Photography Nikon D90 v7

celciuz
post May 5 2010, 10:52 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ May 5 2010, 10:47 PM)
sorry..I mean budget is not an issue but still the range is up to SB600 sweat.gif
either SB600 or Nissin...
Then Di866, no debate over it already. Much more features and powerful compared to SB600.

It is like buying Acer laptop versus buying a Sony Vaio or something. Price to performance ratio still Di866 rocks over the SB600.
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 11:13 PM

14,037 posts

I thought SB900 can control 3 groups, SU800 probably 4 groups? Didn't know there was a max amount of flash wor? My friend triggered 6 SB900 together on D300 before anyways, but all using same channel and group for TTL.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 08:15 AM

14,037 posts

A lot of people mistake how the CLS systems works for the body commander, basically wireless radio data is send for TTL info, triggered by optical. Without the radio signal, the flash won't trigger at all.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 08:30 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 6 2010, 08:27 AM)
^i am confuse now..are you trying to say that when sb900 is remote,and we use D90 body commander to trigger, it's actually trigger by wireless and optical??
Yes, you need both wireless and optical to trigger the CLS mode. If you put wrong channel and group, your SB900 won't at all even with flash triggering it.

celciuz
post May 6 2010, 10:06 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ May 6 2010, 10:05 AM)
does D90 hv d ability to trigger SB900 via wireless/radio mode?
If you mean just radio signal alone, no. It will need radio for TTL and flash as optical trigger.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 11:16 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ May 6 2010, 11:08 AM)
oic... so for my case i'll be needing SU-800 in order for TTL.. hmm.gif  is dat rite?
SU-800, another commander flash like SB-900 or maybe those pocket wizard type of devices.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 11:23 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 6 2010, 11:21 AM)
so far I'm using:
1x Di866
2x SB900
1x SB800

All triggered using pop up flash from D90
The usual setup is:
Di866 on the umbrella
1 SB900 in the softbox
The other SB900 + SB800 is used behind white linen as backlight

This is how I do portrait/CLS photos so far

Maybe if I add more flash then need wireless trigger later~
Don't need commander, your D90 will trigger them fine. Unless you need more groups lah that is. But if 2 groups only D90 is ok, if 3 groups then you need one of your SB900 as the commander.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 02:06 PM

14,037 posts

I think that unit probably coming in from Hong Kong. The Nikon stuffs there are cheap!
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 03:27 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:23 PM)
okay guise,

i just bought a d90 coz of the price lol

but WB got serious issue i think.u guys experience it also?

Added on May 6, 2010, 3:24 pm
actually, the di866 packed more features than the sb600
What issue are you facing with the WB?
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 03:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:31 PM)
normally when shooting indoor using f1.8 0r f2.8 with fluorescent light, the color become yellowish at certain location.and its looks kinda ugly tho

Added on May 6, 2010, 3:31 pm
what lens u using?
what do you mean by hard time adjusting WB?
Without flash or with flash? I know my D90 don't detect tungsten well, I usually do PRE or K settings for WB.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 03:52 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:41 PM)
w/out flash, i set it at auto WB, the yellowish color appear only on certain location,
i tried to use other setting as well but my d80 auto WB on same settings didn't produce that result
it's kinda blueish?
i set -1 for WB since the original images kinda blueish, i am up for warmer color
I guess the lighting isn't that even and quite harsh. Try using the PRE method to meter any white surface.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 06:37 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 6 2010, 06:27 PM)
k is easier than pre for me smile.gif
Self preference bro, some might like K, some might like PRE. For me PRE is more accurate, least trial and error too.

Balanced nicely for my subject, but the yellow spotlight is harsh at the back, impossible to balance both. Used warm color gel on my SB900 to balance with the spotlight as well.

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 6 2010, 06:39 PM
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 08:21 PM

14,037 posts

Gah, just now arrived home thinking my Danbo arrived together, mana tau only see my credit card bill waiting for me dry.gif.

Can't wait to try shooting with a toy hehe.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 08:56 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2010, 08:29 PM)
lol try not to buy everything with credit card, you will suffer later XD

Danbo is cute but the quality not that good, the surface can scratches easily (definitely will scratch even though u take very good care of it)...
If scratched and if you use direct flash towards its face, the scratches are very visible... Good luck =D
Aiyo, then it becomes like doing portrait PP it away smile.gif.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 09:42 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 6 2010, 09:35 PM)
^ so that's a good way to learn portrait shooting.. kan?
Haha, good practice mah, especially when you got no real models to take pics, practice with a toy xD. Will pose for you as long as you like and anyhow you like lol~
celciuz
post May 7 2010, 07:02 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 7 2010, 12:35 AM)
guys, had a photo taken just now (night) there is a portion of the image appearing upside down in the photo (ghosting)... this is normal when using a filter right? didn't have the chance to take off the filter to try yet...
using kenko uv filter by the way.
I use a Kenko UV filter too on my 18-105, haven't experienced what you've described.
celciuz
post May 7 2010, 07:19 PM

14,037 posts

I think I saw the pricing in Shashinki.com, pricey! But looks classy biggrin.gif.
celciuz
post May 8 2010, 07:04 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(wen116 @ May 8 2010, 01:53 AM)
i am new d90 player XD wanna to ask if i using a build in motor lens if i turn the motor off but i turn af on will the it have auto focus? using a AF-S lens ~
Nope. You won't have AF when either of them is turned off smile.gif. Basically you cannot AF a SWM lens with the built in screw motor.
celciuz
post May 8 2010, 03:14 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 8 2010, 02:21 PM)
i m not sure whether they have af/mf switch on the d40 family a not
for the d90, u can switch off the auto focus by switching from camera or lens itself because af's lens offered the switch as well.

for the af-D lens, i can only switch to manual focus on the camera af/mf switch.

I dont think we can choose to use the build in motors or the lens focusing motors.
I guess af-d lens automatically communicate with the cameras to enable autofocusing.
Af-s lens work the same.
Rumors is that af-s lens tend to focus much faster and quieter compare to the af-d smile.gif

just my 2 cent
The moment you set body to manual, AF will not work at all. Both has to be switched to AF for it to work.
celciuz
post May 8 2010, 10:22 PM

14,037 posts

Flash is good for food, makes it look oily and delicious~

21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0424sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:48 AM