8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

adriankhoo153
post Sep 5 2011, 10:46 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

The first 4 main ingredient looks good to me. Dehydrated chicken is considered concentrated meat and much better than chicken meal. But i see conola oil present. I read it somewhere in dog food advisor saying that there is controvesional going on on this oil.

As whole it seems like a very good kibble to me.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 8 2011, 07:56 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Guys, how you store big pack of dog food like 13.6kgs?
In a big container or in the original packaging but tied up with rubberband?

Is this method of calculation correct?
13.6 kilograms = 479oz = 60cup.

If one day i feed 1 cup, it only can last approximately 2 months?
So little? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 8 2011, 08:07 AM
adriankhoo153
post Sep 8 2011, 02:18 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I buy a big bin and pour the whole bag into it.

As for your calculation, I guess it depends on how big is your cup. I prefer to go by weight since it is more precise.

Also the feed amount depends on your dog's age and size. It might be more than 1 cup.

Th standard cup which is 1 cup = US 8oz.

QUOTE(xDingx @ Sep 8 2011, 01:59 PM)
I personally think that innova and orijien with min crude protein more than 40% is too high for a small breed inactive dog....i personally dun feel comfortable to feed such high protein to my kid..  tongue.gif

And our furkids have a very limited life, average 15 years only, i will give the best food to my kid...and the price for a good food is definitely worth anything...
anyone can recommend any pet shop located at KL (prefer kepong) that sell a big variety brand of dog kibble?
Bro, i am feeding Innova for Puppy which has only 26% crude protein only. The one you mention should be Innova Evo.
For Kepong area, you may try petsmore at metro Prima but not really a big variety. But most brand can be preorder from there.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 8 2011, 03:22 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 8 2011, 03:03 PM)
The std cup being 8oz is usually fluid oz, which is a measure of volume not weight. Easy way for you to establish the weight is take your cup and fill it with kibbles and measure the weight. I think it would be around 110-120g only.

What kind of dog do you have and how old is it?
Yeah but i dun have any weighing scale for gram type. tongue.gif
Beagle and he's 14 weeks old.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 8 2011, 05:06 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I heard that it's better to feed kibble until at least 1 year old. This is to prevent him from only eating BARF and not kibble. When you dun have the time to prepare BARF, you can always substitute it with kibbles.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 8 2011, 06:41 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(xDingx @ Sep 8 2011, 05:18 PM)
i not sure bout this...but i feed BARF to my kid since i brought her home when she 2 months old, and i switch BARF and kibble for every 6 months in between with no problem  smile.gif now my kid is 1.5 years old..
Glad to hear that. I currently doesnt have the time to prepare BARF. Hehe. So i depend on kibbles. tongue.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 9 2011, 02:53 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 9 2011, 12:59 PM)
That is the weight oz. If you're talking about fluid oz then it is a measure of volume. If you fill an 8oz cup with water then the weight you can multiply by 28.35g. But if you fill it with dry kibble, the weight will be less.

Added on September 9, 2011, 1:14 pm

Then you might consider buying a scale for grams. I find weighing to be more precise.

Anyway, do you know how much a beagle @ 14 weeks is to be fed? I estimate it's somewhere between 140-200g. What's the recommendation on your Innova pack?
Innova recomended 154.21g which is 1 and a quater cup. Normally their recomendation is on higher side. I only feed him 1 cup.

adriankhoo153
post Sep 9 2011, 09:38 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 9 2011, 07:58 PM)
Wah, their recommendation so precise? 154.21g...
Actually thats the pet calculator where u have to enter type of breed, age and weight of ur dog. For packaging, it is 168g
adriankhoo153
post Sep 12 2011, 01:08 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

A simple call to Seapark pet supplies at SS2 and ask price for Innova for puppy (30lbs) cost Rm195 after discount.
Still my place in Setia Alam cheaper. Rm194. I thought if SS2 place is cheaper, i dun mind going there.

Anyone can get any cheaper price for Innova for Puppy 30 lbs?
adriankhoo153
post Sep 13 2011, 08:15 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(superbaltanv2 @ Sep 12 2011, 10:06 PM)
anybody knows about canine caviar?
is it good?
heard all the ads about preventing cancer and stuff...a dog of mine just passed away recently from breast cancer and m concern for another old doggie i have.
Canine Caviar as in Venison meal? The grainless kibbles right? It's rated 5 star. Very good.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 13 2011, 07:30 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(xDingx @ Sep 13 2011, 05:34 PM)
Could you provide me the link to the review that mention this Canine Caviar is 5 star kibble? I interested in it oso, thanks.
Where r u going to buy the Canine Caviar kibble from? which pet shop?
It was rated 5 star kibbles due to their generous amount of venison and a single protein ingredient. Why go for 2, 3 or 4 main ingredient if u can settle for one? It is also a grain free kibbles. Wonder how much it cost?

Here is the link

http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-rev...iar-grain-free/

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 13 2011, 07:36 PM
adriankhoo153
post Sep 14 2011, 08:50 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(huey80 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:23 PM)
where can u buy the venison flavour? i called the supplier and she said it;s not in the market yet
Not sure on that. You can check with superbaltanv2
adriankhoo153
post Sep 14 2011, 08:54 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Sep 13 2011, 08:41 PM)
Don't forget that once the bag is opened the nutritional value of the food degrades as time passes. Get roughly a month's worth.
I hv a chi hua hua x min. daschund n a corgi raised on Orijen n currently still on it. All doing extremely well on it. Haven't tried Innova, can't comment. To me Orijen is the best out there next to BARF, but feeding Orijen is kinda different from feeding other brands of kibble as it's a very rich food. Btw, I'm not advertising for anyone. I'm recommending cuz I prefer it out of many brands of kibbles. I raised a maltese on Orijen as well, she's still doing very well.
Don't need to follow the packaging precisely. Judge for yourself how much to feed. If he looks or feels thin at 35g serving then increase. If he looks too fat, decrease the serving amount. smile.gif
No doubt Orijen is a very good kibbles. I am now feeding my 3 months old beagle Innova for puppy and he is doing great too.
Once turn adult, (which is 6 months old) i think will either change to Evo or Orijen too. But if on budget, will just go for Innova for adult.

Price list as below
1. Innova for Puppy - Rm195
2. Innova for Adult - Rm178
3. Innova Evo Chicken - Rm212
4 Innova Evo Salmon - RM268
5. Orijen Adult - Rm246
6. Orijen Six Fish - Rm288

Do note that this is the price for 13.6kgs / 30lbs

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 14 2011, 01:20 PM
adriankhoo153
post Sep 15 2011, 04:02 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(xDingx @ Sep 15 2011, 09:11 AM)
Just got the Go Natural Wild Salmon kibble for my girl...not cheap tho...rm97 for 3kg..  sweat.gif  hope my girl is doing fine with this kibble..

going to buy orijen to mix with the kibble for my girl oso...is it ok to mix the kibble for our furkid?
Wow, 3kg cost RM98?? Expensive betul.. tongue.gif Seems like being rated 5 star in Dogfoodanalysis but couldnt find any info on Dogfoodadvisor. hmm.gif
Closes i could find in Dogfoodadvisor is Go Natural Salmon and Oatmeal which rate it as 4 star.
Why would you want to mix with Orijen? I will rather stick in one brand.

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 15 2011, 04:04 PM
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2011, 09:53 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Sep 18 2011, 06:55 PM)
thanks for the reply but thats far to travel from where im staying. any other places that might have TOTW ?

whats the price for a 15KG bag between ?

---

ok, these are the dog food brands im hunting for. will choose one end of the day. any comments ?

1. Innova http://www.naturapet.com/brands/innova
2. California Natural http://www.naturapet.com/brands/california-natural
3. Blue Wilderness http://bluebuffalo.com/dry-dog-food
4. Taste Of The Wild (TOTW) http://www.tasteofthewildpetfood.com/products/
5. Timberwolf http://www.timberwolforganics.com/Pet-Foods/Timberwolf

---

adrian, how much is Innova Large Breed Puppy Food 33 lb ?

Bro, I am not sure on Large breed cause i only bought small breed dog which cost RM195. Standard weight should be 30lbs if i am not mistaken. After conversion will be something like 13.6KGS
I am not sure on TOW but since it's so hard to find, wouldnt it be troublesome when your food supply is going to finish? I suggest you to take something that are more common brand such as Innova which is equally good kibbles. Lots of pet shop do carries this brand in Klang Valley. Just my 2 cent.

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 18 2011, 09:56 PM
adriankhoo153
post Sep 19 2011, 08:47 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Innova for adult will cost much cheaper which is rm178 for small breed dog. Fits ur budget well and rated 4 star. If WANs go for grainless then mahal lor.

I think I will go for it after my puppy turn adult. Orijen or Evo is a lil outta budget. Hehe.

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 19 2011, 08:50 AM
adriankhoo153
post Sep 19 2011, 04:41 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Sep 19 2011, 02:34 PM)
Changed Fish4Dogs to ORijen 6 Fish, I notice he poo less already.

Is it normal? My wife couldn't stand the 6 fish smell so she wants it changed asap.

Thinking of what to get next.
So far, poo less offensive by using Innova. Not sure if it will be lesser offensive smell if you change the kibbles. Orijen 6 fish consider top brand dy.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 20 2011, 12:15 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Sep 20 2011, 11:05 AM)
Ok 2 reviews from me today.

First is Canine Caviar Chicken and Pearl Millet Puppy rated 4 star according to here. Been feeding this ever since i got my Maltese. So far when she poop, no smell whatsoever. Easier for me to clean so i guess i'll just stick to Canine Caviar at the moment smile.gif

Second is Blackwood with yellow packaging and purple labels (no numbers and i can't recal the exact name), can't find it in the website. Bought this first pack to feed my Rottweiler. Before this, the breeder fed Eukanuba but I don't have good impression on the brand. Changed to the blackwood, first week the stool was soft and damp, guess she was still getting used to it. After that the stool is normal with minimal smell. I think after this packet finish, i'll be getting the blackwood 2000 and try and see.

Not gonna change food often, don't want to spoil them. If they eat then its fine with me else i'll be having major headache laugh.gif
How much is Canine Caviar cost? The packaging is 30lbs?
adriankhoo153
post Sep 20 2011, 02:54 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Sep 20 2011, 01:51 PM)
Net weight is 3.3lbs/1.5kg

Bought it for about rm33 smile.gif
U buy so small? A while finish liau woh? My 30lbs can last not even 2 month nia.. cry.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 20 2011, 04:07 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Sep 20 2011, 03:43 PM)
My maltese is still small. She's not even 4kg laugh.gif

1 pack of 1.5kg can last close to 2 months. That also i feed twice a day smile.gif
Wow, my Beagle also about 4.5kgs but makan 1 cup per day.. 2 months bout 13kgs rclxub.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:37 AM