ebclaswavblu.html

mido

www.stowa.com

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 6 2010, 11:38 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 6 2010, 10:46 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Aug 5 2010, 07:59 PM)
yup, its still free. wondering will they charge me back the $?
it refund automatically without cancel the order and asked them but they still insist to proceed the order.
I willing to return the $ but depends on the situation  brows.gif
don't have good camera with me, only have low end mobilephone. if take picture with it will be very blur  laugh.gif
so whats your experience shopping with them?
whats in the package?
got used to an automatic?

Added on August 6, 2010, 11:41 am
QUOTE(beau @ Aug 6 2010, 01:00 AM)
Tempting -Will check my other sources before reverting on the purchase. There are also other temptations that have recently come about from my sources. A limited run of B-Uhr with Phenix movement & a  one off IWC made with a Jones movement. So many watches, so little money!!
share those sources esp U're giving it a pass!

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 6 2010, 11:41 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 6 2010, 07:40 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Aug 6 2010, 01:37 PM)
their system is having problem, it should be real-time.
there are 2 letter which was greeting from CW (signature from director perhaps?) and invoice, fibre cleaning cloth and a manual book. overall simple yet nice  biggrin.gif
now still figure how to adjust the date and time seem a little bit faster in seconds
faster? 2824 no way it can be super accurate. how much faster after 24hrs?

TSpatryn33
post Aug 7 2010, 07:54 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 7 2010, 07:27 PM)
guys im look for a watch that is Mechanical watch(can look how it operate),leather strap,BIG and cheap.
im just a student and noob in watches. can someone tell me the difference between mechanical watch and normal quartz watch?
mechanical - auto or manual?
main difference quartz run on battery, mechanical a spring.

cheap how cheap?
did u try page 1 post 1?

TSpatryn33
post Aug 8 2010, 11:20 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 7 2010, 11:35 PM)
possible around 200?
what's the difference between auto and manual?
U didn't read this on page 1 post 1?
Those new at watches do read this 1st
http://www.watcharama.com/glossary.htm

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 8 2010, 11:20 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 8 2010, 11:46 PM

3,940 posts

winding coarse? how long did U own the watch.
if there are parts that req changing u may end up paying more th RM$1510.
Do Watches of Switzerland perform servicing? some AD don't do that, they just help U ship to service centre to get it done and charge u more for their middle man service.

I will check with TSC and get a quote. reputable watch maker wouldn't give U a quote immediately, they would have to open it and inspect it to give U a quote. then U have to be comfortable leaving your watch there.

@CK77 have U see est of cost done by TSC and another watchsmith in Summit USJ? Can share these info?

my local watchmarker here also give me 1 yr warranty on the job.
this week should be picking up my Atmos! took them a good mth to clean and regulate the thing

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 8 2010, 11:54 PM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 8 2010, 11:52 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(HengMas @ Aug 8 2010, 11:44 PM)
Pls allow me to share my recent finding abt service....
TSC in Amcorp Mall ( Mr Lee ) is a professional watch service centre, good patient to explain all the possible problems of the watch I send for quotation. ( Price is cheaper than Principle appointed service centre...Richemont Luxury said around RM1500, 6 months warranty  smile.gif )

BTW.....If I want to sell off some of my collection ( Swiss Watches ) pls advice me where is the most suitable place to post...

TYVM.
TSC is what price again?

where to sell?
there is watchuseek/watchnet/timezone.pmwf to post or the local http://www.malaysiawatchforum.com/ sales section or LYN Street Mart or even on this thread, so long MOD is fine with it.

TSpatryn33
post Aug 9 2010, 03:26 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Aug 9 2010, 12:34 AM)
Since it'ss just passed the warranty, can't you negotiate with Tag for it to repaired for free? Did they stated what's wrong with the watch?
Skip WoS as I heard they are not the one who doing the job. They merely just act like the middle man and will sub the job to outside watchmaker.
Is that even negotiable? ppl operating the biz these days so kind?
TSpatryn33
post Aug 11 2010, 02:16 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(~Guyver~ @ Aug 10 2010, 09:20 PM)
Bro, after my 3 month of saving, i have decided to go wit the longines hydroconquest or conquest. But b4 i go further, i would have few question to ask.
1. The different between the hydroconquest and conquest would b the ceramic bezel and stainless steel bezel. Is it worth to pay the extra 1.2k-1.5k for the conquest model? r two using same mechanic?
2. I have asked 1 of my fren which got some watch collection, he told me tat maurice and oris would b a better bet compare to longines. Is it true? Cause he say both brand quality and mechanic is better than longines, not to mention both hold better 2nd hand value.

Hopefully can get sum feedback here cause this is my 1st time spend 4k for watch, really dun wan regret later. Thanks...
1. both are using the same movement. cost diff is mainly to do the ceramic bezel. its scratch resistance.

2. your fren is mistaken. both ML and oris have similar resale value as a Longines. 1st of all they all run on ETA. Oris do min modification and some say they only do the rotor beside that oris obtain their case/straps from the far east. Longines get ETA to mod to their specification. ML do get movement from ETA but they do decorate and refinish the movement. They certain mod the movement more than longines/Oris. However demand for ML is not there and watches at used market can be seen selling low at 75% off their retail!!! I don't really get 2nd hand value here.
look at your local grey market
http://www.collectorstime.com/maurice-lacroix.php

2a: when U are getting an entry level watch like Longines/Oris/Tag/ML/BM etc they don't hold their resale value well, even for a limited edition watch of 50pcs!
watches from Stowa, Damasko, Guinand/Nomos may hold their value a little better if U are selling to ppl on WUS/Timezone/Watchnet not to 2nd dealers in the region. Damasko/nomos do their case in germany. Stowa and Guinand in Europe. These brands do not produce that many watches. There is often a wait of these, since they do not mass produce watches like Tag/Longines/oris/ML. U don't spend alot of money either since you are not paying into their marketing cost.

Archimede's case also done in germany, case are not throw regular stamping process, making them harder. I am pretty sure oris/Longines/ML etc use the stamping process, even Rolex does it.
http://www.archimede-uhren.de/EN/Pilot-Chrono.htm

esp Damasko cool lume, ice hard case, anti magnetic case = no display back. Don't matter right longines also no display back.

guinand watch, have the option to customize watch, eg choose between gold or rhodium plate the movement.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f8/guinand-40...pix-158528.html
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f8/arrival-my...3-a-419038.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 11 2010, 11:38 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 12 2010, 09:52 AM

3,940 posts

not everyone have a few Rolex and IWC etc here.
my high sch friend own 50 Rolex and few Pam here and there, how he find all that money. work!
savings U say? no idea, thats his biz not mine.

wat to headache?
its like getting a scratch on a car or scratch on expensive shoes.
headache also like that.

buy expensive stuff and little damage and lose sleep over it.
wow... no life man.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 12 2010, 09:54 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 12 2010, 10:05 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 12 2010, 10:01 AM)
Heartache !=  Lose sleep

But oh well. laugh.gif

Hmm. Nah it'll take a while since I'm still a freshie in work. Lol.
well it depends on the degree of headache right?
break up or get divorce also heartache, some lose sleep, some F it or ache for 1hr and start a new life almost ASAP.
no pt asking of will U feel heartache for if it meant little to one. tongue.gif

U maybe elite! may take U a yr to get a PP and still have a load of cash in the bank!!

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 12 2010, 10:08 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 12 2010, 10:17 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 12 2010, 10:08 AM)
So if I get you correctly, you won't give much of a damn? tongue.gif Haha.

But seriously, it's like e.g. a big scar on the watch. I know when I read the thread like weeks back there are people asking for where to send for repairs and such. For me I will feel pain if it's expensive for me (fresh grad, tho I don't have a really expensive one to begin with).
certainly, if u care way too much U wouldn't get things that is expensive and would get damage if u are careless.
watch scratch, gold ring jewelry scratches, car also scratches, house also get need repairs from time to time. even small things like shoes also get damaged. still U see ppl buying over US$2K shoes.

from your post seem like U will feel the pain for a long time. if u think, even no scratch, value drop every single day, wouldn't that be more heart pain. just walk out from shop and value drop by 30%!!!! that is a kick in the heart man.

many ppl asking for service, so long its mechanical U need to send it for service.
buy an BMW and every 3mths U need to send in for service. Oil get changed, brake pad worn out, etc, value depreciate every single day.
its just life.. look past that boy.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 12 2010, 10:18 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 12 2010, 10:43 AM

3,940 posts

if u don't mind get pre own!
its cheaper, 1st owner also absorb the most lost.
its already bang up, so 1 more scratch may not hurt u that much.

high end brands like girard perregaux is cheap esp for vintage watch. usually under RM1K even cheaper than vintage Omega!
for brand new it would cost u at least 10X the amount for an entry level watch. new entry Omega isn't that costly even.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 12 2010, 10:44 AM
TSpatryn33
post Aug 13 2010, 12:28 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 12 2010, 10:47 AM)
Hmm, but wouldn't the watch value drop significantly if it's a preown one?
yes! thats why u benefit from buying it!
when U sell it again, no way to tell if U are not the 1st owner if U don't say it no one really know.
warranty card usually don't have owner info. At least no one really fill that in.
you lose min amount of $$ when U do sell it again.

28 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:06 PM