Credit Card v10

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 22 2010, 03:04 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Jul 22 2010, 02:45 PM)
- I like the OCBC plat cause it's invitation only yet the hsbc looks cool too. If only the HSBC here is master world like the US.
I don't really like the HSBC Premier MasterCard in terms of design. Even the just launched HSBC Advance VISA Platinum is far better looking in terms of design.

If i'm not mistaken, HSBC only offers true Premier World MasterCard in USA and Australia. New Yorkers like the HSBC Premier World MasterCard as it has no foreign transactions admin fee at all just like Capital One credit cards. Credit cards issued by all other US Banks impose a 3% admin fee for foreign transactions.

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jul 22 2010, 02:48 PM)
Initially i want citibank and hsbc, due to the discounts given at shopping and dining

so i apply for citibank 1st, after some time (less than 1 year ) i apply for HSBC. so i need to give my epf statement, but that time i cant get the latest EPF statement due to KWSP prob...so i ma say nvm, i dont want the card lo

then few months back i apply for HSBC card again, this time my citibank already more than 1year liao, but when submit HSBC decline my card, say they can't check my card info. i say nvm lo, i give u my epf statement, again decline!

wafark???

i settle all my outstanding balance almost every month, in tier 1 (financial charge) for my citibank, and already got the citibank gold card, and was decline by HSBC?

so forget it HSBC, go dai lol
You are not the only one. Many here have gone through the experience of being rejected by HSBC for their credit card. Getting a credit card from HSBC is not quite as easy as all other banks in Malaysia unless have an obese bank account with them.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 22 2010, 03:06 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 22 2010, 03:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jul 22 2010, 03:32 PM)
just got my CIMB cc last week, is there any idea on how to waive card annual fee ? my friends told me, need to swipe at least 3 times per months, is it true ?
It is a MasterCard ? If it is a MasterCard then it is a totally free for life credit card. No minimum swipe required at all. However, whether you use the card or not, you will still have to pay for the RM50 credit card tax.

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 22 2010, 06:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(shawnk @ Jul 22 2010, 05:39 PM)
What are the banks that offer evergreen CC reward points? The ones I know are:

- Citibank
- Alliance
- Maybank
Standard Chartered

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 22 2010, 07:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(shawnk @ Jul 22 2010, 07:00 PM)
I thought the points will expire after 3 years.. ?
I think they changed it last year. This is what i saw in the Standard Chartered Priority Banking brochure.

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 22 2010, 09:15 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Jul 22 2010, 07:54 PM)
It's only applicable to SCB Priority Banking Visa Infinite.
Other SCB CC's choice points only valid for 3 years.
I stand corrected !

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 23 2010, 12:56 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 23 2010, 12:14 AM)
HSBC Advance VISA Platinum Credit Card = free annual fee, but with RM50 tax right?
Yes. Of course. No credit card can skip the credit card tax unless your bank is willing to pay on your behalf.

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 23 2010, 01:40 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jul 23 2010, 01:19 AM)
https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin....ac=MYH_LP_Mega

Seems a good idea

So because they only give a set away each week, I should do my next shopping as close to 9AM on 26th this month, to get 25% cashback? biggrin.gif
I think you can just buy some Jaya Jusco vouchers to get the 25% cash back.
TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 23 2010, 02:07 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jul 23 2010, 01:57 AM)
Hmm good idea

Where can I use Jaya Jusco vouchers? Can't seem to find a list online.
List ? What list ?

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 23 2010, 12:19 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jul 23 2010, 10:18 AM)
Yeah so I guess the only way to make sure to get cashback is to do a transaction 9AM (if you need to buy something that's RM600 or so) on the first part of the week .. even then there's no guarantee I guess. And not many places are open that early  laugh.gif

Yeah, and even then there's no guarantee that you'll get it, no way to know really if the RM40900 for that week has alread been paid out or not  :blink
Just do it on Monday morning so that the greater chance you'll get the 25% cash back tongue.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 23 2010, 07:49 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Jul 23 2010, 07:04 PM)
Just saw the real actual card of Standard Chartered Priority Banking Visa Infinite.
The card colour and design is cool, for me it is a best design card for the premium card range.
I think the original one is far better in terms of design.

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 24 2010, 01:45 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 24 2010, 01:30 AM)
hmm, just found out that mastercard has higher forex rate compared to visa

my SCB master (1% admin fee) is higher than my PBB visa (1.25% admin fee) for transaction posted on the same day
Not necessarily so. Many have questions how it really works for Standard Chartered as people noticed that the rate after conversion for Standard Chartered credit card is constantly higher than many crediit card from many other leading banks in Malaysia.
TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 24 2010, 11:36 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 24 2010, 03:02 AM)
I got a CIMB  visa infinite and it doesnt come with a priority pass. My HSBC world mastercard doesnt have it either. However, my citibank premier miles visa signature comes with it.

The HSBC World MasterCard is not really a World MasterCard.

QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 24 2010, 03:02 AM)
Does anyone know what is the highest credit limit a Malaysian bank (including foreign banks) can give?
Well into RM500k.

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 24 2010, 03:48 AM)
hmm.gif , the conversion rates is determined by Master or Visa, the banks just add the admin fees, wasn't that the case?
too bad I did not have another Mastercard with me currently to test it out
Indeed it is determined by VISA International or MasterCard Worldwide but as many have noticed, the rate after conversion is always higher even after factoring in the publicly published admin fee on foreign transactions.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2010, 08:45 AM)
Citibank Visa charged me 1 pound sterling @ RM5.02 last week. But the visa online currency converter was around RM4.90. I called CTbank and CTBank said they never impose any fee on currency exchange.
They do actually. It's 1% for Citibank credit cards.

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 24 2010, 05:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jul 24 2010, 11:39 AM)
How to define?
The Premier MasterCard issued by HSBC Malaysia just is not a World MasterCard. HSBC only issues World MasterCard in USA, Australia and Japan. The rest are not World MasterCard despite what is printed on your card.

QUOTE(maru @ Jul 24 2010, 03:36 PM)
last year i got 6 cc...

this year 3 only due to the rm50

now reapply again cause rm50 is goin due....need to pay rm50 each

hold citibank for 2 years....8.5k CL

been rejected by Eon n Citibank (plat cash back)

damn sien =_=

by the way i still holding classic card lolx
I was approached by Citibank credit card agent outside of Giant two months ago. I was told that i need at least a Gold card with a minimum credit line of RM10k to qualify for the Cash Back VISA Platinum.

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 24 2010, 08:04 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jul 24 2010, 06:22 PM)
Just a question, what for they printed the "World" on the card?  hmm.gif
All the HSBC Premier MasterCard in the world has the same design regardless which country it was issue from. That is the reason. It just so happens that they only offer a real World MasterCard in the three countries mentioned earlier.

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 25 2010, 05:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(niel @ Jul 25 2010, 11:16 AM)
anyone find hsbc 25% cash back is sort of "misleading"?

upon checking the t&c. the following has to be met:-
1. min spent rm500
2. only after that entitle for certain % of rebate at different time
3. only certain items entitle for rebate.

i am fine with all the above, except when you read the last few lines, it is even mentioned :-

From the Eligible Spend made within the Promotion Period, only spend on
dining, grocery and shopping that are made in Malaysia will stand to
receive the HSBC Mega Sale cash back as per clause 5© above on a
‘first-come, first-served’ basis and subject to availability.

MADE IN MALAYSIA???
It means overseas transactions won't be taken into account.

Anyway, this is the very reason why i usually do not bother to participate in any of their promotions as it is sort of a trap to trick you into spending more so you'll get the rewards (be it in points or cash rebate). I feel that only those high spenders can benefit from those HSBC credit card promotions.

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jul 25 2010, 11:46 AM)
I thought there is a different design for the real WMC for those three countries.

Nope. All of them bear the same design.

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jul 25 2010, 11:46 AM)
BTW, any idea that HSBC will issue VI?
HSBC France is the only one issuing VISA Infinite and if i'm not mistaken, it is only for HSBC Private Banking customers. The public website of HSBC Private Bank says you need at least US$2 Million to become a HSBC Private Bank client but in reality, it is US$10 Million just like Citi Private Bank.

QUOTE(mrportable @ Jul 25 2010, 05:11 PM)
is it using local issued credit card overseas the interest will be higher? if apply 0% interest installment payment provided by the retail shop, is it same like buying in malaysia?
lets say an item costs rm1k in msia, and $428 in singapore. the value is actually the same in both country but when using local cc to buy, is it more worthy buy locally or it is the same?
You can't apply for 0% IPP in Singapore using your locally issued credit card.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 25 2010, 05:34 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 25 2010, 06:27 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jul 25 2010, 06:18 PM)
how nice SCB is..i wonder how HSBC will treat me for the same item... hmm.gif
Doubt so but my credit card anniversary is coming soon. Will give it a shot biggrin.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 27 2010, 12:02 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 27 2010, 11:48 AM)
Auto-debit rules is pro-merchant. not pro-consumer.
But still, if the card has indeed been canceled, why the payment can still go through in the first place ?

I signed up for auto-debit with ING too with my old CIMB Bank MasterCard last year and i did not inform ING when i canceled the card. Just about a few weeks later i received a mail from ING that the payment did not go through because the bank declined my card. This should be the case for Seng_Kiat too if Standard Chartered has indeed canceled his card.

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jul 27 2010, 11:08 AM)
hi guys,

i want to ask you opinion. this is the situation. I have canceled my standard chartered cc but after 2 months, I see that my cc is still been charged by the auto debit. I called their service center and they told me that I should tell the merchant to cancel my autodebit. They did not inform me early when I cancel.

how do I go and fight for my right? as customer expectation, we know we cancel the card and it should not been charged - even the merchant tries to charge, the bank should declines it because I have cancel the cc.

please give me the idea how to fight .. any chance to win it? .. wink.gif ..
You have a good case here. You should file a complaint to Standard Chartered. It is their fault for not properly cancel your card and you shouldn't be liable for any of the payment charged. Bring this case to the consumer board or BNM if they are not willing to help out.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 27 2010, 12:08 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 27 2010, 12:09 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jul 27 2010, 12:07 PM)
Mr Miles, any idea that any new card will be issue soon?  tongue.gif
Not the slightest clue biggrin.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 27 2010, 04:34 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jul 27 2010, 02:32 PM)
how to check cc points for cimb credit card ?
Your credit card statement.

TSMilesAndMore
post Jul 28 2010, 09:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Nezloais @ Jul 28 2010, 09:51 PM)
Credit card for foreigners ?

1. Citibank - U need to make Rm 100K p.a. (if i made that much , i wouldnt bother getting a cc)

What on earth makes you think so anyway ? You'd be surprised by how many high income earners are using credit card too. Not everyone applying for credit card because they need the credit but more like they are using it because it is convenient.

QUOTE(Nezloais @ Jul 28 2010, 09:51 PM)
3. Maybank - Does give cc's to aliens. But they require a lot of documents and a DNA Sample.

DNA sample ???

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.1464sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:47 PM