Credit Card v10

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 5 2010, 11:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 5 2010, 11:27 PM)
Second suggestion is CIMB Mastercard. Zero annual fee. 5% cash rebate at GIANT/TESCO/GUARDIAN, 2% at all gas stations. That could save you quite some money if you do groceries shopping frequently. Another plus point is easy repayment, as CIMB Bank is almost everywhere.
2% rebate at all gas stations ? Is this a new promotion ? I thought only the CIMB Petronas MasterCard gives you 2% rebate and it is applicable at Petronas stations only.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2010, 12:14 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Kyle_22 @ Aug 5 2010, 11:58 PM)
wow! has it? I heard from my friends very hard to get them to waive...i thought its the same for all MBB cards?
I recall from somewhere that you may need to spend above quite a high limit to get them to waive the Plat CC fee...wonder if its still true...

Thanks!
My aunt was given the regular VISA Platinum late last year and it is free for life. Yeah, that's right ! No need to call in whatsoever. It is written in the offer letter she received. She had been using a Gold MasterCard for quite a long time prior.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2010, 12:31 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gorengnazi @ Aug 6 2010, 12:26 AM)
This just occurred to me , Lets say for example I applied to several banks for their cc's , I do this because since Im a first timer the not that rich , the likelihood of me getting rejected is greater , so to increase my chances I apply to several of them at once.

But lets say by the stroke of fortune i get accepted say from 5 banks , but now I dont want so many , I just want one or two.

If the bank issues the credit card , and i go to them and tell them , "ok.. the thing is.. my mamak stall was infested with rats and i had to shut it down , so i dont think i can risk having any more outstanding balances , therefore I really dont need it" ,

Will they bank have a grudge against me and blacklist me or something ?

Also what is the proper way of cancelling a cc , Should I just pay the outstanding balances , and then just stop using the CC , or should I call the bank and tell them , please purge my accounts ?
Yes. You can and they will not blacklist you. Just that you won't be able to reapply another credit card from them for the next six months. However, you'll still have to pay for the RM50 credit tax for each of the cards approved.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2010, 02:46 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Aug 6 2010, 02:36 AM)
Aren't DA and generic CIMB CC benefits more or less the same?
More or less the same is right but there are still some minor differences. And Chemistry is right.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2010, 12:15 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 6 2010, 07:31 AM)
Actually the SCB VI is the best credit card in M'sia for now, especially for a frequent traveller based on the following :

1)  Unlimited free priority pass visits  drool.gif 
2)  5X reward points for overseas charges  shocking.gif
3)  Unlimited choice of rewards ie. you can tell them what you want instead of just choosing from a catalogue  brows.gif
4)  No expiry of reward points  icon_rolleyes.gif
5)  Free annual fee  flex.gif
6)  Free RM50 tax rebate  thumbup.gif
7)  Best overseas insurance coverage & car assist  whistling.gif

Guess there are tons more, but you can find out for yourself  hmm.gif
They can afford to give their cardholders 5x Choice Points for all transactions done in foreign currency because of the unbelievably high admin fee or miscellaneous fees that are not publicly published charged to you when they convert the payment back into RM.

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 6 2010, 07:31 AM)
I believe its only for their Islamic cards  ..........
Oh no. It is not their Islamic card and it is not the Petronas VISA either. It is the generic VISA Platinum. It came in the mail and it stated the card is free for life. Anyway, even her Gold MasterCard was free for life too. No call to the call centre required thumbup.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2010, 02:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 6 2010, 01:09 PM)
And thanks for the confirmation in respect to maybank as was told at their treat fair that its only for their islamic cards
Yes. Publicly it is only their Maybank Islamic credit cards and Petronas VISA are free for life. Not exactly sure why my aunt was offered the generic VISA Platinum card free for life though.
TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2010, 06:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(themattock @ Aug 6 2010, 04:39 PM)
so if petrol rebate is the issue here, what card are more preferable? CIMB Petronas confirm rebate all the time but for petronas only. DA rebate to all petrol station, but only until the end of the month? is there any indicators that DA will make it all time promotion?
No. No indication they might extend the promotion. Besides, even if they do, there is still no guarantee they will extend it again and again.

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Aug 6 2010, 05:55 PM)
Anyone with the Standard Chartered Priority Banking Visa Infinite credit card?
Mind to share the starting credit limit of this card?
Thank you.
The starting credit limit is only RM50,000. I don't have this card, by the way.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 8 2010, 08:44 PM

9,301 posts

The Standard Chartered RM150 free credit for each Platinum credit card approved is a known promotion and is indeed real. As a matter of fact, this deal has been going on for quite a few months now.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 8 2010, 08:46 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 8 2010, 11:06 PM

9,301 posts

Bloody HSBC increased the rewards points needed for redemption just about two or three weeks ago. I now need 13,000 points just redeem redeem a RM100 Guardian voucher. It used to be only 10,000 points a few weeks back vmad.gif
TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 8 2010, 11:43 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 8 2010, 11:19 PM)
Reward point also face depreciation, haha. Guess other banks will follow suit in short time.
Some banks have already done it a while ago. Maybank/AMEX for instance. Even CIMB Bank increased the bonus points needed for redemption early this year.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 8 2010, 11:19 PM)
Cash rebate is better? I havent seen banks revise their cash rebate % brows.gif
Cash is definitely better. The HSBC Amanah credit card gives 0.5% cash back on all local transactions but too bad it is an Islamic card. We might sometimes encounter problem using it in non-Halal places.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 9 2010, 12:36 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 9 2010, 12:00 AM)
Darn...HSBC amanah! I applied thrice and all were rejected without reason.
I never have an Islamic card. Will it really be rejected at non-halal places? How do the banks do that?
Apparently the card processing terminal from certain banks come with some sort of code indicating the place is halal or otherwise. AmBank's terminals are programmed this way.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 9 2010, 12:00 AM)
Just checked CIMB website. RM50 voucher is still redeemable with 10,000 pts. But the RM8 courier fee really sux.
But you're in Peninsular right ? Then the courier is FOC.

By the way, one needed only 9,500 bonus points to redeem a RM100 Guardian voucher last year.

QUOTE(amalthea @ Aug 9 2010, 12:18 AM)
mr standard chartered! omg you're kidding me?
platinum cards have become so worthless now.
Has been so even before the introduction of the VISA Infinite last year.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 9 2010, 01:11 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 9 2010, 12:46 AM)
If i buy tiger beer at Tesco, cannot swipe Islamic card? If so, the card terminal is so smart la biggrin.gif
Not that of course. Just that your card might be declined in certain restaurants or pubs.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 9 2010, 12:46 AM)
Really? Last year only 9500 pts? Well that's a depreciation of 500/9500 = 5.26% tongue.gif
Yeah. Was only 9,500 bonus points last year.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 9 2010, 08:39 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 9 2010, 02:22 AM)
Anyway, 10k pts redeem RM50 is the norm amongst most banks.

I think it applies only to CIMB Bank. All other banks need 12,000 - 13,000 to redeem a RM100 voucher and this includes Citibank as well.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 9 2010, 02:22 AM)
HSBC is generous in giving out cash rebates (got T&C), but stingy on points redemption.
They do have a lot of promotions but only those high spenders will benefit from it.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 9 2010, 04:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Aug 9 2010, 03:43 PM)
Where on HSBC banking login can see reward point balance? I don't see it anywhere sad.gif

Planning to save reward points for some time to get MAS Enrich miles

1. Click your credit card account
2. On the Account History page, click Account Overview
3. The reward points balance is on the Account Overview page

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 9 2010, 05:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 9 2010, 04:21 PM)
Chase, it should be RM50 voucher, not RM100.
Opps ! Right ! It's RM50 blush.gif

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 9 2010, 05:08 PM)
haih not just that la, even cash redemption increase from 11k to 12.5k. dammit
vmad.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 10 2010, 03:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Aug 10 2010, 12:15 PM)
just sharing - yday i went to the maybank treats centre, thought of using my points to pay for service tax, my card's anniversary day is in Nov, therefore, I can't even auto instruct it to do so.....and the customer service says i nit to come again in nov or call the customer service in nov....

therefore, if you want to use your maybank treat points for your service tax, do it on the month of your card's anniversary day
I believe you can make the request online or through phone. This way you do not have to go to their office.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 10 2010, 04:38 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 10 2010, 04:07 PM)
quick question,

is there any international charges like using MBB visa platinium to pay something at australia?
Yes. 0.5% admin charge.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 10 2010, 05:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 10 2010, 04:40 PM)
but 0.5% in AUD or RM?
Makes no difference whether it is in AUD or MYR right ? Because your card is billed in MYR.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 10 2010, 06:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 10 2010, 05:57 PM)
hihihehe:
AUD$100 + 0.5% = AUD$100.50 = RM301.50
RM300 + 0.5% = RM301.50
Exch AUD$1=RM3

No difference lah....

BTW, Maybank's admin charges + forex < money changer's rate
Should be either VISA International or MasterCard Worldwide's rate.

TSMilesAndMore
post Aug 10 2010, 06:38 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(CyberianHusky @ Aug 10 2010, 06:33 PM)
Hi, does HSBC and Public Bank have Electronic statements and E-Statements that they send to your E-mail monthly?
Yes. They do. But the Public Bank one is only applicable to current account, if i'm not mistaken.

Anyway, about HSBC e-statement. All HSBC account holders will now all automatically receive e-statement instead of a hardcopy statement from late July onwards unless you choose to continue to receive a hardcopy statement.

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0412sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:25 PM