127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Sennheiser Headphones/Earphones Fan Club V2, Create the Sound.................

silverstan
post Apr 25 2010, 07:34 PM

388 posts

read many of HD650, seem many ppl recommended this headphone.
Is it worth to get?
wawee
post Apr 25 2010, 08:20 PM

227 posts

u need a good setup(source, amp n cable) to make it shine.
me myself havent jump to some of those yet.

maybe some sifus can help.

but the best way is to audition the headphone yourself.
silverstan
post Apr 25 2010, 08:39 PM

388 posts

yea, that's what i read.
Will try make a trip to Jaben for audition on HD650. cool.gif

What about HD800? drool.gif
How much selling in Malaysia?
chingwooi
post Apr 25 2010, 08:44 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

The HD650 is pretty gd even without amp, but of coz if you can afford a gd amp, then it will b better tongue.gif HD800 is still N/A in M'sia for the time being, but Jaben will b bringing in soon I guess. Not sure how much they'll b selling it, but Davis is selling at Rm5.8k(on9 trading)
xenohawk
post Apr 25 2010, 08:50 PM

991 posts

My stock 650 driven by portable Govibe Sharp amp is good enough, but it can definitely scale with cables and amp so it's quite fun ^^

HD800 you cannot just stop at buying the headphone alone.. that is only like a part of it. You will need to spend quite a amount on a good desktop amp to drive it properly.
silverstan
post Apr 25 2010, 09:00 PM

388 posts

wonder my setup able to make HD650 shines?

Source : Laptop
DAC : Mocha DAC (received last week)
AMP : Little Dot MK III (building in progress, estimated done in 7 days)

RCA cables still not yet decide...
This setup can drive HD800 well? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by silverstan: Apr 25 2010, 09:01 PM
sep90
post Apr 25 2010, 09:14 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(silverstan @ Apr 25 2010, 09:00 PM)
wonder my setup able to make HD650 shines?

Source : Laptop
DAC : Mocha DAC (received last week)
AMP : Little Dot MK III (building in progress, estimated done in 7 days)

RCA cables still not yet decide...
This setup can drive HD800 well? tongue.gif
sadly nope....u will need at least cdp source or u.s.d.2k dac pair with laptop
for amp, most recommend amp is SPL phonitor/auditor or tube amps like 2 x6SN7 or 4x 12ax7 at least to make the hd800 truly spectular
silverstan
post Apr 25 2010, 09:30 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Apr 25 2010, 09:14 PM)
for amp, most recommend amp is SPL phonitor/auditor or tube amps like 2 x6SN7 or 4x 12ax7 at least to make the hd800 truly spectular
shocking.gif
Wow... it's really picky... better just stick with lower range headphone first. Thanks for the clarification.
My setup suitable for HD650? hmm.gif

damieneo
post Apr 25 2010, 11:00 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Apr 25 2010, 09:14 PM)
The thing about the HD800 is that its such a monster to amp properly. Its a really transparent headphone and will readily show up a gear's particular qualities. Too bad I missed the meet yesterday because at least can try out on different gears and cables Sep90 have and also to get opinions on the Audio-Gd gear I have to amp the HD800. Hopefully May 1st is can meet-up.
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Apr 25 2010, 11:07 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(silverstan @ Apr 25 2010, 09:30 PM)
shocking.gif
Wow... it's really picky... better just stick with lower range headphone first. Thanks for the clarification.
My setup suitable for HD650?  hmm.gif
from what i remember ppl used to drive it using little dot mark I, but there arent that many choice then also..
ur using version3, shud b no prob..

sep90
post Apr 26 2010, 05:22 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Apr 25 2010, 11:07 PM)
from what i remember ppl used to drive it using little dot mark I, but there arent that many choice then also..
hd650 can driven by lmk3 and above....
haithoma
post Apr 26 2010, 05:25 AM

what about hd555 for my ipod and how much does it cost in Malaysia?
silverstan
post Apr 26 2010, 11:45 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Apr 25 2010, 11:07 PM)
QUOTE(sep90 @ Apr 26 2010, 05:22 AM)
hd650 can driven by lmk3 and above....
Cool! gonna go for audition first before place my order.
Thanks for the feedback.

notworthy.gif

duh2k
post Apr 26 2010, 11:49 AM

592 posts

QUOTE(silverstan @ Apr 26 2010, 11:45 AM)
Cool! gonna go for audition first before place my order.
Thanks for the feedback.

notworthy.gif
If you intend to audition at Jaben M'sia, do give yuheng or walabies a call first to check if their stock of HD650's are already in or not smile.gif
TSAkabane@DrJackel
post Apr 26 2010, 11:54 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(duh2k @ Apr 26 2010, 11:49 AM)
If you intend to audition at Jaben M'sia, do give yuheng or walabies a call first to check if their stock of HD650's are already in or not smile.gif
last week as what yuheng says till now no stock available for hd650.. sweat.gif
silverstan
post Apr 26 2010, 12:25 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Apr 26 2010, 11:54 AM)
last week as what yuheng says till now no stock available for hd650.. sweat.gif
Aiyoh... like that have to order online already.
sad.gif
damieneo
post Apr 27 2010, 12:46 AM

126 posts

Someone from another forum I talked to had a HD580 and a HD600 - the original version with black silk screen and a brass ring around the inner coil. offer to sell at RM620 and RM700. Sounds like a good deal. Should I get hold either of this? I remember PcWork commented this being the best sounding of all??

These are pictures he sent of the HD600.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by damieneo: Apr 27 2010, 01:14 AM
PcWork
post Apr 27 2010, 03:06 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(damieneo @ Apr 27 2010, 12:46 AM)
Someone from another forum I talked to had a HD580 and a HD600 - the original version with black silk screen and a brass ring around the inner coil. offer to sell at RM620 and RM700. Sounds like a good deal. Should I get hold either of this? I remember PcWork commented this being the best sounding of all??

These are pictures he sent of the HD600.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
hm..for the price. you should buy that HD600.
it's cheap for that price provided the condition is ok.

it's true that before this. the version with cooper rings sounds the best, compare to newer version (during 2002-2008) which removed the cooper rings while still mantain black silk screen.

according to my experience. it is still true for HD650.
however. before launching of HD800.
i personally tested a unit of HD650 with silver colour of acoustic silk. and that's the best sounding HD650 imho. and i personally bought a pair of it.

so .. imho. i will personally rate
Silver silk HD650 > Copper ring Black Silk HD650 >>>>>>>>> Black silk HD650 without copper ring.

newest HD650. with silver silk. doesn't suffer any viel problems, less boomy compared to black silk HD650. faster sound signature. and imho more neutral.
and direct drive of this version of HD650 is possible even though connect it to a notebook soundcard.
while previous version HD650. without proper amping. is very very muddy and slow.

and i personally very salute to sennheiser company. that they continue to upgrade the HD650.. even though their new flagship is going to release. and imho. those who wanna keep a HD650. now is the time. because this newest version sound the best across 4/5 types of variation HD650 i ever heard.
some even with paper like acoustic silk which is slightly brown in colour..

This post has been edited by PcWork: Apr 27 2010, 03:09 AM
damieneo
post Apr 27 2010, 03:26 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Apr 27 2010, 03:06 AM)
hm..for the price. you should buy that HD600.
it's cheap for that price provided the condition is ok.

it's true that before this. the version with cooper rings sounds the best, compare to newer version (during 2002-2008) which removed the cooper rings while still mantain black silk screen.

according to my experience. it is still true for HD650.
however. before launching of HD800.
i personally tested a unit of HD650 with silver colour of acoustic silk. and that's the best sounding HD650 imho. and i personally bought a pair of it.

so .. imho. i will personally rate
Silver silk HD650 > Copper ring Black Silk HD650 >>>>>>>>> Black silk HD650 without copper ring.

newest HD650. with silver silk. doesn't suffer any viel problems, less boomy compared to black silk HD650. faster sound signature. and imho more neutral.
and direct drive of this version of HD650 is possible even though connect it to a notebook soundcard.
while previous version HD650. without proper amping. is very very muddy and slow.

and i personally very salute to sennheiser company. that they continue to upgrade the HD650.. even though their new flagship is going to release. and imho. those who wanna keep a HD650. now is the time. because this newest version sound the best across 4/5 types of variation HD650 i ever heard.
some even with paper like acoustic silk which is slightly brown in colour..
Hey bro...still awake? smile.gif

Ya, I decided to go for the HD600, was dealing with the seller online from the US. I heard the old version once while working at the Philharmonik way back when the HD600 first come out, thought it sounded very very real.

Seems like Sennheiser continues to quietly bring about changes their HD6x0s through the years. the HD600 itself seem to have gone thru 3 different versions. As for the HD650 latest version, it probably is the best version now. Maybe I'll audition one at the Jaben meet this sat.

Makes one wonder....what will happen to the HD800 over the years.

PS Well, there's still the HD580, so whoever is interested can PM me and I'll pass the contact. Looks like I'll have to let go of my current HD600 doh.gif

This post has been edited by damieneo: Apr 27 2010, 03:35 AM
sep90
post Apr 27 2010, 10:30 AM

2,137 posts

personally senheiiser is one of the respected headphones companies that actually listen to consumer's feedbacks and continue to impress us still....
it may be insulting/looking down to other's headphones companies but after trying various most of the cans/high end flagships cans/ the most durable/cost effective and performance wise i would say it senheiiser imo ...
grados i only respected the professional series like ps-1/ps-1000 or vintage rs-1 with pink drivers which is overpriced and rare to get
akg seems to take it's own sweet time to come out a flagship like legendary k1000 which has been discontinue since then (putting akg 702 beside akg 701 and it is not replacing 701??? really dun understand??? onli come with detachable cables/black version and soundsignature basically the same)
beyer is imo is very respected and neutral but their cans requires serious juice amping/ amp pairing and their flagship T1 is bout 600 ohm as well
for Sony like pcwork told us the oldest version is much better than current version...doesnt have any expectation anymore for them in near future....older version like sony r10,qualia 10 like fading legend in past...
afterall this is all rambling of my own personal views on current headphones market now...

This post has been edited by sep90: Apr 27 2010, 10:50 AM

127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.5533sec    1.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:10 AM