71 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL

Belphegor
post Jun 2 2015, 08:47 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

How do create an attractive cover letter? I have been struggling to make one and those I made are not good enough IMO.

Can website or any sifu can give me some guidance? notworthy.gif
louis6
post Jun 19 2015, 06:39 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

What's the difference between objective & summary. I saw few examples of resume where when they have objective, they dont put summary and vice versa
JustcallmeLarry
post Jun 26 2015, 10:14 PM

1,363 posts

Guys when the company say they want 2 email work reference, is this means they want 2 email from your co workers saying good things about you or they just want 2 email addresses from your co workers???
dontforcemepls
post Jun 29 2015, 08:12 PM

115 posts

I've requested them to make a resume and cover letter for me. The service is great, got some interview invitations after that and the price is very cheap (1 meal). i think its quite worth it...

who wants can pm them:
https://www.facebook.com/yourperfectresume
midnightoil9191
post Jul 9 2015, 12:09 PM

53 posts

5 Tips for Writing a Must-Hire Cover Letter from www.officeparrots.com

A cover letter is more than a generic accompaniment to your CV. It is the first impression you’ll make with the employer you’re seeking to work with and the only chance you get to present a compelling case on your candidacy for the job. Don’t waste this opportunity.

Here are five tips for writing a must-hire cover letter.

1. The Position
Sounds basic enough, but many have been guilty of cold applications seeking “a position with your company”.

If there is a specific vacancy you’re applying for, state what it is and where or how you came across it (e.g., via a job advertisement, a personal contact, etc.).

If you’re not responding to a specific vacancy, indicate that you are aware of this and are writing to enquire if they would be willing to consider you for a role in the organisation nonetheless. It would be helpful to specify the type of job you have in mind.

2. Why You’re Right for the Role
s your experience relevant? Can you provide significant value add? Say so. An employer won’t know your achievements if you don’t tell them and don’t expect them to trawl through or decipher this from your CV. Hiring managers are often snowed in with a mountain of applications and you can improve your own chances by helping them immediately see what’s important.

Over and above technical capabilities, what soft skills make you right for the organisation? Are you able to lead a team and provide guidance? Or are you able to take instructions and work independently? What examples do you have to demonstrate this?

The key issue driving this point is that hiring is an important business decision that has a real impact on the bottom line and culture of an organisation. Demonstrate the value you can bring.

3. Why This Company?
You might have realised that plenty of jobs roles are almost exactly the same, and the differences lie in the organisations that offer them – whether it’s the people, culture, scale, clientele or something else.

Employers need to know why you’ve chosen them out of all the available options you have. Nothing screams more insincere than a generic application without more than one mention of the company’s name.

4. Research
Do you research – look up the employer’s web page and check if they have specific requirements for job applicants. Certain employers require all applicants to answer a few standard questions or to enclose certain documents. Don’t start off your application process on the wrong foot.

Also, make effort to understand what the company really does and how the role you’re seeking fits in. For example, if you’re applying to be a financial analyst in a tax department, don’t quote your excitement to work on the company’s M&A deals that are handled by the corporate department – two completely different roles.

5. Next Steps
Demonstrate that you’re pro-active and always thinking ahead.

Close off your letter with an indication of when you may be available to attend interviews and commence work if you are offered a role.

This helps an employer see how you could fit in with their hiring and business plans more than you know, and provides everyone with a timeline to work with.
SUSLuke Bryan
post Jul 22 2015, 10:45 AM

60 posts

Hello,
i'm a fresh graduate guy, is it advisable to put Expected Salary on my resume?

how about the Expected Salary that i put on my Jobstreet profile? do i need to put it or leave it blank?
sunnyday123
post Jul 27 2015, 11:23 AM

19 posts

Hey! I think you should avoid putting your expected salary on your resume. Usually it's the kind of topic you talk about during a job interview, and not before. And I would advise you to wait that the recruiter brings the subject up, otherwise you will seem like the kind of person only looking for a salary and not a job.
privatequity
post Aug 2 2015, 05:08 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(dontforcemepls @ Jun 29 2015, 08:12 PM)
I've requested them to make a resume and cover letter for me. The service is great, got some interview invitations after that and the price is very cheap (1 meal). i think its quite worth it...

who wants can pm them:
https://www.facebook.com/yourperfectresume
hey dude. tq so much for introducing that.
its my first time to try out resume editing service, good quality and cheap price also!
worth a try! thanks for sharing bro.
cekodok16
post Aug 5 2015, 12:43 PM

Nak sukses dalam kerjaya?

CIPTA blok masa lapang anda dan
mula 'berjasa' pada diri sendiri

Sebenarnya pada waktu lapang
sebegini adalah waktu paling
sesuai anda luangkan masa
'perbaiki resume' anda

Betul. Tanpa gangguan

Ini apa yang anda perlu lakukan;

1 - Dapatkan iklan kerja kosong
melalui Portal Kerja Kosong

2 - Fahami skop kerja jawatan
yang diiklankan

3 - Cari laman web syarikat atau
organisasi tersebut

4 - Studi sedikit sebanyak latarbelakang
syarikat dan core activity syarikat
tersebut

5 - Mula 'craft' resume anda

-----------
Ini komponen yang bakal menjadikan
resume anda 'stand out' dari
resume pemohon lain

>> Masukkan 'career objective' yang
SPESIFIK kepada jawatan tersebut

>> Buang komponen yang tak ada
kaitan dengan jawatan tersebut.
Contohnya subjek universiti yang
di luar skop jawatan

>> Masukkan komponen yang berkaitan
dan bersesuaian dengan jawatan itu

>> Maksimum 2 PAGE sahaja

SERTAKAN surat iringan (cover letter)
bersama resume anda. Apa yang perlu
anda tambah cover letter yang
biasa anda buat adalah;

>> Bagaimana anda boleh membantu
syarikat dalam meningkatkan SESUATU

Maklumat ini anda boleh dapat dari
laman web syarikat yang anda pohon
itu (step diatas)

[----------TIPS Extra--------]

Cuba buat carian di internet mengenai
aktiviti terkini syarikat tersebut dan
masukkan komponen tersebut dalam
surat iringan anda

Cari di akhbar online (BH,STAR, NST etc)
Juga di Facebook syarikat jika ada

[-------TAMAT TIPS Extra------]

Apa sebenarnya yang anda lakukan
dari perkongsian hari ini

[PERTAMA]
Resume anda spesifik untuk syarikat
tersebut sahaja

[KEDUA]
Resume anda spesifik untuk jawatan
yang ditawarkan sahaja

[KETIGA]
Cover letter anda menunjukkan anda
ada kualiti untuk menyumbang kepada
perkembangan syarikat

[KEEMPAT]
Cover letter anda menunjukkan anda
obses dan peka dengan aktiviti
syarikat

Selepas selesai UPGRADE 4 perkara
ini baru anda boleh hantar untuk
mohon kerja pada syarikat tersebut

Cuba lah!

- cekodok16 - cool2.gif

p/s Untuk template, susunan yang lebih
teliti, anda perlukan rujukan resume
ini. Ianya telah membantu ribuan graduan
sejak tahun 2012. Lihat di;

Panduan dan Tips Resume / CV
turtle85
post Aug 18 2015, 04:11 AM

49 posts

Hi ya'll, can take a look here if want to build a more interesting Resume

https://www.facebook.com/resume.boost.my
sunnyday123
post Aug 18 2015, 12:42 PM

19 posts

Hey guys! I was actively searching for some resume tips on the Internet and I fell on this article. It helps you choose which CV format is best for you depending on your work experience and skills. Here's the article for you to take a look. Hope it will help! PS: you can check on the website www.officeparrots.com, they also give you templates for each of the following CV format:

Before you even begin to start creating your resume, have an idea of what sort of information you would like to put in. The type of information you want to include will help you decide on the most suitable resume format to work with.

Here are the three most common types of resumes you can choose from, and how to know which format suits you best.

1. Chronological resume

This resume focuses on your previous work experiences, listed in reverse chronological order, which means you start your list from your most recent job and move backwards. The details of this list should include the full name of the company you worked in, the dates of employment, your job position and a brief description of the responsibilities you handled.

This resume format works best for people with a significant amount of years in the work force because it emphasizes your work history and your career development in a particular industry.

2. Functional resume

This resume type showcases your skills and achievements which indicates your suitability to the job vacancy you are applying for.

Students and graduates looking for a job or internship use this resume format a lot as they may not have had a lot of job opportunities.

If you don’t have much prior work experience, place emphasis on your education, the activities or associations you were involved in and what skills you gained from them that can be applied to the job you are applying for.

3. Chrono-functional resume

As its’ name indicates, this resume format merges the elements of both chronological and functional resumes. It places fairly equal attention on both your work experiences and skills. A combination resume will have a section describing your skills and related qualifications, followed by your employment history, or vice versa.

This works best for candidates who have undergone an industry change. You will be able to highlight the skills and strengths you gained from your different work experiences and how these will help you fit the job.

Sarakaya19
post Sep 14 2015, 07:32 PM

Great stuff. Thanks for the advice.
SUSLuke Bryan
post Sep 16 2015, 07:39 PM

60 posts

To fresh graduates out there,

About your resume, try put as many as possible your part time working experiences, even though it's just a 1-2 month job.

Before this, i just put my work experience as an Intern. And the result is less company invite me for an interview.

But after that, i edit back my resume, I put my work experiences during semester break, I got a lot of invitation for interview.

That's based on my experiences when applying jobs using Jobstreet. smile.gif
Hope it will help you guys.
DavidH
post Sep 21 2015, 08:20 PM

Very useful thread. Thanks for your advice. It was a great read.
1231_lion
post Oct 20 2015, 08:07 AM

37 posts

Hey, do you guys think it's advisable to put it your referees contact? My thinking is that if I were to put in my supervisors details, and while in the midst of applying job, the new co actually gives a ring to my supervisor, wouldn't my supervisor then know that I am changing job?
Belphegor
post Oct 20 2015, 09:54 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(1231_lion @ Oct 20 2015, 08:07 AM)
Hey, do you guys think it's advisable to put it your referees contact? My thinking is that if I were to put in my supervisors details, and while in the midst of applying job, the new co actually gives a ring to my supervisor, wouldn't my supervisor then know that I am changing job?
I'd suggest you give some other reference number instead of your current supervisor. Don't you have any friends that are working in relatively bigger or well-known company? Actually anyone will do, just don't put current company's contact. smile.gif
1231_lion
post Oct 20 2015, 10:54 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 20 2015, 09:54 AM)
I'd suggest you give some other reference number instead of your current supervisor. Don't you have any friends that are working in relatively bigger or well-known company? Actually anyone will do, just don't put current company's contact. smile.gif
Hey, u mean I can put my fren as a reference? This is my first job actually, hv no one else to put
Belphegor
post Oct 20 2015, 10:58 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(1231_lion @ Oct 20 2015, 10:54 PM)
Hey, u mean I can put my fren as a reference? This is my first job actually, hv no one else to put
I'd suggest you put someone that you are close with, someone who you worked with before. ie. part time promoter or something similar. Someone who can actually speaks about you.
1231_lion
post Oct 21 2015, 07:51 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 20 2015, 10:58 PM)
I'd suggest you put someone that you are close with, someone who you worked with before. ie. part time promoter or something similar. Someone who can actually speaks about you.
Tx:-)
scottyvstheworld
post Nov 26 2015, 11:57 PM

191 posts

Hey guys, I accidentally wrote 2 years working at a company instead of 1 year in my resume. And during the interview I had to tell them i wrote it wrongly. Would this effect my chances getting the job???

71 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:04 AM