10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

rizvanrp
post Jun 19 2010, 05:46 PM

195 posts

@5w33

Unifi has some pretty decent international speeds at the moment. Besides streaming data, local 100mbps is bloody useful. People download international content @ 5/10/20mbps and put it up on a local 100mbps content sharing network (p2p, direct dl, whatever).. saves everyone tons of time + bandwidth. You download a torrent and you hit another local peer, your torrent speed will shoot up to 10MB/s+..

Anyway, it's not like we're ever going to see this on the current infrastructure.. 8mbps reserved for IPTV + maybe 1-2mbps for VOIP which leaves less than 90mbps available per Fiberhome port. They'll probably reuse the PON fiber optic cabling and change the hardware in the future to accommodate faster speeds.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Jun 19 2010, 05:59 PM
rizvanrp
post Jun 23 2010, 06:06 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(lfcrules @ Jun 23 2010, 05:59 AM)
Finally got my VIP10 yesterday... I expected 2 or 3 ppl but instead a whole army of TM personnel came to my house, and most of them were sent for training purposes apparently. Anyway, the extra manpower seemed to help since it was all done in about 2 hours.

As expected, they refused to give me the router and PPPoE passwords, although the guy said it was a "temporary" measure. Thankfully, he was kind enough to spell out loudly the router password to his co-worker... while I was there! I eventually managed to fish out the PPPoE password with Wireshark.

Here's a question for Rizvan: I'm currently using my own custom router by following ur instructions, and everything's working fine except that I can't access the DIR-615 configuration page anymore (can't even ping the router)... is this normal? Is it possible to access the page without directly connecting to the router?

Oh, and one more thing in case nobody has mentiond it: IPTV sucks.
If you've wired port 3 of the DIR-615 into your own router's WAN port, no PC connected to your own router will be able to see/ping the DIR-615. In order to access the DIR-615, you'll have to wire your PC directly into LAN port 1 or LAN port 2 of the DIR-615. That's the only way. If you don't want to wire it directly, you can enable the wifi on your DIR-615 so you can connect to it via wireless for configuration purposes icon_rolleyes.gif
rizvanrp
post Jun 23 2010, 08:48 AM

195 posts

@PrivateJohn

With that pc3-win7, does a direct cat5 cable work? If it does, it's probably an issue with the wireless connection seeing as you can't even ping 192.168.0.1. Check the wireless security settings and make sure you're using the correct wifi key.

EDIT: Sorry, if you can obtain an IP it means DHCP is working fine.. so your security settings are probably correct. No idea though, try out the direct cable.. if that works then disable your wifi security + change the network name and try it on the PC through wireless :3

@Lucas

2x router access passwords (admin and secondary admin).. 5 digit PIN number for the VOIP line (no idea what its for).

Writing a technical guide on how to retrieve the admin/operator/PPPoE password manually from the DIR-615 soon biggrin.gif Need to open up the router though, lol

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Jun 23 2010, 08:52 AM
rizvanrp
post Jun 23 2010, 11:24 AM

195 posts

Yes, it's a modded router with VLAN tagging capability. Most home routers do not support this and none of them support multiple VLANs which is required for the IPTV + Internet to be used at the same time.

Added on June 23, 2010, 11:40 amLol, it seems that every month I discover a new major Unifi router screw up.

23 June 2010 -- major Unifi router exploit #2

This is a source code dump of tools_system.php, the script that allows you to manage your configuration backups in the Unifi DIR-615. Notice how this particular page has a 'require("/www/model/__admin_check.php");' as an authentication measure but the command that activates the backup download doesn't? In other words, anyone can just access http://your.unifi.router.ip/config.bin from the LAN or http://your.unifi.router.ip:8080/config.bin from the WAN (if you have remote management enabled) and download your entire settings file. After that, your config.bin can be applied on his own router and your PPPoE user/pass combination along with the admin/operator account password combination can be extracted from it directly. This is more of a dLink firmware programming fail but it's really TM's fault for putting so much trust in them that a simple user/pass combination will protect your router from hackers.

Yeah, I honestly wish TM the best of luck trying to implement their download quota. This is what happens when you force everyone to use a stupid closed router platform and assume its secure simply because some company made it for you. nod.gif

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Jun 23 2010, 12:02 PM
rizvanrp
post Jun 23 2010, 09:06 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Shazlee69 @ Jun 23 2010, 02:10 PM)
Okay guys, why don't we use some plain english.. After reading all these, I feel like I'm going to build a satellite for NASA with 90% unknown terms you guys use.

However I'm loving the knowledge you guys are sharing.. Just don't leave us (the not average) so far behind. We are learning, we'll be there soon. wink.gif

Anyway some of us really need a plain english answer to some of these major concerns:-

1) Is it possible to get rid completely of TM D-Link Router DIR-615

Meaning:- FiberHome(White box) --> Own router (D-Link DIR-825 or Belkin N1 vision, etc,) ---> PC & IPTV

If not what are the requirements to make it work?
It's not easy. And you need a very specific router for this.. a commercial home router will not work in most cases.

2) I also believe you guys also mentioned about VLAN, meaning fo we have to get a router for that has this feature? Can you list few available options?
RouterBOARD routers (not easy to configure) or routers with dd-wrt firmware support (though you'll only be able to configure Internet access, IPTV most likely will not work for you). You can also look into pfSense or Endian based hardware appliances though even they don't fully support the IPTV. Reason its so difficult is because TM has special software in their DIR-615 just for the IPTV. If you only want Internet access, then it's not too bad.

3) Also, some of the method shown that we still need to use TM D-Link router, making it as a bridge and then connect it to our own router. Why is this?
The Internet and IPTV connection must be made through those special VLAN IDs. The DIR-615 hardware is *reusable* as a VLAN bridge so I wrote a guide on how to do that. It's the most cost effective method as everyone is given the DIR-615 for free.

4) Can someone guide us the possible way to use internet and IPTV together by getting rid of TM D-Link router. Steps with gui abit, so we know what to set what not to set.
You have to buy special hardware for this. Either a smart switch, a pure linux router (think desktop PC running a linux OS with 3 network cards) or a dd-wrt based router with port + tag based VLAN support (which is hard to find). Why do you want the DIR-615 out of your network so badly anyway? When you put it in VLAN bridge mode, its operating at the Ethernet level and can't even see your Internet traffic anymore. It's very hard to write a generic guide for hardware out there.. there's about a 100 ways to achieve what you want and the DIR-615 can already do it smile.gif

Thank you SIFUS.

Added on June 23, 2010, 2:41 pmAlso i forgot to mention,

5) If we want to use POE switch, who should connect to who now? Mind elaborate to us on how to do so? U see, if we cant simplify this to a single or easier connecting method, it means we have to use 4 devices................... (Horror case for my IP camera side business)

FiberHome (white box) ---> TM D-Link router ----> Our own router ---> POE switch.

This is crazy.. I'm starting to hate TM net or telecom, limiting that limiting this, block that block this, no freedom at all...
Yeap, should be like that if your IP cameras need POE.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Jun 23 2010, 09:12 PM
rizvanrp
post Jun 23 2010, 10:55 PM

195 posts

There's two attack vectors for a DDOS but all involve multiple PCs (hence the 'distributed'). You can choose to make multiple requests (which will fill up a target's connection buffer causing it to refuse new connections) or you can saturate the target's bandwidth.. or both. A single PC can also 'DDOS' a target if it has sufficient bandwidth (with the option to re-route traffic through multiple hosts to hide his identity or not bother at all).. but in this day and age most people just use botnets for this purpose since its the most effective method.

---

Anyway, DC++ hub anyone? D: lol
rizvanrp
post Jun 24 2010, 07:14 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Jun 24 2010, 01:50 AM)
nice site moogle.. signed up for ur site but never got the activation email..
maybe us unifiers can do some sort of file-sharing like this, im sure the speed would be nice, as the local speeds were getting is closed to the ones we subscribed..

btw, rizvan what's a dc++ hub??
File sharing network biggrin.gif LYN used to have one but I think it failed cause of Streamyx upload speeds ._.
rizvanrp
post Jun 24 2010, 01:17 PM

195 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/LYNDirectConnectHub

There's even a forum section for it.. I believe it was being hosted on a Streamyx line with a no-ip DNS service before this. If enough Unifi (and maybe even Streamyx) users are interested in it perhaps we could reboot the project? I don't know who's in charge of it though.

Could get a Europe/US based VPS and set up the DC++ hub daemon on it, limit the connections to Streamyx, Jaring and Unifi based users only or something biggrin.gif

I was actually running some speed tests between my 20mbps line and Moogle's 10mbps line, seems to max out at 500-700KB/s for some reason using FTP and HTTP. No idea what the performance will be like on DC++ but Unifi -> Streamyx would likely saturate their bandwidth on a single thread tongue.gif Lol
rizvanrp
post Jun 24 2010, 01:22 PM

195 posts

Well, there are already some people on Unifibiz tongue.gif I don't know, Streamyx users won't have to rage about slow speeds if they can pick up their TV shows locally from Unifi users.. and TM won't get to talk about us sucking up their international bandwidth either :3

Any Streamyx users subbed to moogle's anime server? biggrin.gif
rizvanrp
post Jun 24 2010, 05:47 PM

195 posts

Lol, 4 hours ago.. someone who claims they're from TM gives me a call, states my full name and asks me if I'm a Unifi subscriber. I say yeah and then they inform me that they want to replace my 'remote'. I'm like okay ..

2 hours later, some random guy (in plain clothes and a non TM vehicle) shows up at my doorstep with a brand new IPTV set top box remote control and hands it to me.. then asks me to pass him my old remote control or he can't give me the new one. Since I have no idea what the heck is going on and can't be bothered about IPTV, I just pass him the remote and he hands me a brand new, identical IPTV set top box remote control and asks me to sign a form confirming that he's delivered it to me.

So I'm just in a 'what the **** just happened' state at the moment :/ Called Unifi tech support and they have no idea about this either. Yay for random IPTV STB remote control deliveries. I wonder if they're going to give me a second Fiberhome unit next :3

UPDATE : Oooh, it seems like some of the buttons on the previous IPTV remote are defective. Guess some of you guys will be getting a call from TM soon biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Jun 24 2010, 06:16 PM
rizvanrp
post Jun 27 2010, 09:31 PM

195 posts

So I switched back from my pfSense router to the DIR-615 again after about a month, just to see if there's any performance difference. Right now, it's pretty bloody noticeable that the DIR-615 is dropping connections (on wired LAN with wireless AP turned off). Running 1k to 3k connections on my torrent box and the router gets me kicked off online games every 5-10 minutes or so. However when I'm not even torrenting, everything is fine :3 . Terrible router IMO
rizvanrp
post Jun 29 2010, 10:58 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(Jcvendetta @ Jun 29 2010, 10:40 AM)
bad News, i just called the CS asking bout the unifi availability in my area,
they confirm that CAPS will be introduced this JULY. 60GB per month for VIp5, 90gb per month for VIP 10
Lul, anybody wanna buy some bandwidth reload cards from me? brows.gif
rizvanrp
post Jun 29 2010, 12:37 PM

195 posts

I have to see how they implement the cap. It's likely going to be at the PPPoE level (account level) since they wouldn't want to take in account IPTV or VOIP traffic.. you can easily bypass this but at the expense of others.

Uncapping has always been easy on Unifi and its still possible today.. but I'm not going to write a guide on this or tell anyone how to do it (even secretly) because its highly illegal. Even I don't use it myself because hell, it's pretty easy to spot a traffic spike from 5/10/20mbps to 100mbps+ on the ISP side. If you want to be banned from all TM services for the rest of your life I'm sure you'd be dumb enough to do this ._.

Hopefully, the cap won't be applied for traffic between Unifi users.. that way at least we can still share files with each other at full 5/10/20mbps without it adding to our total.
rizvanrp
post Jun 29 2010, 12:57 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Jun 29 2010, 12:43 PM)
lately when im playing my ps3 online (using wifi), the connection seems to somehow disconnected by itself. either the signal drop or something. and even worse i can't reconnect back to psn straight away until i restart the ps3 or restart the router. even my laptop seems to have the problem last time but it didn't occur as frequent now after i lowered the transmitting power to 50%.

anyone having the same problem here?
Its normal on this router.. wifi connection drops and even breaks VPN connections. Even when you use the wired connection, when the router goes under heavy load it either locks up or starts dropping all your connections. The only way to really fix this problem is to swap the DIR-615 out with another proper router.

QUOTE(brian12988 @ Jun 29 2010, 12:44 PM)
nah...i just want to know only....and considering that i dont have the "skills" or in many cases, the courage to use any illegal methods..its just more knowledge for me..
Lol trust me, its easier than uncapping cable modems. No TFTP required, no additional hardware.. just a Linux OS and 1 minute of your time smile.gif

Anyway, TM's also starting to charge for most of the IPTV channels or something right? No wonder they were so persistent in locking users out of using their own hardware.
rizvanrp
post Jun 30 2010, 08:39 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(brian12988 @ Jun 30 2010, 07:10 AM)
why u get these invitations...and we dont.. laugh.gif
Cuz MX sekritly works for TM ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif!

@MX

If you can, please ask them about the cap.. 60/90/120 is way too low for the price we're paying. We need to know when they plan to implement it, what happens after we hit the cap and if Unifi-to-Unifi bandwidth counts against it. It wont be so bad if traffic between Unifi users isn't counted.. at least we can set up our own Unifi support + file sharing community which should only utilize their local switching capacity. It's pretty lame if they can afford to stream unlimited IPTV @ 8mbps 24/7 but include Unifi-to-Unifi traffic in the Internet quota measurement.

Also, tell them to secure the network properly lah.. I don't want to pay RM250/mth for 20mbps just so some other guy on 5mbps can uncap his line to 100mbps and pay RM149 for it. What's the point in implementing data and speed caps when anyone can just get past it ._.
rizvanrp
post Jun 30 2010, 10:26 AM

195 posts

@Guardioo

TM isn't as advanced as Singapore.. the SG issue is because of the way the protocol functions. This however.. is uncap-able because of a configuration problem on TM's side.

I'm sure you could get away with it if you uncap a 5mbps account to 20mbps (and not higher).. it would take them some time to realize but definitely not 1 hour. It's pretty stupid to want to implement such a low cap when the whole network is pretty much insecure at the moment.
rizvanrp
post Jun 30 2010, 09:00 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Jun 30 2010, 08:04 PM)
Whoever has the ears of TM management, can ask them to consider implementing traffic cap on international traffic only? Don't count tm and myix traffic!
Unlikely to happen, people would bypass the cap by re-routing traffic through local datacenter servers. I'm sure they could implement unmetered traffic within the Unifi network alone though.
rizvanrp
post Jul 1 2010, 07:22 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Jul 1 2010, 01:58 PM)
local datacenters are complete ripoffs, promise you 10mbps shared but if you constantly use high bandwidth they ask you to buy dedicated bandwidth at nearly RM300 per 1mbps... i think the crazy prices alone would deter people from using the local datacenters as proxies constantly.
Haha yeah.. experienced that before. Still, you can purchase packages with a monthly quota rather than by xx mbps (offered only by resellers of course).

If only international traffic is capped I should get to work on that Unifi dc++ hub soon tongue.gif I'm kinda busy IRL at the moment, see how things go and what MX510 has to tell us after the TM event thingy

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Jul 1 2010, 07:23 PM
rizvanrp
post Jul 2 2010, 07:52 PM

195 posts

Some here say #unifi got problem with iPhone via wifi... #bugmy TM admitted the problem..    about 1 hour ago  via UberTwitter 

But as usual.. they don't know the cause. It's the 20/40Mhz wifi bandwidth setting if I'm not mistaken :3 Had this issue on my dd-wrt flashed dir-615.. anybody here have it on stock tm dir-615 firmware?
rizvanrp
post Jul 4 2010, 12:57 AM

195 posts

@sg999

Terrible cap limit, I'm sure when it finally gets implemented the Unifi hotline is going to be down for a while.

But I guess they've confirmed its for international traffic only? In that case its not too terrible.. we can still help each other out.

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0657sec    0.56    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:05 AM