TSmeiiseenei
May 21 2010, 10:45 PM

Hi vsn,
Requirements vary. It depends on the course you want to do, the kind of university you want to attend and so forth. As a guideline:
you need an SPM diploma for HBO (University of Applied Sciences) institutes (bachelor- 4 years)
or
STPM/A'Levels for entry to VO (research universities, bachelor's degree- 3 years)
As mentioned, results do not really matter (except for certain courses such as medicine) as Dutch/European policy dictate that everyone deserves a spot in a tertiary institute provided he/she passed high school. If you fail at uni, then you keluar lah.
vsn
May 23 2010, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(meiiseenei @ May 21 2010, 10:45 PM) Hi vsn, Requirements vary. It depends on the course you want to do, the kind of university you want to attend and so forth. As a guideline: you need an SPM diploma for HBO (University of Applied Sciences) institutes (bachelor- 4 years) or STPM/A'Levels for entry to VO (research universities, bachelor's degree- 3 years) As mentioned, results do not really matter (except for certain courses such as medicine) as Dutch/European policy dictate that everyone deserves a spot in a tertiary institute provided he/she passed high school. If you fail at uni, then you keluar lah. thanks for the info.
TSmeiiseenei
Jul 7 2010, 04:44 PM

just to bump this up! was busy with projects and exams the last few weeks. now: 2 months of freedom;)
nolie
Aug 15 2010, 02:09 AM
hello there, do you guys have any info about learning dutch language at kuala lumpur? next year prolly im going to study at twente
Massa
Aug 15 2010, 10:42 AM
Hey.  What about Diploma. Do they offer Diploma program?
TSmeiiseenei
Feb 25 2011, 07:04 PM

QUOTE(nolie @ Aug 15 2010, 02:09 AM) hello there, do you guys have any info about learning dutch language at kuala lumpur? next year prolly im going to study at twente Dutch language, try asking the embassy? If your course is in English, no need to waste money and learn la:D Whatever you learn won't be much and Dutch people can speak English. QUOTE(Massa @ Aug 15 2010, 10:42 AM) Hey.  What about Diploma. Do they offer Diploma program? No diploma programme. At most, you can take the first year at institutes of applied sciences. This is called the propadeutic year and it's like a foundation la.
MBBS siang
Feb 25 2011, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(imsushi92 @ Apr 23 2010, 06:52 PM) is lowyat a showing off place? There is nothing wrong to share one's experiences with others.
dorama_fan
Feb 26 2011, 01:07 AM

hey there, which institute would you recommend for Undergraduate Communication course?
TSmeiiseenei
Feb 27 2011, 06:31 PM

QUOTE(dorama_fan @ Feb 26 2011, 01:07 AM) hey there, which institute would you recommend for Undergraduate Communication course? What kind of communication are you interested in? More Corporate Com/PR or media stuff?
dorama_fan
Feb 27 2011, 07:44 PM

Media stuff appeals to me more =)
TSmeiiseenei
Feb 27 2011, 07:57 PM

You have quite a few options for Media Communications. Erasmus University is a research university and not too expensive (about 6500 euro a year, I think) : http://www.eur.nl/english/prospective/bach...nication_media/ Webster is also a research uni but it's 12500 euro per year. Lagipun, don't know why la (eventhough it IS a research uni) but it's somehow not very famous in NL. http://ispacsearch.nuffic.nl/viewarticle.a...5E77533FB&fid=6Then you have Hogeschool Utrecht which frankly is like the NL's most embarassing excuse of a uni of applied sciences haha but it's cheaper la (4000 euro, I think). http://international.hu.nl/Study%20Program...nd%20Media.aspxI should warn you that if you choose a uni of applied sciences (which honestly isn't bad for what studies like communication, business etc.), try to pick one with the province/ city's name because that means it's public (Hogeschool Utrecht for eg. is also a public one but that's the worst la. Rest are pretty good, esp Arnhem, Groningen (Hanze) and Den Haag. Don't pick INHOLLAND (this one is the most teruk, heard ada fraud etc. there) or all those semi-private ones like van Larenstein etc.
tanjinjack
Feb 27 2011, 08:13 PM
Hey, can you suggest a few institutions that are very good in engineering for postgraduate studies, other than Delft? Best if they are very affordable or generous in funding international students like us. Thanks in advance!
TSmeiiseenei
Feb 27 2011, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Feb 27 2011, 08:13 PM) Hey, can you suggest a few institutions that are very good in engineering for postgraduate studies, other than Delft? Best if they are very affordable or generous in funding international students like us. Thanks in advance! You have to understand that in NL, people don't really care about schools. They only care about level (at most). Most of the schools are around the same level. Regarding scholarships and stuff, usually this is given out by private grants and is not dependent on university. Best place to find out about grants and scholarships is Nuffic. What kind of engineering are you interested in? Aerospace, Biomedical, Chemical, Marine, Computer, Civil etc. which?
tanjinjack
Feb 27 2011, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(meiiseenei @ Feb 27 2011, 09:00 PM) You have to understand that in NL, people don't really care about schools. They only care about level (at most). Most of the schools are around the same level. Regarding scholarships and stuff, usually this is given out by private grants and is not dependent on university. Best place to find out about grants and scholarships is Nuffic. What kind of engineering are you interested in? Aerospace, Biomedical, Chemical, Marine, Computer, Civil etc. which? I am from Mechanical stream but am looking at a more interdisciplinary study of Computational Engineering. So, in your opinion, any institution in the Netherlands would be excellent?
TSmeiiseenei
Feb 27 2011, 09:54 PM

Besides TU Delft, you can also check out TU Eindhoven and Universiteit Twente. Actually, any research university pun boleh. Engineering is one of the degrees which you should get from a research university.
Check out the HSP Hujgens, UNESCO, UNDP, World Bank, StuNed scholarships. There should be a few more out there.
Better check the admissions requirements also. If you graduated with a bachelor in engineering from schools like Curtin/INTI/ Uni of Windsor etc., sometimes they will ask you to do a 'bridging' year before you can masuk the Master phase. I heard the authorities might be changing this though so that it's more standardized.
This post has been edited by meiiseenei: Feb 27 2011, 09:55 PM
tanjinjack
Feb 27 2011, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(meiiseenei @ Feb 27 2011, 09:54 PM) Besides TU Delft, you can also check out TU Eindhoven and Universiteit Twente. Actually, any research university pun boleh. Engineering is one of the degrees which you should get from a research university. Check out the HSP Hujgens, UNESCO, UNDP, World Bank, StuNed scholarships. There should be a few more out there. Better check the admissions requirements also. If you graduated with a bachelor in engineering from schools like Curtin/INTI/ Uni of Windsor etc., sometimes they will ask you to do a 'bridging' year before you can masuk the Master phase. I heard the authorities might be changing this though so that it's more standardized. Yup, that's the three that I do see more often. Will take some time to find them out, not graduating until July 2012. I guess a Nottingham graduate could avoid the 'bridging' year.
thenemesis
Feb 27 2011, 10:25 PM
is it recommended to study chem engineering in netherland?
TSmeiiseenei
Feb 27 2011, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(thenemesis @ Feb 27 2011, 10:25 PM) is it recommended to study chem engineering in netherland? Why not? They have pretty good unis here and a lot of big international companies have their headquarters in NL too. However, if you can, try to go for the full course (at research universities, the course ends with a Master so when someone graduates with a Bachelor, it's macam a bit halfway). To enter, you need A-Levels or equaivalent. You graduate with the title "Ir.". This post has been edited by meiiseenei: Feb 27 2011, 11:31 PM
thenemesis
Feb 28 2011, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(meiiseenei @ Feb 27 2011, 11:31 PM) Why not? They have pretty good unis here and a lot of big international companies have their headquarters in NL too. However, if you can, try to go for the full course (at research universities, the course ends with a Master so when someone graduates with a Bachelor, it's macam a bit halfway). To enter, you need A-Levels or equaivalent. You graduate with the title "Ir.". oh. i cant enter straight with SPM?
dorama_fan
Feb 28 2011, 12:40 PM

QUOTE(meiiseenei @ Feb 27 2011, 07:57 PM) You have quite a few options for Media Communications. Erasmus University is a research university and not too expensive (about 6500 euro a year, I think) : http://www.eur.nl/english/prospective/bach...nication_media/ Webster is also a research uni but it's 12500 euro per year. Lagipun, don't know why la (eventhough it IS a research uni) but it's somehow not very famous in NL. http://ispacsearch.nuffic.nl/viewarticle.a...5E77533FB&fid=6Then you have Hogeschool Utrecht which frankly is like the NL's most embarassing excuse of a uni of applied sciences haha but it's cheaper la (4000 euro, I think). http://international.hu.nl/Study%20Program...nd%20Media.aspxI should warn you that if you choose a uni of applied sciences (which honestly isn't bad for what studies like communication, business etc.), try to pick one with the province/ city's name because that means it's public (Hogeschool Utrecht for eg. is also a public one but that's the worst la. Rest are pretty good, esp Arnhem, Groningen (Hanze) and Den Haag. Don't pick INHOLLAND (this one is the most teruk, heard ada fraud etc. there) or all those semi-private ones like van Larenstein etc. Thanks for the informative post.Its very helpful =) Now I know which university to avoid