clawhammer
post Feb 25 2011, 04:02 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Feb 25 2011, 03:52 PM)
got the 530i cause of its straight six 3000cc 280hp Engine laugh.gif
If yours is a magnesium N52 engine then it's only rated at 231bhp smile.gif The LCI version N53 is 272bhp. There isn't any 280bhp engine in a 530i E60, not even the US version.
phas3r
post Feb 25 2011, 04:03 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Feb 25 2011, 03:52 PM)

Added on February 25, 2011, 3:55 pm
The FC is okay on highway(always cruise back at 180kmh to kl tongue.gif )

got the 530i cause of its straight six 3000cc 280hp Engine laugh.gif
depends on what year

2003-2005 231HP
2006-2007 258HP
2008-2009 272HP
TSJohan-N
post Feb 25 2011, 04:04 PM

Life is Half Spent Before One knows what life is~
1,186 posts

Guys anybody ever supercharge your BMW before? laugh.gif

thinking of getting a ESS kit laugh.gif
phas3r
post Feb 25 2011, 04:05 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 25 2011, 04:02 PM)
If yours is a magnesium N52 engine then it's only rated at 231bhp smile.gif The LCI version N53 is 272bhp. There isn't any 280bhp engine in a 530i E60, not even the US version.
the 231hp 530i e60 is M54b30 and is not magnesium
the magnesium is N52B30 with 258hp and the LCI one at 272hp
TSJohan-N
post Feb 25 2011, 04:05 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 25 2011, 04:02 PM)
QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 25 2011, 04:03 PM)
depends on what year

2003-2005 231HP
2006-2007 258HP
2008-2009 272HP
mines late 2007 bought from the UK and brought back here.

Ill check later sweat.gif
phas3r
post Feb 25 2011, 04:07 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Feb 25 2011, 04:05 PM)
mines late 2007 bought from the UK and brought back here.

Ill check later sweat.gif
but the gear lever looks like a pre FL version
TSJohan-N
post Feb 25 2011, 04:13 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 25 2011, 04:07 PM)
hmm.gif gotta check with my uncle then dry.gif he's the one who brought it back

anyway anyone here supercharge their beamer?

planning on getting this kit. assuming mine is the m54

got one guy selling his kit for only 17k including 545i brakes wub.gif

i think mine is the m54 with only 240hp doh.gif
sleep.gif

This post has been edited by Johan-N: Feb 25 2011, 04:14 PM
sleepy
post Feb 25 2011, 04:13 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 25 2011, 04:07 PM)
It's definitely not LCI. Look at the headlamp, front bumper, and the door handle smile.gif
clawhammer
post Feb 25 2011, 04:23 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 25 2011, 04:03 PM)
depends on what year

2003-2005 231HP
2006-2007 258HP
2008-2009 272HP
Wrong again smile.gif There are different variants of these engines. We're not talking about Proton Campro which is standard all across the board so please don't wikipedia and read based on text, more research is required.

http://wn.com/BMW_E60
Excerpt:
# The 530i six-cylinder engine output was increased to 272 hp (up from 231 bhp).
The 528i replaced the 525i with (up from ). The 535i replaced the 530i with (up from ). The 530d was upgraded to (up from ). The 535d was upgraded to (up from ). The 540i was introduced with a V8 engine producing . The 550i replaced the 545i in the fall of 2005 with .

Added on February 25, 2011, 4:24 pm
QUOTE(sleepy @ Feb 25 2011, 04:13 PM)
It's definitely not LCI. Look at the headlamp, front bumper, and the door handle smile.gif
It's definitely not LCI because the ESS kits are available only for the M54 engines

This post has been edited by clawhammer: Feb 25 2011, 04:24 PM
TSJohan-N
post Feb 25 2011, 04:27 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 25 2011, 04:23 PM)
Wrong again smile.gif There are different variants of these engines. We're not talking about Proton Campro which is standard all across the board so please don't wikipedia and read based on text, more research is required.

Excerpt:
# The 530i six-cylinder engine output was increased to 272 hp (up from 231 bhp).
The 528i replaced the 525i with (up from ). The 535i replaced the 530i with (up from ). The 530d was upgraded to (up from ). The 535d was upgraded to (up from ). The 540i was introduced with a V8 engine producing . The 550i replaced the 545i in the fall of 2005 with .

Added on February 25, 2011, 4:24 pm

It's definitely not LCI because the ESS kits are available only for the M54 engines
hmm yup your right.

mines m54 just checked sad.gif

anyway anybody can give me some feedback on ESS?
clawhammer
post Feb 25 2011, 04:33 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Feb 25 2011, 04:27 PM)
hmm yup your right.

mines m54 just checked sad.gif

anyway anybody can give me some feedback on ESS?
M54 has slightly lower bhp/torque compared to N52 530i engines but it's still powerful enough in most cases smile.gif A few guys in BMW Malaysia forums has ESS kits on their cars and I think it's a better place to ask if you're serious about knowing more. Asking it here is very much pointless.
TSJohan-N
post Feb 25 2011, 04:38 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 25 2011, 04:33 PM)
M54 has slightly lower bhp/torque compared to N52 530i engines but it's still powerful enough in most cases smile.gif A few guys in BMW Malaysia forums has ESS kits on their cars and I think it's a better place to ask if you're serious about knowing more. Asking it here is very much pointless.
already asked there...waiting for em to reply laugh.gif

phas3r
post Feb 25 2011, 05:35 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 25 2011, 04:23 PM)

Excerpt:

i don't quite get your point though
i'm only talking about the engines sold by bmw malaysia here

http://paultan.org/2007/01/17/bmw-launches...eries-facelift/
BMW 530i: Straight-six petrol engine with second-generation High Precision Direct Injection, 2,996cc, max output 272 hp (+14hp), max torque 320 Nm (+20Nm), acceleration 0–62mph 6.3secs (-0.2secs), top speed 155 mph (limited electronically), average fuel consumption 36.7 mpg (-14.3 per cent) (automatic transmission 37.7 mpg (-24 per cent)).

272-14=258HP. i really remember early batch of N52B30 getting only 258PS, same as the 330i E90.

sorry if i did not get your point or anything
btw the supercharger is very nice.

wonder how's the v8 in 545i though drool.gif
clawhammer
post Feb 25 2011, 05:46 PM

///M
8,788 posts

If you're talking about CKD then yes, we will follow AB's specs but because there are many AP cars around, the bhp will differ. In Johan's scenario, his car would have a different specs than AB's car sold locally biggrin.gif
Damonzero
post Feb 26 2011, 11:35 AM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

Is it true that M54 engines wont have "makan minyak' issue like N52,53 etc?
clawhammer
post Feb 26 2011, 05:48 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Damonzero @ Feb 26 2011, 11:35 AM)
Is it true that M54 engines wont have "makan minyak' issue like N52,53 etc?
Yes. The problem normally happens on N52 magnesium engines. Newer N53 has some changes to it's engine block hence the problem should not happen.
TSJohan-N
post Feb 28 2011, 02:14 PM

1,186 posts

Deciding on maybe Active Autowerke Stage 1 Supercharging kit for my e60 530i and gonna put some 380mm e60 m5 Brakes wub.gif

brakes gonna cost around 7k
supercharging kit is gonna be around 18-20k

but with the m5 brakes i gotta get 19inch rims in order to use em sweat.gif

AA stage 1 supercharging kit would estimate up my hp to 290-300rwhp(365bhp) and adding 100nm of torque wub.gif
clawhammer
post Feb 28 2011, 02:21 PM

///M
8,788 posts

Great! Please share with us the dyno results after completing the project smile.gif
TSJohan-N
post Feb 28 2011, 02:23 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 28 2011, 02:21 PM)
Great! Please share with us the dyno results after completing the project smile.gif
will do biggrin.gif

kelvinlym
post Feb 28 2011, 11:46 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Saw this very rare 8er in Oct 2010 in front of a Mcdonalds here.

This post has been edited by kelvinlym: Feb 28 2011, 11:51 PM

134 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:42 AM