9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

RTS Starcraft 2 V3.0, Anticipated Launching Date July 27, 2010

Cheesenium
post May 24 2010, 06:12 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ May 24 2010, 06:08 PM)
Just had a game with smoothness close to LAN.
Long time didnt play with you d.
Cheesenium
post May 24 2010, 08:57 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 24 2010, 08:44 PM)
not bad, thats the bronze of past smile.gif
Thats where i want to be,not Bronze.

Could get Gold or Platinum,though,as 2 of the placement match was dropped when i was winning.
Cheesenium
post May 24 2010, 09:29 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 24 2010, 09:10 PM)
copper = bronze
bronze = silver

and so forth
and they've added diamond.

tldr/aka/etc: make newbies feel better for having bronze over copper and enlarging pros by getting diamond over platinum.
Right,i know this since the patch notes came out.

Technically,they just get rid of Cooper and move every division down. Then, add Diamond on top. You think im stupid or what?

I expected to be at old Bronze/Silver since the day i got.
Cheesenium
post May 25 2010, 01:14 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ May 25 2010, 12:30 AM)
Yeah, I'm not sure I've added your email or not. Didnt c u online
Yeah,i have added you.

Just that i didnt play today.
Cheesenium
post May 26 2010, 06:49 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(SmileyJeff @ May 26 2010, 06:44 PM)
Btw, is it me or the starcraft II folder in my documents is shared?
It is shared by default,for some reason.
Cheesenium
post May 29 2010, 09:11 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

[quote=XenoFr3ak,May 28 2010, 11:08 PM]
Region-lock news reveals ...
While we totally understand the reasoning but we can’t help to feel sorry for gamers that want to play with their gosu friends in Korea. Oh well…[/quote]

Source: Multiply 2.0

Added on May 28, 2010, 11:10 pm

Source: GXblog

[/quote]

IAH again?

Didnt these people cant really maintain a server?
Cheesenium
post May 29 2010, 11:10 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 29 2010, 11:03 AM)
Well they mentioned step by step.
They have to implement this before the second beta,if not, the esport is gonna be affected by it.

This is probably one of the most retarded thing that i have seen.
Cheesenium
post May 30 2010, 03:27 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I just found this when i was looking for BO in Team Liquid. Someone actually compile what Activision Blizzard have done in past few years since the merger.

Source of the thread.

Here are some more interesting quotes from your beloved Kotick and Activision Blizzard that most would not have seen it.

So what's Battle.net all about and how is it different?

The new Battle.net will completely revolutionise the current version, but Blizzard is still looking to making this experience free for anyone buying StarCraft II or future games that use Battle.net. One idea which has been discussed in different iterations is microtransactions, meaning the service is free, but added value services like starting a custom tournament, league, or the like would cost a small amount of money.

He mentioned WoW as an example, where "value added services" like server transfers are paid for, but "you can get the full experience of Battle.net with all the features just from buying the box."

Source

July 9, 2009: The Blizzcon prices for 2009 are being raised from 100$ to 125$, also Blizzard in a partnership with DIRECTV (and with increasing desire for more $$) provide Live Streaming of the Event for only  39.95$, although Streams from such events as the E3, Tokyo Gameshow or GamesCom are usually free…
Source

"This will begin with World of Warcraft and StarCraft II," Kotick added, calling the planned service, built by the Blizzard team, "similar to Xbox Live."

"There is no better opportunity to launch this strategic initiative than through the launch of StarCraft II," said Kotick on the call. "The Battle.net platform is an investment in the future of gaming, and an opportunity that we are uniquely positioned to capitalize on."

Source

Most of the 20 years, that I have provided for growth at Activision, we were content to make products that are attractive to the 16-35 year old guy who has gotten no date for Saturday night.

"It's definitely an aspiration that we see potential in, particularly as we look at different business models to monetise the online gameplay," he said, according to IGN. "There's good knowledge exchange happening between the Blizzard folks and our online guys.

"We have great experience also on Call Of Duty with the success we had on Xbox Live and PlayStation Network. A lot of that knowledge is getting actually built into the Battle.Net platform and the design of that. I think it's been mutually beneficial, and you should expect us to test and ultimately launch additional online monetization models of some of some of our biggest franchises like Call Of Duty."

Tippl also said that he wasn’t concerned about how gamers would react to having to pay for additional features.

"Our gamers are telling us there's lots of services and innovation they would like to see that they're not getting yet. From what we see so far, additional content, as well as all the services Blizzard is offering, is that there is demand from the core gamers to pay up for that.”

tl:dr version: Blizzard gonna milk the crap out of Starcraft 2,just like MW2 and Guitar Hero. At the same time, they dont care about what you think about it.

Blizzard has changed. They arent the saint of gaming anymore, but corrupted to the core. No LAN, they dont care,as they gonna charge you later for it. Region lock? Ok,they will change it for you when you pay them. Starcraft 2 is gonna be monetized piece of shit like Modern Warfare 2 or Guitar Hero,and i expect, no one will give a damn and everyone gonna buy it because we are all spineless idiots.

What a great game we have here,as the Beta isnt as any more polished as other game's beta but it potentially gonna make us to fork out more money for additional features. I expect the competitive people will be the first one to leave if Blizzard still give the dont care attitude in the full version. As far as i know, people at SC Legacy and Team Liquid isnt very happy with the game so far.

Added on May 30, 2010, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(w3er @ May 30 2010, 03:14 PM)
hmm, i guess, blizzard has turn into a profit driven entity after their merger with activison....
it's all about money isn't it...
Glad that you realise this,as im not the only one.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: May 30 2010, 03:30 PM
Cheesenium
post May 30 2010, 04:08 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ May 30 2010, 03:30 PM)
OK, let's all go back to StarCraft 1... oh wait, I'm still hitting StarCraft 1 almost every night! rclxm9.gif

No company survive for years for being generous. Looking at what KeSPA did to StarCraft 1 (I'm referring to the intellectual property debate) , I'm not surprised that Blizz has to implement a few counters to ensure that they don't get GG'ed the 2nd time.
No company survive from being generous?

Why is Valve still around then? If Valve is being greedy, i dont think they will give out almost countless contents for TF2, and L4D2 or make your existing PC Steam games also work on a Mac without buying another separate mac only copy.

Just imagine the amount of revenue that Valve could get if they purposely make the PC version of TF2 only work on PC,and vice versa for Macs,considering the fact that there are getting more and more Mac users out there who also want to play games on it.

Every company has to think about it's profits, but the way Activision Blizzard is doing, thats way too much.People will know it sooner or later when they start making more and more crap. Then,they will feel the pain just like what happen to EA and THQ a few years back.
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 12:26 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 30 2010, 11:50 PM)
1. region lock
if they dun region lock it, blizz would be seeing QQ-ers like all those in this thread complaining about slow patch, slow map downloads and laggy games...
face it, we all know its u and not blizzard since some of us are able to download/ patch/ game without much trouble...

2. no LAN
why would u need LAN when the game is handle and hosted on the server side (aka blizz dedicated server) with servers within ur region?
i dun see any different as long as they are not forcing p2p down our throat...
if u wanna blame, blame the pirates...
i can forsee all those pirates playing while hamachi etc...

no offense to all the QQ-ers, just dun buy the game if u all are gonna QQ that much...
why bother wit sc2 when sc1 is still hot and WoW is milking much more money?
It's up to you to suck up to Blizzard.

Region lock will not affect us, but it will severely affect the competitive community. Tournaments like Asia versus Europe will not happen in retail SC2,as everyone have to buy 3 copies of SC2 to play with people in different region. While at the same time, Blizzard is pushing SC2 as esport. How will esport expand with the region lock? I like watching really good competitive gamers playing against each other,as much as playing it.

No LAN? Say you have a tournament in Mid Valley, and you dont have internet connection, can you play SC2 in the tournament? Or you are fortunately have internet connection, but Battlenet suddenly having maintenance, what will happen to that 200 people who are sitting there waiting for the game to start? You may not need it, but other people needs it.

Go watch Husky's video. He made very solid criticisms about that.

Also, have a look at Team Liquid's thread, seems like you are the minority who are happy with the current state of the game. 94% of people arent happy with it.

The same MW2 shit is happening again. If im not wrong, i heard IAH Games from Singapore is managing the servers in SEA,including Australia and NZ. They are the company for the horrible experience of Hellgate London which put me off buying the game.
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 01:13 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2010, 12:51 AM)
sure Asia vs EU with latency issues?
what's the eSport when u have the home server advantage LOL...
if u dunno, pretty much like WoW, blizzard have their own servers for tournaments (just like blizz's arena servers and those used for major tournaments that is akin to LAN)...
why can't eSport expand?
just like currently, u need to be among the top few of ur region to get into the finals...
IN THE END, u start by playing within the region to qualify...

same like MW2...
ALL THE ENDLESS QQ and end up what's the sales of the game on the PC?
how many of such QQ-ers that suck it up and still buy the game?
what about so petitions and boycott?
seriously, all of the QQ is getting really really old...
only the minority bother with all of these (lol polls to show every1 hates it) and majority just end up playing the game happily...

just dun buy the game if u dun want to, simple...
not QQ-ing over and over and over and OVEEEEEEEEEEER again in the game's thread (practically that's wut u have been doing 90% of the time even when the game is still in beta lol)...
trying to make people stop buying the game?
If those people care about latency issue, would they even care of having a tournament in the first place. Idra admits it lags for him to connect from Korea to Europe or US, but he dont care,as he wants to have fun. I dont mind enduring lag if i get to have some fun with the people i like,as i really enjoyed to play with Aussies,even im in Malaysia in TF2. They are just a bunch of fun people to play with,compared to Singaporeans.

This isnt WoW, as SC2 is a completely different that is going to played by people from different community. Sure you rich MMO people have the money who buy all the ridiculous microtransaction that Blizzard sells. LOL at that stupid 25USD virtual ghost horse. RTS community arent like this,and we love to whine about every single thing that is out of place. Thats the majority of the RTS communities,as we care about the games we play.

Sure,this is a Beta, but consider this, how long has this game been in development? 1 year? 2 years? Thing that should be there, must be there by now,as it's called a Beta where the definition of a Beta should have all the intended features and it's used to iron out bugs. Where is LAN? Where is those WC3 chatrooms i loved? What sets Blizzard apart from EA or Relic is because they strive for perfection in everything. Now,they arent as good, because the share holders wants more money than quality.

MW2 is pretty much like NFS Carbon. Well hyped,sold well, but a fundamentally a buggy game. There definitely be one day where a Prostreet equivalent CoD release where majority of people start to get pissed, then, a Undercover version of CoD where everyone hates it to much to the point they refuse to buy it. Then,sales drop,and reboot franchise or close studio. Go google and see what happened to Neversoft now, or how is the C&C series heading. Sure,they can milk all they want, but when the consumers knows it's a mediocre product in a few years time, Activision Blizzard is gonna go down hard, just like EA a few years ago.

You can say i b**** a lot, go see other SC2 fan sites. Are these people happy? No,they arent.

Added on May 31, 2010, 1:16 am
QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2010, 01:06 AM)
u dun need LAN to play wit ur frens (unless u are so desperate to be 'around' ur frens to be physically near them for gaming sessions)...
when u go out with ur frens, u dun stay within the cyber world...
hanging out with frens is not limited to gaming sessions only lol  whistling.gif ...
u dun expect to bring ur PC + gaming gears to a fren's place and play together rite?
as long as we have internet (which my frens all do have lol), we can play together and go yumcha after that (just like wut i do wit my wow frens after raid)...
we got vent to communicate among each other...
i kinda lol that "oh blizz sucks for not having LAN cause we need to have LAN parties"...
move on and QQ less plz...

I bring my com to other people's place all the time,as nothing beats playing a couple of rounds of L4D2 or TF2 physically with friends on your own computer. Playing on the internet or CC doesnt replicate the same feeling.

Thats what a LAN party is for.

If you never joined one, you'll never know how great is one.

Added on May 31, 2010, 1:18 am
QUOTE(w3er @ May 31 2010, 12:52 AM)
you are so wrong here...
the real reason blizzard doesn't provide LAN here is because they want to control every pro tournament scene that will be played out in South Korea
They don't get much from SC1 pro gaming scene in south korea, after negotiating with those korean about intellectual property right, but those korean ask them to f**k off
now, after shafting KESPA(korea esport company) hard in the @ss, by naming the rights of SC2 to other company...
look like Blizzard will be the sole player in korea SC2 Pro gaming scene .....

it's all about the money now, not pirates...cause there are no way u can stop those pirates from hacking SC2..

Why would i need LAN? have u ever have LAN PARTY with your friend before??

i guess not huh? cause maybe u don't have any real life friend, so i understand,,,
your only option is the internet....
Not only that, they want to control everything from the game's life cycle to those microtransaction.

Same shit again,except this time is SC2.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: May 31 2010, 01:18 AM
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 01:35 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2010, 01:24 AM)
do u see how many progamers nerdraged during lags/ spikes?
IdrA dun wanna have fun, he wanna win lol if not why BM when all u wanna do is have fun?

hmmm so paying RM 50 per month is rich...
i can't describe all of those people that spend RM 100+ on cyber cafes, one night of clubbing, smoking etc...
might as well as blizzard to repackage SC1 and sell (oh wait, then its the QQ about SC2 being SC1 with better graphics)...
ps: i didnt buy the horse lol

long development != better game...
if its long, it takes time...
codes dun take a minute to debug themselves...
look at duke nukem foreveeeeeeer....
so u expect it to be a SUPERB game?
blizz even extended beta to fix some bnet2.0 issues...

sc2 is pretty similar to CS...
some people just never move on...
whenever some1 tries something new, the QQstorm kicks in (FF13)...
face it, QQers will always find things to QQ about lol...

about MW2...
u guys are the ones that bring it into this topic and guess wut?
with all the QQ and hate, it sells well...
moral: NO ONE CARES

<sarcasm>
hey blizz, if u are reading this...
forget about SC2 and continue milking on WoW...
we are rich and easy to please  notworthy.gif
</sarcasm>
So,you are saying, forcing everyone to play on their region is better than letting people to choose which region to play?

Wait, isnt SC2 a SC1 in 3D now? There isnt any major changes,but look, does anyone care if it's a good game?

A typical game takes 2 years to make which is decent enough, how many years Blizzard took to make a sub standard SC2? TF2 took 9 years to develop, is it a good game now? Great games takes time to develop as they need time to iterate the game to be prefect. Duke Nukem Forever could be a great game,but it never release.

Yea,no one cares now as there is a hype. You'll see in a few year's time. The wallets speak the loudest.
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 01:38 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2010, 01:31 AM)

good attempt. i must say.  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
the bolded text made my lold much to say the least
Up to you to believe.

People like you are just hard to talk to.

Arrogant,just like Activison Blizzard.
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 01:53 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2010, 01:43 AM)
try thinking in terms of community...
allowing people the freedom to choose their region?
so asia region is dead, every1 is playing US cause the majority people are there and asian players are lagging...
what about the technical point of view with netcode etc?
how about anti hack checks (greatly affected by latency)...
sure blizz allow it back then and they decided it not to region lock it now...
i guess they do learn a thing or two...

to u, sc2 = sc1 in 3D...
to me and many others out there, its not...
it plays and handle differently nuff' said...
do note: SC2 is still in beta LOL... which part of beta u still don't get it? the game haven even gone gold...
again length of development doesn't = good game...
not all great games takes long time to develop (ratchet and clank 2 is less than 1 year after the first and its totally superb... i can name u others but i doubt u would know since those are console games)...

Added on May 31, 2010, 1:45 am

<sarcasm>
94% of ALL the sc2 beta players (5569 in total to the time of this post) who actually go to the TL thread and all of them bothered posting about it
</sarcasm>
So,you just want to carry this on and on.

Up to you then,as im sick of talking to all these blind blizzard fanboys. Yeah, Blizzard is still awesome.
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 02:03 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2010, 01:57 AM)
lol since when am i a blizzard fanboy (or just because i play wow and i debunked ur claims)...
do u even see me in a thread worshiping blizzard...
i'm just not blind enuff to be joining the river of QQ and the bandwagon of haters...

so far my experience with beta has been good...
beta is not a platform for u to play for free, u are expected to respond to bugs and give suggestions...
not QQ on forum over and over again over how unpolished the beta is...
it is BETA...

ps: i'm quiting WoW for GW2 (read the thread where i've stated that)... i guess i'm a bad bad blizzard fanboy for not being one of the WoWzombies  cry.gif  cry.gif
You are doing it now.

Im not expecting it to be a free game in the first place. Your great experience doesnt mean that other people will have a great experience. Mine isnt that bad,but there are a lot of polishing left to do.

There are problems. Where is LAN? Chat channels? Region free? Those are the main criticism about the game,but are Blizzard listening to the problems? Nope,and they go and put Facebook in instead.

I dont see anything you debunked.

Yeah, very funny sarcasm. You think im stupid or what?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: May 31 2010, 02:07 AM
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 02:10 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2010, 02:08 AM)
if u are unhappy, use the 'feedback tool' to give ur feedback to blizz and hope they consider it...
if they dun, then just dun buy it simple...

do u need LAN to make a good game? duh good games need LAN PARTIES!!!!
do u need chat channels to make a good game? duh u need to spam chat while waiting for games!!!!
do u need region free? any region lock games are baaaaad games!!!!
Yeah, you'll be glad as i'll be gone if i dont buy it.

It's up to you to believe. Those are the little things that made SC1 great.

Go watch the Husky video please.
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 08:40 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ May 31 2010, 03:05 AM)
Well if Blizzard can't fix Bnet 2.0, its basically their problem (which I have plenty of faith they will fix it).

The map marketplace is also a big fat joke, do they really have to show their greed that obviously  doh.gif  I can't imagine myself playing python,destination,trialthon and all the proleague maps for a fee, which oddly resembles another game released by the same publisher.
There are some obvious signs of Blizzard isnt the same as before. From the Frank Pierce's interview, it's obvious that they dont care about gamers at all,while all they concern is profit.

SC2 resembles MW2 day by day. I refuse to buy Blur now,as sooner or later,they gonna drive the whole franchise to the ground or fire everyone again. Activision Blizzard dont mind killing the whole team if they dont perform up to their expectations,which is a very milkable 100 million profit games per year. Go read up what happen to Infinity Ward, Neversoft and Red Octane. They are all closed down or half dead now.

Blizzard is definitely no longer independent,as those greedy shareholders are ruining what they have achieved since 90s.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: May 31 2010, 08:49 AM
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 09:30 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2010, 08:49 AM)
seriously u are not buying a game because of this reason?
Not like Blur is the only racing game out there.

Trackmania 2 is on the top of my list. Dedicated servers, tonnes of custom content, and an active competitive community.
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 12:16 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 31 2010, 12:15 PM)
The State of Battle.net 2.0

Post it last night.

Cute kittens.
Cheesenium
post May 31 2010, 12:43 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 31 2010, 12:20 PM)
Oh sorry ... but what Husky almost say its correct. Bnet 2.0 better do a revamp whn the official game release.
I dont think a revamp is needed,but just add those missing features that is present in WC3,for free. Go ahead and charge for skins and so on, i dont care.

It's getting disturbing in some sense as this is getting more and more similar to the whole MW2 no dedicated server issue.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0574sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:09 AM